You would be SILLY not to buy an EVAKOOL

Would just like to give a big thumbs up for the after sales service and efforts of Evakool.
I had an issue with a fridge / freezer and could not speak highly enough of Rod Miles and his team.
They were very helpful and supplied parts quickly under warrantee (even though fridge was slightly out of warrantee) and found a local fridgee to run tests on the unit etc etc.

I think to buy any other product that
A- Has not such a good name for reliability
B- Cost a similar amount
C- Does not give Aussies a job
D- Has not got the kind of support where you can talk to the man in charge.
E- Has good poorer insulation / greater power consumption.
F- etc etc
Sorry its starting to sound like an add, hmmmm

I have no affiliation with ANY fridge maker / seller what so ever.

I am just a very happy customer who is very impressed with the back up of their Aussie built product, it does not get any better than that and i realy cannot understand why you would look any further when buying a fridge.

GN

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:10

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:10
GN

Whilst I admire you for your Aussie spirit........maybe you should be buying an Aussie Car too....err like the Zeta?...lol

A fridge is a fridge is a fridge.....it keeps things cold. Nothing more nothing less.

But trying to push a Brand Name here on this forum is not the done thing, whether you do a disclaimer or not.

AnswerID: 357618

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:23

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:23
people push brands and thier own products at times here. Nothing wrong with advertising that someone is happy with customer service and giving a product a plug (well you need to know the product!). Most of the time it's people posting who are not satisfied with the customer service they receive!

Leroy
FollowupID: 625704

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:40

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:40
Hi Willem
Sorry if i have offended, i was not aware it was offensive. I have seen similar posts many times before.

I was merly extremly happy to get great service (instead of the usual crap service from so many others) that i felt they deserved a pat on the back for that.

Surely good service / back up deserves being passed on to at least make the others have a good look at them selfs?

And I will not be told off for giving the thumbs up for a product that give fellow Aussies a job.

GN

ps I am still trying to make a decision on the best system for a mapping program.
My pc man yesterday sugested that if we do go the lap top system then you have the ability to run ANY map program format, vs if we go the GPS system then there are limitaions.
Are you sure the your lap top is a solid state hard drive?
It just sounds too cheap for that much HD space and to also be a solid state??

Once i get my mapping sorted i will go out bush and get off this forum and stopp annoying every one LOL

FollowupID: 625712

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:40

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:40
Thankyou Leroy
GN
FollowupID: 625713

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:26

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:26
G'day Willem

Gee mate, I always thought that a forum was a place where you could pick up good information, be it routes, mods to vehicle, how to get gps and mapping info set up, help with computers, socialise and lots of other good stuff, by this means it saves people a lot of wasted money and heartache. If someone does a good job by me, I let the world know.

Thanks GN, I like the everkool product, ever since one on a mates boat went sailing from it's mount in rough weather, fully loaded, across the floor, we picked it up, strapped it down , plugged it back in, no problems ... solid.

Lotzi
FollowupID: 625727

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:27

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:27
GN

You are reading too much into what I have said.

It is my opinion of your post.

There is no offence to it.

Don't feel aggrieved

FollowupID: 625730

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:57

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:57
Hi Willem

Na no offense, just stirring you up a bit.
You are probably right, was a bit over the top but I am very impressed with their back up.

I am sick to death of having to fight for fairness when you have a lagitamate issue with other products.

I read you posts with great interest Willem as they are always very interesting and thought provoking, many thanks

I still cant get out of you if you lap top is definatly solid state?

Kind Regards
GN (not george)

FollowupID: 625739

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 12:51

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 12:51
please wake up Willem...the Zeta (Lightburn Manufacturing) went out of production decades ago....your definetly old enough to remember that.....

or is dementia a factor here?.........:)))) in which case you forget in 30 secs that I reckon your an old very old fart..:) lol
FollowupID: 625763

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 13:15

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 13:15
G'day #1

Lightburn Zeta, is'nt that the one that they had to tow to about 60 mph on a dirt road, let it go over a jump for the tv commercial ... then said how good it was. I can still hear the commercial ..... must be an age thing ..))

