Emptying the Portaloo

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:46
ThreadID: 66955 Views:4893 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
I know there are disposal places but....when faced with a crowded campground...
What is the protocol? Does one wander up to the campground disposal spot during the night with "it" under your arm? A sort of bums rush during the day ? Pretend that it isn't what it is as you pass the other campers having their tea ? Wait till "beer oclock" and hope that nobody cares ?
I don't own one. For obvious reasons :)

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:06

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:06
Mate after all it's only P%^& and S*&^. It's not as if the rest of the world doesn't do it!
AnswerID: 354779

Follow Up By: Member - Cookie & Di - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:56

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:56
The best answer. When you do realize that Portaloo's are essential part of camping make sure you use "Gloves" as that hose goes down the neck of everyones "Portaloo's".
FollowupID: 622892

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:09

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:09
Footy, I usually find a Qld 80 series and dump it under that. LOLOL
AnswerID: 354780

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:11

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:11
So it was you eh ? LOL
FollowupID: 622884

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:20

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:20
Dont leave your windows down, you have been put on notice!! LOL!! Michael

FollowupID: 622886

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:35

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 22:35
Nobody has spotted my exploroz sticker yet...so he's got a way to go LOL
FollowupID: 622889

Reply By: V8 Troopie - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 23:54

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 23:54
Having been in that situation I thought camouflage was the answer. I had a plain canvas bag made that nicely held the lower unit. It looks like a big shopping bag. The carry handles make it easier too to lug it to the disposal place, no one notices and there are no chances of spills.
AnswerID: 354806

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 08:21

Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 08:21
Lmao - so you go to a toilet / drop off area with a large bag ?? i would be more worried about people thinking im going there to collect "Something" :)

Boc
FollowupID: 623124

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:20

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:20

Being an old Plumber, I haven't given it a second thought, I just take it up to the Dumping Point and empty it and then wash it out, I use those Disposable Gloves and never had a problem, even when some Van Parks don't have the Dump Point I empty it directly into the Toilet, I have seen worse things than the contents of a Porta Loo,being dumped in the Dunny,you even see campers taking Buckets into the Toot, maybe when the Cook and I retire and doing the Nomad trick I might start up a Small Business, i'll call it EMPTY YOUR BUSINESS FOR A FEE SO YOU CAN PEE. lol lol.

Daza
AnswerID: 354826

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:51

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:51
Shouldnt you being an old plumber know better than dumping your chemicals into a closed system and destroying the process ??
FollowupID: 622926

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:22

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:22
Geez Axle

We use the Environmental Friendly stuff, so there is no Stuff Ups,
we dont kill the Bugs.
FollowupID: 622930

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:28

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:28
PS
We allways ask Management before we empty directly in to the Toots, if they haven't got a Dump Site.
FollowupID: 622933

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:39

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:39
Fair enough , lots don't ask and just sneak their crapoola in even when signs state specifically not to , can become a expensive fix for the c/p owner.
FollowupID: 622936

Follow Up By: G.T. - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2009 at 14:23

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2009 at 14:23
A follow up slogan could read ` Wee are number one in twos`
Regards G.T.
FollowupID: 623881

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:28

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:28
There was a great interview on Top Gear a while ago when they went on a caravanning holiday.

This looked like an awful park next to a busy railway line with not much else there.

Apart from the normal disasters they asked this older lady in the caravan park "what do you actually do when you go caravanning"

The woman looked a bit confused, thought for a bit and then said, "well you empty your portapotty a lot".

So there, Footy you have your answer, it's in fact the whole reason why people go caravanning.
So one should be proud when it's ones turn, be as obvious as possible, make noise, preferably discuss the process loudly with someone while doing it.

The people who have non S&T equipped vans will feel left out and run out and trade their vans.

It will start a whole new social movement in parks.
People will gather to chew the fat while empting and cleaning.
Comparisons of equipment will be made etc etc etc.
Usage discussed and so on.

AnswerID: 354827

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:38

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 08:38
Hey Footloose,

It used to worry me and being a woman doing the job (we take it turns) I have had a few looks, however as others have said - its totally natural everyone does it!!!!! With 4 of us in the van (3 of us girls...... it needs emptying every couple of days - as we live in the van I just don't care anymore what people think!!!!!

Caroline
AnswerID: 354832

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 13:10

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 13:10
I won't let my man see your reply Caz! When we had the argument about who - I said the men always empty it. The only time we've seen a woman emptying, it was the big one with the prickle hair cut of the pair.

FollowupID: 622968

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 23:34

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 23:34
"it was the big one with the prickle hair cut of the pair.".. LOL

what are you suggesting MH ..?
FollowupID: 623107

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:26

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 09:26
A short time back we were free camping along Flinders Beach at Straddie. There used to be a tap at the Adder Rock access point for filling your water bottles. This had disappeared and you now have to go up the road to a camping ground for water and lug the bottles a short distance back to the car ... all somewhat inconvenient.

I asked the Ranger why the tap had been removed and he advised it was because people were rinsing out their porta potties and leaving the residue lying around.

Bloody wankers GRRR. Typical 5% tossers stuffing it up for the other 95%.
AnswerID: 354846

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:10

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:10
Amongst the bushes at Nullarbor stopping points like many others do.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 354857

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:39

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 10:39
Well...Thanks everyone. It seems that I havent emptied you of ideas and stories yet. Nice to know that nobody gives a fig leaf about etiquette.
I may even venture onto one myself as I get older.
AnswerID: 354866

Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 21:42

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 21:42
Often travel alone or with older companions who are not as agile as self.The job is done by all so whats the big deal who empties it
It ain't nappies is it
With the generic nappie treatment it's quite ok Thats life!
Much nicer than fight the flies with the shovel.
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 355383

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2009 at 14:46

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2009 at 14:46
hi Footloose .
we have a cassette which is on wheels and we just wheel it up to the dump point no problem .
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 355874