Cruise Cont. Smart Son

Submitted: Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 09:55
ThreadID: 68529 Views:3240 Replies:20 FollowUps:19
So... I'm about to do a rather draining trip [tour].
Gippsland - Wakool - Moolamein - Hay - Orange - Barraba - Toowoomba - Cloncurry - Camooweal - Eva Valley - Darwin - and back down the middle.

The Gippsland to Cloncurry leg in ONE WEEK!!! and working each day. Some very big drives and careful power-napping-long -distance.

So I'm having cruise control fitted to the happy van. My experience is that this will greatly reduce my fatigue.

My son 27 year old ex tyrefitter and mates with truckies who 'know', tells me that cruise control is 'very dangerous'.... " If you fall asleep you run off the road at 100ks instead of your foot easing off the pedal and having a slow crash".

"Ah but" says I "Less fatigue and making sure that I take breaks etc... I'm actually better off."

"Nah" says he " I've got lots of truckie mates who tell me that cruise control is krap."

Although my son is entering the stage where he is beginning to believe that his dad is not completely stupid [his belief for the last 10 years], he still is confident that he has a much better grip on worldy knowledge....

Your thoughts??

Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:00

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:00
Dont The more you have to do the better the chance of being alert. The main reason we fall asleep is boredon. Try keeping the speed at an exact figure. Bit hard with sharp corners etc. But I am sure you get my drift.

Better still don't be a mug and over-drive yourself.

AnswerID: 363310

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:39

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:39
Ah.... you see that's NOT my experience.

Done thousands with and thousands without and am way less tired and more alert using CC. Thanks for comment.

PS.... have the 'power nap' down to a fine art.
FollowupID: 630944

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:11

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:11
I've driven long distances for twenty years with a Cruise Control and would do long distances without it.

It really reduces the stress levels and lets you drive for longer before feeling tired.
AnswerID: 363311

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:30

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:30
That should have read -

"I've driven long distances for twenty years with a Cruise Control and wouldN'T do long distances without it. "
FollowupID: 630940

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:26

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:26
I use it all the time...that way I can sing more :-)

And the idea about falling asleep and slowing down is rubbish. If you fall asleep, you crash very quickly !!!
AnswerID: 363314

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:40

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:40
Works for me too. Can't sing though with passengers.... they don't actually recognize it as singing!
FollowupID: 630946

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:30

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:30
Hi Royce,

My 26 year old son was born convinced that he already knew all that there was to know. But time is working its magic.

Yesterday I repaired his about-to-be written-off digital multimeter and he said "Dad, you are a legend!"

The self-satisfied smile has not left my face!

Hang in there.

P.S. I cherish my cruise control on the long straight sections but flick it off on the bendy parts.

AnswerID: 363315

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:40

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:40
My life is mirrored!!!!!
FollowupID: 630945

Follow Up By: Chev-Patrol 6.5 V8 D - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 15:50

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 15:50
What's the old story????

When I was 16 my dad was a stupid old fart.

By the time I was 36 I realised I'd taught him a lot about life and he was now pretty smart....... hahahahaha

Meanwhile, if you're in the market to employ somebody, ............................................
Employ a 16 year old , while they still know everything!!!!!
FollowupID: 630978

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:53

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 11:53
My thoughts are he's talking through his southern apperture.

Best gizmo in a modern car, the rest are just sh** and tinsel.

The way the road rules are these days you must watch the speedo and occassionally glance at the road.

Removing just one item you must concentrate on has to be better for a drivers fatigue levels.

Ask him exactly how much you will slow down in about 20 metres in a coasting vehicle!

AnswerID: 363317

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:42

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:42
He IS skilled in the 'southern language'.... also has a poisonous ability and can clear a room using this aperture.
FollowupID: 630947

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:31

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:31
Another vote FOR cruise control. Have done many long distances both with and without and WITH is definitely the way to go. Most truckies reckon it's crap cause in a truck you spend all day changing gears and never have time to use CC.
AnswerID: 363319

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:43

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:43
And... my son has the ability to generalize. If one truckie tells him something..... then that multiplies with each telling!!!
FollowupID: 630948

Follow Up By: Chev-Patrol 6.5 V8 D - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 16:00

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 16:00
I resisted fitting c/c to my Chev Nissan (and previous 4x4s) for many years.

Recently installed a Command system and do find it has it's benefits........especially being able to move my right leg anywhere I bloody-well like!!!!

However, I am VERY MINDFUL of one potential issue....... If I've got my foot flat on the floor, back near the fire extinguisher (which lies across the front of the seat), it would add precious seconds to my reaction time in the event that I needed to hit the anchors in a major hurry. For this reason, I tend to only use it out on clear, open roads where there is no chance of needing to make split second braking decisions.

