OKA dual cab......

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:07
ThreadID: 70774 Views:7305 Replies:18 FollowUps:37
I've just spent a few hours surfing the web for info regarding the mighty OKA.

As our 3 sons continue to elongate, I'm finding that the back seat area of the Patrol is getting increasingly "testy" for them. This usually results in me having to yell profanities at the top of my voice!!! Not an ideal sitiuation.....

So, looking at various options; either a dual cab 4x4 Canter or (preferrably) a dual cab OKA. Latter is considered preferrable due to being slightly narrower. I believe the Canter would be closer to the width of a H1 Hummer, although I do note from a previous thread that Phil G is researching this too and reckons the Canter is about the same width as a 200 series Cruiser..... Hmmmm, sort of hard to believe (to me).

Anyway, all my surfing has left me empty handed as far as answers are concerned. I can't find any photos or info regarding how much leg room there is for the back seat passengers. The side-on photos would appear to indicate that you could throw a big party back there, but I also realise that a lot of these sorts of trucks have massive humps for engine etc that protrude into that area.

So, the question is: does anybody have any info on the space availability in the back of an OKA (or even a Canter I guess). I live in a SA country town and we rarely see an example of either of these beasts out here.

There is a OKA-owners group on the net, but it seems you have to own an OKA before you can get on there and ask questions.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Reply By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:23

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:23
Hi Roachie,
I think a couple of members own Okas but for the life of me can't find them in members list. Must be doing something wrong in looking for them?!
Cheers Sally.
AnswerID: 375102

Follow Up By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:33

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:33
I just found 1 member "dandj" from SA with 1
FollowupID: 642376

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:10

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:10
Thanks Sally,

I think they own a motorhome version which won't give me the answers I require unfortunately....

FollowupID: 642406

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:27

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:27
G'day Bill,

Peter and Margaret on this Forum have an Oka, I am sure that they will only be too happy point you in the right direction.

Michael
AnswerID: 375104

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:14

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:14
Hi Michael,
How long have you been back and I bet you have a great trip? I hope Willem did not lead you to much astray.

FollowupID: 642380

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 22:11

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 22:11
Hi Stephen,

I have been back for a week or so now. Almost finished cleaning the Troopy!!
Gee that red stuff sticks..

Had a very interesting time. Saw some magnificent country and it only makes me want to do it all again.

A large part of the planned trip was cancelled tho', it was just toooooo rough.

Next time I pass through Clare I'll stop off and tell you all about it.

BTW how long before you head off??

Michael
FollowupID: 642399

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 22:25

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 22:25
Hi Michael
We are off in under two weeks, and counting down. Started getting the gear into the car and wish we could go now.

Look forward to catching up.

FollowupID: 642401

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:44

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:44
Thanks for your responses..... I will check the 2 that you have mentioned. I did actually see Peter and Margarets name/s crop up a few times when I searched EO for info, but didn't think to send them a MM....which I shall do now.

AnswerID: 375108

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:56

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:56
I believe Peter & Margaret may are in an OKA owners club and I have spoken to a man in Sydney that is also in a club.
So maybe a Google will bring that up for you.
FollowupID: 642416

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:58

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:58
Its actually the OKA Owners Group but Googles up on club anyway.
FollowupID: 642417

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:49

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:49
Thanks Ian..... I have seen that site already and tried to register, but would have more chance of having lunch with the Queen unless you already own an Oka...hahaha

I was able to look back through their newsletters and also saw a few Okas for sale on the site (none of which suited my needs).

FollowupID: 642421

Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:47

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:47
Roachie, now you are retired you have more time to work on a new project. I can just see the Super OKA with a twin turbo Chevy V8 in it. Should be a great machine.

Dick

AnswerID: 375109

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:12

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:12
G'day Dick,
No mate, I'm trying to make my life "simple" these days..... my need for serious grunt under the bonnet isn't as strong as it used to be....hahahaha
Just looking for a good reliable rig with plenty of room for the 5 of us plus all the gear we seem to need on a trip.

FollowupID: 642407

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 16:47

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 16:47
G'day Roachie

" my need for serious grunt under the bonnet isn't as strong as it used to be....hahahaha "

ROTFLMAO
You dont know what you've got until it's gone old son.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 642463

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:12

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:12
Hi Bill
Does that now mean that if you get a new vehicle, that you will be able to do some serious off road work then LOL

AnswerID: 375115

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:13

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:13
G'day Stephen,
hahahahaha........ that would be one benefit......

