Just like the old saying, "No Sharks here, Crocs cleaned 'em out"

Croc Photo-story

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 13:03

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 13:03
The whole world could blow up and the NT News would still put a "croc" story on the front page above any other story.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 353405

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 13:10

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 13:10
Fred
Still better than looking at the Pollies and Crims, and if the as you said the world blow up... the Crocs would survive.. :-)

Anyhow the story should be taken as a warning to the many tourists who will visit the Territory this coming tourist season.

FollowupID: 621543

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 06:56

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 06:56
Maybe they know how to sell. Local news is the most read.

One person who dies in your street has the same news value as 10 people dying in your city, 100 people in your country, 1000 people overseas or 10,000 in a thrid world country.
FollowupID: 621674

Reply By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 13:21

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 13:21
We have a saying on our farm, not many snakes here, the redbacks killed them
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 353411

Follow Up By: Kiwi and Grenade - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 14:19

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 14:19
I dunno what would be worse...both make me run!!
FollowupID: 621556

Follow Up By: oz doc - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 21:29

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 21:29
Not many people will recall this, but many moons ago when I was a nipper, there was a terrific photo series published on the front page of the Western Australian 'Daily News' newspaper. It depicted a dugite snake doing battle with a redback spider under a gate. The spider won. doc.
FollowupID: 621619

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 21:55

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 21:55
pretty common ive seen other pics too

this one wiped out a Python

FollowupID: 621624

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 13:43

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 13:43
One tourist website I saw for the Burnett River in Bundaberg said "There are no crocs in the burnett river as the sharks ate them all" so I guess in the grand scheme of things it evens out.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 353416

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 20:55

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 20:55
18 foot Croc devours 3 foot shark.

I'm sure I could kill a Lion with my bare hands if it was a 2 week old cub.

I'd back an 18 foot White Pointer to rip an 18 foot Croc to bits.

Still, I'm not a Marine Scientist, so it is pure conjecture.

AnswerID: 353491

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 21:42

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 21:42
Jim
I don't think you have done much research about the Salty Croc, I would surely suggest you stick with strangling 2 week old Cubs with your hand ,
Here's some Croc facts for you to chew on , I would back the Croc anyday

Average-sized males reach 17 feet (5 meters) and 1,000 pounds (450 kilograms), but specimens 23 feet (7 meters) long and weighing 2,200 pounds (1,000 kilograms) are not uncommon.
It is found primarily along mangrove-lined tidal rivers (in brackish water) up to 200 km from the coast, and flood plain billabongs, creeks and freshwater swamps up to 100 km from the coast. Adults can venture out to sea and swim around coastlines or between islands. Individuals have been found to travel over 1000 km by sea.
Crocodiles have up to 68 teeth in their jaw which replenish constantly and can bite down with more than 2 tonnes of pressure
Classic opportunistic predators, they lurk patiently beneath the surface near water's edge waiting for potential prey to stop for a sip of water. They’ll feed on anything they can get their jaws on, including water buffalo, monkeys, wild boar, and even sharks. Without warning, they explode from the water with a thrash of their powerful tails, grasp their victim, and drag it back in, holding it under until the animal drowns
It is found primarily along mangrove-lined tidal rivers (in brackish water) up to 200 km from the coast, and flood plain billabongs, creeks and freshwater swamps up to 100 km from the coast. Adults can venture out to sea and swim around coastlines or between islands. Individuals have been found to travel over 1000 km by sea.
A typical adult great white shark measures 4 to 4.8 m (13 to 16 ft) with a typical weight of 680 to 1,100 kg (1,500 to 2,450 lb), females generally being larger than males.

FollowupID: 621622

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 21:55

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 21:55
Interesting copy and paste Doug.

BUT

The original post and link to the "news" article showed a monster Croc devouring a very small shark.

Have a look at the size of the Coc's jaw as opposed to the the size of the Shark. Hence my cooment about my ability to defeat a Lion.

FollowupID: 621625

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 22:22

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 22:22
Jim
Of course it's a copy and paste, you don't have to be Einstien to see that, why sit and type for 10 minutes when one knows what he wants to type go find it already done ,

FollowupID: 621630

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 22:26

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 22:26
I wish I could remember which 4wd magazine I saw the photo in.
It was of a croc, about 3-4 mtrs long from memory washed up on a beach I think in Northern Queensland, very dead and a very large chunk bitten out of its lower middle section. According to some University type the bite mark was made by a rather large shark attacking from below as the croc was swimming out at sea. So I guess it depends on the size of the adversaries as Jim has said and where they meet. In this particular encounter it looks as if the shark had the element of surprise.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 621633

Follow Up By: muzzgit - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 23:37

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 23:37
I wonder if the shark thought the croc tasted like chicken! te he
FollowupID: 621649

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 03:06

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 03:06
thats great Doug T but how does it COMPARE with the White Pointer?
FollowupID: 621668

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 05:10

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 05:10
Crocs are my favourite but;

