storage drawers for Patrol GU

Submitted: Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 14:10
ThreadID: 6959 Views:6351 Replies:12 FollowUps:10

I am looking for the storage system for my Patrol GU and I would like to hear any comments about the drawers made by Offroad Systems ? (http://www.offroadsystems.com.au)

Could anybody compare them to the systems made by 4WD Interiors (http://4wdinteriors.com) or by Car Consoles (www.consoles.com) ?

Thanks!

Dmitri.

Reply By: Tony - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 14:35

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 14:35
Here is another one for you, I have the Black Widow system and find it very well built, no rattles after a trip to the Cape and can carry heaps of gear.

I built a half barrier to go with it only 4 bolts to remove if required.
AnswerID: 29776

Follow Up By: Dmitri - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 14:46

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 14:46
Thanks, Tony!

I've heard that 4wd Interiors and Black Widow systems are very good and reliable. The only one problem with them that they cost 1700-1800 dollars.

This system (Offroad Systems) costs $1200 and I am trying to understand what could be the possible problems with it.

Also, I've found the following systems:
Car Consoles - $1450
4WD systems (SA) - $1300.

Dmitri.
FollowupID: 20862

Reply By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 14:46

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 14:46
Dmitri, I have the offroad systems drawers & find them great, easy to take out if need be & i have to fix sub tank fuel pump as it's under bask seats, their a lot lighter than others , no rattles + i got a 50ltr stainless steel water tank as well for same cost as other brands just for drawers. Compleatly happy with mine & excellent customer service . Regards Bob
Where to next
AnswerID: 29779

Follow Up By: Lyds - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:53

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:53
BJ, did you get the water tank from them as well?Cheers,
Stuart
- To err is human, to moo bovine -
FollowupID: 20889

Follow Up By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 15:15

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 15:15
Lyds, I did, it was fitted at same time. Forgot to mention got a pirranah fridge slide to in price. If you get them buy the ones with duel runners a little bit dearer but worth it.Regards Bob
Where to next
FollowupID: 20937

Follow Up By: Lyds - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 19:49

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 19:49
if you don't mind me asking, what did the bits cost?Cheers,
Stuart
- To err is human, to moo bovine -
FollowupID: 20976

Follow Up By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 18:01

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 18:01
I got the lot for 2100 inc instalationRegards Bob
Where to next
FollowupID: 21103

Follow Up By: Peter - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2003 at 16:53

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2003 at 16:53
BJ

I have the Offroad System drawers as well. I fitted them myself without any trouble and their easy to take out. Where did Graeme fit the water tank?

FollowupID: 21708

Follow Up By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 14:23

Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 14:23
Peter the top is longer & the tank is between rear seats & corgo barrier which i modified to half heightRegards Bob
Where to next
FollowupID: 21881

Follow Up By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 14:36

Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 14:36
Sorry Peter bottom is longer not top
Regards Bob
Where to next
FollowupID: 21882

Reply By: Member - Shawn - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 15:45

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 15:45
Dmitri,
I settled for the 4WDInterior draws but seriouly considered the Offroad Systems draws.
I went and had a look at the Offroad Systems factory at Narellan(trades under another name), good draws but I settled on 4WDInterior for one reason only, they were more solid but heavier.
Ultimately your choice but the Offroad Systems draws looked fine and the weight and price difference can be a big deciding factor.
CheersShe just didn't quite make it home
AnswerID: 29785

Reply By: Member - Russell - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 16:46

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 16:46
If you're on a seriously limited budget, I've seen some perfectly functional drawer systems made from timber/MDF/plywood too. They don't have galvanised steel with rollers etc, but the drawers slide in and out relatively easily and you can use all of the space instead of losing it to the roller systems. Tie it down with angle brackets or bolt a subframe in then attach to that. Can still put your half height cargo barrier on top. Can make it any height you want, put the same sort of industrial carpet on top etc. Mine has a drawer on one side and 8 plastic tubs on the other. My mate just has the standard two drawers in his 80 series. He made his out of offcuts from the timber flooring business - happened to have it lying around - works well and basically cost $0 to build (just time and some skill). If you've got lots of bucks and no tools or inclination, go the manufactured steel direction. If you'd rather spend the money on something else, consider the home made option......Russell S
Prado RV6
AnswerID: 29789

Reply By: 10 Para - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 18:00

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 18:00
I looked at the lot and ended up with Black Widow and have had no trouble fitted in GU TI 4.8 Patrol also made the bed extension just reversed the alum angle and layed 2 boards covered in carpeted over the second row of seats supported by 4 round dowl legs which means that i can run with the second row of seats in and have the bed as well, the boards just clear the sets so will not rub, also when up they are stowed behind the seats and act as a wall to store gargo etc.
AnswerID: 29797

