Watch your speed in Sydney

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:04
ThreadID: 66767 Views:4245 Replies:17 FollowUps:25
I don't know if anyone else here subscibes to Crikey.com, but this was a new article in todays issue.

Crikey quoted;

M5 and the M7 are now equipped with Point to Point Speed Devices. On entering the M7 the e-tag beeps and a camera takes a photo of your car recording the exact time. On exiting the e-tag system beeps again another camera at that point takes a photo of the car and the time. Then the computer calculates the time it has taken you to travel between the two points and calculates your speed. If you completed the clocked journey too fast you are issued with a speeding ticket.

At the present the speed limit is 100kmph with a tolerance of 102 maximum. Over that and you are issued with a fine automatically. What a shock some drivers are going to have when they use this roadway for a week and get a weeks' tickets BOTH WAYS. Now with the new legislation, fighting a Speed Camera fine is almost impossible.

You must prove the device is faulty and if you are not a technician working on them, you have no chance of beating the fine. The Pacific Highway has a set, recognised by large steel frames over the lanes with a speed camera.

These are being put onto any expressway and highway where vehicles are not able to exit between those points'.

Good thing I live in western NSW.

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:21

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:21
Shouldn't be a problem for me; I'm using a tried and tested speed limiting device.........

AnswerID: 353622

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:11

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:11
a brick under the throttle ???

Boc
FollowupID: 621823

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:39

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:39
Oxboc !!!!!!!!!!!!!
He drives a Land Rover, der. LOL
FollowupID: 621826

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:39

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:39
Baz,
I think we might be safe for us on the M2. The two mentioned can do it, as they have Etag thingies on the exits. We have no thingie on our exit. Lucky because with that 80 km outbound limit, evenyou could get booked ( with a tail wind maybe ).
Willie
FollowupID: 621878

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 09:40

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 09:40
Hi Willie

Would need to be the a downhill section though....

Actually the Red one gets along okay, the 130 just plugs along.

Thomas is finishing his Little Athletics tomorrow so we are going to try for a run to Abercrombie over the next month or so, so I'll give you a hoy when we work out a tiem and see if you able to join us...

FollowupID: 621893

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 11:17

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 11:17
Baz,

Re Abercrombie River.

OK . I will need a bit of warning though. If I cannot go when you want, I can give you a Google map or an Exploroz plot to guide you in.

Willie.
FollowupID: 621903

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 16:03

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 16:03
HI toni , i was actually kind of joking ---- well in a way i was - a while back i was on ebay looking at stupid things people sell on there - and there was this item that came up when i typed in FUEL SAVER - ad was Titled fuel saver save up to 80% off your fuel bill - the item was $60 + delivery with installation time of about 30 seconds -- when you looked at the photo of the item - it was a house brick...

LMAO - at the bottom where people have been asking questions about the item -some of the questions were " Does it come in other colours ? " and Will it fit my fully sick HSV...

too funny :)

Boc
FollowupID: 621940

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 16:43

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 16:43
If I ever get a speeding ticket in 'The Landy' i'll proudly frame it and hang it on the wall......... :)
FollowupID: 621951

Follow Up By: bbuzz - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:39

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:39
Try this -
From a reliable source.....

wonder how long it will take for the gov to change their rules on this one...

Worth a try…

Just thought I would share this with you, as you know I work in the speeding fine department in Brisbane's Magistrate's Court and in the course of my investigation into 'fines, their payment methods and how points are automatically added against drivers licences' we discovered something very interesting 'If You Get a Speeding Fine.' This has been tried and it works.

I have tried to send this to everyone I know. I know for a fact that it works so if you ever get in this situation, you have an out. We discovered that this procedure works nationwide. Read it and try it, you have nothing to lose but the points on your licence.

This is how it works:

If you get a speeding ticket or went through a red light or whatever the case may be, and you are going to get points on your licence, then there is a method to ensure that you DO NOT get any points. When you get your fine, send in the cheque to pay for it and if the fine is say, $140, then make the cheque out for $141 or some small amount over the fine. The system will then
have to send you back a cheque for the difference, but here is the trick!