Lotzi
FollowupID: 625767

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Apr 03, 2009 at 09:23

Friday, Apr 03, 2009 at 09:23
Hey!!!!!!!! Willem,
I got years and years of good service out of my Lightburn cement mixer.

James Bond would of been happy to have a Zeta, The chimney could produce a smoke screen at the push of your foot, acceleration could only be described as exhilarating if you were a snail. Great headturner

Have a good one
FollowupID: 625905

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:25

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:25
There made in australia and there eskys are awesome .
AnswerID: 357620

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:42

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 09:42
Hi Trooyman
I agree

GN
FollowupID: 625714

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:26

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:26
Yup, me three
FollowupID: 625729

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:14

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:14
Hi Graham,

What ended up being wrong with the fridge?

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 357630

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:39

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:39
Hi Geoff

Intermittent fault in fan or thermostat, as were both replaced at same time, as it did still fault after replacing electronic box and fuse swapped to circuit breaker.
Apparently the fan can become faulty and intermitantly cause a fault to occur.

Very happy now.

Thanks for info you sent to help also.

The delay in getting it sorted has been due to me being so bussy at work that i just didnt have time to follow up promtly.

GN

FollowupID: 625733

Reply By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:31

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:31
Hey GN

If you had bought an Engel you wouldnt have to worry about parts or after sales service....Its not needed hahaha

Cheers Ingo
AnswerID: 357632

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:43

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:43
I've got an engel an well as many friends and none of them have missed a beat. Usually if they fail they are very expensive to repair.

Leroy
FollowupID: 625735

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:30

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:30
Our five year old failed this year Ingo, so you have a joke. Fortunately the repair guy was professioal, but it took a complete unit, I only supplied the cabinet to complete the transaction.
FollowupID: 625748

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:58

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:58
G'day John

Just had a look through your thesis under your profile of all your gear & you've forgotten to mention your 5 year engel!

"Our five year old failed this year Ingo, so you have a joke"
Harmless joke considering all the never ending posts re. fridges on this Forum, any how what do you mean it took a complete unit, did you drop it off a cliff or something.

FollowupID: 625752

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 12:20

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 12:20
I take you joke OK mate. I was pointing it out so that people know they too fail.

The Engel would have been listed in the Nissan box but is in the drawers in the back of the Toyota, I hadn't realised it was left off. Isn't there always something, you wished you had said? I always remember afterwards LOL

The unit stopped running back in December and I think the charge was $524 to drop in a new one. Compressor, condensor and evaporator lining. Mine had only a three year warranty. Not sure if it caused the collapse of a battery, or vice versa. It would go but only cooled to about 13 degrees, sometimes to 8 before it went up again.
FollowupID: 625756

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:52

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 10:52
Not knocking the product ,,, BUT , needed fixing eh ? That means it aint all you make it out to be , now if you posted that you have had it for 20yrs or so and it never missed a beat that would be something , as is it broke down " just out of warranty" , inbuilt obsolesence perhaps ??
AnswerID: 357638

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:02

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:02
Hi Axle
Fair comment, but you cannot be held accountable always when a component fails i guess.

GN
FollowupID: 625740

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:06

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:06
Hence why you would be silly not to buy an engel LOL
FollowupID: 625742

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:31

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:31
Even the best products will occasionally fail, (even Toyotas and Engels :-D) but what makes a customer come back to that brand again is how well the dealer handles remedying the fault.
FollowupID: 625777

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:31

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:31
Even the best products will occasionally fail, (even Toyotas and Engels :-D) but what makes a customer come back to that brand again is how well the dealer handles remedying the fault.
FollowupID: 625778

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:49

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:49
Yeah you're right there about Toyotas breaking down mate....Good call....LOL.

Then again Nissan keep blowing 3lts and after service sucks yet people are still buying them, go figure???