One of the scariest rides I'd ever had in a passenger car was when a work colleague was driving his own car to a work meeting. We were going from Bombala to Moruya. Heading north along Hwy One (which is pretty windy in parts), he had the cruise set @ 100k/h and my right foot was constantly pushing an imaginary brake pedal as we rounded bends marked "65" etc, without slowing down even a scerick!!!! That turned me off c/c for many years, but I now realise that it was the idiot behind the wheel, not the c/c that was at fault.

FollowupID: 630981

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:38

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:38
In more foolish days, I tried the hand throttle on the old Troopie to keep her going and give my right foot a rest..... bends WERE EXCITING!
FollowupID: 631011

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 21:11

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 21:11
Royce, I know exactly what you are talking about with the 70 Series hand throttle!

Roachie, I'll tell you a short story about the LHS brake pedal.

A few months back I got a taxi from Brisbane airport to our office, about a $20 ride.

I jumps in the cab and the driver is a laid back West Indian dude, dready's and all.

I tell him were I'm going and he says "were's that?" Don't worry he says, "I've got a GPS"

He programs up the GPS and drops it in the centre console of the Falcon wagon. I was starting to wonder how that was going to work.

I soon found out, the procedure was to watch the GPS screen in the console and very occassionally look at the road.

At one point we went sailing straight through a Stop sign. I jumped on the LHS brake pedal, it didn't work either!

It scared carp out of everyone except old mate the rasta taxi driver. He was th only one in about 4 vehicles who didn't see it.

FollowupID: 631046

Follow Up By: Chev-Patrol 6.5 V8 D - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 21:58

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 21:58
hahahaha, he was probably still in Trinidad maan....... little bit too much of da weeeed for morning smoko..... hahahaha
FollowupID: 631075

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:50

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 12:50
Another one FOR.
Originally bought the first CC nearly 20 years ago for those long boring distances, which it turned out to be a boon, with much less tiredness, but I also find it gets a lot of use around the metro area to keep a steady speed and avoid going over the speed limit.
Wouldn't be without it now. Have never found it to be a risk; a touch of the brake or the clutch disengages it immediately.
Gerry
AnswerID: 363322

Reply By: tonbon - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 13:04

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 13:04
My 2 cents, my father (whom i KNOW is more knowledgable than myself) drives long distance heavy haulage in a new Volvo, which is, wait for it, automatic WITH cruise control. This truck, he says is smarter than him which puts me even further down the food chain. He swears by the cruise control as it maintains constant speed on the flats and downhills and saves him money on fuel and speeding tickets.

i also do a lot of long distance and wouldnt be without cruise control, again, dont have to constantly worry about my speed and helps with fuel economy.

Tony.
AnswerID: 363325

Reply By: StormyKnight - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 13:08

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 13:08
Mate go the Cruise Control all the way!

Basically it means you can watch the road instead of the speedo. You don't have to worry about oncomming white commodores either! Instead of taking your eye off the road you can keep a eye on the boys in blue.

If your still 50-50 remember you don't have to use the cruise if you don't want to. Maybe the road is too hilly or there is too much traffic. Just turn it off.

If your feeling tired, pull over....truckies on tight schedules don't want to do that!

I use cruise daily too & from work about 70km return. When I get back in a car without it it is amazing how much you need to concentrate again on the speedo!

The other issue is leg aches....having to hold your foot/ankle in that position for that long is not good for your comfort. Bad comfort leads to fatigue as much as excessive conscentration does.

AnswerID: 363327

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:41

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:41
Yep. The weekend after next I have to drive 1880ks..... my right foot will thank me!
FollowupID: 631012

Reply By: Member - Paul F (QLD) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 13:26

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 13:26
All the advocates for cruise control have my vote too Royce. I've been using it for 20 years and it has never been dangerous and everyones arguments regarding better on economy, wear and tear on vehicle and driver etc. have proven true for me.

AnswerID: 363331

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 13:32

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 13:32
Hi Royce,

I'm in the cruise control club as well! Do a long drive twice yearly and all I can say that drive is the most relaxed for me behind the wheel. When I hand it over to the bride she prefers the freefoot driving - no CC. I can't relax as she keeps creeping on the speed.

Anyway I saw a saying once that said somethin like "Teenagers leave home while you still know everything" and this is what I tell my kids. One has taken the hint and still knows everything.

AnswerID: 363334

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:43

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:43
So .... how come they still cost you money [maybe more] AFTER they leave home??
FollowupID: 631013

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 06:57

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 06:57
Royce, it's called bribery! Your job is to make sure they don't make a hash of moving out as their only other choice is to move back. They do that a couple of times anyway - just to condition you to like paying them to keep away!

FollowupID: 631098

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 14:39

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 14:39
Royce, doesnt bother me either way.

