Fly Wire or "Midgee Wire" ?

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 21:34
ThreadID: 66995 Views:3511 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
G`day all,
I am planning a 4 month trip to the Top End with my Pop Top C/van starting late May and was wondering if it necessary to replace the existing fly wire on the screens and door with the finer mesh "Midgee Wire" before I go.
Any thoughts and ideas appreciated.

Scrubby.

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 21:39

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 21:39
G'day Scrubby

How are you?

Yes mate, that is a good idea especially as you will be hanging around fishing areas and swamps. Turn on the light at night and a million friends will congregate in your space....lol

AnswerID: 355011

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 21:41

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 21:41
I would do it to keep the "Boss" happy LOL

AnswerID: 355013

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:15

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:15
Willem,
I am going great thanks mate.
We will most likely be passing through your way the last week of May.

KEV.
I am always happy Kev. LOL

We are now on the list for St G. or have you noticed ?

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 623092

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 08:30

Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 08:30
I think you are Number 51 on the list Scrubby ;)

I have arranged a camping spot for you the weekend prior to the gathering so you can enter the fishing comp as well hahaha

FollowupID: 623127

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:10

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:10
OK... I give up! what's "midgee wire"?
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 355026

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:22

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:22
G`day Fred,
I am not sure if I have spelt it correct but "Midgee Wire" is a much finer mesh screen Fly wire replacement.
I think ! ?

Scrubby
FollowupID: 623093

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 23:05

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 23:05
I haven't had that problem with my Challenge Deluxe CT as it came with a fine mesh. Mind you, I am usually covered with so much DT that they usually go pee on someone else. Keeping them from coming through the door when entering / exiting is the problem. Easiest way is don't camp where there are "midgeees". I am not into fishing so it's not usually a problem... except when we visit friends in "Baygon Haven" here in Darwin. You can guess why locals call it "Baygon" instead of Bayview.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 623102

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:16

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:16
You want to come here Scrubby, there aren't any midgees here.

No fish either though.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 355027

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:27

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 22:27
G`day Dave,
I can`t remember a summer with so few ( read none) flies or mozzies, they must have all died of thirst. LOL

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 623094

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 23:18

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 23:18
After trying to camp in the Territory in my tent with flywire on the door and windows (and ending up in a sandfly proof dome inside the main tent) I would most definantly change the mesh - I have intended to for about a year but havent got around to it yet - I got a sample (No-See-Um Mesh - I think) which looked like it would handle a fair bit of abuse...
AnswerID: 355047

Reply By: Member - Rick P (NT) - Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 23:42

Thursday, Mar 19, 2009 at 23:42
Do yourself a favour and also buy a Raid Outdoor Mozzie Lamp from Woolies or where ever, plus a few packets of refills. It will probably safe you from getting Ross River Fever or something else that will spoil your trip, because it's not midgees you have to worry about it's the mozzies. Especially around Shady Camp and Kakadu. Have a great trip, the Dry Season is nearly here. Humidity is dropping every day.
AnswerID: 355051

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 10:35

Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 10:35
We have a van on order and paid $100 extra (I think) for upgrading (or reducing) the screens to midge size mesh - anything you can do will be worth it - the 'no see-ems' (colloquial term up there for %^&#@*&^!!! insects that bite you to all-getout and you won't even know it) ! The Kimberley and Darwin area was no too bad when we were there in a camper trailer , but Kakadu and the tropical coast of QLD was something else - we will be back there to enjoy it all right, but will be armed with coils, spray, creams, sticks, mesh (and a van to hide in) ....the insects are in for a fight on our next trip :-o) !
AnswerID: 355101

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 10:47

Friday, Mar 20, 2009 at 10:47
geez..we don't even have fly screens in the house here in Bundy.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 355105

Reply By: Maîneÿ [wa] - Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 23:32

Saturday, Mar 21, 2009 at 23:32
Scrubby,
Obviously you've never been 'attached' by the midge's up in the North West previously or you would not be asking the question?

Get the smallest gap you can in the 'fly wire' - if it's called "Midgee wire" so be it.
The sting and the welt they leave you with are something you won't forget in a hurry, mozzie's are just a nuisance compared to them.

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 355393