Your last camping trip or tour.

Submitted: Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 21:45
ThreadID: 67354 Views:3728 Replies:16 FollowUps:9
What was the one thing you forgot or wished you had packed?

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 21:53

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 21:53
A Winnebago
AnswerID: 357133

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 22:17

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 22:17
Another half dozen bottles of Grants and a 3rd spare tyre (and Miss World lol).

Cheers. Mick (Destroyer of tyres!)

AnswerID: 357147

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 22:32

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 22:32
Mick, shouldn't that be another half dozen tyres and a third bottle of Grants ?
You'd be too stuffed with the tyres to worry about Miss World LOL
FollowupID: 625237

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:10

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:10
Hi Mick,
if you stopped chasing after all thos women maybe you wouldn't get so many spears thrown at your tyres.... lol. (:
How you doing?
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 625246

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 22:18

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 22:18
There was one trip I remember.

I'd left the latte machine, wine cooler and four poster bed at home.....buggar!

Kim
AnswerID: 357148

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:30

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:30
Now if you'd have remembered to bring all of those things and never had an opportunity to utilize em .....now that would be a trip to FORGET :))
FollowupID: 625250

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:13

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:13
What about the bloke who loaded up ëverything"he could think of, including the SWMBO and drove off.... only to discover he had left one of the kids behind... OOOooopppps!
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 357159

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:27

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:27
This is where lists come in handy.
But that still doesn't stop the setting up camp "I thought you packed that" ritual.
The first night should always be a camp in a sizeable town...so that you can buy what you forgot to bring.
Remember; it's not whether you forgot to bring something that counts, but whether you've left the stove on at home:))
AnswerID: 357164

Follow Up By: curious - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 09:41

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 09:41
Footy, I recently left one of the gas burners on my home stove on while I went away for the weekend. Scared hell out of me when I returned home to find it happily still burning. Someone up there must have been looking after me.
FollowupID: 625308

Reply By: dave the brickie - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:49

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:49
Always make sure to put the steam iron in .Nothing worse than 20 k's into a trip than the wife saying "did I turn the iron off"
AnswerID: 357171

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:49

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 23:49
ONE REPLACEMENT KAMART (sic Typo on purpose) TOWBAR.

Ball weight 120kg, bar rated to 227Kg at ball. Some welds and reinforcing got off the Anne Beadell with no other problems.
AnswerID: 357172

Reply By: farmer112 - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 01:42

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 01:42
Hi Carl,

think about the small items:

- Some spare tyre valves. I remember lowering tyre pressure during our Simpson tour and loosing a bloody valve. Was a hell of a fun crawling in the sand searching for it. Luckily I found it. Since then I always have some spare valves with me. Same with valve caps and valve extensions.

- Small first aid equipment that fits in the bags of your outdoor trousers. I always carry a German army field kit with me when in the outback. It is very small and waterproof packed. Also a rescue blanket (aluminium foil type), a signal whistle and a lighter.

- Lots of gaffa tape. Gerries on tour always repair anything with gaffa tape. ;-)

- Cyalume lights may also be a good idea as an additional light source. Met some guys in the Tunnel Creek in autumn 2007. They only had a mobile phone display to shine their way, for a group of six people. Handed over two cyalume lights which saved the day.

- If you like cooking on your own camp fire (only where allowed, check for fire bans!), think of bringing some char coal. You will not always find fire wood. Think of fire lighters like Jiffys.

- Enough spare tyre tubes. Often quite expensive in the smaller places, and even more often you can't buy one where you need one. Better carry one too many.

Just some of the items I remember by brainstorming.

If you are in for the desert/for real tracks, then take your time to prepare a checklist, e.g. based on what can be found here on exploroz.com.

Being a volunteer firie, I want to mention the necessity of good first aid skills out there. The volunteer rescue and ambulance folks in the remote areas of Oz are doing a great job, but it takes time until they can reach an emergency site. Therefore it is vital that everyone in your party has a valid first aid certificate. In most cases you will need to help own relatives or friends. And there is nothing worse than not being able to do so.

Cheers from bloody cold and boring Dortmund/Germany,

Juergen

German by Birth - but Aussie by Heart!
AnswerID: 357182

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 06:39

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 06:39
We left home almost two weeks ago - will be away close to 6 months, and had been getting organised for weeks before.
Got 40 kms down the road and I asked 'did you pack the tomahawk?'

