What are your favourite bits of camping gear ?

Submitted: Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 10:39
ThreadID: 67588 Views:5864 Replies:26 FollowUps:19
Excluding cars and trailers and vans, but including what's in them, what are your most treasured and well used camping items ?

The three bits of gear I have most used and loved are :

- My Ultima tent swag. It has kept me dry, mosquito and snake free for countless trips through Central Oz and WA's Deserts.

- My single burner Companion Shellite stove - boil the billy on it every morning, if I am out camping in the scrub.

- My LED headlamp

Willie.

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:03

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:03
Hi Willie

My favorites are:

Camp fire chair for relaxing around the campfire and taking it all in

Laptop navigation system so I can follow in the footsteps of early explorers and log prominent features

Fridge for keeping the missus happy and the shandies cold

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 358313

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:43

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:43
- My One Planet down sleeping bag!
AnswerID: 358322

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:48

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:48
Willie

I might have to feed that info in my electronic abacus to come up with a result :-)

My favourite camping gear is a full load of diesel to take me places far away from the Madding Crowd

AnswerID: 358323

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 12:14

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 12:14
Madding Crowd = neighbours ?
FollowupID: 626618

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:53

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:53
Hi Willie,
My Camp Chair, And my ExplorOz Stubbie holder with a Coldie sat in it. :)
The beauty of these two pieces of camping equipment is, you don't have to be camping to enjoy them.
It doesn't get any better than that.

AnswerID: 358324

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:01

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:01
I'm with you on that one Jon, but will include a good book.

Fred
FollowupID: 626447

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 19:53

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 19:53
Spot on there Jon,AND FRED that should read and include a good Blonde.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 626530

Follow Up By: austastar - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 13:48

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 13:48
A BAD blonde could be more fun!
FollowupID: 626640

Reply By: chisel - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:53

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:53
Big Coleman 3-burner gas stove (better than our stove at home!)

Versalite flouro

10cm self-inflating mattress
AnswerID: 358325

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:57

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 11:57
G'day Willie,

My favourite bit of camping gear is my fishing rod. That is closely followed by the tinnie. If these items are superfluous then I must be in the wrong spot!

The bride would be offended by the thought that she came in third but she always said I shouldn't give on things important to me.

AnswerID: 358326

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:04

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:04
Well at least you did not include the bride, as one of your best bits of camping gear.
FollowupID: 626474

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:06

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:06
I keep five rods in a rod rack on the roof inside my van and four reels and lures etc. That gear never comes out of there.
FollowupID: 626477

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:01

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:01
My Versalite flouro, my cheap Jaycar 12v shower, my spear for hanging the billies, camp oven, etc over the fire.
Didn't count the fridge, as that's just another camping whitegood.
S'pose I should mention the solar panels, for giving total peace and quiet.
Gerry
AnswerID: 358334

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:22

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:22
Gidday,

have to be the camp oven and jaffle iron (the girls would say - "Marshmallows for toasting!!!)

Caroline
AnswerID: 358337

Follow Up By: troopyman - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 14:40

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 14:40
The last time we went camping i put a slice of bread in the jaffle iron then broke an egg into it and put some bacon in with pepper . Cooked it on the fire then cut the excess from around the sides of the jaffle iron and yum yum yum .
FollowupID: 626468

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 08:08

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2009 at 08:08
Troopyman,

That does sound good!!! I love the jaffle its sooo easy, the girls love egg and baked beans - makes for an interesting night in the caravan though!!!!!!! But fibre and protien - healthy eating.

Caroline
FollowupID: 626600

Reply By: pprass - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:37

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:37
The Rambo Hi Pressure Wok Burner - http://www.beconcatering.com/sunshop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=277

We just love the versatility of this very powerful burner - we can BBQ, simmer, cook a roast in the camp oven (put heat beads on top of the camp oven). Very handy when it is windy and you want to boil your pasta! Takes just 2 minutes to boil a kettle.
AnswerID: 358340

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:09

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:09
That's a beauty, thanks - I bet it boils a billy in record time !
FollowupID: 626479

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:40

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:40
I want one, and the shop is only up the road.

What do you attach it to? A gas bottle I presume, but do you need a special regulator? How long does your gas bottle (and what size) last?

They are on special now down to $200.
FollowupID: 626485

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:49

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 16:49
OMG I rang them, I've been searching for something like this for years and to think I've finally found it on a 4WD site, unbelievable, just bought it, picking it up tomorrow morning THANK YOU SOOOOO MUCH - and to think I was this weekend going to drill out the holes in my 13.5Mj wok burner on my stove top to try and wink out some more power to get the true "wok hey" flavour.
FollowupID: 626486

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 17:07

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 17:07
you can get em in doubles as well
FollowupID: 626492

Reply By: Moose - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:41

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:41
Willie - I reckon the Glind shower rates fairly high for me. That clean and refreshed feeling at the end of the day is damn good. Certainly keeps the rest of the family happy too.

The Trailblaza's a favourite as well since it ensures we can be fed and watered well irrespective of where we are.

That's just two of many.

Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 358342

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:50

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 13:50
For me:

(1) 12 V fluoro light - easy to use, value for money, works well as a flood light when above head height. Light is attached to an extendable metal tent pole. This pole has a spike welded on the end, and also plate to hammer said pole into the sometimes very hard ground.

