About to set off around Oz

Submitted: Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:09
ThreadID: 67346 Views:2204 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
I am about to take my family arond Oz for around 12 months or more, in a caravan.
Any direction i should follow first?

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:21

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:21
No.......just go
AnswerID: 357108

Follow Up By: Member - Troy W (VIC) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:47

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:47
Not long now, less than ten days.

Thanks'
Troy
FollowupID: 625195

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:22

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:22
Head north away from the cold and then when Oct-Nov come head south again to escape the hot.........
AnswerID: 357110

Follow Up By: Member - Troy W (VIC) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:50

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:50
Hi Nick,

We will head down to Tassie for a month and then start heading North, should be great.

Catch ya,
Troy
FollowupID: 625197

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:40

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:40
Hi Troy

I see you are a new member 29/3/09, welcome, which ever way you go have a good trip.

Daza
AnswerID: 357114

Follow Up By: Member - Troy W (VIC) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:45

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 20:45
Thanks Daza,

Just signed up last night, should be great times ahead, get to know myself and the family again, might see you on the road somewhere.
Troy
FollowupID: 625194

Reply By: joff1 - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:01

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:01
G'day Troy, My wife and my 2 kids left on the big trip in January. Went down around Vic from Sydney. We were going to do Tassie first but decided to hug the coast to Warnambool before turning north. We are now in Broken Hill.

Be heading further north in a few days to follow the sun.

Roughly from here, Sunnycoast for easter, Whitsundays in mid May. back out to Winton end May then North to Lorn Hill to meet some friends mid June before the Cape in July.

After that, West and down the west coast..

Maybe we'll meet up somewhere.

Joff
AnswerID: 357156

Follow Up By: joff1 - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:03

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:03
What I meant to say was that My wife, my 2 kids and I left on the trip in January..
FollowupID: 625245

Reply By: Winny - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 06:52

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 06:52
Hi Troy,
We went around Oz and started by heading north from Brisbane. We left in March 2000 and had good weather all the time. We are soon to leave for five years on the road, 4 weeks to go!!!! and counting, our first destination is Cooktown for the re-enactment weekend in June, it is a great weekend and we are looking forward to it. You will have a ball
AnswerID: 357188

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 07:48

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 07:48
Hi Troy,
Doesn't really matter which way you go just allow plenty of time. we are just over 2 yrs into our trip and still haven't seen it all(never will). We are heading north to cape york now. Try not to plan to far ahead cause you will get to one place and it will be better than you thought and want to stay longer.
The best thing I like about being on the road is the closeness of our family now. Who needs all the gadgets. Hope it goes well for you and have fun.

Josh
AnswerID: 357195

Reply By: Johnny boy - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 09:28

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 09:28
Hi Troy ,and good on ya mate ,I hope to be heading off in late January 2010 and like you have been asking all the things that come up in conversation between my wife and mates and let me tell you this site has allot of really nice friendly and most of all experienced people, when you ask a question you will feel like its one of your mates that has replied LOL! hey I have to ask how long have you been planning your trip and what's your Rig set up and will you be taking a laptop away with you to keep in touch with the world,I'm asking this because that's what is going through my head at the moment Except I have a little more than 10 days to ready myself LOL!

Take care and have a ball ...John.
AnswerID: 357209

Follow Up By: Member - Kim and Doug (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:22

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:22
Troy,
we leave sat morning for 5yrs away on the road see you out there somewhere in the big paddock
FollowupID: 625315

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 14:44

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 14:44
G'day Kim and Doug,

All the best and maybe we'll catch about half way around in 2011.

FollowupID: 625344

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 14:42

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 14:42
G'day Troy,

All the best in your travels and I'm green with envy, like others here I'm a year or 2 behind you and have been studying the form. The winter months will see me heading north, there is no doubt about that and winter may well start around the beginning of April for me.

I had been thinking about heading south for summer but the heat wave conditions there this summer have forced me to reconsider and coastal will be the go.

There are lots of questions now and probably more along the way so drop in any time because the question your asking is probably on several other minds as well.

Not sure if my bride would consider Tassie in April though, she's adament that that is a strictly summer destination.

AnswerID: 357261