I doze off quite happily, CC or not.....lol.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 363343

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 15:07

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 15:07
Yeah mate we have CC on the toy car(Xtrail). Works magic on those long stretches. I suppose when your son reaches 'our' age there will be other gadgets in place of CC so one can't tell him at the moment.

With CC installed it gives you more things to do while driving..... like fiddling with the music or looking at maps or reading the Sunday news paper etc......LOL
AnswerID: 363348

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:45

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:45
I reckon by then they will have computers that you set and forget.... it will be like sitting in a train carriage. The vehicle will stay between the white lines, keep distance from the car in front and stick to the speed limits and follow the traffic signs.

Technology is already there.. it just has to be accepted and mass produced.
FollowupID: 631014

Reply By: Dunedigger - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 15:42

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 15:42
Dunno about the smart son, but I know cruse control saves me speeding tickets.. Using SatNav I set it 2km above limit and don't have to keek looking down to the speedo, love it !
AnswerID: 363353

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 16:16

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 16:16
Go the Cruise Control!

Only way to travel

AnswerID: 363357

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 16:57

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 16:57
Hi Royce, we have had CC for years & love it. Less chance of exceeding the speed limit & get better fuel consumption in my opinion.

BUT......... it has always worried me a bit because with cruise control active I tend to let my right foot wander around a bit & feel that in the event of needing to hit the anchors in an unexpected hurry, my foot might not find the brake pedal as quickly as if it had been right next door on the accelerator. Cheers
AnswerID: 363363

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:46

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:46
I have often wondered about the 'unready foot'.... sitting on the accelerator is also a 'busy' thing that makes it not ready.

The CC is just another tool, and I guess it's up to us to drive well.
FollowupID: 631015

Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 17:48

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 17:48
Nothing wrong with falling asleep at the wheel
years ago a mate of mine was driving back from Andamooka and oftter woomera he wedged his foot flat to the floor with his automataic 161 powered HX ute and had a snooze while his little sister steered from the middle of the bench seat

- he woke up when she started prodding him as they approached Pt augusta
AnswerID: 363376

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:08

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:08
Cruise Control. One of the best auto accessories now readily available. Have them one over hundreds of thousands of kilometres. Device has undoubtedly saved me many tickets as generally once set (in metro area particularly) maintains exact speed. You do need to be mindful however when approaching hills/climbs and my advice is to disable it otherwise you can find the car suddenly downshifting and accelerating away in order to maintain speed. Also disable (most vehicles that is) when descending hills. Like most things, use common sense, the device will not drive your car for you - only maintain speed.
AnswerID: 363379

Reply By: kend88 - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:11

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:11
Another vote for CC, and it certainly wakes you up when you have it set for say 100kmh in an auto and you come to a steep hill and have forgotten to turn it off. Huge roar of the motor as the transmission changes down at least one cog trying to maintain the 100kmh.
kenD
Bris
AnswerID: 363381

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:48

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:48
Hmmmm surprised at the number of automatics responding. I wonder if auto drivers opt for CC more than manual drivers?
FollowupID: 631016

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 19:06

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 19:06
given that auto cars have been outselling manuals in oz for many years and cruise control has been almost a standard feature on new cars for a few years
its not surprising that many people on here own autos with cruise control
FollowupID: 631018

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 22:54

Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 22:54
Yes this can be an issue, but 1 other thing to be aware of is that a factory cruise tends to be more in tune with the car than an aftermarket...

In saying that I have used the factory cruise on both a Commodore & my Prado (90 series), both 4 speed automatics & and aftermarket on a Lancer. The Prado also is a Diesel.

The Commodore cruise works flawlessly. Smooth changes & it tracks the speed set very closely. The Prado tends to hold overdrive until full throttle is insufficient to mantain the set speed. It will then drop back to 3rd at full throttle. The issue comes when you eventually crest the hill, it takes too long for it to realise that the full throttle is no longer required & it will overspeed by at least 10km/h!

The Lancer with the aftermarket also tends to work well although it does hunt a bit. When set to a speed, its like the throttle cable is pulled to far & then has to be released & then its too slack. It is really noticeable after driving the other two cars.

The Prado BTW is a fully electronic throttle (fly by wire), so the the throttle is selected by the computer.
FollowupID: 631919

Reply By: Member - Paul W- Esq (VIC) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:50

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 18:50
Me 3 for CC, i bought a new VP Berlina in 91 that had cruise,first car i ever owned with this gadget. went on a trip to Bendigo when hitting a rather large hill it dropped back a couple of cogs and almost launched me into orbit!!! ( 185kw V8 optioned) talk about chite one's self.But since then i have not owned a vehicle without it,i even use it around town,my missus thinks i am a bit loopy but me know's better-wink wink
AnswerID: 363386