Saw Toni this arvo being loaded onto a tow truck missing the left rear wheel

Hope you're OK mate... must have been scary coming down hill around that corner

Donks1

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:10

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:10
OUCH

AnswerID: 351173

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:22

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:22
The power of Toyota overcomes the chassis of Nissan. LOL

Sorry about that, hope the damage is not too great after what you have spent on it.

FollowupID: 619447

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:13

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:13
Graham & Kev
It's only money Sob Sob.

Er Indoors is OK and so is all the traffic around her when it happened.

Thinking about that heavy wheel rolling into oncoming traffic is blood chilling, fortunately the traffic lights up the road were red and nothing was approaching her when it rolled across 3 lanes AND BACK, coming to a stop on the median strip, harmlessly, whew!!!
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 619468

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 00:25

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 00:25
COLIN

it reminds me of that song..............."You picked a fine time to leave me loose wheel"

cheers.
FollowupID: 619534

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 06:44

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 06:44
Mark, thats the song she was singing when I got there Ha Ha Ha.
FollowupID: 619539

Follow Up By: Kiwi and Grenade - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 11:53

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 11:53
hahaha Mark, trust you to think of that one!!
FollowupID: 619587

Reply By: Gramps - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:27

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:27
Gees Col, hope all is OK. Is this the other 'known' problem with Patrols shedding the near side rear wheel ?

AnswerID: 351177

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:59

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:59
Well Gramps mate,
you know how er indoors drives, this had to happen.

PS: dont tell er I said that.

PPS: read my reply down lower, Jason is beefing up the rear spring mounts so that we dont have Roachies problem with them.

Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 619465

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:12

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:12
Mate, as long as no one was hurt it's all good. Now you'll have 'real' wheels to travel on :))
FollowupID: 619488

Reply By: Member - Paul W- Esq (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:36

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:36
Need to put a Cruiser diff in the back of it to stop them wheels commin off!! TIC
AnswerID: 351178

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:38

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:38
Will he then have a TOYONI ? ;-)
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 619448

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:04

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:04
Paul & Malcolm
I don't need to stoop that low to eradicate any future problem, just put steel rims all round. LOL

Toyota axles ShIIIIT what next??? LC front diffs I think NOT!!!!!
Ha Ha Ha, Colin.
FollowupID: 619466

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:53

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:53
Geeeez Donks well done,
I've only just got home to read this before I can report myself. LOL

Er Indoors was driving home when it happened, we had a service done and the wheels torqued up just a couple of weeks ago, Jason Dymock (Total 4WD) is paranoid about wheel nut tension and double checked them all at that service. So who knows what caused it??

The result is needs new rotor, backing plate and the wheel is stuffed, brake calliper is OK. I will claim insurance for it, as the wheel alone is near a grand, with the insurance money we will buy 5 Pro Comp steel wheels and I will sell the other 4 mags on E-Bay with luck I might even make a profit on this.

Next week I will be fitting new 3" springs and bilstein shocks and a long range tank and Jason will be beefing up the spring mounts at the rear so that will NOT become the next problem.

I hope that will get all the known gremlins out of the system.

Thanks to all for their sympathy.
Colin

AnswerID: 351193

Follow Up By: donks1 - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:39

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:39
G'day Colin

Yeh I saw it being loaded onto the tilt tray. First thought when I saw the RTA lights was " What's this idiot done" expecting a rear ender, then as i passed saw the "TONI" spare wheel cover and obviously the missing L/H/R. Couldn't believe it....
Glad to hear everyone OK. Lucky it wasn't a few hundered meters earlier on the bend..

Donks1
FollowupID: 619472

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:54

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:54
AAMI approved the claim this evening, all's looking good.

At first they said it was a mechanical problem, no claim, it needs to be the result of an accident.

I replied "so if the car had careered out of the lane and taken out a few others that would not be a claim as it's mechanical fault that caused it, that scares me!!!!"

The girl then checked with a supervisor and said that it certainly is claimable, sorry sir and entered a claim into the system. Well done AAMI.
FollowupID: 619498

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 22:02

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 22:02
G'day Colin,

Like the others have said, glad your missus is okay and nobody was hurt in other cars etc. Having 30+ kg of wheel/tyre going where-ever it pleases on a busy road is a recipe for disaster (obviously), so good outcome.

Good to see you beefing up the rear end too....... what sort of wally would you have to be to go bush with an inadequate chassis arrangement!!!???? hahahahah

Anyway, hope the insurance you receive + the sale of the other 4 Nissan alloys, is enough to cover the 5 Pro-comp wheels etc.

All the best mate,

FollowupID: 619517

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 06:42

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 06:42
OK Roachie
WHAT sort of wally would you have to be to go bush with an inadequate chassis arrangement!!!???? sorry mate LOL
Thanks for your thoughts. Colin.
FollowupID: 619538

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 17:36

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 17:36
Check the chassis too Colin. When THE WHEEL FELL OFF THE 100 SERIES CRUISER I was driving the chassis cracked with the weight hitting the tarmac, so check that out too for the insurance company claim.

