Nationalities - what breed are you ?

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 09:19
ThreadID: 66365 Views:4341 Replies:18 FollowUps:15
Mornin' all,

A thread yesterday brought back a few memories of NZ and started me wondering how many different nationalities [members and visitors] we have on the forum.

What motivated you to come to Australia ?
Was 4x4, camping etc part of your lifestyle before or since coming to Aust ?
In hindsight, was it the right move ?

I'll get it rolling:
Came out in 1991, first port of call for any Kiwi was Kings Cross. What an eye opener that was, totally diferent planet. Never met a bunch of friendlier ladies, until your wallet was dry....hehehe.

Had a brother in WA so popped over to see him and after telling him about Kings C [I think his exact words were "Bloody Sucker"]
employed me for a few weeks so I had the money to get back home.
WA left a lasting impression on me, was amazed by the size of the place where 'down the road' meant a days drive.

Returned permanently in 1994, giving Kings Cross a wide berth, worked my pants off and revisited my favourite pastime of camping, 4x4ing and the bush. Never looked back.
It was a steep learning curve as the bush here is nothing like NZ.

Right move....you bet.

There are some things I miss in NZ, but an aweful lot more I enjoy living in Aussie. I call this place home.
I, however, will always wonder why Aussie shellas, as soon as they open their mouths, sound like freight trains with a jambed under-carriage....or is it just the one Im married to....hehehe.

One confession though, always smile when the All Blacks flog the Wallabys.....some things are just in the blood and will never change....lol.

Cheers.....Lionel.

Reply By: Member - len W SWANSEA (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 10:36

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 10:36
hi there lionel my first lot on my mothers side come out here in chains they were the kinky ones ahahahahahaha landedSydney in the early 1800. and on fathers sidewell he finished up here after the war from pomagolia and never went back so im a distant pom ( don't tell anyone)

ps im sure i married your wife's sister ahahahahahahahaha lucky us

................ len
AnswerID: 351469

Reply By: Phillipn - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 11:15

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 11:15
Lets compair Aussies shellas with NEW ZULANDERS.

How to speak New Zulander
[For bist effict, Rid these out aloud]

Milburn - capital of Victoria

Peck - to fill a suitcase

bleep aside - chemical which kills weeds

Pigs - for hanging out the washing

Pug - animal with a curly tail

Nin tin dough - computer game

Munner stroney - soup

Min - male of the species

Mess Kara - eye makeup

McKennock - person who fixes cars

Mere - Mayor

Leather - foam proguced from soap

Lift - departed

Kiri Pecker - famous Australian

Kittle crusps - potato chips

Ken`s - Cairns

Jungle bells - Christmas carol

Inner me - Enemy

Guess - vapour

Fush - marine creatures

Fitter cheney - type of pasta

Ever cardeau - Avocado

Fear hear - Blond

Ear - mix of nitrogen and oxygen

Ear robucks - exercise at a gym

Duffy cult - not easy

Amejen - visual

Chuck - young poultry

Bug hut - popular recording

Bun button - stung by an insect

Beard - a place to sleep

Sucks peck - half a dozen beers

Ear New Zulland - an airline

Beers - savage animal in USA forests

Veerjun - mythical New Zealand maiden

One doze - computer program

Brudge - structure spanning a river

Sex - one less than sivven

Tin - one more than nine

Iggs Ecktly - precisely

Cuds - children

Pits - domestic animals

Cuttin - baby cat

Sivven Sucks Sivven - Boeing aircraft

Sivven Four Sivven - another Boeing aircraft

Earplane - flying machine

Beggage Chicken - place to leave your suitcases at the earport

AnswerID: 351471

Follow Up By: Joondalupgerry - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:10

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:10
Oh crikey..I suppose the sheep jokes will follow?
FollowupID: 619741

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:21

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:21
Oi!!!!

Ya lift out tha Chully Bun!!!

;-)))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 619743

Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 14:57

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 14:57
Did someone mention sheep and Kiwis?? It's not Friday but its too good an opportunity to miss!

Reminds me of the aussie guy visiting Kiwi land and when driving in the countryside, came across a kiwi in a compromising situation with a sheep. He stopped and called out "ey mate, sheep are for shearin, not shaggin". The kiwi replied "Thus us my shup. I'm not shearing it with unyone, you go and find your own".

