Best Buy Used Family Caravan Under £10k

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 11:58
ThreadID: 68232 Views:3668 Replies:5 FollowUps:13
My wife and I are brand new to caravanning and wish to purchase a used van on a tight budget of £10k. It must have sleeping for 2 adults and 2 children (under 10). We hope to purchase asap and use for a roadtrip to North Queensland. Any advice on recommended models/specs/styles/prices greatly appreciated! Thanks.

Reply By: toyocrusa - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 14:21

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 14:21
Hi. I think you would be looking fairly long and hard to find something decent for that money.It would be either a small van or an older one that may require some maintenance. If you have the expertise to refurbish or upgrade an older van then it may suit you.If not then you may be better to think/look along the lines of a "camper trailer".Just as much and sometimes more room than a budget van and usually a bit easier to tow.Regards,Bob.
AnswerID: 361648

Reply By: Malleerv - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 14:43

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 14:43
Where are you located and are you after a van, poptop or camper van?
AnswerID: 361653

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 14:45

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 14:45
New Traveller
Go to the Home Page and look at the caravan link, you will get tons of info from there.

£10k = A$20.8k, that should buy somthing reasonable in Australia.

Checkout the Trader ads on this site as a starting point.
Cheers Colin.
AnswerID: 361655

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 18:14

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 18:14
Is it 10k in British pound or worthless Australian $$$$$$$$$
makes 120% difference
AnswerID: 361697

Follow Up By: DIO - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 18:58

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 18:58
Nothing wrong with the Aust $ . At the moment you can buy almost US72 cents. That's heaps better than when it would only buy 45 - 50 cents.
FollowupID: 629445

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 20:22

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 20:22
Shocking thing the the A$.

For A$15 you can get a big leg of lamb, it will cost 20 pounds in England.

Fuel in England, 2 pounds a litre and we get it for $1.20.

Oh, and the Pommie economy is rooted.

Seriously Graham, this is the best place in the world to live. The queue of Pommies trying to get here is longer than the Murray River.

FollowupID: 629466

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:30

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:30
Jeez you guys bite Wish I was a fisherman.

The $ is not as good as it was when it was in the 90c range but what is.
Jusat trying to find out is the poster a Pom or is it a typo.

Hooroo

FollowupID: 629483

Follow Up By: Kelvo - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 07:54

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 07:54
BOR,

Fuels not quite that bad here at the minute 'only' £1.05 per ltr about A$2.15

You're not wrong about the queue to get in, I think I must be somewhere near the SA border at moment!

Then you'll have another Pom to bash ;-)

Kelvo
FollowupID: 629516

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 08:04

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 08:04
Jim,

I think you are having a bit of a stab there mate....there was a topic on Today Tonight, I think, the other night and Australia pays more for groceries than any other developed country thanks to or illustrious duopoly...

I was in UK over Christmas with my wifes family and petrol was GBP1.20/litre (around $2.55) and at the same time it was $1.60 here.
A big leg of lamb for $15....only of you shoot the bugger yourself. Woolies special for a leg of lamb is $17.50 for 1.4kg...small. You wont pay over GBP12 at least on Tesco in South Wales for that size of lamb and better quality lamb than here by far. Don't kid yourself on that score...

We may be the lucky country but quality of food, particularly meat, UK leaves us for dead... The variety and quality of food in places like Tesco (big supermarket in case you aren't aware) is considerably better than here in Woollies or Coles. And....its no more expensive on balance
FollowupID: 629519

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 08:13

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 08:13
Don
If the UK is so great why not move back there?

FollowupID: 629522

Follow Up By: Kelvo - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 08:22

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 08:22
He'd be crazy to move to the UK, I cant wait to get out.

If you fancy swapping houses I'd be up for it, just remember you stab proof vest.
FollowupID: 629523

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 08:55

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 08:55
Gone Troppo,

Firstly, I'm not from there...if you read, I said my wifes family and secondly, I am only responding to Jim's 'off the cuff' remarks without any knowledge as to what he is talking about in that respect.

It annoys me when people make totally unqualified comments about other countries, 4wd, caravans, based on some utterly biased heresay. In most cases without ever having been in UK, driven the caravan they are criticising etc..