FollowupID: 619642

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 19:38

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 19:38
Hi Bonz
The disc rotor and backing plate took the full impact, with the spring taking the shock, having said that I am getting the rear spring mounts beefed up next week anyway, due to a long ranger tank going in her, and the extra weight of the tojo motor up front.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 619657

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 21:49

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 21:49
Same deal with the Cruiser Col. I took 30mm off the bottom of the disc rotor, the backing plate was stuffed too, the brake hoses picked up all sortes of rubbish. I have pics somewhere if I can find them, but there was more damage than first thought, also I couldnt find the wheel either...

FollowupID: 619676

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:58

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 19:58
Joining the club Colin?? nothing worse than the wheels fallin off...ive had a caravan and a 60 series rear passenger part company.....with the 60, the van was on the back.....and the retrieval took the 60 on the tilt tray and van on the towbar, back to Mittagong faster than the 60 could tow the van itself.
Hope all ends well for you...better now than later this year around june....u could call this a shakedown...lol
AnswerID: 351206

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:10

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:10
I have to say this,
it happened on a very busy Sydney road in PM peak (4.00pm) in the centre lane (far right of 3) next to the median strip. Er Indoors was almost immediately offered assistance by 2 passing drivers and 1 guy from a nearby house. The passing drivers saw that they could do nothing and left, but at least they stopped to offer a liitle help, thanks guys.

The guy from a nearby house called the RTA road side assist who then called a tow truck that was also an NRMA approved tower, he removed the car even before the NRMA patrol man could even be there to approve it, in fact the RTA cancelled the NRMA saying they had it all under control.

It was a smooth and friendly exercise by the tow truck driver and the RTA and Er Indoors thank's them for making the whole thing as easy as possible, they are to be commended.

Thanks guys, Colin.
AnswerID: 351212

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:23

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:23
Glad everyone is ok, and damage easily repairable.
FollowupID: 619492

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 05:00

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 05:00
Colin
It's a bit of a confidence zapper, isn't it ?
Main thing is, nobody gets hurt.

And good to see that the Insurance has picked it up.
FollowupID: 619537

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 06:57

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 06:57
Pete & Bucky
Er Indoors thanks you both for your thoughts.
Chhers Colin.
FollowupID: 619541

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 09:51

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 09:51
BUGGA !!!
Guess we'll get a blow-by- blow description Wed. Eveving !!
Mat even bring the 'new' toy along...I think it's got 20mm+ wheel studs...and chassis rails like a Mack truck..
See ya

FollowupID: 619564

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:34

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:34
I wonder if changing the studs every, say, 50,000ks may fix the problem.. That really is a strange recurring problem.. MIchael

AnswerID: 351217

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:13

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:13
Hi Colin.
May be a good case for left hand nuts and wheel studs.
Just's re minds me of my old International Scout 4wd.
Nearly broke and bent the crap out off 2 wheel braces and a heap of swearing,before i noticed a small (L) stamped on the end
of the wheel studs on the passenger side.
And i think some trucks have left hand studs as well.
I have always wondered why?
But as now with Nissan loosing their wheels it may have been a problem in the past with other vehicles.

Rob.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 351226

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 22:25

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 22:25
Early Valiants had left hand nuts and studs on the drivers side,Michael

FollowupID: 619521

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 22:32

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 22:32
MICHEAL

Years ago when i was racing, we had troubles snapping the right rear wheel studs.

we over come this by replacing the originals ( 7/16 ones ) with 1/2 inch ones.solved the problems straight away.

this might be something else the Patrol owners could look into,cheers.
FollowupID: 619524

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 23:08

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 23:08
Yes Mark, i agree. I often see Landrover studs in the traffic, they look huge.. the small size must be a factor on GU but LCs dont seem to suffer from the same problem.. Michael

FollowupID: 619527

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 23:21

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 23:21
Mark,
That is something I have seriously considered....

I can see no problems arising from doing this, as most (if not all) of the off-road trailer hubs come fitted with 1/2"UNF (standard Ford) studs, and most of us use the same wheels on our campers as on the vehicle, without any issues..
The nuts for both (12mm & 1/2") studs are 13/16" (or 21mm) "across flats", and the taper on both appears to be identical (I've checked with a bevel gauge)...

Does anyone know of a source of 1/2"UNF wheel studs with the same spline dimensions as the 12mm Nissan ones???
(The Nissan studs are actually quite a bit larger than the Ford ones in this dimension)...

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 619528

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 06:53

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 06:53
Rob there could be merit in what you are saying, with the additional torque that the new engine is putting out only enhances the effect on the wheels.
Food for thought, thanks. Colin.
FollowupID: 619540

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 08:01

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 08:01
Colin,
Good to hear no one was hurt.

Michael,
I've sheared 3 wheel studs on the TD100. Two front passenger side and one rear passenger side at different times. Now carry a few spare studs and wheel nuts.
FollowupID: 619554

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 13:28

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 13:28
Colin

SAorry to hear that you've joined the "where has my wheel gone club".

You'll see reference in the archive posts on this to using a torque wrench and checking regularly - particularly with the Nissan 16" alloys. Torque up to 98ftlb.

I also encourage all who have this problem to submit a DOTARS form so that the issue can once again be referred to Nissan.

VKS Mobile 1906

AnswerID: 351324

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 01:22

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 01:22
Good to hear no one was hurt and the insurance is coming to the party. get her back on the road soon

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 351582