FollowupID: 625783

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 20:01

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 20:01
Good call there joc45...spot on mate.
FollowupID: 625829

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 20:59

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 20:59
Hi Ingo57,
Yeh, Nissan service - an oxymoron! I've been very happy with my 4.2TD-T GU Nissan since I've moved on from getting it serviced at Nissan :-)
Think I'll be hanging on to it for a while, as there is no way I'd replace it with the 3.0, even the latest one. They have gotta have a completely new engine design before I'd consider another Patrol.
Gerry
FollowupID: 625837

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:15

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:15
Good to see you are happy with the service you received for your product mate.

Gee, there's some whingers on this forum at times, no matter what you try to convey.

Good luck with your fridge matey.

As a matter of fact, I own two Evakool ice boxes of different sizes.
I once had a latch which broke and it was no fault of the product.
Someone's knee bent the latch sideways when it was open.
I enquired at Evakool for the cost of a new latch and received a new latch plus some SS rivets to fasten it with in the post within a few days. No charge incurred.

I like the service to their customers too.

Bill.

AnswerID: 357643

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:24

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 11:24
Good information GN.

I've owned both of the major's and wouldn't have either again. Both have been reliable, but both have poor insulation.

In my line of work I get to see a lot of different fridges and easily the most impressive is the Evakool/Fridgemate range. Based on robustness, insulation and value.

AnswerID: 357646

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 12:03

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 12:03
Hi Best off road

Thanks for comments.

I was going to keep me gob shut but will say the rest now,
The first fridge i ever bought was a 60lt engle,
yes it has not failed, but has done very little work as after only a few trips i retired it because it would struggle in temps of 42°C or higher.
I bought the transit bag which drove me mad (why do i have to buy more stuff to help fix poor insulation?)
I had to buy the spring base to keep it comfy! why?
Then the weight was much high as well as the cost.
I still have the engle and ONLY use it as a back up for coast trips when i can plug into 240V which it seems to run ok on, but also in low ambient temps.

When talking to local fridgee who is repair agent for waco, engle and nat luner and this bloke has been fixing 12v fridges for 7 years, i was shocked when he told me he had only had 2 failed danfoss compressors in that time and guesed he had replaced 400 engle compressors!

I also have a liemac which is now used as a bar fridge, it has GREAT cooling horse power and would be the perfect unit for a trip where you needed lots of cooling for hot product, ybbies etc but were happy to ru a genny most days
It has huge power consumpton and is TOO heavy
GN
FollowupID: 625753

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:43

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:43
Hi Jim, last year was looking at moving up from my Autofridge to an Evakool and found to my dismay that they don't make the fully integrated box version any more, only the models with the compressor hanging out the end. Otherwise, I was very impressed with the amount of insulation in the Evakool fridges. The external compressor model just wouldn't have fitted into my existing shelf system.
So still running my 15yo Autofridge.
BTW, my Autofridge gave trouble about 3 yrs out of warranty (eutectic chamber leaked) and Autofridge happily fixed it for free (major rebuild to cabinet). I was most impressed with the service.
Gerry
FollowupID: 625781

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:47

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:47
Hmmm ..... interesting, the Waecos are piled waist high at Traralgon Refrigeration!

We camped on the Murray last year for 2 weeks & had 2 consecutive days over 50c, with every other day over 40c & had no refrigeration problems, other than a Waeco poly ice box that struggled to keep ice for 24 hours.

BTW the fridge was an Engel, that has never needed a spring base, although it is protected by a transit cover, as are a lot of Waecos.

Ask your 'fridgee' how many Waeco control touch pads he has replaced!

FollowupID: 625782

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Apr 03, 2009 at 09:53

Friday, Apr 03, 2009 at 09:53
A few of my mates have the 60l Engel and then there is a few with the cute little 40l (like me!) and we have no problems with the beers keeping icy cold on 40+ deg days and it's even hotter in the vehicles in the back where they're mounted!! I'd suggest you have a prob with your 60l Engel. Regardless of what everyone says about the insulation, they keep things more than cold on very hot days so as far as I'm concerned it's adequate. I bought the transit bag more for protection than insulation.

