Should some drivers simply stay at home?
Submitted: Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 13:00
Mikee5 (Logan QLD)
Sitting at the lights in the suburbs this morning I noticed a shiny new looking Mercedes Sprinter motorhome a few vehicles in front. When the lights went green he muffed the hillstart and had to have another go. Further down the road, he was in the right lane, with his left
wheels riding the white lane dividing line and wandering across his lane, so I stayed behind. Next thing a traffic light went red with more than enough time for him to stop – but he didn’t.
I next caught him on the highway messing up the merge into the traffic stream, causing a car to brake hard. Eventually he got up to 100 but again was wandering across and outside of the left lane. As I passed my passenger noted that he was about 65 or more and his wife a similar age. Next thing a Semi caught him in the left lane so he slowed (in front of the truck) to about 80. I last saw him turning onto the Gateway Arterial heading off on his great adventure.
Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 13:05
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 13:05
Perhaps a separate driving test and licence for those moving from ordinary car to motorhome?
A disaster waiting to happen - and when it does he will proably be totally clueless that he caused it!
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 13:59
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 13:59
Hi Moose,
I agree with there should a separate test for such
vehicleswhen the driver has driven nothing but their family car all their life, that also goes for towing big Caravans. Some people can't even reverse their car, let alone have a trailer or caravan attached to it.
I was just saying to a bloke the other day how the standard of driving is on the decline, and sharply going down. This isn't about our older generation of drivers, It is all age groups. The majority of drivers have poor perception of the world around them.
Said really, They'll kill someone one day and not even know it.
Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 13:23
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 13:23
The poor old fella, he has probably never had an accident.......but probably caused thousands !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 14:41
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 14:41
Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 15:12
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 15:12
I once saw an old bloke driving like this so I stopped him.
Turned out he was having a Diabetic attack which causes people to lose some faculties. A very common occurrence. His wife might've been trying to talk him into stopping...
Perhaps instead of criticising him, you should've tried to chat him at one of the traffic lights...not hard to do...after all he was 65....unless you thought he'd belt you up :-)
Then, if he wasn't having an attack of some sort, you could then give him a verbal tirade on the side of he road...instead of whining here :-)
Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 15:27
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 15:27
He was driving and chatting and looking around. She was chatting too. I think he may have been giving the road about 20% of his concentration. He did indicate when he went off at the exit. Hardly the actions of a dying man. Give me a break.
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 16:36
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 16:36
It doesn't matter if he was looking around and chatting Mikee. Speak to someone else that has witnessed what I am talking about and until then, take a pill.
And it doesn't mean the person is "dying"...gee mate, don't like it when you are told that there "may" be a reason.
I feel sorry for you...whinging on a public
forum about someone else's driving...never done anything wrong yourself whilst driving ???
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 20:56
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 20:56
Come on Dunco, Mike didn't realise how old or who was driving the vehicle until he went past. You try and get off those roads and try to chase him up to see if he was ok.
That's how I read the passage.
Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 15:24
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 15:24
Thanks, Mikee. I'm 64 1/2. But I take your point about drivers who are not up to it, and, even worse, may not realise that they can't cut the mustard. Present company excepted, of course!!! As a caravan tow-er, I can see an excellent case for a licence requirement to drive around in a 5 tonne, 40 ft rig.
Bot do us a favour, and go easy on the age bit: I'd like another year or two before I am consigned to a gopher.
Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 15:32
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 15:32
Hi Chris,
I am not ageist, my dad in 82 and still drives and tows his caravan. I would be the first to tell him when to give up if he needed to. It is not age but state of mind.
Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 13:06
Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 13:06
True - just look at all the
young P-platers who slam their vehicles into stationary objects - there's a state of mind problem and it's certainly not limited to old age.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 16:26
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 16:26
G/Day All
This Thread reminded me of what happened on Sunday, we were driving back from Teewah Beach, heading down the M1, we were towing the Caravan and sitting on about 90-95kph, this car pulls up beside us and the woman winds down the window and starts yelling at us, I immediately thought there was a problem with the van, Nah she was trying to get directions, and then the driver sped off, I thought maybe I misunderstood her, she might have been trying to tell me something, Yep I pulled over of the road, checked the van, nothing wrong, and it took us about 10 minutes to get back on the road again, with the heavy traffic, does this happen to all of us old farts over 60 lol lol.
