Morgan Mail Road South Australia

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 18:41
ThreadID: 68072 Views:6708 Replies:12 FollowUps:37
I want to do a two or three day drive along the Morgan Mail Road up as far as Oakbank Outstation, then head towards Burra via Sturt Vale.

So far, I have been unable to contact any homesteads along my route, except for Pine Valley, which I am still awaiting a reply.

My question is...

Where (besides Dangalli) can I roadside camp, or whatever, without getting into trouble, as I wish to meander, taking photographs.

Lone Wolf

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 19:24

Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 19:24
Hi Lone Wolf

Are you the original real Lone Wolf? If so, welcome back and great to see you here.

I know nothing about the Morgan Mail Road.

AnswerID: 360728

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 20:27

Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 20:27
Yep, it's me!

Gone with the Delica, but still got the Honda

New partner in my life, new house, but same business.

Writing a book now!

Good to see you!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628520

Follow Up By: Kahn666 - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:26

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:26
Looking for Lone wolf , From a Game WE played online in the USA..

Hey Paul, If this is you , AKA Lonewolf of COV Please give a Contact at bcbandit@bcbandit.com, Thanks mate, AND sorry to post a NON 4WD/Camping topic, Thinks and nice Forum you have.. BCB, AKA Kahn666,

Tim Wysocki Forest park IL 60130 USA..
FollowupID: 631003

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 19:11

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 19:11
Hi Tim

In case our Lone Wolf is out and about, no, he is not Paul.

This is a nice forum, inhabited by a people who think they are chooks, wolves or whoever.

Mh

FollowupID: 631020

Follow Up By: Kahn666 - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 15:18

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 15:18
I Would Really like to Thank you for the Reply, Been hunting doun my Buddy for some time, he was not doing well in many areas, And wanted to "Attempt to see if I can Hunt him down,

Maybe someone With the lone.wolf69@ "optusnet.com.au" Might have A lot more help then me from here, Thanks, Tim..
FollowupID: 631164

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 20:38

Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 20:38
Well G'day there Ian, welcome back.
Good to read your still around and have a new purpose in life.

Sorry I can't answer your query mate, but hopefully someone will.

AnswerID: 360749

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 08:51

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 08:51
Thank you Bill.

Still around, although my travels now are a lot further afield.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628571

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 21:05

Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 21:05
Welcome back Mr Wolf.

I always enjoyed your sense of humour, I too lack the answer to your question but I'm glad to see you back.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 360757

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 08:52

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 08:52
Thank you Geoff.

I am still a mad bugger, so nothing has changed!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628572

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 21:14

Tuesday, Apr 21, 2009 at 21:14
Hi Lone Wolf,
Stuart and Sarah Wier as far as I am still aware are the managers out at Sturt Vale. What other Stations do you intend to go through, as I have a few contacts out that way.

AnswerID: 360761

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 07:56

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 07:56
???? what happened to Paul?
FollowupID: 628566

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 08:54

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 08:54
Stephen, thank you.

I am off to work, but maybe tonight, I will post where I wish to go, and you may be able to give me a heads up.

Again.... thank you.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628574

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 09:53

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 09:53
Okay.... bugger work!

Morgan
Balah
Canegrass
Pine Valley
Oakbank Outstation
Quondong Vale
Sturt Vale
Burra

If I can at least get in contact with one of the above, it will give me a starting point.

I am still waiting for Pine Valley to return my email & voice message.

Looking for the road access, as well as one overninght stay.

ianbee at lonewolf dot id dot au
FollowupID: 628591

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 13:16

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 13:16
Hi Ian
I will make a couple of phone calls this afternoon and post the details tonight.

FollowupID: 628609

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:17

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:17
Stephen... thank you.

I have been trying Sturt Vale all aday, but they must be busy, or away... same with Pine Valley.

You can email me at ianbee at lonewolf dot id dot au

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628641

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 18:59

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 18:59
Hi Ian
Still awaiting on one more phone call, but Quondong Station is 8892 9654

When I find out more will post them

FollowupID: 628670

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 19:09

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 19:09
Stephen....

... thank you.

I will try this number tomorrow during business hours, as well as the numbers for Pine Creek and Sturt Vale.

I am bound to get one of them!

Maybe they've all done the bolt for the school holidays?

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628677

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 07:32

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 07:32
Steven
Has Paul left Sturtvale?
That was owned by the Wilkenson's last I heard and Paul was the then Manager. I used to do work for them back here in Adelaide and go up their hunting.
FollowupID: 628742

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 07:36

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 07:36
sturtvalestnatbigponddotcomdotau was the email (last I spoke to paul) have the number somewhere but I see you have it already
FollowupID: 628743

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 08:30

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 08:30
Hi Number 1
I did not know Paul, but Sarah and Stewart were on Pine Valley and was told that they moved camp. Pine Valley was sold the other year and now owned by someone over in Perth. I will try and contact the old owners today, they were the Jaeschke's from here in Clare. My other contact out that way is Greg Connors from Lilydale, but he is not answering his phone, even last night. We will get to the bottom if it.

