Tasmania Trip

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 10:33
ThreadID: 67962 Views:2011 Replies:10 FollowUps:1
I'm heading to Tasmania leaving Brisbane around the 15th arrive via ferry launceston 20 - 21st Then a short run to Queenstown where I will be for 2 - 3 weeks renovating my bothers place.

While I'm down that way and if anyone is interested in catching up I'd be keen even if its to take my mind off the fact I'm leaving sunny Qld to the freeze my butt off in your nice patch of the world.

Now my bother got off the phone to a contacct there yesterday and he (bother) told me there's snow on the mountain and is a bit cool, is he bullsh$tting me?

Can someone confirm this please as I'm not to excited about snow and work being used in the same sentence when I'm involved. Hmmmmm removing and installing a new metal roof should be fun in, I feel a lose term "cool".

When I'm finished I'd like to has a few days driving around (with HEATER on) before I head back home.

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 11:00

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 11:00
G/Day Brian

Every time we have been to Tassie it has blown a gale, rained, and has been bloody cold as well, I understand it can be quite nice down there, but we haven't experienced it yet, probably being a warmed blooded Queenslander we notice it more, lots of luck mate.

Daza
AnswerID: 360121

Reply By: Sigmund - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 11:37

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 11:37
Snow on the higher peaks is not uncommon this time of year but not all that common either.

Highlands and West Coast get a lot of weather but because they do there are many beautiful spots - lakes, waterfalls, rivers, rainforests.

It's a different way of life is all.
AnswerID: 360131

Reply By: landed eagle - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 12:29

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 12:29
Looking out the window at Mt. Wellington right now.........no snow.......maybe in 20 mins :)

Possibly some in the central highlands and west coast. Nights are definately cooling down but daytime temps aren't too bad.

Queenstown..........now there's a different planet all together!

Bring a jumper or two.
AnswerID: 360143

Reply By: Madfisher - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 16:22

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 16:22
We where camped at Pine Tier Lagoon last feb. Last Morning was 4c in the tent. Got back up towards Little Pine and their was snow everywhere.Decided to go for a drive back up past the old Antartic training station and it was a full blown blizzard.
Big variations in climate in Tassie within short distances.
Goodluck Pete
AnswerID: 360170

Reply By: austastar - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 16:33

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 16:33
Cool, yes, but you get the beach to yourself.
Enjoy it, you can always rug up.
AnswerID: 360174

Reply By: Holden4th - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 17:44

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 17:44
I stayed ay Wayatinah over NYE and the temperature that night got down to 2 degrees. Two years previously it never dropped below 14 so it's luck of the draw.
AnswerID: 360192

Reply By: jomahk - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 17:55

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 17:55
Hi Brian'
We are in Queenstown at present - have been here 3 months. A couple of times we have had reports of snow on the higher peaks but none visible in Queenstown itself although there have been some very cold nights. The biggest pain at present is the never ending rain along with the odd hail storm. I suspect it may be a very cold winter here this year as the locals have told me it is a more dismal summer than usual. fortunatly we leave in another week to Beaconsfield where it may be somewhat warmer as winter approaches. Bring your woolies and the rum.
Jon
AnswerID: 360197

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 18:06

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 18:06
We live in the top central of Tassie, right at the foot of the Great Western Tiers and have had two light coverings of snow on the mountain tops in the last month.Can get it any time of the year though.
BTW, the Spirit of Tas(ferry) will drop you off in Devonport, not Launceston.
Us, we leave for a three month trip in June to get out of Tassies coldest time...Brrrrrrr
AnswerID: 360199

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 20:08

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 20:08
Hi Brian,

We are originally from Sunshine Coast (left last November!!) we are travelling to Tassie on the 3rd May (we are travelling Oz) we are more than happy to catch up!!!! send us a message if you are interested.

We are currently in Shepparton VIC (leaving Tues 21st) it was 3 degrees on Wed morning!!!)

Matt Caz and kids looking forward to the snow!!!
AnswerID: 360225

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 22:33

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 22:33
My mums just out of shepperton so I will be there for a day or so before heading over.
Yep be good to catch up.

Will send a mm soon.

FollowupID: 628095

Reply By: Ross H (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 22:38

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 22:38
Hi Brian

Just remember they have some strange laws in Tassie and what happens in Tassie stays in Tassie.........Rellies included.

Have fun mate and will catch up when you get back.

Ross
AnswerID: 360246