Reply By: Big Trev - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 19:29

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 19:29
Like Russell S, I made my own for a Ford Maverick (LWB) out of MDF. I have 2 drawers, one of top of the other on the right side, an area for my Engel on the left side (the top of the unit is level with the top of the fridge, the fridge is on a spring base not a pull out unit) and 2 storage lockers between the middle seats and the drawers/fridge. The drawers are the same length as the fridge. Cost me about $150 for all the timber, screws, draw slides and hinges, as well as some time. We went up into the Flinders Ranges, Lyndhurst, Maree last year with no problems at all.
AnswerID: 29803

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 19:49

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 19:49
Hi Dmitri:
Check out the archived post number 5250 - it was covered well there, including a link to Capral Aluminium who market a product called QubeLock, which would make frame building fairly simple. There is also some advice on contacts for heavy duty drawers in the same post, and a link to a site with some purpose built drawers that look pretty sweet.
Hope it helps.
JackAustralia - If you don't love it, leave!!!
AnswerID: 29808

Reply By: Member - Allan - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 22:36

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 22:36
Tell me guys why you need drawers? A false floor does the job for me because all the 'goodies' I store under the shelf is hardly ever used. My wagon is already up to max weight so roller drawers are not an option or high on my priority list. (I bet most vehicles are also up to max weight).
My false floor is in two pieces so I can take one side out if I need to put one of the back seats back in. Just my opinion.Cheers
AnswerID: 29830

Follow Up By: petprass - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 23:32

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 23:32
I had a home made false floor system similar to yours with plastic boxes to hold all the food, cooking utensils, recovery gear etc and got totally sick of packing and unpacking, strapping down and tightening and fiddeling around.

Got a custom made drawer system with a false floor for the tent and a slide for the fridge and I now actually look forward to setting up camp - and then packing up again.

FollowupID: 20897

Follow Up By: Member - Allan - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 23:23

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 23:23
Peter, I still use a fridge slide to keek it secure but what goes underneath the floor is hardly ever used (tools, spare parts, filters, belts etc, puncture repair kit, bead breaker, tube etc, first aid kit, EPIRB. All compartmentalised so easy to get to. Food is in esky on top of shelf with quick tie-downs. Other gear is in specially made boxes with padded lid so can be used as seats. Boxes have lip on front edge to lock into cargo barrier and is secured with over-centre latch to shelf. Cargo barrier is in two sections, the top section can be dropped down to support long items which extends into cabin area (rather than having items resting on seat).
My friend uses drawers and his is a 'dogs breakfast' so I will stick to my DIY setup.Cheers
FollowupID: 21005

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 23:35

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 23:35
Make your own and save $1000+..

they are way over priced for what they are in my eyes.

Search the archives, theres 294820984092834093s of threads on makingthem and links to pages with how to's on them.
AnswerID: 29844

Reply By: Member - Neil (N.S.W.) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 12:28

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 12:28
Dmitri,
I made split fold cargo barrier(great if buying somthing long at the shops or to sleep in a drunkin state),which has a box between it and back seat all recovery gear in there inc hi-lift jack pulled down. Then theres the rear false floor with sliding draw with slide out top,lift up top on one side for tall stuff and the rear floor & draw can be removed in 1 min flat,handy if u need all the area. the whole lot cost me $500, $145 for the rollers the rest in materials.
The main reason i made my own was i could, which helps and i made the height more than what u get with prefab designs.
good luck
GONE WOOP-WOOP
AnswerID: 29875

Reply By: Hilly - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 23:48

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 23:48
Dmitri, I had an 80 series cruiser with the 4WD interior drawers and they were superb. No rattles or squeaks and cavernous storage. I bought the same design for my new GU, complete with driver's side fridge slide for my engle 60litre fridge. The only problem being that the fridge slide doesn't extend as far because of the shallower rear space in the GU and the fridge can't be opened fully if fitted on the drivers side same as the cruiser. So if anyone can find a cheaper solution than a new aftermarket fridgeslide to bolt on the non moving LHS of my drawers I'd be grateful to hear it!
AnswerID: 29951

Reply By: Dmitri - Monday, Sep 08, 2003 at 23:00

Monday, Sep 08, 2003 at 23:00
Thanks to everybody for your answers!

Dmitri.
AnswerID: 30524