FollowupID: 628754

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 07:41

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 07:41
Welcome back Wolfie, you have been missed!

I don't have an answer to your question but what else is new.

AnswerID: 360820

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 08:57

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 08:57
Thank you.

Much has happened over the last three years, but all is good.

Still driving my little Honda.

Still kayaking over on the Eyre Peninsula.

Playing guitar and getting gigs.

Oh.... and writing....

Wolfie

FollowupID: 628576

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 07:43

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 07:43
g'day wolfie
welcome back ....almost new every thing?...gee some never learn do they...hehehe
AnswerID: 360821

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 07:55

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 07:55
the old track has been returned to the station owners I believe
might be best you ring those stations for advice involved?
paul (Manager) at sturtvale is an approachable bloke.
FollowupID: 628565

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 09:01

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 09:01
Long time no see!

Tell me, what is this handing the track back? Does this now mean it is not a public access road?

Where it cuts in on the north west side of Dangalli, is it still a through road?

Are you able to somehow give me Paul's number?

If so, I will give you my email address.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628578

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 07:29

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 07:29
I dont know if its still available for public access as such
its just that the stations have it ...ie it is not fenced off from the stations that border it....
FollowupID: 628741

Reply By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 11:32

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 11:32
G'day Wolfie,
Deslexic here. Good to see you still alive and kicking.
Give Mate Osborne a ring, he is the resident Ranger at Danggali ph.no 8595 8010. He is a very valuable source of information and will probably be able to give you all the information you want. Best time to ring is around lunch time or early evenings.

the Dasher
AnswerID: 360860

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 13:33

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 13:33
Hi Dasher the Paddler
It was great to catch up with you and Blaze over Easter. Will have to do the same thing again next time, perhaps even longer LOL

We had a great time, with great company and it was perfect on the water.

PS: what's this rumour I hear that we nearly killed you??

Cheers and get in shape for the next Paddle.

All the Best

FollowupID: 628612

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 14:59

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 14:59
G'day Stephen, If you knew how I felt that night LOL next day I felt fairly good, but I wouldn't have gone out again then.
It certainly was a great paddle and interesting sites. Those stones that you showed me came from an area near Lyrup so not a great distance away.
Looking forward to catching up again.
the Dasher
FollowupID: 628621

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:15

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:15
Wow!! Blast from the past!

What, it must have been over three years ago since we paddled together on Katty Creek?

I'm still paddling, but mainly over on the West coast.

Good to catch up...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628640

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 19:06

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 19:06
Hi Dasher
I contacted the DEH in Berri, head Ranger out and not returned my phone calls or email. I contacted the SA Museum, they very interested. Sent them some photos and Waypoint details and he said they will more than likely check the place out. If I find anything else important out, will send you a MM

Cheers and All the Best

FollowupID: 628674

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 19:42

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 19:42
Hi Dasher
Do these bring back any memories??

StephenImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

FollowupID: 628690

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 15:21

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 15:21
Welcome back Ian, you lunatic. We've missed your entertainment.

I'm no longer "Jimbo", well I am really, but I use my business screen name now.

AnswerID: 360882

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:29

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:29
Jimbo! My main partner in crime!

Wo dude, like what u doin?

Life is all good here for the Wolf, same for you?

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628644

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:43

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:43
Couldn't be better. I decided I'd had enough of the corporate bullchit for the second time around and decided to open another business about 2.5 years ago.

Business is great, life is even better.

I found your website a month or two ago and had a bit of a read. Seems you've had a few changes in life, but fortunately have not regained any semblance of sanity.

FollowupID: 628649

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:49

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 17:49
Yeah.... run a couple of sites.

One is just general meanderings, whilst the other concentrates on my writing progress.

Don't post a lot on either of them.

Sanity.... I read about that once...

I am hoping to retire from Welding & Sheetmetal work in the next two years, and concentrate on my music and writing.

I seem to have settled down to all and sundry, but still have that.... what.... wild streak?

Hope business continues to do well for you both.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628650

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 20:32

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 20:32
Listen here you maniac, you'll make more money out of sheetmetal than music or writing.

For every Johnny Farnham there are 100,000 Johnny Hopefuls.

Generate your efforts with the metal into stuff that is more profitable.

