Trak Shak Campers

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 17:10
ThreadID: 69589 Views:4780 Replies:2 FollowUps:7

Related Pages

We are looking to purchase a Trak Shak in the next 12 months and I was wonder when they began manufacturing the campers in China and assembling them in Aust??

Has anyone with one of these had any issues, related to this method when compared to the fully Australian made method??

We are still not 100% sure as to whether buy brand new or buy a secondhand one that has had any issues fixed.

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 18:20

Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 18:20
G'day Kev

As you know I have a Trak Shak. I bought it in 2006 - as far as I know the parts were made in China and assy'd in Oz. Apart from that dicky suspension weld that failed on the Birdsville last year, NOTHING has gone wrong - and I've taken it places that would break anything that was not built like the proverbial.

Before I bought mine, I was talking to a family camped here in Tamworth about late 2005 I think - he had modifications done to his about 12 earlier - to take 2 x 35 litre Engels instead of the 2 Waceo's. For that to have been done it had to be an Oz made version cos there are mod's available now - so perhaps 2004 or thereabouts.

Mate, I was concerned when I found out that they are "made" overseas but having checked out old versions and the newest ones - none appears better built than the other. Couple of blokes here (both in engineering shops) reckon the welding is first class and all of the bits and pieces - stove etc are all well known brands - Coleman, Waceo.

I love it - just back from a week shooting clay targets in Qld - the Trak Shak is my home away from home.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 368845

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 18:33

Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 18:33
I am under orders not to let you set it up in St George unless Sam is present LOL

She wants to have a go at setting one up and possibly folding it back up if possible.

I knew yours was a manufactured China, assembled China. Although I haven't checked yet, is it standard for 6 stud rims?? As that will be one mod I'll have to do if it is.

FollowupID: 636350

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 18:51

Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 18:51
Kev

sounds like you turning one year older last week has made ya soft?
what happened to the trusty ol' tent?

hahahahaha
FollowupID: 636352

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 19:35

Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 19:35
I need Viagra to pitch a tent nowdays LOL

Plus I am trying to keep up with you lot

FollowupID: 636355

Follow Up By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 20:28

Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 20:28
Kev

6 stud Nissan / Toyota is standard

I promise I'll let Sam help erect it at St George

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 636367

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 21:07

Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 21:07
c'mon John, this is a family friendly forum...no need to go down this line ;-))
FollowupID: 636372

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 23:05

Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 23:05
Hi Kev,

We have a 2001 model which we bought a couple of years ago. We've since slept around 50 nights in it (2 adults 3 kids). Comfortable, roomy, simple (very few fiddly bits but at the same time has everthing we need) and tows very well. The canvas and the trailer are in fantastic condition and look like they'll keep going for many years yet.

It IS possible for one person to set it up and put it away BUT it's right on the limit. One of our key criteria in the final decision was not so much "could Annie pack it away by herself" but "could Annie tell someone how to help to pack it away". The Cub Drifter wind-up we had failed this test. The Trak Shak passes. What prompted the question was a camping trip with friends where one ended up in hospital. With our old setup as it was, only I could make it all fit back into the available space.

Any other questions or photos just send me a MM.

Adrian
AnswerID: 368881

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jun 08, 2009 at 07:00

Monday, Jun 08, 2009 at 07:00
Adrian,

That is a good theory, because as you know it could be either Sam or I that has the pack up issues LOL

We have checked out quite a few now and are really just trying to iron out any concerns that Owners have experienced and to once again have a go at setting one up again.

Are you still planning on going to St George as we might compare your Trak Shak to John's newer model, if you are.

FollowupID: 636393

Follow Up By: Member - Duane A (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 09, 2009 at 00:36

Tuesday, Jun 09, 2009 at 00:36
G-day myself and two other mates bought the the trak shak in 2006 and as already mentioned the shockies were a problem they were just a dodgy weld with not enough to support that sort off load that been rectified and some issues with the gas struts exploding at 5 am in the morning and waking up the hole camp site around you when you you fold them up appart from that they are a fantastic camper for families and once you have set them up a few times thet are a breeze we love ours and we have done some fantastic trips we will be hauling it up top this july holidays for another escape into the outback fully reckomend them happy travells.
FollowupID: 636535