FollowupID: 642408

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:17

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:17
Top End Explorer has two if you can still contact him.

His have a fair few seats in them though but probably you could have less and more luggage space.

A bit high for us old guys to get into

AnswerID: 375116

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:14

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:14
Thanks Graham.....I think his are bus type set-ups too, so not sure if there is any comparison as far as the seating/legroom is in relation to a dual cab....

FollowupID: 642409

Reply By: garrycol - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:26

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:26
This would seem to have the room you require

http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=7351855&__sid=1221926BD0AC&__Qpb=true&Cr=0&__Ns=pCar_RankSort_Int32%7c1%7c%7cpCar_Price_Decimal%7c1%7c%7cpCar_Make_String%7c0%7c%7cpCar_Model_String%7c0&keywords=&__N=1216%201246%201247%201252%201282%204294963077&seot=1&tsrc=allcarhome&__Nne=15&trecs=1&silo=1011
AnswerID: 375117

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:07

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:07
Thanks mate....too many seats and no cargo space (IE: tray) on that jigger; thanks anyway.....

FollowupID: 642405

Reply By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:58

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:58
Hi Roachie,did you see the seating options on their web site.
http://www.oka.com.au/.
A few options, no dimensions but may give you an idea.
Rob Mac
AnswerID: 375121

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 22:40

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 22:40
Yes Rob, I saw the seating options....quite a few to choose from (if you buy a new one). But nowhere does there seem to be any info or photos of what the back seat conditions are...EG: can the back passengers stretch their legs out? Looking at the photos of the exterior, you'd imagine they could as the distance (for example) between the door handles of the front and back door appears to be about 1.5 meters!!!! hahaha

The people that have been mentioned above as being OKA owners and members of EO, all appear to own a camper version or the multi-seat "bus" option; not the dual cab.

There is a dual cab showing as for sale in Cranbourne (Vic) at the moment, but that makes it a bit too far to go for a short trip just to have a sticky beak at and take a few measurements. I am mindful of not "bothering" the seller with a whole raft of inane questions as his ad stipulates "genuine enquiries only" (whatever the hell THAT means). I don't know whether I'm genuine about this thing yet as I haven't laid hands on one.

I have no idea if I'd be able to convince my SWMBO to climb up into the cab (although it couldn't be too much more difficult than climbing into the Patrol with it's 4" lift and 35" tyres....hahahaha).

I also have been unable to ascertain what the overall width and tray area is of these beasts.

Maybe I'll just make a nuisance of myself and ask the Cranbourne bloke for some more details.

FollowupID: 642403

Follow Up By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 21:46

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 21:46
Hi Roachie, I dont think you would be a nuisance if the info he provides is what you are looking for and he may get a sale if you can convince the boss.
Rob Mac
FollowupID: 642515

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 21:51

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 21:51
Hmmmm, you've unveiled a problem I have come across..... My wife and sons say they wouldn't want to be seen in one of those ugly bangers. No taste, this lot here!!!!

I see the Oka as a true piece of Aussie ingenuity and history. I would love to own one, but fear I am fighting an uphill battle.

FollowupID: 642516

Reply By: rapid80 - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 00:47

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 00:47
Sorry mate I don't have any dimensions to offer you but can say after driving tens of thou of kays in both vehicles I wouldn't be considering the Canter. I have driven the OKA bus from Perth to Alice many a time and found it a joy on outback roads compared to the Canter which I have done the same trip in many times and drive daily for work and hate every second of it.
AnswerID: 375127

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:53

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:53
Cheers mate,
that's very worthwhile feedback from someone who knows,
Much appreciated.

FollowupID: 642423

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:20

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:20
Roachie, I have a dimension sheet of the new NT that includs the dual cab and I doubt that it has changed from the earlier models.
It is a jpeg, I could email it to you.
The floor of the dual cab section is perfectly flat.
If you find an appropriate vehicle that is NOT a dual cab, don't reject it because it is easy to change the body and there are dual cab modules about the place that are available.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 375137

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:52

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:52
Thanks Peter, that would great...

