Mazda Tribute???

Submitted: Monday, May 11, 2009 at 20:32
ThreadID: 68736 Views:6997 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
Hi, thinking of getting a med size 4wd. Anyone had any experience good or bad with the Mazda Tribute?
Ta
peter

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 21:00

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 21:00

A colleague sold his 100 series and bought a tribute. He loved the vehicle.

Have not heard any bad reports about them.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 364384

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 00:28

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 00:28
Would have to be a step up from a 100... LOL

By the way how come I recognise most of your pictures in your profile.

FollowupID: 632102

Reply By: Rangiephil - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 21:50

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 21:50
I have seen reports that the V6 autos do not like towing at all, and often fail prematurely if used for towing.
Other than that nothing.
BTW they are not 4WD they are AWD . They do not have low range .
Also be aware that the OE tyres fitted to AWDs are marginal if you wish to travel extensively on rough dirt roads.
See this
http://www.overlander.com.au/vehicle_tests/vehicle_manufacturer/177/Mazda/23/Mazda-Tribute-V6

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 364395

Reply By: Wherehegon - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 22:10

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 22:10
Have heard of the auto's playing up, was somthing in the drive part of the telegraph about this last year, not sure if a search of the drive website will show up anything. Also have heard the V6's love a drink, couldnt be any worse then my V6 prado, was 17.2L per 100 round town. Other than that I personally think Mazda are a well buil vehicle. I love the new BT50 ute........WHG
AnswerID: 364399

Reply By: Rodney M - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 23:15

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 23:15
Hello peterjg,

I am the owner of a 2003 Tribute. Very happy with it. I have no major problems with it during the 5 years of ownership. With the correct servicing it has not missed a beat.

My usage includes all types of driving long distance country runs from Sydney, short trips around sydney (school run etc) as well as towing a 6x4 box trailer with a GVM of around 750KG. I have also had it on dirt roads which it handled ok.

Not sure that I would want to tow anything heavier than this. I just don't think the gearbox would cope too well.

As for fuel consumption, they are not the greatest but I put this down to it having the aerodynamics of a brick!!!

Rodney
AnswerID: 364409

Reply By: Voxson - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 00:49

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 00:49
This is a fact...

Tribute cannot handle deepish water crossings...
400mm was enough to finish off a tribute in elizabeth creek in northern queensland...
They have a shallow fording depth..
They have a low clearance which can cause rocks to wipe out the trans and sump on rougher roads with bulldust holes..
AnswerID: 364414

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 09:38

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 09:38
Read in one of Roothys reports that they cut out brake discs rather quickly in dusty situations.

FollowupID: 632119

Follow Up By: ctaplin - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 10:54

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 10:54
Voxson is quite correct, mine drowned in knee deep water as the air intake is behind the headlight, very low down.
They have no bash plates and the alloy sump is only 14cm from the ground, so a innocent looking rock sticking up on an outback road (birdsville-betoota) was enough to write the vehicle off as the rock then hit the alloy gearbox and alloy rear diff.
They are a good vehicle but definately a soft roader...
FollowupID: 632123

Follow Up By: peterjg - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 18:08

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 18:08
do you know if bash plates can be fitted as an after market item?
FollowupID: 632174

Follow Up By: peterjg - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 23:04

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 23:04
Came across this website that sells underbody front end guards for the Tribute / Escape +other small AWDs.

http://outdoorauto4x4.com/p/851161/mazda-tribute-front-underbody-guard.html
FollowupID: 632230

Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 00:59

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 00:59
G'day Peter,

One of our members has one, his opinion is that it is a great vehicle for what he uses it for. Pictures from a Compact 4WD club trip are here

If you like the vehicle, then get it .... learn to drive it ....... and enjoy it.

Wayne & Sally.
AnswerID: 364418

Follow Up By: peterjg - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 07:53

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 07:53
Thanks for the info, very helpful. Great to see the pictures of your club outing and see some of the conditions that the Tribute was able to do. (I assume it managed)

I will go have a look at one today!

FollowupID: 632112

Reply By: peterjg - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 18:10

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 18:10
Would a Pathfinder be a better option as a mid 4WD?
AnswerID: 364507

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 18:24

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 18:24
Definitely
It can tow a lot more and is a proper 4wd Not a Softroader like a Tribute.

Go into a bookshop and look for "What to look for when buying a 4WD" Put out by 4wd monthly Which is not necessarily a recommendation LOL

Comes out every few months Saw one in a shop yesterday.

FollowupID: 632178

Reply By: escapesilv - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 20:57

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 20:57
Hi peterjg

I have the Ford version ( Escape) same car different badge. had it for 7 years towing a camper trailer and a boat.taken it across the Plenty Highway, to Ruby Gap and heaps of other places, with no problem, you just have to remember you are not driving a tank.
I have had no problems with gear box yet!! but consumption is not the best, had no problem with water crossings (never to deep).
The 4wd or Awd mode will get you out of sticky situation with ease.
Rob
AnswerID: 364562

Follow Up By: peterjg - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 23:01

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 23:01
Thanks Rob,
Good to get your opinion & thanks for sharing your experience.
FollowupID: 632229