Dry Ice????

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 12:57
ThreadID: 67515 Views:4371 Replies:12 FollowUps:22
Has anyone had much expierience with Dry Ice?
We are going away for a few days over easter and are thinking of ways to make my Ice last longer.
Usually by day 4 my ice supply is getting pretty low and being I love LOTS of ice in my bourbon, this is a serious problem.
I have made a chest freezer full of block ice and were thinking of stacking an esky with block ice and putting a block of dry ice on top of it. If I dont open it until day 3 I reckon I should have a fair bit left to re-stock my other eskies?
Does any one know of any good ways to store ice?

Cheers Hairy

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 13:13

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 13:13
Good morning.

I worked in Aisa for a number of years, and some of the small fishing boats used to cover their block ice, with fine saw dust, and pack it tight around it, i would try it before you leave home, and see if it work's, other than that, take one extra esky with you, full of block ice....Enjoy your trip.

Cheers for now...William H...Bunbury...WA.
AnswerID: 357999

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 13:57

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 13:57
Thats pretty close to what was thinking, Id just use news paper instead of saw dust.
Hairy
FollowupID: 626114

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:39

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:39
Hairy i also freeze the water in 2ltr milk bottles, and that stops water getting through everything as it melts, also easy to have cold water for drinking,cover the ice with newspaper as well, and you can bust up solid ice, with the hammer, while in the plastic milk bottle, then cut the top off, to get it, saves making a mess.

Cheers for now....bill.
FollowupID: 626124

Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 22:54

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 22:54
We lived in Penang (Malaysia) for a few years with the RAAF in the late seventies, when we had a Pi$$up (regularly) we went to the local village and bought 100 lbs block ice. It was stored in sawdust, lasted for ages. Little Asian guy had to dig his way in to find the block of ice, then clean it off for us. After a while we didn't bother picking it up, just got it delivered by bicycle.

FollowupID: 626193

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 13:42

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 13:42
Afternoon mate,

Sorry can't help you with the dry ice situation. this is what we do. for a weeks stay somewhere.
We have a 65lt blown plastic esky(Big Chillie) that we use for drinks only. A good fortnight before a trip I freeze down 4 or 5, 4lt ice cream containers if water into blocks. These will last a good week with a top up of bagged ice every second day or so, depending on how often the kids are in and out of it for drinks. This also includes myself for Beers. Although I do enjoy a Jack Daniels with dry, no ice. Hmmm
A trick to make the block ice last longer is to drain the water out a couple times a day. I find that helps.
For our food and perishables we have a ChesCold Frig/Freezer 3 way running on gas that works a treat. Again I freeze it down a week before we leave.
With the dry ice, will Salt help it keep cold?
Sorry I'm not much help.
Enjoy your trip away :-)

AnswerID: 358003

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:04

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:04
Gday Jon,
Thats pretty much what we do. I stock one esky each morning with the days supplies, that whay my big esky only gets opened once a day.
I also usually chuck a couple of bags of ice in the eskies a day or so before we go so when I stack the eskies they and everyting going in them is as cold as possible.
My trick to keep the kids out is I freeze a 10 litre bucket of water and stick it in the cooler keg, top it up with ice and then cold water. That way they have heaps of water without opening the eskies.

Cant wait.....conoeing.....Yabbying...kicking back.......Beauuuuuutiful!

FollowupID: 626116

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:09

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:09
Not too sure about the salt Jon. I seem to recall that they use salt to melt iced up roads in the colder countries.
Draining off the water certainly helps sustain the ice longer.

FollowupID: 626117

Follow Up By: Rolly - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:10

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:10
Must disagree with emptying the water.
Unless you need to do so for other reasons, keep the water to act as a heat(cold) reservoir and insulator.
Most of the cooling effect occurs as a result of the heat absorbed by the ice in the process of transition to water and, in an adequately insulated environment, the water will remain at 0°C until all the ice has melted.

Re. Dry Ice, which is solid carbon dioxide (CO), behaves quite differently as it does not go through a liquid phase on warming, but straight to gas.
If you use it in an insulated container inside the main 'esky' you can control the rate of usage with a hole or holes in the lower part of the walls of the inner box (CO2 is heavier than straight air).
Trial and error with the aid of a couple of thermometers is the way to go.
Be *Very* careful with dry ice as just a split second contact with unprotected skin can cause quite nasty "freezer" burns which can cause permanent damage.
*Always* use eye protection: a tiny flying splinter is capable of destroying the cornea.
FollowupID: 626118

Follow Up By: Rolly - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:12

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:12
Typo....solid carbon dioxide (CO2),.......
FollowupID: 626119

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:34

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:34
Gday Rolly,
I was thinking along the lines of packing an esky with block ice, covering it with news paper, then sitting a plastic container wth a hole in the lid on top and filling it with dry ice. Then duct tapeing the esky lid on so its air tight except for a little hole in the lid with a bit op taper over it so the pressure could escape if need be.