Fair Dinkhum, give me a call. The 4wd market is crying out for metal stuff that is outrageously priced. Cargo Barriers, rear storage area dividers, roof racks etc. I get asked about this stuff all the time. I can't make it.

03 9706 6527.

FollowupID: 628705

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 20:51

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 20:51
Hey there - you old ones (especially you Dasher Des)- I've got EO visitors tonight and the merlot bottles are empty and the top deck is all eaten. Almost like old times on here.
AnswerID: 360949

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 21:49

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 21:49
Ruth... struth!

Top Deck!!!!!!

That's Willie food isn't it?

Good to hear from you girl!

God, it's like full circle.

Take care Ruth, and a hello to anyone that may remember me.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628720

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 09:33

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 09:33
Gday Oh great Golden Goddess.
Was really great to finally put a face to the name last year and the camera still works LOLOLOL Yeah I know, I need slapping, it's been threatened before so I guess it's only a matter of time.
I guess your like me a bit and don't live on here as much as we used to.
Keep well and I hope that we catch up again in the not too distant future.
FollowupID: 628766

Reply By: MobiCondo - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 21:11

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 21:11
G'day Lone Wolf,
A beautiful area to travel. We have done so twice, usually just as a quite scenic route away from traffic. Camped once only as an emergency just 15 metres or so off to the side of the track wheel marks on a small gibber flat between Tiverton and Panaramitee. We had a flat right on dusk and we too tired to drive onto Yunta for the night, so the swag got unrolled right where we were!
I would love to traverse the area at more relaxed rates after or even during good rains of it were possible! It would be magic then! Those rugged low ranges and the tower to the east just beckon exploration!
Love to see the photos!
Cheers - Mobi
AnswerID: 360953

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 21:53

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 21:53
Thank you Mobi.

I want to do two trips in total.

First is a recce, to see if it all fits within the parameters I have set myself in the book, then the second one is to hone in, and get local knowledge, and help my minds eye in constructing the settings.

Unfortunately, the photos won't be for public viewing. They are for archive purposes, so I can call back on them with my project.

I shall go slow, and think of you whilst travelling!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628721

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 22:20

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 22:20
G'day Wolfie, good to know you are still about. Still using that sleep turbo you suggested to me all those years back.

Went part way up the Morgan Mail Road but out to Yunta a few years back. Can't help you on the way out to Burra though, sorry.

Good to know you still function mate............
AnswerID: 360976

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 23:17

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2009 at 23:17
John...

Still using the very same system as we spoke about. I have moved onto a splint, but it's a dual discipline system. Handy for overseas trips and the like.

It's a bit like vegetarianism.... ( of which I have been for the past twenty years or so...) people get used to sleep systems without any stigma.

Good to see you are still around the traps.

Wolfie

FollowupID: 628730

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 08:03

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 08:03
Okay...

I have managed to get in contact with Paul at Sturt Vale.

Thank you to all that have offered suggestions and wishes.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 361018

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 13:06

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 13:06
Hi Ian
Finally got hold of Lyn this morning. I have known her from school days and they used to own Pine Valley. She is going to go through her RFDS contacts for the your required stations and I will give her a phone call last thing today. She also mentioned that she received your email, but has not had time to reply as yet.

Hopefully by the end of the day, I will have the complete list of managers and contact phone numbers for you.

FollowupID: 628800

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 15:57

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 15:57
Stephen..

I thank you for all of your work!

I received Lyn's email, and she has reiterated what you have just told me.

Thank you you guys, it means a lot!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628826

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 19:34

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 19:34
Hi Wolfie
I have luck with Lyn and this is what she has given me for the contacts that you will need.

Pine Valley Station/Redcliff Station
Manager for both is Will Gwynn Jones, lives at Redcliff
Mobile 0408 931 840/Home 88928 694

Balah Station
Jamie and Sonja Irwin 8892 7600

Canegrass Station
Greg and Carol Patten
email: Greg.Patten@mogasgroup.com.au
Lives in North Adelaide, but spends time there.

Quondong Station
Manager Dick Edmonds 8892 9654

Oakvale Station
Owner Peter Glynn 8892 9661

Parcoola Station
Owner John and Leonie Wyld 8892 9695

Sturtvale Station
Manager Paul and Debbie Williams 8892 8655

All the best and hope this helps you out..

FollowupID: 628858

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 20:00

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 20:00
Stephen, thank you!

I'll write you a letter telling who ever, you can have the rest of the week off!

As a matter of fact, I have had two calls from Scotty at Pine Valley, and it's all go, like Thunderbirds to the rescue!

Everyone, thank you very much!

Looks like I got some serious packing to do.... doh!

Okay, Wolfie signing off...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 628862