mandrel bent colorado trucking awsome

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 15:46
ThreadID: 68198 Views:3102 Replies:8 FollowUps:19
g'day,

got my self a mandrel bent for my colorado and OH MY.... OH...MY its unlocked a monster ahahha the power the torque the stainless looks a treat really does... you can hear the turbo more not too much just enough to sound just rite if anyone wants bit more towing power or beach torque i would say its given me atleast 15% to 20% more and got 690ks out of my tank 70L tank and should get abit betta still new so yeah for sure anyone thinking more power talk to the leaders for sure

shane'0...

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 15:58

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 15:58
Did you get the stainless for when you roll it onto it's roof??
Other than that who else is going to see it

AnswerID: 361460

Follow Up By: shaneo86 - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 16:16

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 16:16
yeah i guess then again i could throw all style out the window and turn it into a tractor throw some overkill tyers on have the end result of .... yep sweet fa try style you might like it
FollowupID: 629197

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 17:07

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 17:07
You have obviously missed my point,

What is the advantages of getting stainless when you see bugger all of the exhaust system, it hangs under the vehicle and gets covered in bleep e. Therefore the bling factor is negligible.

Is it longer life??
Apart from the bling factor why did you chose Stainless??

FollowupID: 629202

Follow Up By: shaneo86 - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 20:44

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 20:44
why do 100% of trucks have them.... i go to rainbow its my 1st 4wd and like all of us we want ours all to be diff and so on and mine is i know your thinking only of the bad points but open upp to the positve thinking wont hurt
FollowupID: 629272

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 06:45

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 06:45
So just because "100% of trucks"have them it must be good.

Is it a 1", 2", 2.5", 2.75"or a 3"system??

You are raving on about it being a fantastic system yet you have given no info other than it is stainless.

How about giving some real info so others can make sort of a informed decision about it.

eg, Cost, where it was purchased, Dyno results before and after install etc

FollowupID: 629323

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 10:33

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 10:33
Stainless = nil rust so supposedly longer life ,, The 'bling' factor will disapear fairly quickly once driven on the beach.
FollowupID: 629361

Reply By: shaneo86 - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 16:01

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 16:01
pff....

for your info its got a alloy tray so you can see it and it looks awsome and will test the time for a very long time... adds more later on
AnswerID: 361461

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (Malanda - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:53

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:53
Shaneo86. From experience adding an extra will not add $ to the resale of your vehicle. Most car yards take off the add on's to sell a car. Every $ you put into your car is dollars spent and not saved.

Put the extras on so you use the car how you want to, after that someone else gets them for a bargain. Cheers tony
FollowupID: 629416

Reply By: andson - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 16:37

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 16:37
Shane'o

What brand is it mate?

Shane
AnswerID: 361466

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 17:14

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 17:14
Get it dynoed before you reckon you got 20% more power and torque.

The extra noise you get is like a ricer, they sound fast but its all noise.
Had mine done but chipped it at the same time and dynoed after each got added and the exhaust certainly didnt add 20%
The combination of the two gave me an increase fron 145hp to 165.2 at the wheels.
A couple of weeks ago I had to remove the chip before Mr Toyota had a play with it and it was noticably slower and so I cant attribute more than about 33% of the increase to the exhaust.
I got an aluminised steel one for 2/3 the price of S/S and spent the rest on the chip.
Guy who fitted it said only those with too much money buy S/S.
AnswerID: 361477

Reply By: Nutta - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 17:52

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 17:52
Looks like u cant get a break mate, put something nice on ur car and get shot down in flames.

Good luck to u Shane'o, hope it looks good!
AnswerID: 361494

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (Malanda - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:58

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:58
Nutta. We will give Shane a break! He can put what he wants on his car. People will always point out that money can be better spent - Thats all part of a Forum.

Also when you claim a performance increase you should back it up with proven figures, if not I may as well go down and put a Hyclone with water injection etc on my car :-). They all claim increase in performance when it is only an imaginary one. Hey but thats good for some :-). Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 629418

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 19:23

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 19:23
I have a great tip to pass on to you, in an effort to help you protect your investment.

A negative design point of the Colorado is the lack of the protection properties of the factory fitted sump guard.

If you go to an ARB shop, you can buy a full length guard to fit to the Colorado which provides superior protection from rocks, stones, etc. from causing damage to the vulnerable parts underneath.