Apologies to all the kiwis out there.
Heather G
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 619762

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 11:28

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 11:28
Can I add to that.
W---ER
Some times they are unavoidable.
Australia seems to have more than average, mainly those that are still terrified of the Dividing Range.
Most of the Aussies I have met are good blokes, in Aus & NZ.
Then I don't waste much time hanging around cities, perhaps that is where W---ERS are cultivated, obviously they must find better breeding conditions near the coast.
Have a good day
Russ
FollowupID: 619856

Reply By: Joondalupgerry - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:24

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:24
Good thread, as a kiwi i can't get over how well our Aussie Bros have assimilated so many other races into their country and hopefully in the long term into their culture.
We had motor homed and travelled NZ extensively...so when a chance to move to Perth on either a working holiday or longer came up we took it and are still here 4 years alter.
We spent to years working in Perth and two years and 45,000km driving around the "block".
We started out as newbies on the road with an off road caravan....and two years later had marvelous places like Frazer island, Ooodnadatta track, Port Douglas etc etc under our belts.
We love Aussie and are now looking to change to a camper trailer and do the Gibb River, Tanimi Track and the Great Central Outback Highway.
We love Aussie..it's all been an adventure...the two things that I think WA needs to get into this century on are daylight saving and shopping hours. It's like small town NZ in the 1970's!
Cheers Gerard and Anne
AnswerID: 351484

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:30

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:30
Gerry,

"daylight saving" LOL don't get the WA rednecks stirred up about that one again. They're as bad as Qlders.

FollowupID: 619746

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 15:20

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 15:20
I'll say...

you should see my curtains after the last 3 years !!

FollowupID: 619763

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 23:00

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 23:00
GB,

What's your devious plan with all that activity in Trader ????????

FollowupID: 619825

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:25

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 00:25
Nothing devious Gramps (not more than usual anyway).

I have ordered a bigger van so the Trakkie must move on. We also have a 200 series Cruiser which is the logical choice for the new, bigger van so the Trayback is moving on as well.

I actually love the trayback but my wife doesn't drive a manual and if I expect her to be able to drive us (the van, the 200 and me if I get crook) out of trouble, well an auto is the logical conclusion (the 200 is an auto).

The other stuff is just a cleanout.

FollowupID: 619832

Follow Up By: Gramps - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 01:35

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 01:35
LOL I thought the Boss might have purchased a suite on one of the ocean liners recently berthed in Sydney and you were selling up before going off on a never ending cruise.

FollowupID: 619833

Reply By: Member - Chris & Sue (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:28

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:28
G'day Lionel.

"I, however, will always wonder why Aussie shellas, as soon as they open their mouths, sound like freight trains with a jambed under-carriage....or is it just the one Im married to....hehehe. "

When she reads that, you're dead mate. You know that, don't you. :-)

OK, seeing we're letting skeletons out of the closet...

On my Dad's side of the family, we got here in 1788. My Dad reckoned we needed new blood after about 150 years, so went and kidnapped my Mum from the UK during the war. I arrived in what was then the recently nearly-Japanese province of Papua. As Dad kept getting transferred, we lived in both Papua and New Guinea, and finally came back to the mainland in time for me to go to high school. I think I counted up that I'd been to 9 schools in PNG & Oz. Anyone else from Ela Beach Primary (1952-ish) here?

As I've obviously got the travel bug from my parents, I decided to stop fighting it and get going, first in Oz, then overseas. I've lived and worked in Melbourne & Sydney, and in a number of Qld coastal towns (if you can classify Rocky as 'coastal'!) as well as Europe, the Middle East and the Pacific Islands.

I guess like attracts like, as while SWMBO was born in Sydney, she's lived and worked in some of the same places in Oz I have as well as Wellington, Japan, San Fran, New York, Montreal and London.

We have been very fortunate to have had the opportunity to visit all 7 continents. The world's a wonderful place and travel certainly broadens the mind. However, you've got to retire at some stage (well, you don't actually, but people stop wanting to employ you!) and our collective agreement is that, having seen a fair bit of the world, Oz is the best place to retire to. Not perfect by a long shot, but there's something about the place that kept bringing us home. Not just physically and geographically, but in the spirit and character of the people.

Having arrived back, we figure that it's time we started seeing the bits we haven't seen before - mainly the bit in the middle of the map of Australia.

So much to see;
So little time;
Not enough $$$!

AnswerID: 351485

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:45

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:45
1st generation Aussie on my dad's side (German migrants in the 50's) and 4th gen Aussie on my mum's side (Cornish miners).

My mum always said "our families came here because they wanted to, not because they were forced to".

But although he's of foreign birth my dad is as Australian as they come. As Rodney Rude once put it "compared to him Paul Hogan is from Lebanon".

Louie
AnswerID: 351489

Reply By: Member - Sheepie (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 13:06

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 13:06
Yet another Kiwi here, although my father's from Adelaide - so I'm really a mongrel Aussie (not many that aren't ;) )... Now married to an Aussie too.

Why I left the nest? Always wanted to live here - it's been in my head all my life, and when I got the chance (redundancy can be a good thing) I took it.Adelaide first, but work brought me to Sydney.

I think the thing that attracts me most about travel in Aus is the open spaces - so much different to NZ.

As for the Wallabies, "Who's wanta be a Walla-Wallaby?" ;)
AnswerID: 351495

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 13:43

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 13:43
What breed am I ???

