New speed Cameras coming

Submitted: Friday, May 15, 2009 at 21:10
ThreadID: 68873 Views:4435 Replies:10 FollowUps:21
Can't attach photo to show what they look like, a long upright tube with 3 perspex windows .another censor other side of road

Melbourne's new super cameras

Victoria Police and the Dept of Justice announce 30 non-fixed red light cameras around Melbourne will become fixed, digital and upgraded to catch speeding drivers. We reveal the locations:

Burke Rd & Prospect Hill Rd
Camberwell VIC 3124

Springvale Rd & Maroondah Highway Service Ln
Nunawading VIC 3131

Royal Parade & Cemetery Rd W
Carlton North VIC 3054

Canterbury Rd & Station St
Box Hill South VIC 3128

Bell St & St Georges Rd
Preston VIC 3072

Warrigal Hwy & N Rd
Bentleigh East VIC 3166

Albert St & Gower St
Preston VIC 3072

Williamstown Rd & Somerville Rd
Yarraville VIC 3013

Warrigal Hwy & Centre Rd
Oakleigh South VIC 3167

Ballarat Rd & Churchill Ave
Maidstone VIC 3012

Spencer St & Dudley St
West Melbourne VIC 3003

Hoddle St & Johnston St
Abbotsford VIC 3067

Punt Rd & High St
Windsor VIC 3181

Dandenong Rd & Clayton Rd
Oakleigh East VIC 3168

Springvale Rd & Cheltenham Rd
Keysborough VIC 3173

Mt Alexander Rd & Maribyrnong Rd
Ascot Vale VIC 3032

Foster St & McCrae St
Dandenong VIC 3175

Geelong Road & Droop Street
Footscray

Sydney Rd & Harding St
Coburg VIC 3058

Millers Rd & Blackshaws Rd
Altona North VIC 3025

Geelong Rd & Geelong St
Kingsville VIC 3012

Fitzroy St & Princes St
St Kilda VIC 3182

Doncaster Rd & Wetherby Rd
Doncaster VIC 3109

Barkly St & Carlisle St
St Kilda VIC 3182

Warrigal Hwy & Batesford Rd
Chadstone VIC 3145

Warrigal Hwy & Centre Dandenong Rd
Cheltenham VIC 3192

Barkers Rd & Denmark St
Hawthorn VIC 3122

Nicholson St & Elgin St
Fitzroy VIC 3053

Smithfield Rd & Epsom Rd
Kensington VIC 3031

Reply By: Willem - Friday, May 15, 2009 at 21:14

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 21:14
Bloody Mexicans
AnswerID: 365111

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, May 15, 2009 at 22:15

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 22:15
LOL that should keep them under control for a while.

FollowupID: 632766

Reply By: Nargun51 - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 01:27

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 01:27
Missed one

Noticed one during the week on the corner of Latrobe and William street (Flagstaff gardens)

They are a bit bigger than a usual CCTV camera hanging from a light pole with a solid metal box chained at the base

By the way it was set up, I thought it was both a speed camera and red light camera

No flash, so you don't know you've been pinged
AnswerID: 365150

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 01:31

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 01:31
Are these camera's permantly set up at intersections?

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 365151

Follow Up By: gopher - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 10:11

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 10:11
I believe so i'm not a member so i can't show pics if someone can give me a email address i will send pics to them and they can post

thanks
FollowupID: 632829

Reply By: timglobal - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 06:04

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 06:04
You all may be interested in Trapster, which I've been using for a few months now.

It is basically a community trap warning system. It's free to use and works on various smart phones. Otherwise you cna plug ina route and it'll tell you where the traps are.

Trapster Site
AnswerID: 365157

Follow Up By: timglobal - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 06:19

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 06:19
Should disclose - I'm a mod on their site but have no financial interest in them.

T
FollowupID: 632782

Follow Up By: Ray - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:36

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 08:36
If you don't speed you will not get caught. So you could be wasting your money but getting one.
FollowupID: 632799

Follow Up By: Honky - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:03

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:03
Most of the time when I drive I concentrate on the traffic and its hazards.
Also look out for pedestrians and children who may run on the road without looking.
This may cause me to go a few k's over the limit as I may think I am doing the speed limit .
I check speed every know and than and re- adjust.
Looks like I will have to watch the speedo more often.

Honky
FollowupID: 632807

Follow Up By: timglobal - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 11:24

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 11:24
Ray,

Too quick onto your mighty high horse there.
No money wasted as it's FREE.
You sound like you're not someone who needs the the tool.

Honky,

Yeah. Me too. It helps me and lots of others. Have a look and try it.

