Broome to Brisbane (How much days?)

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 13:51
ThreadID: 69947 Views:3931 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
GDay,
I'm in Broome right now and I must be in Brisbane on the 20th of July. I need to work here until next Friday, so I could leave on the 27th June. That means that I only have 3 Weeks for the whole trip.
I thought about going from here up the Gibb River Road to Kununurra, then heading south to the Purnululu NP to see the Bungle Bungle's. From there down the Tanami Track to Alice Springs, and then via Port Augusta and Canbarra to Sydney. From Sydney up the coast to Brisbane.
Should be something around 6000km, probably 2000k's on gravel road...
Do you think this is possible in 21 Days?

I drive a Mitsubishi Pajero from '86, I'll hope he can make it ;)

Cheers, Lukas

Reply By: tim_c - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 14:44

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 14:44
It's do-able...

To give you some idea:
We spent 10 days on the GRR (and we visited every gorge, incl. Mornington, El Questro & Mitchell Plateau)
We spent 3 days in the Bungle Bungles (incl. the drive in & out)
Tanami Tk is 2 days.
Alice to Canberra (via. Pt Augusta) is 3 full days with no stops (exc. food, re-fuel & sleep)
Canberra to Brisbane (via. Syd) is about 1.5 days (again with no non-essential stops).
AnswerID: 370688

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 14:48

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 14:48
Alice to Bris can be done in 5 days easily via the Plenty to Boulia/Longreach etc if you just dive and don't stop to look around, so 21 for the whole trip is heaps. Your suggested route will take longer but still should be done OK in 3 weeks. Just depends how much you want to stop and look around.
AnswerID: 370689

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 15:49

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 15:49
I think you can do it but you wont have much time for stopping or sightseeing.
6000klms in 21 days is averaging at 285klms a day.
AnswerID: 370697

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:31

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:31
Mate, in 2 days i will doing around 13000kms in about 22 days, from Broome to Tassie via the Nullabor and then return via the Gold Coast. All up taking five weeks but spending 10 days in Tassie. Its do able.
AnswerID: 370703

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 20:32

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 20:32
I keep seeing your crocodile (profile) and wondering if you'd done that trip yet - apparently not! Hope you have a great trip...
FollowupID: 638049

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 02:15

Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 02:15
Thanks Tim.
FollowupID: 638093

Reply By: biba - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:02

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:02
Thanks for all the very helpful information!
I don't need to see everything on the way, just a little sightseeing here and there. So with your tips I think I can do it, when I hurry up a little bit.
Thanks!
AnswerID: 370723

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:29

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:29
Easy Easy Easy. 3 days on Gibb. 3 days at Bungles. 2 Days on Tanami. 2 days to Port Augusta. 3 Days to Sydney. 2 Days to Brisbane. = 15 days. Could go quicker if you want but still have 6 days up your sleeve. Perhaps you could go to Fiji for a 5 night package when you get to Brisbane.
We just did 6000+ in 8 days so 6000 in 21 days would be like being in a funeral procession!
AnswerID: 370731