FollowupID: 626122

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:41

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 14:41
G'day Hairy
When you get the dry ice, keep it wrapped in paper, don't get it cut to small, block be better.
Ice cream or fuit juice containers of ice work great also.
Have a great time.
Lotzi
FollowupID: 626125

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 17:26

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 17:26
Hairy

thats a lot of ice mate..........have you been on the young fella's push bike again?

need ice for healin'??????

hahahahaha.
FollowupID: 626147

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 19:25

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 19:25
G'Day Fred,
The reason I said salt was and I'm probably wrong by the sound of it, was I kinda remember some one saying they used Rock Salt to help keep their ice longer. They also said that it would make fruit go to liquid if it came in contact with it. Apart from that they reckoned it worked. I probably miss heard it.
Not to worry.

FollowupID: 626162

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:24

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:24
Gday Mark,
Na mate....keep away from those dangerous things these days..hahahaaha
My sone come home from school 2 weeks ago with a broken arm though..............pay backs a bitch hey??? Hahahaha
FollowupID: 626245

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 15:17

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 15:17
Hairy

when we go camping i do like Hairs&Fysh do with the block ice.
i then put it in my converted ice box (made out of a 140 ltr upright freezer) on top of a grill that i made out of square aluminium tube covered by larger mesh with some mouse wire over the top of that.

it keeps the ice up out of the water which drains through the bottom.the grill is about3/4 inch off the bottom.

the water drains through the tube which i curled into a pig tail so as no air gets up into the icebox........it works a treat as my ice lasts for ages,cheers. Image Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 358012

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 15:53

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 15:53
Good afternoon Mark.

Have you got any more photo's of the freezer, look's good with what you have done to it, and just the right size for what i need, how long dose it last, before you have to re stock with ice.

Cheers for now...William H...Bunbury...WA.
FollowupID: 626134

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 16:11

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 16:11
William H

just as you requested...some more pics,cheers.

I put some stickers of look a like checker plate on it, bought some handles for the side and used what i had laying around.
All up cost was about $ 40.......i got the freezer from a transfer station for nothing cause it had already been de-gassed.

I put 6 ice cream containers of block ice in the bottom and about 6 or 7 bags of party ice on the top of them. depending on the weather i usually only have to restock 2 or 3 ( give or take) bags of ice in about 5 days or so. we usually only use this box for our drinks with the Engel taking care the rest of the daily needs.
FollowupID: 626140

Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 15:55

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 15:55
a little off your original topic --- if you want to scare your fellow camp site attendee's / visitors

put some dry ice into a 3/4 filled 1.25 pet bottle and quickly put the lid on and stand well back .... makes a very large bang :)

Boc

P.s not for the kiddies to try
AnswerID: 358018

Follow Up By: DIO - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 16:41

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 16:41
..............'P.s not for the kiddies to try '

Guess what will happen once the kids see a parent doing such a stupid thing that could harm someone or worse still if someone nearby had a weak heart - a fatality.
FollowupID: 626144

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 20:32

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 20:32
Ozboc,
Did that once with one of those square 20 lt ones.
It blew up till it was round, but didnt go bang! No one was game to go near it. Ended up having to put a shot through it so we could go back into the camp.

DIO,
I really dont have a problem with my kids seeing things like that.
As long as you explain the dangers and know when and were you can do that sort of thing. If my kids want to use a gun, slingshot, light a fire, make things go bang or anything else similar they ask......If I think the time is right we do it together.
That way they dont go and experiment on there own and its no big novelty.........bad kids general do what they arent allowed to?

Each to there own....

Ps you just reminded me to throw the spud gun in the trailer.
FollowupID: 626168

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 16:52

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 16:52
Hairy.

Try cutting down a coolite vegetable box with lid, like the ones the shops receive there broccoli in. Just glue it back together with a pva glue and add some electrical tape. Put this in the bottom of your esky with the dry ice in it. Put your frozen food or ice on top and it will last for ages. Hope this helps.

Rob
Rob M

AnswerID: 358030

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 20:59

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 20:59
Hi Hairy,

The problem with Dry Ice is that you can't use it in your bourbon.

I use block ice which I freeze at home in a couple of suitable sized plastic containers. When placed in the bottom of the ice box, I end up with a four inch layer of solid ice on the bottom. Place the booze (and cool drink) on top any usually top up with a 5kg bag of crushed ice to surround the tinnies.