But...on the food issue, here are we Aussies thinking we have got it all over the rest of the world and our two 'majors' Woolies and Coles, due to their duopoly have steadily pushed up grocery prices above almost everyone else in the world and we just cop it...

And Kelvo...stab proof vests won't help you in Sydney...they use AK47's here mate..!!!!!
FollowupID: 629532

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 09:00

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 09:00
Don
Fair enough I'll change what I said.

If the UK is so great why not move there?

FollowupID: 629534

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 09:09

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 09:09
Troppo,

You are not reading what I say...I give up.

Australia is the biggest, the best, cheapest, safest, friendliest place in the world...oh, and it also has the biggest population of people with only one eye....
FollowupID: 629536

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 09:32

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 09:32
Ah, my "off the cuff" remark was simply to demonstrate that the standard of living in Australia leaves England for dead.

And I'm no Pommie basher, my old Mum and Nanna (she's still kicking at 97) migrated here in 1956 from England.

My Grandad turn up his toes in 1996 after making a great life in Australia. He loved Australia. I asked him once why he had never gone back to England for a visit. He said why, it's cold, cramped, houses are small, I spent 40 years there I don't need to see it again.

FollowupID: 629543

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 13:42

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 13:42
Not sure that the food is better over there! They have mad cows disease and no matter how cheap you'd always be wondering. Particularly when you start running around in circles - must have eaten the wrong cheap steak!

In fact the food is so bad over there they won't let you donate blood here if you been there in the last 20 years. The blood bank knows their stuff and they aren't even that tough on some other less than savoury practices

FollowupID: 629601

Follow Up By: Tenpounder - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:35

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:35
What a load of nonsense!

Graham asked a simple question: was the figure meant to be AUS$10k or GBP10k? and what did we get? a tirade about Oz vs UK in terms of lamb prices and quality, and goodness knows what else.

The question what can we get for ten grand does, actually, depend very much on whether that is ten Oz grand or ten pommie grand. SP please cut to the chase, guys!

My answer to THE question is that A$10k is getting down a bit, but a sound 80's vintage van can be had in that range. Ten thousand pounds, or roughly $20k AUS, will open up a much better range of options.

We bought for $13k four years ago, and have got our money's worth already!

Chris (SA)
FollowupID: 629653

Reply By: disco driver - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 19:32

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 19:32
Hi New Traveller,

If you are prepared to look around there are a fair number of older vans (1980's) out there. Some will be crap but there are a few very good ones (1 owner and alway shedded) and a number of fair to average condition units.

FWIW I bought an immaculate 1 owner 1982 model 16ft Viscount Grand Tourer poptop with twin beds and a Dinette/double bed with 12/240 Engel fridge, small 4 burner, grill and oven for just under $6000. No toilet or shower and on road only, but still good value.

Things to look for:-
External:-
Previous History, No of owners, last owners name and address (if it's in a dealers yard) Ownership check (REVS or Hire Purchase check)
Make sure that the van's weight figures are within your tow vehicles capacity
Solid rust free chassis, A frame and springs
Suitable to hitch and security chains and shackles
Reasonable Exterior condition, no dents, mismatched panels or paint
Evenly worn tires, (be a bit aware of brand new ones, they could be disguising a bent axle).
Gas and power lines should be neat and tidy underneath
All indicator, stop and tail lights must work

Internal:-
No unusual discolouration of bench tops or interior lining (Sign of water leaks)
All curtains should match (sort of)
All seats should be undamaged but allow a bit for fair wear and tear.No tears in covers.
Mould under seats or mattresses indicated water leaks or poor ventilation while stored
All cupboards and drawers should match, be reasonably easy to open and shut and have some sort of security lock to prevent them opening while travelling.
Fridge, stove and all interior lights should work
Level floor viewed from both inside and underneath (may have had patches put on water damaged areas)

If all of the above check out and you feel comfortable with the van after a reasonable test drive it should suit your purposes.
If you are not comfortable about anything, walk away. There are others around.

Sorry this is a bit long but I hope it helps.

Disco.

AnswerID: 361717