I am in no way connected to ARB. The information was passed on to me just today, from the Sales & Service Manager of GM Holden Limited.

Bill.

AnswerID: 361519

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 22:44

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 22:44
I am not real happy with the sump protection on my rodeo I will be looking at upgrading it pretty soon.

The fuel tank does have a nice protective sheet though :-)
FollowupID: 629299

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 10:22

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 10:22
If you go for a TJM winch bar a cradle/mount is required , it stretches back to 1/2 inch infront of the sump plug , is 5mm thick steel plate ,,, sump guards dont come much stronger than that.

no connection blah blah blah ,,
FollowupID: 629358

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 11:35

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 11:35
A word or warning we were told by holden they they do not cover any warrantee if the air bags deploy while using a winch bar.

I would assume that is winching or snatching.

I think I would just carry a set of maxtrax
FollowupID: 629371

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (Malanda - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:40

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:40
D200Dug. I did a 3" lift on my Rodeo. I have not come close to hitting the sump or anything under vehicle after that. I got my Winch and winch bar when I purchased my Rodeo in 2007. They said nothing then about any Airbag Issues as they were happy to install them. Makes you wonder. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 629415

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:53

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:53
2" lift kit going in tomorrow

I bought mine from Zupps in Brisbane and they gave me the warning when I asked about the winch bar.

I was not really wanting a winch so opted for the diff lockers.

I would rather not get into trouble than have to get out of it :-)
FollowupID: 629417

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (Malanda - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:01

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:01
D200Dug. I went the Snake Racing 3" kit because the Lift did not rely on just jacking up the torsion bars. Its a great lift Cheers Tony.
FollowupID: 629419

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:05

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:05
Methinks much hulaballoo about nothing , winching and snatching is an extension exercise ,,, airbag deployment is a compression ,,
FollowupID: 629420

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:12

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:12
I am not sure of the brand we are just copying a successful conversion done on a rodeo that works full time on fraser island. If it works it works :-)

I think the problems with the air bags is sudden application of G forces rather than compression.

Snatch or sudden release of a winch cable may be the problem, I am not sure just repeating what I was told.

I am guessing that there is a .0001% of it happening in the real world.
FollowupID: 629423

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (Malanda - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:49

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 16:49
shaneo86. Oh to be young again. I added a lot on chrome to my cars when I was young - Like this

I had fun putting it on. As you get older you say - Bit of a waste of money should have spent it on more practical things, but hey you only live once. Enjoy the car have fun and most of us oldies will have a smile :-).

In my opinion - as I am now older. The same money spent on a 3" lift and some front diff locks would make it more of a car than a u-Beaut exhaust & chip would. They have enough power stock standard. But hey! I use it for a 4x4 as I no longer drive show ponies :-). Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 361680

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:12

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:12
Ahhhhhh , the days of tripple chromed dipsticks and racing air in the tires , hacksaw lowered springs and purple velour interiors , "dont bother knocking if its rocking " LOL.
FollowupID: 629422

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (Malanda - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:18

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 17:18
Axle - I see you know all the talk - you must have walked the walk :-) Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 629425

Reply By: Nutta - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 06:39

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 06:39
Oh well Shane'o, next time you do something to your ute u better keep it to urself! Theres some nasty AHOLES on this forum!
Cheers WHINGERS!
AnswerID: 361767

Follow Up By: beelzebug - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 11:25

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 11:25
What's a mandrel bent?
FollowupID: 629565

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 13:31

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 13:31
There is nothing wrong with being pleased with what you have .

However some figures to back up your supposed gains make it believable.
There is also nothing wrong with a bit of jocular criticism.

as i said I had mine done and got nothing like his claims

Therefore we think that noise does not equate to horsepower.

The cost of S/S is about $1700 plus fitting for a 100 series.

My one cost $1080 fitted and dynoed 3 times.

The difference plus a bit more bought the chip where the real horsepower comes from.

Beezlebub He presumably means a mandrel bent exhaust which is a pipe bent on a machine which retains the inside diameter around the bends by inserting coils and stretching the pipe around them rather than compressing it as in a normal pipe bender.

S/S also does not stretch like this as well as mild steel and therefore can be weakened by doing so depending on the degree of hardness in the steel.

All in all a waste of money as in 6 months it will be covered in Chit and gone blue or black with use anyway.

Amazing how some posters reflect their user names.

No offence intended of course.

FollowupID: 629596