10 kms further on 'what about the billy?'

20kms later 'have you got your fishing jacket?'.......
The answer was 'no - forgot that', or 'don't think so' to all so I stopped asking!

It is my job to pack the van (inside) and his the ute, fishing gear etc!!!

Since then we have found the tomahawk (also have a bow? saw), bought a replacement billy, and have other wet weather gear so... no real dramas! Cant have campfires in SA yet anyway and doesnt look like we will see much rain in the near future as we are making our way slowly across to WA.

A 1,000 litre water tank would be handy I think, but not sure we could fit it to the van! LOL

Heather

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 357186

Reply By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 07:10

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 07:10
My perenial question is "where are the camper trailer keys?" I then go into a panic as I stop and search the car for them....why I worry so much about I don't know because I have a complete spare set in the glove box and another set in the draw unit....lol
AnswerID: 357190

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 08:57

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 08:57
Too true.
CT keys, we now have two sets, one on red cord, and one set on yellow cord. Some one, between the two of us, is always putting them down, and forgetting where they are (and it is not her). So I wear them around my neck when setting up.
Have done half the trip with one set missing, and then to turn up in a most unlikely place (can't remember at the moment where). :o)
FollowupID: 625298

Follow Up By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:54

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:54
I have a key for the caravan,car and house in a weather proof box, siliconed to the chassis of the caravan.Up under the floor where no-one can possibly see it.
If I lose my main set, I can at least get into the van,car and house when we get home if my originals never turn up.
FollowupID: 625320

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 07:45

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 07:45
Booked ten days on the Macleay River at West Kunderang about four years ago.

Went out and purchased then fitted a Piranha Shower specifically for her as a condition for her to agree to camping a zillion miles from Myers, Westfield etc..

Drove all day, set up camp, then found I l had left the pick up and delivery hose with shower rose at home on the garage bench.

Peaceful holiday, only the sound of birds and the occasional bass or mullet jumping in the river. Someone didn't speak to me for a whole ten days.

AnswerID: 357191

Reply By: donks1 - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 09:11

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 09:11

went away camping for the weekend and pulled up at the site.

Friends were already there. It gave them quite a laugh when the missus and I started arguing over who SHOULD HAVE packed the tent.....LOL

OOPS

Donks1
AnswerID: 357204

Follow Up By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:06

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:06
Not exactly a camping thing, but many years ago as a young soldier, got posted to Malaysia double quick time.

Packed my bags and on arrival found that I had forgotten to include any underpants. The pair I had on were worn out after a week or so, so I had to go 'Commando'.

Oddly enough, some of the other blokes who didn't forget their undies got prickly heat. I didn't.

Going 'Commando' is fine when you are young, but now...I check.

Dick
FollowupID: 625311

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:15

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:15
Went out to the Simpson and forgot the tent, went out another time and forgot the food!
Years ago went to the Sunshine Coast for the weekend - loaded the EH ute and in the front went Mother, Father, dog on floor and baby basket - got from Nundah to Strathpine before we realised the 11 week old baby was still in the cot at Nundah fast asleep. Told that baby that story only last year - he has two of his own - baby is quite convinced that caused all his problems throughout his life!
AnswerID: 357221

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 11:34

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 11:34
Oh dear Ruth,
That's going to come back and haunt you from time to time.
I bet you guys were thinking how peaceful it was. LOL

FollowupID: 625324

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 13:21

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 13:21
H & F you are so right. Even trying to blame ME over that episode and says it's now causing HIS 2 year old to have tantrums due to stress!
FollowupID: 625329

Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:56

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2009 at 10:56
Out in the central highlands of Tassie,2 kids with bikes,2 kids rear tyres with punctures.................'where's that damn repair kit?"

On the workshop bench at home with the axe! GRRRRRRRRRRRRR!
AnswerID: 357232

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Apr 01, 2009 at 13:26

Wednesday, Apr 01, 2009 at 13:26
Toilet paper.

It's not much to pack but it's a lot to forget.

AnswerID: 357423

Reply By: Sigmund - Wednesday, Apr 01, 2009 at 18:13

Wednesday, Apr 01, 2009 at 18:13
First night of a four day bushwalk at Wilson's Prom.

Darnit, found I'd left all the 'cold' stuff in the fridge back home; no salami, cheese or marg for cooking. That meant dry biks for lunch and no dinners since they depended on the perishables.

Good way to lose weight though.
AnswerID: 357493