Cooper ATR vs Maxxis MA-751 Tyres
Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 19:04
DigitalSI
Looking for anyone's comments on which tyres to purchase for my 06 Hilux SR5. I drive the highway a lot and currently I am using
Oasis 20" rims with Copper Zeon XST tyres which I am extremely happy with as I have done 70,000km already with plenty of tread to go and the handling ability is amazing. Recently I visited Fraser Island and I now have the 4WD bug so the 20's have to go and luckily I kept the original 15"
wheels.
They had Bridgestone 255/70 H/T's on them which I really didn't like as they were really unstable in the wet and have been chipped a fair bit.
I am looking to get new 265/70 tyres so I have extra width when on the sand. Most of my driving is on the highway between
Gold Coast &
Brisbane but one weekend per month will be spent on Fraser Island. At this time I am down to two tyres, the Cooper ATR and the Maxxis MA-751.
Can anyone give me any feedback on either of these tyres?
The Bridgestone D964 look great on the Bridgestone website but I am shy of them because of the previous Bridgestone tyres that came with the Hilux from factory.
Any feedback will be much appreciated.
Cooper ATR WeblinkMaxxis MA-751 Weblink
Reply By: Cruising - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 19:42
Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 19:42
Look at the Maxxis 753. I had these on a L/C and was more than happy with the on road and off road capabilites of these tyres. You will be happy with them. Bob
Reply By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:08
Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:08
Friend has the 751 Maxis and complains they are noisy and dodgy in the wet. Wife has the Cooper atr on her jack and they are quite and good in the wet. Have not done any real off roading on them yet.
Of the tyres you mentioned the 694 have the best rep
Reply By: Simon C - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:18
Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:18
I have run the 285/75-16 ATR's on 3 Landcrusiers (2 x 80 series and 1 x 100 series) and had no problems. 80% high way and 20 % sand (Straddie, Kinkuna,
Ballina, DI Point,
Rainbow). No chips ever, but I do not do rock or a lot of dirt road stuff, so I can not comment on these conditions. I found they are great in the wet, and always get up around the 90K milage out of them. Never had to try the warranty out. But I like them, and have stuck with them. Others don't like ém, but that is my story.
Simon C
Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:58
Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:58
second that!!!!
got em on my 100 series, this set coming up to 80K and recon I'll get a hundred out of em. also run them on my camper. Majority of my offroading is beach and limestone/gravel in the SW.
A few chips on edges but nothing major and I've been giving them a beating the last few months. They are great on the black top, in the wet and loaded up with the camper in tow!
Evan
Reply By: Member - Gavan F (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:18
Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:18
G'day DigitalSI
I've got ATR on my Triton 265x75x16 .Get the LT's for there stronger sidewall. I have done over 70 000 km on them and still heaps of tread. You should rotate them as often as possible. They have proven really good on beaches right down to 10 PSI.
I have also just brought a second set of Tyres and Rims .Mickey Thompson MTZ's and absolutely love them for all surfaces. If I had my time again I would just buy the MTZ's , Having just finished a 20 000 km trip around Aust with them over all surfaces including Fraser Island,the
Vic High country and Tassie they really did prove their worth .They do wear a bit quicker though.
Gavan
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:08
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:08
Don't go buying extra width just to do sand. It's a myth that the width makes the difference. The thing that gets you
places in sand is reduced tyre pressure. Reducing pressure causes the tyre footprint to increase radially (longer not wider). Most LT tyres have sidewalls that are too stiff to bag out when pressures are reduced.
Wide tyres are purely for the macho factor.. ;-)
FWIW I run ATR's in a 267/75/16 on the Paj. Great tyre.
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:17
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:17
Edit...
Make that 265/75/16 on the Paj....
Reply By: DigitalSI - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 09:32
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 09:32
Thanks for all the comments.
I have seen then letters LT mentioned a couple of times. Excuse my ignorance but which tyre is the LT or what does LT stand for?
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 09:42
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 09:42
LT stands for light truck construction. ATR s come in Lt and passenger construction. The lts are usually higher profile eg 75 as against 70 for the passenger.
Cheers pete
Reply By: DigitalSI - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 10:50
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 10:50
Lets throw another known brand in to the mix. For an extra $19 per tyre i have been offered the Yokohama Geolander A/T-S GO12 tyre and it comes with a Road
Hazard Warranty.
Download a poorly scanned copy below as I can't find a copy of this on the Yokohama website.
Yokohama Road Hazard WarrantyYokohama Geolander A/T-S GO12 Weblink
Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 14:59
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 14:59
All I know about Yokohama Geolanders is that they came as original equipt on my subaru Forester, and barely lasted 25,000ks. Coopers lasted 85,000ks on same vehicle.
Follow Up By: DigitalSI - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 17:42
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 17:42
Were the original equipment tyres the GO12 pattern code?
Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 19:29
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 19:29
Dunno about that - long gone now. Possibly crap OEM only version of the tyre. Beats me why tyre manuf sell crap versions of their tyres to OEMs to fit on new vehicles.
This virtually ensures customer is going to stay away from their tyres for evermore. For example why would I, after my bad experience ever buy a Geolander now - given theres plenty of other good 'uns to choose from.
Follow Up By: DigitalSI - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 20:57
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 20:57
I agree. I would have invested in the Bridgestone D964 A/T had the original Bridgestone H/T not chipped as badly, slipped in the wet as badly and made loud screech noises in basement carparks.
After researching the Yokohama OE tyres for the Forester, I believe the pattern code was G900 H/T and other forums had comments similar to your own.
4WD manufacturers should sell the vehicle with choice of tyres from the paying customer and may be recycle a generic wheel and tyre for dealer delivery. It would keep the customer happy and when in business that must be one of the most important goals for repeat & referal business.
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 16:58
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 16:58
Still got the original H/Ts on your 15in rims ??? Why not use themfor your once a mth sand driving , is no real need for an A/T or M/T tread on sand like Fraser ,, 16/18 psi in a h/t pattern gets you just as far as any other tire with LESS drama /ripping up the track than a A/T on
the beach.
Follow Up By: DigitalSI - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 17:44
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 17:44
I used the bulk of the tread on the H/T's when I first got the Hilux. They were real rubbish in the wet and noisy on smooth surfaces like underground carparks.
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 18:09
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 18:09
Exactly why they would now be great on beach sand ,, balloon floating over rather than tread digging in /climbing out of its own self made furrow,,,,