It all depends on the circumstances

Tiger kills Croc

Worth a look

Interesting

Pound for pound and if it were a fair fight then i would back the Croc. If it was a cowardly attack then the shark would have it. But with the jaw pressure and death roll it would snap a shark in two. Crocs on the other hand are rather hardy, i have seen .308 bullets bounce off them.
FollowupID: 621671

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 08:15

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 08:15
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 621675

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 08:40

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 08:40
remember the pay tv animal vs animal - pretty sure the shark one

id back the shark for a few reasons

- swimming ability crocs can swim OK but have no need for great manoevrability as the dont swim down their prey

- atttack/kill mode (this is the biggy)

a shark uses speed and agility to smash its prey and tear a big chunk out of it leving it to bleed weakening it

a croc uses stealth to leap from the water using its jaws to grab only relying on drowning to kill its prey
FollowupID: 621682

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:51

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:51
Maybe we should release a few crocs here in Sydney to bring all the recent shark attacks under control! hehe
FollowupID: 621694

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:52

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:52
Handy, explain your theory that the Normanton croc is B/S when all the photo evidence [ no photoshop / computers to manipulate at the time] proves otherwise ,, next thing you will tell us is that barramundi cant grow to 1metre+ ,,,
FollowupID: 621695

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:06

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:06
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 621699

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:16

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:16

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 621700

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:28

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:28
yes his mrs Krys shot it but he took the photos. READ only 3 photos were taken by him only. None by the news papers.
there is no material evidence to prove that croc existed.
And yes i have researched this topic. Prove me wrong.
FollowupID: 621705

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:44

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:44

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 621711

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:57

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:57

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 621715

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:11

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:11

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 621717

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:19

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:19

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 621720

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:34

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:34

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 621728

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:39

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:39

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 621734

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:24

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:24
Handy ,show us all YOUR proof that no crocs over 20ft has ever been shot /exists in Australia , YOU CANNOT can you, the photographic proof+ and journals + eyewitness accounts show proof that 20+ ft crocs have existed in the Tropical Nth of Australia ,,,,, unless you were witness to EVERY single croc ever shot in Australia over the last 239 years your statements hold no weight so take your hand off it.
FollowupID: 621745

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 15:15

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 15:15
NO photos exist of 20ft crocs shot in oz because there is None.
that is my point which you dont seem to understand.
tom cole
bryn peach
rene henri
vince vlasoff
bob plant
jack sweeny
louie kosmic
george craig and many others all shot heaps of crocs and None were 20ft.
tom cole bought over 30,000 skins ,biggest being just over 18ft.
AGAIN NO PHOTOS EXIST OF A CROC SHOT IN OZ THAT IS OVER 20 FT
FollowupID: 621767

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:02

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:02
Just to play mediator here chaps I'll put this forward.

The Burden of Proof Rule as applied in Courts of Law.

To prove the existence of something you have to substantiate that claim. It is not good enough to say I reckon it exists, you prove me wrong. Much along the lines of innocent until proven guilty.

Therefore the mediator rules that it is up to Axel to prove his statements.

FollowupID: 621773

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:06

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:06
thanks jim, thats what i have asked all along.
FollowupID: 621774

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:41

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:41
ERGO ,proof is in NORMANTON , housed in the old BurnsPhilip building , and Jim if proof of law is as you state requires proof of existance heaven help us all , ,,,, bit like saying that there were no dinosaurs because Tom Cole ect never shot one therefore there were never any Dinosaurs in Australia or that there were never any Tasmanian tigers on the Mainland because no white man ever got to shoot one ,,, Proof is in the facts ,and the facts are that 20ft+ crocs have existed in Australia.
FollowupID: 621778

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:39

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:39
Just for a laugh , google "largest crocodile " and then continue ,, fact 20+ ft crocs exist to this day and the croc called Krys in Normanton is recognised world wide by experts as the size portrayed , come on Handy and Jim , you still going to argue against the FACTS.
FollowupID: 621788

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:56

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:56
Axel,

From Wikipedia

"The largest recorded crocodile is a giant saltwater crocodile measured at 8.6 metres (28 ft) and 1,352 kilograms (2,980 lb) shot in Australia, Queensland in 1957. A replica of this crocodile has been made as a tourist attraction.[9] The largest living crocodile known is a 7.1 metres (23 ft) long saltwater crocodile, in Orissa, India. It lives in Bhitarkanika Wildlife Sanctuary and in June 2006, was entered in the Guinness Book of World Records."

Other examples still require citations but these two are not denoted that way.

FollowupID: 621792

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:52

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:52
Gramps , exactly what I have been saying all thru this thread , 20+ ft crocs do and have existed , the facts speak for themselves.
FollowupID: 621810

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:47

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:47
The mediator now rules that the burden of proof has been met and substantiated by an independent witness.

Unless any further evidence to the contrary is brought forward, the mediator declares this debate over.

FollowupID: 621827

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 15:30

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 15:30
OK boys I have been asked by Doug to help clear up some facts.

