Newbie Experiences Buying a 4wd

Submitted: Friday, Jul 03, 2009 at 14:10
ThreadID: 70359 Views:3734 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
This Thread has been Archived

Related Pages

G'day Guys,

Hoping our experiences will assist other newbies with their Great Escape. A very sincere thankyou to all the gurus out there who helped with ours. Your expertise, honesty and generosity are greatly appreciated.

I am no expert but I have spent a fair bit of time engineering motor vehicles. I have no allegiance to any brands and when I can't draw from personal experience I go with the majority from forums like this one. This is what I have found after about 18 months of dreaming and scheming.

We finally ended up with a $35k 2004 Prado VX Petrol. Our priorities were safety, reliability, towing (min 2,500kg), value for money and medium off road capability. We basically looked at every vehicle out there but the Prado ticked all the boxes and surprisingly provided the best value for money for a vehicle fitted with curtain airbags and stability control etc. Sequential gas injection with flash lube will be fitted by LPGas1 in a week (results of more research).

Please find some bullet points which helped our decision below
o Diesel would be ideal for towing however we could not justify the costs since most of our driving will be non-towing. We are hanging on to the car so re-sale was not a major consideration. We are not bush bashing so fuel supply was not a concern.
o In terms of reliability, dealer support etc. Toyota No. 1 followed by Mitsubishi, Nissan, Landrover and the rest.
o New model Pajero was the original choice due to value for money and 3000kg towing capacity however after checking towball weight discovered it could basically only tow 2500kgs and came out with curtain airbags after Prado.
o Landcruiser would have been the business but we did not have $80k to spend on the 200 Series to get curtain air bags.