T
FollowupID: 632853

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 16:10

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 16:10
You normally get about 1 KM of warning about speed camera's ( Fixed NSW)

My question is how do you get caught when there is at LEAST 2 Huge signs saying speed camera ahead - HUGE FINES AND POSSIBLE LOSS OF LICENCE

or am i the only person who actually uses signs as an aid in driving rather than to make the streets look pretty ?

Boc
FollowupID: 632888

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 19:45

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 19:45
Boc
I used to think thesame thing...sooner or later you too will slip up and when that happens, let us all know so we can come out your monitor and kick your butt.
FollowupID: 632930

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 10:59

Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 10:59
considering when I started driving there were 4 different speed limmits 25 (school) 60,80,110 it was pretty easy to figure out what speed you should be doing

now there is (depending on the state)

with most of them being used on any 1 stretch ofroad the poor motarist needs all the help he can get
FollowupID: 633062

Reply By: Stu-k - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:17

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:17
Good to see the government raising some revenue to pay back their wasteful spending....on ya krudd!
AnswerID: 365179

Follow Up By: DIO - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 11:18

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 11:18
C'mon, let's be realistic about it, NOT as you would have as believe - unrealistic. The only people that are, as you say, 'contributing to revenue' are those that are silly or stupid enough to ignore the speed limits. Simple as that. No other factors involved - WHAT-SO-EVER. Get over it and find something consructive to comment on.
FollowupID: 632851

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 12:29

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 12:29
Hahahahaha............
As soon as I read the title of this post I could have betted my left knacker the almighty DIO will be standing high and mighty on his soap box on here somewhere.......
ROTFLMAO!!!!!

If the Police were realistic about speeding, I would agree with you!
But when they jump on someone for ACCIDENTALY creeping over the limit by a KM or two its getting bloody ridiculous.

Luv ya DIO.....LOL

Thanks for the link. Im going to have a look.

FollowupID: 632862

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 13:00

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 13:00
Pretty rare to get done for a one or two km over although I reckon everyone's got the "I heard from my uncles friends cousin who swares..." type story. When you read a penalty notice for speeding, you are given a three kph discount so if your ticket said 2kph over the limit, you were actually doing 5 kph over. It explains that on the ticket, well in Victoria at least.

Another misnomer if I read the newspapers correctly is that the cameras (in Vic) are not police owned or operated. They are administered by private contractors on behalf of the state government. In fact good old Mr Brumby stated that he was going to fill the shortfall in his big spending victorian budget by using more speed cameras to generate in excess of $400 million in revenue. That is 1/3 of the entire yearly police budget and not one cent of this revenue goes to the police. It's all government generated revenue for the pollies to do with what they like. I reckon if you asked any copper what they wanted, speed cameras or more uniforms on the streets, I know how they'd spend the money.

Still Hairy, love him or hate him, DIO did raise a valid point. Don't speed and you won't get a fine. I've only had one in 30 years on the road and that was a traffic camera on the western ring road. Sent them a letter saying how sorry I was and they gave me a warning (must be because I'm such a niced bloke lol).

Cheers Hairy. Mick.

FollowupID: 632867

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 15:54

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 15:54
Stu,

What has Kevin Rudd got to do with a decision made soley for Victoria? Sheez, don't blame federal politics for your State's issues.

FollowupID: 632883

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 08:23

Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 08:23
Dio... When you drive around a thousand k`s a week you get to see some interesting things. Road works with speed limits left up when everyone goes home for the night, so you end up with open highway and a 40k speed limit for 5 or 10 ks or sometimes even more. Rolling down a hill on an empty road and you go over by 5ks is also a beauty.

People speed less now but also pay heaps less attention. I see them daily reading the paper, sending text messages and generally not watching what there doing while driving on the freeway.

Andrew...Have you seen the new lasers for QLD? It an oz wide cash grab
FollowupID: 633038

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 13:13

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 13:13
How to beat the speed camera

