maps compatability

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 03, 2009 at 17:51
ThreadID: 69476 Views:2324 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
hi all
i have a cd with maps and tracks of Australia it is a megellan gps product. can these maps be made to work with ozi explorer. software or am i wasting my time. i am totally new to this mapping thing so i have no idea at this time. i would like to give the moving map side ago once i figure out what i'm doing.
thanks in advance
regards
al
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2009 at 19:10

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2009 at 19:10
Al,

The maps need to be calibrated in order to work with OziExplorer and there is a tutorial on the OziExplorer web site on how this may be achieved.

Easier still, for around $120 you can buy the NATMAP Premium 2008 DVD which is fully compatible with Ozi.

Bill.
Bill

I'm diagonally parked in a parallel Universe!

My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 368287

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2009 at 20:51

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2009 at 20:51
Hi Al
Like Bill has mentioned as above, it is not worth the time involved in setting up the maps. Buy the Natmap 2008 maps and you have it all done for you that will work with OziExplorer straight out of the box.

Cheers

Stephen
Smile like a Crocodile

Lifetime Member

AnswerID: 368300

Reply By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2009 at 21:32

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2009 at 21:32
Hello - Magellan format maps will not work with OziExplorer. Not surprisingly they do work with Magellan software so maybe not all is lost. The maps you have can possibly (I say possibly because there is actually no product called "maps and tracks" but guessing you didnt quote name correctly) be used for moving map with

Mapsend Lite V2

and maybe

Vantage Point