As for the fridgee replacing more than 400 compressors in 7yrs, that's a lot of compressors when you consider how many fridgees there are out there!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 625920

Reply By: furph - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:13

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 14:13
Please (with permission from Willem) can I just slip in a sideways plug for another great Aussie fridge product, the "Trailblaza".

After nearly 20yrs., mine is still going strong, 4-5 months of the year in the back of the truck, the remainder in the shed (still in the truck) and always on freeze setting.

Many years ago my (100yr.old!) 17l. Engel threw in the towel. Had a mate in the fridge repair business who told me most problems with that make were due to the refrigerant gas leaking from one place or another.
He put some gas in (had to cut a pipe and silver solder on a connection) found the leak, silver solder repaired it, recharged with gas and it is still going well today.
furph
AnswerID: 357671

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:34

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:34
Hi Furph
YES I agree whole heartedly, cannot comment on their after sales service but can vouch for another great aussie product.
I would be happy to buy one except the weight is an issue for me.

Regards'GN
FollowupID: 625842

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 16:14

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 16:14
> "You would be SILLY not to buy an EVAKOOL" <

Yeah, well, okay then, if ya say so, I'm SILLY..............

Late 1978 or early '79 (can't remember exactly, but whichever way you look at it, that's 30 years ago), I bought an Engel..
29 litre job... second hand... original owner decided he needed the larger model, so I got this one at a substantial discount off the then new price of around $275 - $300 or thereabouts (from memory)..
cost me $150.
I wasn't aware of any other brand of portable compressor 'fridge available at the time..

Anyway, this thing has been across the Nullabor at least 10 times, around the block, across the top, and every which way through the middle, including forays into all of the Western deserts.. The only "service" it has had in it's life, is an occasional "dusting" w/- compressed air.. Still works as good as the day I got it:)

Yeah, I'm SILLY all right...

Here I am hangin' out for a new 'fridge, and the bl@@dy old b@st@rd refuses to die!

SILLY, SILLY me...............................

;-)))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 357685

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 18:03

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 18:03
Geez Ed I must be Silly also, like you I bought a 29 ltr Engel in 1982 it just doesn't stop, just recently I bought a 40ltr Engle to keep in the truck, it goes 24/7, I suppose the Nissan will fall apart before the fridge does lol lol.
FollowupID: 625810

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 19:46

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 19:46
Daza

or the driver will pack it in ?

hahahahahha
FollowupID: 625827

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:39

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:39
Hey ed.com qld

This is my opinion after having owned an engle myself and have just had good back up on an aussie product!

I have a few mates who love / swear by their engle and for good reason, BUT all the one that are so happy have the old version (mustard yellow color type) which run on the old gas!

A fridgee told me some years ago that where it all went wrong for engles cooling ability was when they went to the new gas and made NO design changes to the unit which are apparently required for efficienct cooling.

That what what i have been told, take it or leave it

GN
FollowupID: 625847

Reply By: kevanancy - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 18:42

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 18:42
Hey G N , good onya for givin a product a good rap for having great aftersales service , good to know , btw I have a waeco .
AnswerID: 357705

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:42

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:42
well, my 8 year old Waeco is a relative newcomer. It looks more like a 20 year old and is the old FF70 model. Don't wanna put a curse on it but it's been one of the best bits of equip I've ever bought. I've heard some of the newer ones aren't as reliable - maybe there's something about the older ones.
FollowupID: 625848

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:43

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:43
Thanks kevanancy

It seems this is a can of worms
perhaps i should not tell any one in the future about anything good!

Reagards GN
FollowupID: 625849

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:44

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 21:44
whoops - should've been a post, not a follow up

btw, I'd be perfectly happy to give the Aussie a go and particularly opinion on some of the gas/12v jobs.

FollowupID: 625850

Follow Up By: PatrolSTL04 - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 02:45

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 02:45
G N ..... you get that on this forum.

Have read many posts from people with good experiences and then get shot down by others.

Good on you for telling others about your top experience with this fridge.
FollowupID: 626215

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 22:20

Thursday, Apr 02, 2009 at 22:20
What sort of car do you put a SMART fridge in???? LOL
AnswerID: 357749