AnswerID: 365220

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 13:16

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 13:16
Police in Victoria are unleashing a new speed camera system called 'point to point' ahead of the Easter long weekend.
The point to point system is made up of two speed cameras which both take images of every passing car and register the vehicle's speed.
How to beat the speed camera Speed cameras: doubling the moneyThe camera digitally photographs each vehicle at two points along a roadway to better gauge driver behaviour. If a driver slows down for one camera and speeds up for another the cameras will capture it.
The average speed of the driver between the two points is the basis of the system. So if your average speed is above the limit then you will be booked.
The cameras communicate with a central computer and incident reports are sent to the police regarding drivers who travel above the limit.
The images are automatically verified by the system and then double checked by staff to ensure both images match up.
The locations for the system are fixed and are listed on the Victorian Department of Justice website.
The accuracy of the new system makes it nearly impossible to cheat, according to superintendent Shane Patton.
"We're going to catch people, there's no way to avoid apprehension," said Patton. "We know it's going to work."
In addition to its accurate readings, the system can also calculate the speed of a car before it passes the first camera in the point system, catching out drivers who slow down when they spot a camera.
This technology is likely to catch a lot of drivers out, according to Wheels' magazine's John Cadogen.
"Slowing down at speed cameras then speeding up is almost a national sport. These cameras will certainly stop people doing that," Cadogen said.
Ten of the new camera systems will be unleashed on Victoria's Hume highway over the Easter weekend with plans to roll out more point to point systems in the coming months.
The system has already been trialled in News South Wales. The two point system currently operates in both the UK and the Netherlands.

AnswerID: 365221

Follow Up By: gopher - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 15:14

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 15:14
These are not point to point cameras it's a fixed pole with 2 m high with 3 perspex windows one for each lane there are matching censers on the other side of the road pity i can't attach pics .
FollowupID: 632881

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 16:08

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 16:08
gopher

Oh....sorry,

FollowupID: 632887

Follow Up By: tim_c - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 21:36

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 21:36
Yes, I've heard of the point-to-point cameras - there was a bit of a fiasco a while back where a busdriver was clocked at some crazy speed even though the bus he was driving was 100km/h speed limited. Turned out that there were two buses owned by the same company that were driving along the stretch of road at the time (on a little behind the other) and the public servants couldn't tell the difference. They were able to fight it since the buses have monitoring systems (records speed, distance, time, etc. and in some case, location) Too bad if you someone else is driving a car like yours along the highway the same day you are!
FollowupID: 632963

Reply By: Member - Paul W- Esq (VIC) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 15:59

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 15:59
The camera sites that are listed are not the new type of camera that you are stating. these sites are old red light camera only sites that have been taken over by the DOJV and retrofitted with a different camera now. the pillar mount with the multi lane camera is on test on the Maroondah Hwy in Croydon.there are a few in the west also,were as the old sites still run film and are run for Victoria Police by a contractor.
AnswerID: 365232

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 20:28

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 20:28
forgot to mention that the new speed/red light camera's( they are either reds or red/ speed) are digital camera's on line, take your picture and it's in the post before you get home.
FollowupID: 632943

Reply By: Sigmund - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 18:34

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 18:34
We've had point to point on the Hume for some time now by the way.

And the margin by law for a speed infringement is 3 kph in Vic. If I put on a new tyre or sneeze on the motorbike it can put me over this easily.

Course the pollies like to boast that its about safety not revenue and quote stats about the reduced road toll. (No mention of better roads, safer cars etc.).

In an analysis of nearly 50 years of crash data collected by the police in the UK, 32% were found to be primarily caused by not paying attention or being distracted. Exceeding the speed limit didn't even make the top 10. The report was only released after an FOI claim. Interestingly the speed fine industry there is run by the police and recently a number of chief constables put out a combined request to Govt to reduce the number of cameras as they felt they were curdling relations with the public.
AnswerID: 365269

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 18:44

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 18:44
Sigmund,

"We've had point to point on the Hume for some time now by the way" - For cars ? Source please.

"In an analysis of nearly 50 years of crash data collected by the police in the UK, 32% were found to be primarily caused by not paying attention or being distracted. Exceeding the speed limit didn't even make the top 10. The report was only released after an FOI claim. Interestingly the speed fine industry there is run by the police and recently a number of chief constables put out a combined request to Govt to reduce the number of cameras as they felt they were curdling relations with the public" - Again, source please.

Not trying to start an argument but interested in your claims.

FollowupID: 632919

Reply By: Sigmund - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 20:39

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 20:39
1st source: news articles plus observation. The first is on the Craigieburn bypass and the last (heading Nth) near Broadford or Seymour. And there's one or two more in between.

Plus http://www.justice.vic.gov.au/wps/wcm/connect/Road+Safety/Home/RSAFETY+-+Camera+Testing+Certificate+FAQs+(1)

2nd source: the UK magazine called Bike. If you're interested I'll try to track down the original report.

AnswerID: 365291

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 20:47

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 20:47
Locations here: DOJ

Been running since 07
FollowupID: 632948

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 22:50

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 22:50
The orig report on UK accident causes is proving elusive.

One analysis that has used part of the dataset is here A new system for recording contributory factors in road accidents. TRL 323.

The findings are in some respects similar to what I recalled from the mag article and in others different. Still, they provide only limited support for the current moral panic about speeding.
FollowupID: 632991