cooking with (lpg) gas

Submitted: Monday, Aug 25, 2003 at 12:06
ThreadID: 6810 Views:4334 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Hi - I've heard that it's unsafe to cook with lpg, but I'm not sure why this would be. LPG is just a mix of butane and propane and I think cooking gas is butane or propane. Has anyone else heard this and is the danger due to an explosive risk or because lpg is toxic to food (e.g. maybe they add something to lpg so you can smell it better?) The reason I ask is that lpg is a lot cheaper than bbq gas!

Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Grinner - Monday, Aug 25, 2003 at 12:42

Monday, Aug 25, 2003 at 12:42
I'm no expert on gas, but what I've heard is that BBQ gas is more pure that LPG. LPG may at some times have other additives (or be less refined) and can nasties that would not be good to cook with.
This is not an informed response, just what I've heard.

Grinner
AnswerID: 29022

Reply By: Stevo - Monday, Aug 25, 2003 at 13:57

Monday, Aug 25, 2003 at 13:57
Liquid butane and propane do not mix and after some time the liquids separate and form two distinct layers. There is a small but very real risk that when the flame has consumed one of the liquids (not sure which is the lighter of the two) and commences consuming the other liquid it may extinguish itself.
AnswerID: 29032

Reply By: matt - Monday, Aug 25, 2003 at 14:39

Monday, Aug 25, 2003 at 14:39
Try a duel fuel stove we have one and itis brilliant. We have run out of fuel many a time and just drain the cars fuel tank and off you go again
AnswerID: 29035

Reply By: duncs - Monday, Aug 25, 2003 at 16:04

Monday, Aug 25, 2003 at 16:04
Pathfinder,

When You say LPG I assume you mean the type used to fuel cars.

As far as I know there is no technical reason why you shouldn't use LPG. I know a guy who has been doing it for years.

He still has some hair and his teeth are all in place.