GQ Nissan Patrol

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 18:56
ThreadID: 6946 Views:1755 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
G'day All,
I am looking at purchasing a Nissan GQ with the 4.2 TD42 motor. I am looking at getting an older one with around 150 000 km's or so on it; hopefully this will leave it with heaps of life. If I get one around 89-94 model, what is reasonable to pay?

For all you guys and girls out there that has modified the mighty GQ how much money needs to be spent to make it a fairly capable machine? (not that they are'nt all ready).

Any help much appreciated.

Steve.

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 19:09

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 19:09
gday bnelad.
ill answer the second question first
how much money needs to be spent to make it a fairly capable machine? (not that they are'nt all ready). how much do you have they are never ending if you like.
but the basics good tyres. around$800-1000.
suspention upgrade around $800-as much as you got.
a bit of bacis recovery gear.$200-3000.
thats just for starters $10000 isnt unheard of .
and a good patrol you should be looking around$14000-18000.
but its only money spend it and enjoy.—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
AnswerID: 29727

Reply By: Member - Eric- Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 19:34

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 19:34
my first comment is , I have never seen a TD GQ between 89 & 94 . ( I know truckster will correct me if I am wrong lol ) . I think 10 to 18 k is the dollars you will need to spend , Try and buy something that already has some gear , eg , lift kit winch .

good luck
AnswerID: 29728

Follow Up By: Bne Lad - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 19:54

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 19:54
Eric,
No they weren't Turbo back then but i'm sure the engine was called a TD42 then. Yes truckster may correct us.
Thanks Mate.

FollowupID: 20816

Follow Up By: donc - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 20:59

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 20:59
Bne your right the motor designation os TD42 in the GQ and is non-turbo. the turbo version is the TD42T
FollowupID: 20821

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 21:33

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 21:33
Majority of diesels were TD42s. There was sadly a 2.8 TD which is a dog. YMMV on that.

How much to make it capable ?? For what?

Older ones dont have 150,000 on them, older ones have 300,000 on them. But they are good for 500,000+ if been treated well.

Try to get later than mid 91 models there were changes then
AnswerID: 29739

Follow Up By: Bne Lad - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:30

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:30
Truckster,

I aim to do the following when I get one.

Turbo
3" Exhaust
2-3" Lift Kit
33" Tyre set up
BB/TB

I aim to make it capable to kick arse in general to very hard 4bing.
Not into rock crawling or insane hill climbs, but I am not a yuppie that will feel like i'm 4bing if I see a gravel road.
Grew up in the bush, love the bush, however sick of toys like hilux's.
Need a real truck and just looking at what i'm up for in cost roughly.
Thanks mate.
FollowupID: 20885

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 23:58

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 23:58
Check my page theres a check list of what to look for when buying a GQ/Mav too may help you out.

Early 89 mods have problems.. After Mid 91, there were upgrades too

http://www.gqpatrol.com/
FollowupID: 20900

Follow Up By: Bne Lad - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 19:14

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 19:14
Thanks Truckster,
That is a really informative site you have going there.

Much appreciated.

FollowupID: 21110

Reply By: Big Trev - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 19:46

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 19:46
As a proud owner since 1991 of an 1989 Ford Maverick (TD42), you could consider these as well, they tend to be a bit cheaper than the correct branded version. Nissan dealers know have all the Ford Maverick database on their system. Obviously parts are easy to get. I have been told that the front diff mount is different on the Maverick, but have yet to hear anyone confirm or deny it. The whole unit is identical to the Nissan except for the paint colours and the badges.
AnswerID: 29807

Reply By: Shannon - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:30

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:30
I purchased a 92 GQ TD42 six months ago, with 110,000 kms for $17,990 (auto) with some extras and I've heard some good reports on installing a Hi-clone (still toying with the idea ) but other than that I'm only just starting to upgrade some components, looking into the cooling system first apparently they can run a little hot when towing.
But your definately on a winner with a GQ 4.2

Shannon.
AnswerID: 29819

Follow Up By: Shannon - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:37

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:37
P.S. I back traded a GU 2.8 TD , it couldn't tow skin off custard and had bleep fuel economy.
Shannon.
FollowupID: 20886

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 23:56

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 23:56
Good reports on Hiclones? Where LMAO!
FollowupID: 20899

Follow Up By: Shannon - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 07:57

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 07:57
I was told they increase fuel economy, and produce more power (not as much as a turbo ) and only coast around $100.
but I cant find any info where they have actually been put in a desiel my knowledge comes from sales men.
could you shed some more light on the subject ?
not enough knowledge is always dangerous
FollowupID: 20908

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 10:37

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 10:37
Try any of the patrol lists, you will be hard done to find 1 person out of the 100's there that have 1% positive to say about HiClone.

Put the $ towards toilet paper.

YMMV
FollowupID: 21040

Reply By: Member - Nigel (QLD) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 22:23

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 22:23
I could only afford a RB30 Petrol (275,000km now and still going strong)

I paid $1350 for the Old Man Emu treatment (about 4 years ago) and she goes wherever I point it - lifts a wheel occasionally, but the LSD keeps it going.
AnswerID: 29828