I have no doubt that the Croc shot at Normanton was real and of that size, however the monument in the town centre is so out of proportion it's not funny, Anja and I measured it when we were there and it is in no way a replica, for example the head is way to big and by it's measurements it would make it about 10 metres in length not only that I have seen a close to 7 metre croc and there is simple no way that replica was made from the real croc.

Handy :

Tom Cole ( Hell West and Crocked) once said he had never seen a croc over 18 feet, this was before crocs were protected, it has been 35 years since and I can tell you now and if you ever visit I can show you at least 4 crocs that I know off that are 6+ metres in length, in fact there is one at shady camp that is closer to 7 metres than it is to 6, there are two within a few hundred meters of the Adelaide River Bridge on the Arnhem hwy both have been measured at over 6 metres I have seen 6 metre crocs in Arnhemland in areas that most white fella's are not allowed to access trust me they are out there.

As for a Croc verses a shark of the same size I have always said this, It would be the one who got their jaws around the other first, as both animals have a similar demeanour and jaw strength, having said that it would make for a great video. LOL

By the way there is no reason to go to court to vindicate this post just visit me and I will show you.

Cheers Steve

FollowupID: 622279

Follow Up By: handy - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 15:39

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 15:39
facts are still there is no photos of a croc shot in oz that is over 20ft steve. that is the whole arguement and no one can prove different. cheers
FollowupID: 622282

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 15:44

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 15:44
NO , Handy , the facts are that you stated that there has never been a croc over 20 ft shot in Australia , get it thru your head , you have been PROOVED WRONG.
FollowupID: 622283

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:42

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:42
facts are-if the most important thing you have to spend your time on is "tit for tatting" over the alleged size of a croc-then you probably need to get a hobby or a girlfriend!

It seems like something no-one can win as there is no proof and Wikipedia DEFINITELY isnt the source of factual information.

Quite possibly it was over 20foot, but was it 28'?
FollowupID: 622317

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:07

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:07
The mediator now rules that the burden of proof has been met and substantiated by an independent witness.

Unless any further evidence to the contrary is brought forward, the mediator declares this debate over.

AnswerID: 353632

Reply By: Kroozer - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 19:58

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 19:58
Pretty sure the crocs of Tom Coles days would be 20+ feet nowadays if they were still around. If the culling didnt happen then there would be some massive crocs around. I myself have seen 18 footers in the wild so i really dont think that 20+ feet is too hard to believe, though i wouldnt like to be too close to one. Even 18 foot is unbelievably HUGE.
AnswerID: 353657

Reply By: PatrolSTL04 - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 22:30

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 22:30
There is great set of photos at Kingswood Marine in Broome.

Picture of a Macky being brought into the back of the boat.

Second pic is of a shark grabbing the Macky.

Third pic is of a croc grabbing the shark grabbing the Macky.

Awesome

Crocs rule !!
AnswerID: 353700

Reply By: handy - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 07:41

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 07:41
in my defence how could the weight of the croc be taken when it was never weighed. left where it was shot FACT
as i said NO photos exist of that croc, 3 were taken, 2 destroyed and 1 lost, that is what the pawlowskis said. FACT
it is reckonised it the GBOR but it is only here say. FACT
have a look at a book by Robert Reid the FACTS are in there and any number of books on the matter.
And last of my defence as i have said all along that NO PHOTOS EXIST OF A CROC SHOT IN OZ THAT ARE OVER 20FT.
the speil you get at normaltown is just to suck you in.
sounds like it has worked. lol

AnswerID: 353738

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:22

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:22
Handy,you originally stated that no such thing as a 20ft + croc ever been shot in Aus , your statement was wrong then and is wrong now , get over it , you have been PROVED WRONG.
FollowupID: 621873

Follow Up By: handy - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:31

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:31
still waiting for you to prove me wrong.
FollowupID: 621875

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:33

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:33
Axel - Handy
Get each others email and take you bloody debate off of here , getting sick of the damn endless email notifications from you two,

FollowupID: 621876

Follow Up By: handy - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 09:49

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 09:49
thought it might of kept you amused doug. cheers
FollowupID: 621894

Follow Up By: muzzgit - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:26

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:26
Girls, girls, girls! Could ya go wash ya netball shirts and leave the rest of us be!
FollowupID: 622045

Follow Up By: handy - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 07:35

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 07:35
and whats it got to do with you ???
FollowupID: 622067

Follow Up By: muzzgit - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 14:02

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 14:02
I beg your pardon, mate? I think maybe a little bit of "pull your head in" might be in order.

I'm have been a visitor to this site since 2005, until recently I was a paid up member, and as the same as everyone else with access to the WWW, I have the right to watch this thread, and any other thread, as it transpires. I also have the right to contribute to this thread whether YOU like it or not.

Muzz
FollowupID: 622266

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 15:37

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 15:37
Hmmmm wonder where this came from then

FollowupID: 622280

Follow Up By: handy - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:33

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:33
doug read my earlier posts about the pawlowski's.
that is not a photo of the 28 ft normanton croc.
NONE EXIST
FollowupID: 622300