URGENT - 2nd hand camper

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:11
ThreadID: 66971 Views:3737 Replies:15 FollowUps:13
G'day. We're in the middle of our holidays around oz and had an acident with the camper trailer. It was rolled down here in Tassie. Being a soft top, the canvas is knackered and now a write off.

We could take this oppurtunity to 'upgrade' into a hard floor camper which would be our next preferred purchase anyway.

If anyone in NSW, VIC, ACT or SA has a hard floor/rear fold camper for sale for reasonable price we could possibly continue with our trip, otherwise it's back to Perth we go.

Reply By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:29

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:29
Can't help you with hard floor, have soft floor one....
AnswerID: 354875

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:40

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:40
Thanks for the offer. We may as well make the best of a bad situation and get into a hard floor earlier than planned.
FollowupID: 622957

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:39

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:39
Hi mattjack, have you checked out the 'Trader' yet? there is quite a few camper trailers on there.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 354878

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:49

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:49
Cheers Deanna.
Yeah looked through the trader and other forums. Just haven't found one that we would like within our price range.
FollowupID: 622958

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:07

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:07
Bummer regards to camper.If I can ask, where did you roll it.
Have you checked out ebay, there is usually heaps of all kinds of campers on there.
Another option would be just to bolt on a new top.
AnswerID: 354881

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:20

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:20
Thanks Nick. It was down near Arthur River/Couta Rocks.
Bolting on a new top is possible, but really gotta work out the money, as it has been written off. Is it worth the expense and time?? It may be, we are trying to get all options covered and see if the insurance will sell it back.
FollowupID: 622980

Reply By: austastar - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:23

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:23
There are plenty of local canvas places could do a temp fix for you.
Let me know on this thread if I can help with any local information (your email or mobile maybe)
I am in Hobart.
AnswerID: 354887

Follow Up By: austastar - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:41

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:41
A quick search of the trader reveals
KK Platinum 2004 $34000 0417-339-122 (Burnie)
Ultimate $36500 63271886 (Launceston)
Jayco flite $7000 0409-131-372 (Cremourne)
Jayco finch $7990 6273 4666 (Hobart dealer)

Never much in the way of choice down here, not the weapon of choice in cooler climates I suspect.
FollowupID: 622965

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:24

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:24
Austastar. I've seen those ones. The KK would be ideal if he'd give me a 50% discount :-)
If it was closer to home the options would be better. We are looking around Melbourne, so we can get off the boat and get back to the holiday.
FollowupID: 622985

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:47

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:47
What is your budget??
AnswerID: 354896

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:22

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:22
It's all tough. We could cut our losses and head home, and look around for longer. Or spend $10k - $15k and carry on for a bit.
FollowupID: 622983

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:49

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:49
RV point as well as the Trading Post and the Trader here..... lots of Kimberleys around at present too, among others - a well appointed, reasonably late hardfloor is always going to seek a good price - what they go for in these 'uncertain times' is another issue of course - you are the buyer in a buyers market !
AnswerID: 354898

Reply By: Gronk - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:55

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 12:55
Pretty hard to know what you need without a budget....

Cubs can be had for approx 15 to 20

Some good Campomatics going for approx 25

Aussie swags and KK's usually start approx 30

If I was on a budget and still wanted a tough hard floor, then the Campomatics would be my choice..
AnswerID: 354901

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 13:48

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 13:48
Bushranger have one that is pretty good value at around $18k new.SEE HERE
FollowupID: 622972

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:30

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:30
Thanks Gronk.
I've seen the Bushranger on eBay.
I've heard some campomatics are made in China. Not sure what that says about the steel....
Pioneer campers are made in my home town (Perth) and some second hand fetch around $15k or lower
Thanks again. Gives me more names to play with.
FollowupID: 622986

Reply By: TassieD - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 13:20

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 13:20
Sorry to hear about the camper. Depending on where you are this one makes an excellent soft floor for about $3500. Campers Delight Trailers Not sure if they have any stock though, getting rather popular. No affiliation just know a few people with them
AnswerID: 354908

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:40

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:40
TassieD. I didn't know there was anyone in Tassie making them. Thanks for that. Had a look at the website and still thinking hard floor would be nice. I'll get in touch with them and see what they say. Cheers
FollowupID: 622992

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (Sunshine Coa - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:30

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:30
Sorry to hear of your problem. Check the Trader page on www.campertrailers.org

Kevin J
AnswerID: 354921

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:36

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:36
Thanks Kevin. I'll look into that. Appears to be a few on there.
FollowupID: 622989

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:49

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:49
Give Al at A J Thomas Campers in Melbourne a ring on 95721008.

He may have a second hand Pioneer or Cub hard floor camper available.

Tell him you’ve spoken to me (Kim McFarland).

I have a soft floor camper available with everything fitted. (showroom condition) if you get stuck.

Kim
AnswerID: 354922

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:57

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 14:57
G'day Kim,
I spoke with Al last night. He does have a couple a fraction out of my price range. He also has a brand new Bushranger. We are trying to find a few more 'reviews' on that make. I will keep in touch with him though. It sounds like he may stumble across something
FollowupID: 622995

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 16:14

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 16:14
I inspected a new Bushranger some time ago & was very impressed with it considering the price, which was around $16000.00 then.
FollowupID: 623002

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 16:19

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 16:19
I was talking to Al the other day on an unrelated matter, which gave me the chance to look at the Pioneer range. They appear to be very good trailers, but once you add the extras on, things start to get a bit expensive.

The Goldstream Crown was also impressive, and the only camper I’ve come across with air conditioning and television as an option. The quoted price was $33,000 excluding the outside shower.

According to Al, the Bush Ranger trailer is made in Officer, which is in the SE of melbourne. I have'nt seen it, so I can't make any recommendation.

If I can help you get back on your feet again in anyway, just give me a call on 97821701.

Kim

FollowupID: 623005

Reply By: Member - KC (TAS) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 15:58

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 15:58
http://www.roncartercaravans.com.au/
They are near the Launceston airport.

Mattjack, was in there yesterday and they had a second hand Cub for sale. Unsure of price..about ..Just rang them and it is $14,500.
Sorry about your camper. Sad day when this happens. good luck .

AnswerID: 354932

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 16:11

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 16:11
mattjack

check this one out for $6000

http://www.campertrailers.org/camper_trader387.htm

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 354938

Reply By: Dingo77 - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 17:19

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 17:19
Mattjack,I know you want a rear-fold camper. However to keep you going on your trip, you may want to consider my 2006 side fold that is in Melbourne. It is in top condition,with 11 months reg. and costs $9000.00. Then you can look for your ideal camper with leisure. Peter,03.9583.7361 or 0418.883.159.
AnswerID: 354951

Reply By: PradOz - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 20:52

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 20:52
got a jayco swan in excellent condition in sydney in your price range if you are interested
AnswerID: 354992

Reply By: pepper2 - Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 17:55

Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 17:55
I have a corromal magnum 420 offroad van for sale in your price range near sydney,can deliver to you ring Tim on 0407936817 if interested.
AnswerID: 355170