Just Back

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 21, 2003 at 15:37
ThreadID: 6729 Views:1765 Replies:3 FollowUps:1
G'Day to all, just back from a three month Aussie Adventure and what a time we had.Left Tassie on the Spirit Of Tasmania and headed straight up through the middle of Victoria and N.S.W to Menindee,followed the Darling river to Bourke,headed on up and across to Cairns.Up the coast and into Lakefield N.P and on up the Cape.Coming back down we travelled across the Gulf,calling into Lawn Hill NP(MAGNIFICENT) onto Kakadu and Darwin.Left Darwin and called into LitchfieldNP,drove across to Kunnunarra,down to Halls Creek,down the Tanami Track to Alice,East and West Macdonald Ranges,round the Merienee loop to Ayres Rock.From here we went down to Marla and down the Oodnadatta Track,through the Flinders Ranges to Broken Hill and back to Melbourne.Travelled just on 18000kms neither vehicle suffered any punctures or breakdowns(Toyotas of course) and one final word.ANY ONE THINKING OF DOING "THE BIG ONE" GO ON GET OUT THERE, ITS A BIG BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY.

Reply By: Member - Bob - Thursday, Aug 21, 2003 at 19:27

Thursday, Aug 21, 2003 at 19:27
The toyotas weren't punctured, what about the tyres?Bob
AnswerID: 28633

Reply By: Browny - Thursday, Aug 21, 2003 at 20:35

Thursday, Aug 21, 2003 at 20:35
Great stuff Nick,
Sounds like a ripper trip.

No Punctures.........? You must have been driving on Nissan Tyres......:-)

Browny
AnswerID: 28644

Reply By: Member- Rox - Friday, Aug 22, 2003 at 23:32

Friday, Aug 22, 2003 at 23:32
Did you find the trip rushed as you averaged 6000 kms / month?Have 4WD will Explore
AnswerID: 28803

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2003 at 21:47

Saturday, Aug 23, 2003 at 21:47
ROX,No,didn't seem rushed,took our time on the good stuff(dirt) and put in longer days on the boring bits(sealed).most km's travelled in a day was just under 500km.
FollowupID: 20106