Human

AnswerID: 351501

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:25

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:25
;-o
FollowupID: 619775

Reply By: Baldrick - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 13:49

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 13:49
May as well be the first Pom to post in here! ;-)

Came to Oz 33 years ago as a teenager with my parents. Loved it from the very start, the weather, the wide open spaces and the people. Got citizenship as soon as I could and although I still view the old country with affection and visit occasionally I love Australia with a passion and wouldn't live anywhere else.

Not many other places on Earth you could hop in your vehicle and drive thousands of km through remote beautiful country in relative safety.
AnswerID: 351502

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 15:23

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 15:23
My Dad was Norwegian. Mum was born and bred in Perth.

AnswerID: 351508

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 01:55

Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 01:55
I am of Pommie stock when my paternal great...great etc..................grandfather with mum and 5 kids settled in the Peterborough/Jamestown area and became wheat farmers in about 1846.
I am greatful they did and I was born and live in the best country on earth, but I always wonder how bad things were or possibly other circumstances which prompted the family to undertake such a dangerous journey to a colony which was mostly still a convict settlement.
OK I am aware SA was not but is still a harsh land by comparison to St Mellion in Cornwall.
FollowupID: 619834

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 16:33

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 16:33
What Breed am I ?

Aussie, Danish , Kiwi, a bit of Irish,( Often wondered about that one..lol), So you tell me!, One thing i know , i'm not opening any more closets!. lol.

AnswerID: 351515

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:00

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:00
MONGREL

Born in New Zealand,Lived in Australia since i was two years old,i'm in my naughty forties now and loving it, and i also own a British Passport !

AnswerID: 351521

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:33

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:33

My fathers parents came from London and went to a little place called Anakie in Queensland,and set up a grocery store, they were
only in Australia 2 months, when he inlisted in the Light Horse when
WW1 started, got on another ship and didn't come back home for
another 5 years, when he did get back home my father was born
9-10 months later,one my mothers relatives also came from London,
she was a naughty girl and had a free cruise over here as well,
every body reckons I take after my mothers family.

Daza
AnswerID: 351527

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 19:46

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 19:46
No wonder you became a plumber then Dazza LOL LOL

Cheers mate :-)
FollowupID: 619792

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 21:51

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 21:51
Geez Fred

I have been trying to keep the Family Name respectable for a long
time now, even had our Family Tree checked out, then somebody
goes and sells it for Fire Wood, lol lol.
FollowupID: 619814

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:37

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:37
True AUSSIE through and through ....

On my mother's side: grandmother a Willams and Grandfather a McDonald - both bushies from way back.

Father's side: Grandfather was Mounted Constable in Charge Katherine Police Station - 1927

Born at Hindmarsh SA - funny, another bloke that looks just like me arrived at the same time :-) As soon as we were able to we both left home and went bush (mainly SA) and then both joined the army for the next 20/21 years. Been retired for ten years and don't know how I found time to go to work.

Still have the urge to get up and go, but Townsville is now home. (Nearly a local - been here 28 years) ;-)

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 351528

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 18:02

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 18:02
Both parents Brits and I wos born there. Came out nearly 57 years ago when I was a pup.
AnswerID: 351533

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 20:33

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 20:33
Nationality = Aussie for years
FollowupID: 619802

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 18:25

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 18:25
Pure "Aussie"

AnswerID: 351537

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 19:48

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 19:48
Which tribe :-))
FollowupID: 619793

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 18:51

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 18:51
9th Generation Aussie..

First direct ancestor born in Australia was Elizabeth Baker born 1788, Sydney Cove. Parents were William Baker, Marine, and Susannah Huffnell, convict, and possibly Governor Philip's first housekeeper.

My allegience lies with WA however, being a fifth generation Western Australian. John Anning was my first direct ancestor here, arriving at the Swan River Colony as a convict in 1851.

And proud of it :))

AnswerID: 351543

Reply By: Rolly - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 20:41

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 20:41
Might as well 'fess up too.
Born and bred in South Wales (the old one) then recruited by the then Dept. of Civil Aviation to fly out to Melb'n to help keep Aussie pilots from driving their aircraft into 1. the ground, 2. high hills, and 3. each other.
Was quite successful at it for 16years.
However I got transferred West after 5 years, on a two year deployment and, thank goodness, they decided that they didn't want me back East after all.
Been around the place ever since except for a couple of extended o/s jaunts.
Can't call me a pom, 'cos I'm Welsh, nor a "ten pound tourist" 'cos the gummint paid my fare.
Plurry good move though.
AnswerID: 351554

Reply By: Member - Paul W- Esq (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 22:06

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 22:06
Dutch/German Dads Parents Italian/Egyptian Mums Parents but i was born here in Victoria. An Aussie i'd say!!
AnswerID: 351564