My email is ...... broa7042@bigpond.net.au

Many thanks,

FollowupID: 642422

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 10:23

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 10:23
The Dual cab is 1156mm inside. It can have 4 seats abreast.
The Multi cab is 1830mm inside and can have 7 seats I think.
Plus 2 up front, plus a tray or whatever behind.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 642428

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:53

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:53
Gday Roachie,

I think the profanities will continue with any configuration that has 3 across a back seat. I remember it well! Our solution at the time was to update our Troopie to a 60series high roof Sahara - 3 rows of forward facing seats with 2 in each row. Needed to tow a trailer. But our "maturing" teenagers then decided that camping was for old fogeys and refused to do it. Hope that doesn't happen to you if you buy an OKA!

AnswerID: 375145

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 10:26

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 10:26
G'day Phil,

I was thinking that with the Oka, there is always the possibility of fitting a sound-proof barrier between the driver's front compartment and the second row of seats........ then they could "go at it" until their hearts' content!!!! hehehe

Seriously, I'm no where near ready to make a decision like this yet, but it's bloody hard to decide whether something will/won't suit your needs when you can't physically see and feel the product.......

FollowupID: 642429

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 13:49

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 13:49
I thought you just wanted the power steering! ;)
FollowupID: 642447

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 19:35

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 19:35
Roachie,
Just to let you know Amy G is my daughter. She's the only one who still likes camping! The lack of power steering was the other reason why we updated the 47series to the Sahara.
FollowupID: 642486

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 19:44

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 19:44
Thanks for explaining that Phil.....

Amy, I'm sure you already realise how fortunate you are to have been dragged all around this great country; presumably from a very young age.

It's a shame that most kids shy away from touring around with the old fogies once they hit teenage years......

I grew up in a family with very modest financial means and all my school holidays were spent at home in Narrandera; the local railway yards were my sole centre of interest. I would have loved to have had the opportunities I am currently trying to give my kids.....but they don't realise how lucky they are...

(sigh)

FollowupID: 642487

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 20:48

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 20:48
Yeah not sure why we stopped to be honest, I guess hanging with your parents is just not cool past the age of about 13... and well, probably still not cool but I don't care anymore :)

Strangely enough, if I have kids I have ever intention of dragging them around the country in a 4WD and tent! Funny how these things come full circle!
FollowupID: 642503

Reply By: png62 - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 12:42

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 12:42
G'day Roachie, has your search lead you to this site yet ?

http://www.okaownersgroup.info/tiki-index.php?page=Frank%20and%20Glenice%20Loughnan

AnswerID: 375169

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 21:22

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 21:22
Thanks John, The Oka owners group seems to be a closed shop.

There are a few Okas for sale on the site, but none of them fits my configuration requirements (ie: dual cab) or price range (around $40K or so).

FollowupID: 642510

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 12:49

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 12:49
Roachie,

I have a mate up here very interested in your Chevmissan, wants to get rid of his GQ Cab Chassis and get a Dual cab GU.

Do you have a waiting list for yours yet?? If not he wants to be the first one on it.

AnswerID: 375170

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 17:48

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 17:48
G'day Kev,
No waiting list that I am aware of, although I wish I had a dollar for everytime I've had blokes say to me things like: "You lucky mongrel, what an absolute great truck; I'd love one like that" etc etc.

The difficult thing is going to be trying to work out how much it's worth. To me it's worth a LOT more than what I reckon I can realistically expect to get for it.

I still look at it in terms of the money I've spent on top of what it cost the original owner. If you calculate that, it comes to over $50K, but I guess I'll be looking at somewhere around $40K......

If you were to look at getting the work done (ie: dual cab conversion @ around $10K+ and the Chev conversion @ around $23K), you can start to see where I'm coming from.

FollowupID: 642470

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 19:52

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 19:52
I'll let him know,

The GQ is slowly being turned into a comp truck and he is looking to start a family so will need the extra seats

FollowupID: 642489

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 21, 2009 at 17:21

Tuesday, Jul 21, 2009 at 17:21
Sir Kev,

Congrats on the purchase of the Trak Shak (maybe you could call it the Love Shack?).... hehehe

Anyway, just a note to let you know that I've now advertised the Chev-Missan on this site's Trader section as well as the Patrol 4x4 forum's For Sale section.

If I don't get a buyer in say a week or so, I will consider placing it on ebay.