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 20:45
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 20:45
No Dazza, On our last trip we were cruising along and a lady over took us and waved us down. We thought what the was wrong. It turned out to be a truck that went past us with burning breaks. We thanked her for her concern but gee didn't it scare the age out of us.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 16:36
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 16:36
What is so special about that incident ? On the M1 around the
Gold Coast you see people changing multi lanes with no indicators forcing people to take evasive action all the time !
Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 17:16
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 17:16
Hmmmmmm, me thinks we should all stay calm and keep our gripes to ourselves about old or inexperienced elderly drivers. One day we are ALL going to be in that boat and I dare say wouldn't be too pleasant if some
young buck wound his window down and told you to stay off the road.
I agree that anyone, regardless of age, not used to driving and towing something unfamiliar should have some training but geeeesh, you have to practice on the real roads sometime.
Patience is a virtue !
Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 19:27
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 19:27
We came upon a beauty last month between
Broome and the GRR. A similar vehicle with teeny awd in tow was doing 80Km on the Great Northern Highway. Traffic coming meant that we could not overtake. So into some gentle curves we went. Whoops better slow down to 70Km. Several KMs later a chance to overtake and whoops we latte (we saw mum making it int he back!!!!) and IT swerves over just a tad but enough for me us to drop back. Still doing 70K - cant spill the hot coffee.
Then up comes a single lane bridge (someone must know this bridge) and we drop back to 50K. Careful he may fall off you know!!!. If we had a chook you could have stopped and sold tickets to a raffle with the drivers behind and drawn the raffle, while this "person" crosses the bridge.
Why oh why!!!!!
And please caravan towers. When I towed years ago it was an unwritten rule (just being nice) that once you had a few behind it was time to stop and let them past. Not now it seems.
Well get up over 80-85 PLEEEAAASSSEE.
Still we had a ball allover the
Kimberley. It really is a top place.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 19:30
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 19:30
Sorry the bit after "whoops" was supposed to be "whoops can't drop the hot latte"
I should have read it first
Sorry people.
Reply By: kiwicol - Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 20:33
Thursday, Jul 09, 2009 at 20:33
You dont have to be old to drive as described. Im a trucky working on the
Atherton Tablelands and have to deal with very poor and inconsiderate driving practices from all ages and sexes, many times a day. This time of year this is normal for up here as the southerners congregate up here for the warmer wheather. The fitting of 2 way radios to most of the campers and caravans, would solve so many problems and make things safer. Col
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 10:25
Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 10:25
Unfortunately, the type of thing you speak of occurs daily & due to human nature is unlikely to change. One can be angry, annoyed & so on, but the only
real action you can take is to drive defensively...try to anticpiate a problem &
therefore avoid being involved. Some older drivers can be a pain, but stats
show the
young are still the ones filling up the cemetaries before their time.
Nothing will change until our mindset changes, aggression while driving being
the biggest offender. I agree that some sort of
driver training may be useful,
but how do you make distinctions between rigid motorhomes & articulated
towers of vans of certain length or weight.....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 13:35
Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 13:35
One of the family friends who taught me to drive was a traffic cop whose “beat” was from Sale to the NSW border.
He taught me a lot, but two things he said have stuck in my mind:
“When you’re behind the wheel, drive like everyone else is a complete (expletive deleted) moron who got their licence from the back of a Cornflakes packet.
The chances are that you’re right”
and:
“Prove to me that you have EARNED the right to drive on the road”
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 15:17
Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 15:17
Nargun51,
I vaguely recall my father saying something along those lines
“Prove to me that you have EARNED the right to drive on the road”
Before I was allowed to buy my first car.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:01
Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:01
Ever stop to consider that the traffic in brisvegas and surrounds like logan is very confusing to out of towners ,even to
Brisbane residents the constant road works ,diversions ect make driving a pain and a total nightmare in peak hr,[should read 5am to 11am + 2pm to 8pm ].