**DO NOT CASH THE REFUND CHEQUE!!!** Throw it away!! Points are not assessed to your licence until all financial transactions are complete. If you do not cash the cheque then the transactions are NOT complete.
However, the system has got its money and is happy and will not bother you any more. This information came to our attention from a very reliable computer company that sets up the standard database used by each county's computing system.

FollowupID: 622002

Reply By: Member - What The(QLD) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:26

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:26
Now people in cars will know what the truck drivers have to deal with.
AnswerID: 353624

Reply By: toyocrusa - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:37

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:37
Maybe you could do this. Not sure if it is an email myth or not. By coincidence I received it today.bob.

Worth a try…
Just thought I would share this with you, as you know I work in the speeding fine department in Brisbane's Magistrate's Court and in the course of my investigation into 'fines, their payment methods and how points are automatically added against drivers licences' we discovered something very interesting 'If You Get a Speeding Fine.' This has been tried and it works.

I have tried to send this to everyone I know. I know for a fact that it works so if you ever get in this situation, you have an out. We discovered that this procedure works nationwide. Read it and try it, you have nothing to lose but the points on your licence.

This is how it works:

If you get a speeding ticket or went through a red light or whatever the case may be, and you are going to get points on your licence, then there is a method to ensure that you DO NOT get any points. When you get your fine, send in the cheque to pay for it and if the fine is say, $140, then make the cheque out for $141 or some small amount over the fine. The system will then
have to send you back a cheque for the difference, but here is the trick!

**DO NOT CASH THE REFUND CHEQUE!!!** Throw it away!! Points are not assessed to your licence until all financial transactions are complete. If you do not cash the cheque then the transactions are NOT complete.
However, the system has got its money and is happy and will not bother you any more. This information came to our attention from a very reliable computer company that sets up the standard database used by each county's computing system.

Good luck and share this with all your friends and other family members as well!!!

AnswerID: 353626

Follow Up By: George_M - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:53

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:53
This story has been around for a long time. I tried the approach you've mentioned when I got a ticket in Melbourne about two years ago. It made no difference at all.

George_M
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 621791

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:58

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:58
Snopes reckon this is a furphy - see: Avoiding Speeding Fines

Dicky
FollowupID: 621793

Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 01:39

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 01:39
I tried it in Melbourne about 4 years ago.

Didn't ever get a refund cheque.(but I did get the points!)

FollowupID: 621861

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:37

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:37
"This information came to our attention from a very reliable computer company that sets up the standard database used by each county's computing system."

This bit gives it away. Obviously something from the good ole USA ( county Police forces) with the Brisbane bit thrown in for local content.

FollowupID: 622047

Reply By: Gramps - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:41

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:41
Point to Point speed cameras for cars in NSW is an URBAN MYTH. It was discussed on here a few weeks ago. No one has been able to produce any verifiable proof and the last two Transport Ministers have gone on record to say it is a myth.

This story comes up every six months or so.

AnswerID: 353627

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:53

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:53
Thats crap Richard... In fact, all the normal speed cameras in NSW have been pulled from service.... NO speed camers operate in NSW at the moment. and definately no Point to Point exist yet. Michael

AnswerID: 353628

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:05

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:05
Michael,

I think the Fixed Speed cameras are still in operation, it's just the mobile units that are in Limbo.

FollowupID: 621794

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:21

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:21
Gramps!! You may be right but im sure i heard last week that all the fixed cameras were out of service,, i will do a search and check... Its hard to believe that they are so old they were pulled from service...which ever ones they are,, this state is stuffed.. You would think that those fools in Macquarie street would just get out of the way and give the other guys a go.. Sadly, the state is so run down, it would be impossible to get it going again, no matter who was in Government... Michael

FollowupID: 621824

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 21:53

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 21:53
If you're sure they're not working, just drive through them at 20k over the limit !
FollowupID: 621832

Follow Up By: donks1 - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 07:21

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 07:21
I do.. Regularily

Donks1
FollowupID: 621867

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:03

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:03
Yes,

The news article has been checked by Crikey and is a furphy, and apologies are all round.