I reakon the "secret" is having a suitable "esky" to start with.
Mine is an EvaKool Icebox. In fact I have two. A forty litre and a 65 litre.

I get a week or so from the ice in mine, however it is hard to replace with either block ice, or dry ice for that matter, when "out in the sticks". The crushed ice will also last longer in a well insulated ice box.

AnswerID: 358075

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:32

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:32
Gday Bill,
Yeah mate....the dry ice is just to make my ice last. Just an esky full of ice and nothing else.

Chers
Hairy
FollowupID: 626247

Reply By: troopyman - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 21:08

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 21:08
Just freeze some water in 3ltr milk bottles . You need one third volume of ice . So if your esky is 90ltrs then you need 10 x 3ltr bottles . The ice will last 4 or 5 days . If you dont use the one third principle then it wont last . I have kept ice for 5 days during summer with this method . I have an evakool esky though and it is superb as i have stated before .
AnswerID: 358076

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:35

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:35
Gday Troopyman,
It all depends on the weather.....its nothing out of the ordinary for it to be 40-50 degrees sometimes when we go camping. Sounds like this weekend is amost going to be cold though, so I doubt Ill have too much problem with ice.

FollowupID: 626248

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 21:16

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 21:16
We used dry ice a lot when we lived at Karratha in the eighties. We'd pack eskies and go to the islands off Dampier for a week at a time.

Dry ice works fine to keep stuff frozen. We found it best to separate layers of food with newspaper and used a full newspaper between the dry ice and the food to prevent burning.

One thing to be aware of....don't use an esky or fridge that seals perfectly. The CO2 gas produced when the dry ice warms will build up pressure and pop your esky!

Obviously you have to be really careful handling dry ice but otherwise it has few drawbacks. It will last quite a while if you start with frozen food and try not to open the container too many times. We found 4Kg would be enough to keep the food for a family of 4 frozen for a week.

Back in those days I was also a beer drinker and I used to buy my beer in aluminium cans and freeze them before going away. The ends of the cans would pop out but they never ruptured, and so long as you waited until they had completely thawed before opening, they were fine.

One thing the kids uded to love was to put a small amount of dry ice in a separate esky, put a lot of newspaper over it, put some apples on that and seal the esky for a while. When the apples were nicely chilled we would take them out and when the kids bit into them it was like eating a fizzy apple drink. The CO2 from the dry ice would carbonate the apples!

Chhers

Russ
AnswerID: 358077

Follow Up By: Member - Paul C (WA) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 03:14

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 03:14
If you don't have a good seal on the Esky, make sure you have plenty of fresh air in the car.
If dry ice (CO2) "escapes" in a sealed car oxygen levels drop and you may pass out before you get to your first bourbon.

Sounds extreme but very real scenario.

FollowupID: 626216

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:29

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:29
Thanks Russ & Paul.
Iwas going to put that esky in the camper for that reason ( CO2)....mind you, he never have the windows up in the car any way.

FollowupID: 626246

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 21:59

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 21:59
Hairy,
What you need is a chest freezer a bit bigger than your stock of essentials, and a heap of milk bottles.
A mesh cage to fit inside that will hold the milk bottles stacked from bottom to top on all sides, a bit like isulating the inside.
Then switch on the freezer a week before you go, and then stack the inner space with the essentials a day before so that when you load it everything is dam cold and the outer layer is frozen.
Might need a pound though as it sounds heavy, LOL, might need castors as well.
Could also whack the gennie onto it every few days for a while to top it up!
Sorry we will be unable to get there over easter, would be interested to see how the dry ice works.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 358082

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 23:36

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 23:36
I found it to be quite expensive & it came with a warning not to carry it in an esky in the car.
AnswerID: 358101

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:37

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:37
I dont mind paying for the comfort of plenty of ice when its stinking hot.
It wll be travelling in the trailer too.
FollowupID: 626250

Reply By: Lenticular - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 00:16

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 00:16
Hairy, a few years ago, I worked at a place that had a big CO2 tank onsite, and we were allowed to "shoot snow" (flaked CO2) out of the sample hose into our eskies for camping trips. It was too much of a good thing- froze everything up (veges, fruit, beer). Also, the CO2 makes your milk go sour.
Most of us went back to using block ice. Remember when ice block vendors used to use dry ice in those big canvas shrouded boxes ? Does anyone else remember having a too-cold ice block stuck to your lower lip and and having to painfully peel it off (with attached skin) ?
AnswerID: 358106

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:39

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 09:39
Hahahahahahaa......
Yep...how could you forget....stung for hours.

FollowupID: 626251

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 10:02

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 10:02
Thanks for the replies.....
I think Ill give it a go and see how well it works.....Ill let you know after Easter..

Hairy
AnswerID: 358153