FollowupID: 642868

Reply By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 20:56

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 20:56
Roachie,iknow it was not mentioned in your post,maybe you could consider an F250 dual cab,as these would have the available leg room for your young blokes.As far as i know they are only in auto. If you want a manual it would be the one & half cab which would not have the leg room you would be looking for.

AnswerID: 375266

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 21:19

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 21:19
Thanks Bob,
I have thought about a big "effy" but they seem to start at around $80K even for a 10 y/o unit.

Also, I consider them to be just a bit too long and wide, whereas the Oka has about the same foot-print as a Patrol.

FollowupID: 642509

Reply By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 19:47

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 19:47
I looked at them a while ago & found that nearly all were different some dual cabs had tons of room, others did not as most were purpose built for the purchaser.

The other thing I found in the dual cabs was the ones that suited us had been there & done it & needed heaps of work & were still holding big dollars the others were mechanically great but the layout of the cab was crap & were a lot cheaper good luck

What I,m considering is making my 6 wheeler dual cab have a supa cab & extend the cab by 250mm this will solve the leg problem (I only have 2 kids)the panel beater near me has done this to he's l/cruiser d/cab looks great with a oval port hole window between the front & back doors,

He's told me $12k drive in drive out.

This way I keep my truck that i know & love the camper & all the gear still fits, will cruise on the hwy the same, being a 6 wheeler my GMV is 4500kg so the extra weight will take a little out of my legal load carrying but i will still be legal not like most 4wd

the canters are a hash ride & don't have much wheel travel & are stiff as

good luck regards Vince
AnswerID: 375427

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 20:27

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 20:27
Thanks Vince,

It's a real dilemma and one that I'm slowly working through......

FollowupID: 642708

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:22

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:22
I have very carefully read and the re-read all of the above and come to the conclusion that you Sir, are a D I L L with a capitol D.

I bet you haven't told your mother about this lunatic idea, or for that matter your wife and children, for fear that they would have you committed for a psychiatric evaluation. (Bi Polar for sure)

Did you ever think to discuss such thought/s with your local religious leader and seek his/her balanced advice whether or not to persue such lines of enquiry in the first instance.

I notice that you remarked something to the effect - don't see many if any OKA'S around here - and was wondering if you in fact have ever seen a OKA and/or would know if one ran over you.

Its obvious that the 'OKA Owner Club' knows more about you than I do and are doing their level best to exclude you from 'the OKA Owners Club, so you need to see this as an omen from above and discontinue your efforts on this subject.

Perhaps a nice new 5sp auto Honda Odyssey, in a Deep Bordeaux colour would fix your people moving problems.

Honestly you will thank me in years to come.
AnswerID: 378750

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 00:04

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 00:04
MMMMM Dust devil
Your words of wisdom somehow seem very familiar LOL
FollowupID: 646100

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 01:07

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 01:07
Go forth and multiply my son
FollowupID: 646110

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 01:10

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 01:10
Just 'warming up' for the 29th
FollowupID: 646111

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 01:16

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 01:16
Look forward to it....Let the game begin
FollowupID: 646113

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 10:08

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 10:08
Welcome back DD.... we've missed you around these parts.......

Have you had that big lump on your bonnet lanced yet??? hahahaha

How's the Taj Mahal going? hahaha

When are you coming over to savour some more Anzacs?

Two people killed recently on that level crossing which you "did" @ 140k/h..... (mental note to self....... the bull bars on those bloody diesel locomotives are a bit tougher than an ARB jobbie...... not even a scratch)..... {RIP to those 2 young souls}.....

FollowupID: 646141

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:55

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:55
Hey Bill maybe its time to leave the kids at home, buggers only get worse and cost ya more $$ as they get older :-))

AnswerID: 378761

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 10:09

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 10:09
They'd love that too...... eat nothing but biscuits and cake for 2 weeks at a time..... watch as much TV and play video games 24/7......never need to have a shower...... it'd be like heaven for them!!!!!!
FollowupID: 646142

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 11:55

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 11:55
That all sounds to familiar :-))

FollowupID: 646155

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 13:03

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 13:03
I climbed into the rear seat of a dual cab Isuzu recently and I was really disappointed in the leg room.
It had this divider between the front an rear seat which stops the rear passengers from sliding their feet under the front seat.

Is the Canter the same?
AnswerID: 378815