This is a crowd who ae generally accurate and check their sources of information. I'd say that some journo is either getting or is in for a bum kicking.

Dick
AnswerID: 353631

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:12

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:12
Hi Richard
Like most other state, I bet they are saying that is all for the safety of other road users and not realy a way of the Government of making easy money?

AnswerID: 353659

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:54

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:54
If this dopey system is ever introduced it will encourage the hoon boys to go "hell for leather".

Want to really speed? Find out where the fixed cameras are, give the car the berries, do 250 km/h if you like for a few K's, then pull over and stop for 10 minutes.

Useless technology.

AnswerID: 353668

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 00:33

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 00:33
Jim,

I don't understand your logic with this one mate. Same as people saying that truckies stop between cameras so they don't get booked.

Why even worry about it...sit on the speed limit and you get there just as quick.

I used to drive from Sydney to Wagga Wagga every weekend for a year... (and back again).... if I sat on the speed limit it took me just under 4 hours. I did it at different speeds...one was 140km/h (when I could) and it took me 15 minutes less....the time it took to stop and buy some chicken and chips when I hit Wagga. :-)

it's OK mate...I think we worry about other boofheads too much...

FollowupID: 621859

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 21:45

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 21:45
I'm sure that's incorrect.

The cameras on the toll points are operated by the Operators, not the RTA.

The gantry cameras on the Pacific Highway and a few others are used to monitor heavy transport vehicles. Point to point times and driving times, rest breaks etc.: They are not used as a means to issue fines to the general public although they could probably be utilised for that purpose.

I am aware that they were used with regards a sexual assault case.The POI's took a flying trip to the Gold Coast where they reset the time/date stamp in a camera and took photographs of themselves with easily recognised landmarks in the photos.

The Safe Cam cameras proved conclusively the dates and times of there trip to the Gold Coast and back to Sydney.

AnswerID: 353682

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 22:25

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 22:25
I believe QLD has abandoned Speed Cameras altogether?

Good thing I live in Vic, where your classed worse than a murderer for doing <10k's over
AnswerID: 353697

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 22:42

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 22:42
I believe QLD has abandoned Speed Cameras altogether?

Good thing I live in Vic, where your classed worse than a murderer for doing <10k's over
AnswerID: 353702

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 23:01

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 23:01
Speed camera was in use in a few places last weekend on Pacific Highway between Gold coast and Brisbane.

Pedro
FollowupID: 621843

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 23:01

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 23:01
Speed camera was in use in a few places last weekend on Pacific Highway between Gold coast and Brisbane.

Pedro
FollowupID: 621845

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:02

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 08:02
In NSW the fine for smoking on a railway platform is twice that for exceeding the speed limit by more than 15k.

Which one is more likely to cause sudden death ?
FollowupID: 621871

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 10:03

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 10:03
Great aint it Mike... When you look at these thigns.
There was one that I think got ditched few yrs ago, but if you splashed a pedistrian with a puddle you got fine and points too.... I looked for it recently, and couldnt find it.

but there are so many fines and bleep that are out of touch with reality..

Do horses still have right of way?
FollowupID: 621896

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 10:08

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 10:08
Under the current Australian Road Rules, a pedestrian can be fined for walking on the road if there is a footpath - it's a wonder Harold allowed that one to get in.
FollowupID: 621897

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 11:30

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 11:30
Yea, I see that one dished out daily in any capital city.. like Jaywalking....
They could cull off every speedcamera on earth and double their income (err, I mean double their safety figures) if they actually enforced both of these.
FollowupID: 621907

Reply By: Member - Bushpig - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 10:04

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 10:04
Why speed??
@100k/h you cover 100kms
@120k/h you cover 120kms
so an extra 20 kms takes 10 minutes @ 100p/h
Then you get caught in a traffic hold up or slow moving vehicle and you catch up to the hare. So whats the point... use more fuel, risk speeding fines and of course risk crashing?

