Fridges

I am after opinions on a good fridge - there are so many out there now.

I am after a 50-80L model for a family. I am leaning to Waeco at the moment.

Any thoughts or no go brands, problems or are they mostly the same now?

Many thanks

Marco

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:11

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:11
Marco

for quality i dont think you can go past a Engel,cheers.
AnswerID: 352887

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:19

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:19
You could check out the EVA Kool.

Great fridge, had one for 9 years now and very happy.
AnswerID: 352889

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:32

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:32
Marco there aren't too many models to keep away from other than the thermoelectric type which don't work at all on hot days.
There is a compromise to be made between the space the fridge takes up verses the thickness of insulation. Fridges like the Waeco & Engel have a relatively thin insulation (hence the need for transit bags) but are very compact for their internal space. Something like a Trailblazer is at the other end of the scale taking up alot of space but continuing to work efficiently in 40+ degree temps.
The other features to look for are the quality of fittings & what the case is made of. Again some have flimsy plastic catches while others stainless steel with fibreglass probably being the pick for a sturdy case. Personally the simpler a fridge is the better so if it doesn't have fancy electronic displays etc there is less to go wrong.
Most manufacturers seem to have a reasonable warrenty & backup service although with their huge dealer network Waeco would be the best............but then they need to be, as if this forum is any indication they seem to have more failures than all other brands put together. (have a search)
If moneys not a big consideration I'd spend a few extra dollars & get one of the Australian built fridges.
Cheers Craig..............
39 & 73L Autofridges.
AnswerID: 352890

Follow Up By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:43

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:43
Crackles, thanks for the input. I will look at a few good Australian built units..

M
FollowupID: 621083

Follow Up By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:11

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:11
Crackles, I had a look at the Auto fridge on the net, this is what I am looking for. Sounds like a well built unit for Australian conditions. Thanks..

M
FollowupID: 621085

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 13:30

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 13:30
Don't get too excited yet. Have you seen the prices? :-) Not what one would call great value for money but certainly one of the best as far as performance & durability goes. My 39L is over 20 years old & the 73L around 15. Both running flawlessly bar a damaged plug that one could put down to poor handling.
The main difference with the Autofridge is the Utetic fluid, bit like having it's own icepack which will keep everything cool even when turned off for over 12 hours.
Keep comparing though. There are other good Aussie brands like the Evercool/Trailblazer etc worth considering (if $2K+ is too much).
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 621099

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:34

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:34
Lots out there is an understatement , Waeco 80lt is BIG in size and uses power bigtime as well ,have kept a record of useage over the last 5+ yrs ,average is 64amp hrs per 24 hrs , takes 2 to lift when full ,,If I was to do a refitout of our camping gear I would go for 2x 50/60lt either Waeco or Engle , gives more versatility than 1 large all fridge or fridge freezer.
AnswerID: 352891

Follow Up By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:42

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 11:42
Thanks Axel.
Just the thing I was looking for.

M
FollowupID: 621082

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:09

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:09
Quality: Autofridge

Reliability: Engel

Price: Waeco

AnswerID: 352895

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:39

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:39
Compare the prices of this far superior product (Trailblaza) to the others.

Trailblaza click on the Trailblaza button for the price list.

Waeco

Engel

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 352899

Follow Up By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:54

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:54
Thanks Steve.

Had a look and I am impressed. Appears to be worth buying an Australian Quality unit.

M
FollowupID: 621092

Reply By: Austravel - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:40

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 12:40
I have an engel and while I've had two fail over the years back up is good. Pretty reliable, poor insualtion, poor pull down rate (as per all others) and damn expensive. Don't see it as knocking them as most are in the same boat.

Have checked into evacool for a mate and much cheaper, quite robust, dual fridge freezer and reliable.

During my research I spoke with a service guy (refrigeration mechanic). He services most brands mainly focusing on waco, engel and evacool. His view was for reliability most brand name fridges are similar. For pull down rates most are similar. He owns engel but said won't go wrong with an evacool.

Essentially saying stick with a brand name, look at value for money, long warranty and don't expect them to pull down like your fridge at home. Make sure you limit vibration and treat them very carefully. Ie don't add hot drinks during the day, do it in the morning or night. Don't open fridge during heat of day. Pull out food you want for lunch in the morning and put in an esky.

Sounds like a chore but if you're in one spot for a while with limited power you will need to reduce the fridge load as much as possible.

I'd buy an evacool next time for around $1000 cheaper than the engel.
AnswerID: 352900

Reply By: Sigmund - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 14:04

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 14:04
The Waeco website reports a +ve independent test of the CF40. AFAIK the CF50 is essentially the same.
AnswerID: 352913

Reply By: ozwasp - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 14:33

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 14:33
Hi Marco

What will you be using your fridge for?

If you are on the road constantly, then buy an Engel. Perhaps get a 40L Engel and a Two Zone as well, which should bring it up to 60L and cost around $1500 new. I really think Engel's are the tried and tested car fridge and infact my friends 110L Waeco would not keep bait frozen in 30 degree weather.

If you're going to be doing a lot of camping in the one spot and don't want to be living out of your car, then I would recommend a Chescold 3 way fridge. The 2 Chescolds worth looking at are the 40L F400 and the 50L RC1180. The F400 can be used as a fridge or freezer, while the RC1180 has a removable divider so can be used as a fridge-freezer combo or just a fridge (Most people seem to prefer the combo). Chescold's are quite robust and will still freeze in high 30 degree weather.