(2) 12 V shower/pump/rose thingy - a shower every second day, whenever water is available, transforms a good bush trip into a trip of luxury, all for the price of 2 L of water per person.

(3) Metal camp table - can put all sorts of nasties & hot things straight from the fire onto it with no ill effect. It is a good work height and nearly indestructible. (Although it did collapse one day when I was using it as a tyre work bench in 40 degree heat. In that circumstance I had 3 tyres to mend; the flies were truly awful, and my back was killing me when bending over to work on the ground. )

(4) Camp oven - self explanatory to anyone who has used one regularly.

Cheers - I'm off on another odyssey on Good Friday; this time to the savannah lands of the N.T !
AnswerID: 358349

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 14:27

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 14:27
Apart from the gear pictured below.
Our camp cooker made from an old 9kg gas bottle.
The camp oven used in said cooker which doubles as a fire place.
And of course the Engel for the liquid of life.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 358358

Reply By: troopyman - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 14:37

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 14:37
Oztent RV4
DMH self inflating mattresses 100mm
Narva led inspection light x2
Camp oven
Evakool 85 ltr esky
could not go camping without these .
AnswerID: 358360

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 14:43

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 14:43
As Dodger replied,re: photo below.
*My out door recliner.
*My Engel Fridge.
*Never ending supply of Beer.
Nah I need the Cook also, ok I'm Greedy lol lol.

Daza
AnswerID: 358361

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 15:24

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 15:24
The Hi Lift jack it ain't. The s... shovel places fairly high (certainly well used).

The camp oven is versatile and can be used to cook almost anything from bread, to roasts, to grilled steaks, stews etc.

As long as I know where the headlight is I am laughing. Don't need fluoros when you have head lights.

But ultimately its the old swag that I associate most with camping. Its been everywhere, and guarantees me the best night's sleep I ever get.

AnswerID: 358370

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 17:04

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 17:04
my hunting gear
good tucker, bottle or 2 or 3 or more reds (not neccessarilly in 1 night) and a good camp fire
AnswerID: 358399

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 17:30

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 17:30
Hi Mn1
I'm with you on the Hunting gear.
You can't beat a good 12 guage.
I wonder if i can adapt it to put in tent pegs ? LOL.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 626500

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:41

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:41
similar to a ramset gun eh?...course ya can....just mean you might need to stand back a little in sand.....
FollowupID: 626546

Reply By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 18:20

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 18:20
1. ARB simpson 2 roof top tent
2. fridge
3. $20 bunnings camp chair with padding that keeps the bum warm for those freezing winter nights next to the fire.
AnswerID: 358418

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:28

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:28
Talking about a warm bum, my mate's lady can sew canvas and makes things like horse rugs for sale. As a favour, she made me a padded insert for my camp seat and also some velcro arm pads.

Luxury !
FollowupID: 626540

Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 18:32

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 18:32
Cobb Cooker ---

80 litre wacco fridge freezer ( need lots of ice for the bourbon and coke)

Camp chairs - little pricey at $80 each -- but damn commfy :)

Boc
AnswerID: 358421

Follow Up By: Steve - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:14

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:14
which chairs mate? Just about to lash out on some.
FollowupID: 626534

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 21:09

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 21:09
Gday steve -- i think there called King Goanna by Oztent

Ebay Link

best chair i have sat in for a long time ... apart from my recliner in the lounge :) even have adjustable lumbar support , only think i don't like is the built in drink holder -- there very small in diameter

Boc
FollowupID: 626559

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 19:48

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 19:48
I feel as if I am running the risk of being type cast here but I have said it before and I will say it again.

My favourite bit of camping gear is.......toilet paper. I have tried all the alternatives and believe me there is nothing like the real thing. As has been said of other things like stubby holders and chairs, I don't have to be camping to appreciate it either. :-))))

AnswerID: 358436

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:34

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:34
Duncs,
Too much information.
Willie.
FollowupID: 626545

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:06

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:06
Has to be the portable toilet chair hay,managed to sew a stubby holder on the side of it pretty good i reckon.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 358447

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:30

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:30
What, no magazine rack ?
FollowupID: 626544

Reply By: Steve - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:19

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 20:19
my fave bit of gear is a couple of $12 kmart wire basket things that I can get a couple of decent size steaks (or slab of fish etc) in each. Just right for the four of us. If the fire goes down or blows up a bit you don't have to bugger around with the fire too much - just move the baskets. Far easier to use than some of these old/trendy iron bush bbq things (I don't mean the camp oven - that's irreplaceable)
AnswerID: 358452

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2009 at 05:27

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2009 at 05:27
Willie,

Nice bottle of red around a camp fire with a few mates. ;)

Seriously though a tarp off the side of the car, shadecloth groundsheet, swag on stretcher. See the photo in my profile.
AnswerID: 358732

Reply By: Bluemetaldaisy - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 09:45

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 09:45
There's a few things. My LED Headlight, the DRIFTA kitchen and my two Dual Fuel lamps.
AnswerID: 359064

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 12:31

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 12:31
My wife....

AnswerID: 359075

Reply By: dact - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 15:57

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 15:57
-Our trusty old camp chairs

-Our trusty old enamel kettle (which everyone seems to use, rather than boil their billy)

-Our selection of new & not so new stubby holders, come beer o'clock time
AnswerID: 361091

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 18:41

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 18:41
My choice would really have to be the 12/240 Volt electrical system and fridge/freezer

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 361116