Stick to the speed limit as we all usually arrive together.

Cheers Jack
AnswerID: 353754

Follow Up By: George_M - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 12:21

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 12:21
We all "speed", BP, even you. Ever exceeded the speed limit for thirty seconds to overtake someone?

George_M
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 621916

Reply By: timglobal - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 11:15

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 11:15
Trapster is a great app that might help you. I have it on my phone and it's great. Free to use (more uses if you sign up) and works globally.

Overall I solved speeding by buying a 4WD :)
AnswerID: 353770

Reply By: Member - Carl S (VIC) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 14:16

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 14:16
Move to the Territory, you just have to love 130kph!!!!
AnswerID: 353798

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 14:40

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 14:40
Dont worry about watching your speed in Sydney,WATCH it everywhere you drive,honestly its not hard....i try and use the cruise anywhere its possible and usually set it 5kms under to allow for the rogue cameras....

27 years on the road and not one point,you know whats gonna happen now lol.

Goodluck

AnswerID: 353805

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:03

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:03
It is actually quite hard to stick to speed limits if you're driving in an unfamiliar area, trying to find an address (navman or Gregory's) when you're working and running late.

Regarding the cameras, I'll let you know soon enough because last night I was driving along that bloody Cumberland Hwy, heading north, and drove through a camera slightly above the posted limit. I'm sure the fine will be in the mail. I had been in Liverpool and was looking for the M7 to go north and my trusty Nuvi 760 took me along that never-ending, traffic light-strewn and speed camera ridden road that is the Cumberland Hwy. The sign posting is non-existant. I think I should've got onto the M4 which would've taken me to the M7 but were there any signs to say so? Were there &#$?>}"*)
AnswerID: 353831

Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 22:55

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 22:55
Steve you need to update your Nuvi mapping... :)

Look what I dug up from 12 months ago.......

Must be the stories birthday......

Media Westlink Dismisses Hoax Email
12/3/2008

Westlink M7 has dismissed a hoax email currently circulating that claims that the motorway has implemented a secret speed fine based on the time a vehicle enters and exits the motorway.

Rachel Johnson, General Manager of Westlink M7, said that the email was a hoax and that no secret speed enforcement system operates on the Westlink M7.

Westlink supports safe driving and urges all motorists to comply with posted speed limits.

“However, the secret speed fine system detailed in the hoax email does not exist,” Ms Johnson said.

“Speed limits are enforced on the Westlink M7 through the normal policing measures that operate on all NSW roads.”

“Westlink meets regularly with the NSW Highway Patrol.”

Westlink has installed signs that remind motorists that speed cameras are used in NSW.

These are the standard speed camera signs seen on roads across the state and do not mean that any new or secret speed system operates on the Westlink M7.
FollowupID: 622034

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 08:58

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 08:58
cheers Tony. I suppose it's only a matter of time before point to point comes in, though.

I updated my Nuvi about 3 months back - you would've thought it would've been aware of the M7 route. I program it for the "fastest" setting and still it took me down the Cumberland. That's the main bug bear with these things. I often see it on a smaller scale as I visit private addresses. In areas that I know well, the Nuvi still takes you the main road way (the long way) rather than back streets which I know to be quicker and more direct. This Cumberland/M7 thing is just a larger scale version of that issue. I refuse to believe the Cumberland is quicker, although I can see it would be the more obvious/direct route to the gadget. I suppose the M7 goes so far around and covers many more kms it doesn't even consider it an option - even though it's a far easier and less "stressful" route, if not quicker anyway.

I should update again though. The rate at which more speed cameras are appearing is pretty alarming.
AnswerID: 353921