I have both a 40L Engel and 40L F400 Chescold and find I use my Engel more, as I am on the move more often. I just use mine to keep drinks cold, so don't need to use it as a freezer, although it is good to have a powerful model for warmer conditions. Don't discount the 3 way fridges though, as they do serve a purpose.

Regards, Will
AnswerID: 352920

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 22:45

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 22:45
Chescold's are excellent if you are in one spot for > 3 days but they will flaten a car battery within a couple of hours in summer if the engine isn't going. You can't realistically run them on a 12V battery (any type) unless the engine (alternator) is running.
We had two of them only capable of dropping the internal Temp to 10-12C in 40-42C days where as the 50L Waeco (presume Engel as good) kept food at 3C.
Chescolds are also quite heavy, really a two person job when loaded.
FollowupID: 621178

Follow Up By: ozwasp - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 12:40

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 12:40
I agree with you that they work best on gas and are designed for longer term camping. As I mentioned it depends on your camping.

Chescolds are good in that you are not living out of the car, as most people would do with electric fridges. Personally I have found my Chescold to freeze just as well as the Engel up to 35 degree days. The Engel on the other hand will freeze well above 40 degree days (tested) and as I mentioned seem to perform better than Waecos.
FollowupID: 621539

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 17:10

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 17:10
Marco

The best is the trailblaza. It is the toughest in build and very well insulated. Because of this they are heavy and large.

Engels have been around for a long time and make a quality product.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 352941

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 17:18

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 17:18
I use a 40 litre Engel fitted with a 30 litre basket.
Under the 30 litre basket I put 2 x 2 litre ice cream containers and 6 plastic tumblers of water. I run the Engle as a freezer and pull out 5 litres of block ice every second day. This is put into a quality esky (a 45 litre fibreglass Engel) with thick insulation.
This adequately supplies the esky with enough ice for drinks and thawed food on an ongoing basis. Naturally a week before we go on a trip I fill the esky with about 10 litres of block ice as a starter.
AnswerID: 352943

Reply By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 17:18

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 17:18
If really want a great fridge look at the 74l national luna. Great insulation, stainless steel construction and 2 seperate fridge/ freezers with seperate controls and their own doors. It is expensive though. Used by WHO to transport blood in arrid areas.
AnswerID: 352944

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 17:33

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 17:33
I've owned both Engel and Waeco.

Engel are vastly overpriced.

Frankly wouldn't buy either again as their insulation is poor.

I see a lot of fridges and reckon Evakool/Fridgemate is the best value for money by a mile.

AnswerID: 352946

Reply By: Matt191 - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 20:25

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 20:25
Hi, I have owned an Evakool Fridgemate 95L now for several years, I have used it everywhere from Sydney to Tasmania, in temps up to 55 degree C in the car.
I also use it in a base camp set up with a solar panel, I can say that it draws about 1 amp when used as a fridge on setting 1 up to about 30 degree temps. I often use my fridge on setting 3 with a divider so that at the bottom of the freezer side keeps the meat just frozen, i then keep dairy on top of the meat and any thing else that needs to be critically cold, I keep the drinks on the fridge side which keeps them adequately cold.It draws about 1.5 amps on setting 3.

i would recommend the 95L Evakool to anyone who is looking for a large fridge for the family, it is very robust and can handle a bit of bumping around.
Matt
AnswerID: 352968

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 22:22

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 22:22
70ltr Evakool for the past 5 years and would buy another when/if this one goes belly up. Friends with Waecos and Engel's, I have no issues with them.
AnswerID: 352991

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 22:41

Sunday, Mar 08, 2009 at 22:41
Hi Marco,
We have been running an Evacool for 2 years now none stop on our trip. It is an 80ltr ran as fridge/freezer. It sits in the rear drawer in the camper. Very efficient on power. Has an in built diagnostics for fault finding. This was how we found a stuffed battery in the trailer, fridge showed low voltage after driving all day so I knew there was a problem. Back up service is amazing. Before we worked out it was the battery I rang Evacool for help. We were on our way out of Wilpena. They talked me through the fault finding process over the phone cause there was no service centre near by. Anything I did was still under warranty. They said if I couldn't find the fault just find the closest fridge repairer even if not an Evacool authorised repairer and they would ok the repairs under warranty. Found out it was the battery not the fridge. It has worked faultlessly for us. Very tuff and well insulated. We were in Darwin in 45+ deg heat and it never missed a beat.

Josh
AnswerID: 352997

Reply By: bockstar1 - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 08:13

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 08:13
We have one from ABR/Sidewinder. I reckon great value for money compared with the big name brands.

www.sidewinder.com.au

AnswerID: 353015

Follow Up By: beelzebug - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 11:43

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 11:43
I will second bockstar's recommendation. The ABR/Sidewinder fridge has served me well. Ran like a DREAM IN 50+ degrees in QLD over summer.
Price is good and the fridge slide is also good value.
FollowupID: 621383

Reply By: ross - Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 10:04

Monday, Mar 09, 2009 at 10:04
Ive seen the Waeco 50 on sale at $999. Thats good value
AnswerID: 353033