Cape Melville

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 22:15
ThreadID: 70895 Views:3104 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Just wondering if anyone has done the beach trip to cape flattery. Apparently the track runs off the southern end of Starke HS and leads to the beach. Once on the beach, its a run to cape flattery at low tide. Is there a place to camp once at flattery while waiting for the next low tide?

Reply By: PhilD - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 00:04

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 00:04
Was there in June.Track to beach is relatively easy once you find it. Track leaves road south of Mt Webb just after a creek crossing about 35 kms (from memory) from Battle Camp turnoff. You need to look for the wheel tracks in the grass. This is different to the trek notes in Ron Moons book. The only suggestion is to walk all crossings like you should as the last one is over the bonnet in the middle but ankle deep on the left.
Easy run for 19 kms along beach at low tide. Just before jetty you will see the track leave the beach and it goes underneath the conveyor belt through a concrete tunnel. You cross the headland and arrive on the beach on the other side where you can camp under the palms. Very nice place to camp.
Sand is soft in places so you should lower pressures.
AnswerID: 375774

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:46

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:46
Hey PhilD,

A mate of mine used to work the cattle around Starke many moons ago. He says that he used to remember the local coming from Cape Flattery and hitting the main track cape melville track North of Starke. Do you know if there is still such a track that goes to the coast instead of the one that you have described? Apparently it was much easier.

FollowupID: 643272

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 17:00

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 17:00
Steep sandhill at the beach both when you first get to the beach and when you cross over to the other side of Cape Flattery. You need to have low pressures to get up theseon a warm day. You will notice that there is lots of material placed on these hills as they can be quite hard to get back up when it is hot. Watch those water crossings as stated above, a friend drowned a hilux there this year when he went through them a bit quick. Its a great place and there is a couple of photos on my profile. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 375846

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:30

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:30
Hey Tony,

thanks for that. What do you reckon about towing a camper trailer up there?

FollowupID: 643243

Reply By: Les B (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 18:51

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 18:51
Sounds like another place we need to get out to. Are any permissions from QNPWS, stations or land councils required?
Only lived on the Tablelands for 5 years there is just so much to do here!
Les
AnswerID: 375857

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:27

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:27
Gday Les,

We are on the Tablelands too. Where abouts are you?

FollowupID: 643242

Follow Up By: Les B (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:27

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:27
Hi John
We are at Ravenshoe, Tully Falls Rd. Where are you?
Les
FollowupID: 643261

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:38

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:38
Les,

Thats why i havn't seen your Patrol around. We are in Tolga. We used to go to Ravenshoe a bit for AFL footy, and motocross. But now both my sons don't do either of the sports anymore, so we don't get up that way much. I used to have a VZ 800 (Harley look-a-like) and we used to go that way just for the relaxing ride. But alas, I have sold it and have moved onto boating and camping.
Might see you around some time. Let me know if you are down this way.

FollowupID: 643266

Reply By: PhilD - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 00:15

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 00:15
John, according to my gps there is a track as you describe it turning off north of Starcke but I took the southern one and did the beach run.
AnswerID: 375930

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 00:24

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 00:24
Thanks for that Phil. I'll have to do some research and pin point that track.

FollowupID: 643290

Reply By: Member - John S (QLD) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 00:48

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 00:48
Phil,

do you have the coordinates of that track?

AnswerID: 375931

Reply By: PhilD - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 22:41

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 22:41
Leaves track north of Starcke at 15 00.434S 145 07.673E or very close to that
AnswerID: 376074

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 05:17

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 05:17
Thanks for that Phil. We'll give it a go.

FollowupID: 643477