Lunatics ( ? ) at the wheel...coming to a road near you!!

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 18:33
ThreadID: 70916 Views:4232 Replies:9 FollowUps:30
Well if you live in Brisbane you will have seen the news about the car down the freeway off ramp doing around 160klm/hr. 1 dead 2 seriously injured. Car cut in half by power pole and being projected into a nearby house. Just 200 metres away from me and what an absolute disaster!! Bloody mess! I won't go into details because it is very bad but again another incident of young people, maybe under the influence, driving very fast and ending up killing themselves. Now we all drink ( I know you do!!! ) but at least I ( and you?? ) don't drive. So what do we do as a society to stop this? Remember this , this time they hit a pole...next time it might be your car with your loved ones in it!!
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:04

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:04
G/Day

I saw the carnage on the TV, I haven't got a answer for this on going problem, but I do feel sorry for their relatives, and most of all for the Emergency Workers who deal with this all the time, these people have to sort out the broken bodies, and then when their shifts over they go home to their families, how do they get it out of their mind and switch off for a while, maybe these youngsters should be taken to the hospitals and morgues to see the end results of the speed and reckless driving before they get that piece of plastic called a license.

AnswerID: 375860

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:13

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:13
Daza
Yes you are right about the EWs. And to tell the truth what about the innocent bystanders....I have pulled a couple of guys out of accidents caused by their own stupidity and the sight of it will always be on my mind!

But how do you determine which of the youngsters are the ones to target before it happens??
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

FollowupID: 643197

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:24

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:24
"But how do you determine which of the youngsters are the ones to target before it happens??"

Easy - all of them.

FollowupID: 643219

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:04

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:04
Whats needed is more involvement by "innocent bystanders" so they can take the message home to their own kids - of the dangers of driving in a stupid manner.
FollowupID: 643237

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:16

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:16
Ask the parents, we should know best, my oldest son is a real mellow driver like my brother used to be. My youngest son is going to be a nut like i was.
Being their father for 16 and 18 years i know that for a fact.
FollowupID: 643256

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:04

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:04
"this time they hit a pole...next time it might be your car"

Put in lot more poles..........
AnswerID: 375883

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:19

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:19
LOL....Only logical thing to do....
FollowupID: 643214

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:23

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:23
Gee...that helps people. Don't you care about people dying ?? No matter who they are ???

FollowupID: 643259

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 01:17

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 01:17
Dunco-if it comes down to hoons (p+ssheads-boyracers etc) doing this sort of thing as they please, and my family plodding along the road and being in the way? Ill give them the powerpole anyday.
Their parents can worry about them, I'll worry about mine.
FollowupID: 643616

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:08

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:08
Up the age for getting a full licence to 21 and drinking age to 25. Hopefully many young drivers will be a little more mature and responsible by then.

At the moment the message doesn't seem to get through to these bullet proof youngsters that to be in control of a motor vehicle is a privilege and not a right.

At present a kid turning 18 can go and obtain a full licence and get drunk all on the same day.......ridiculous !
AnswerID: 375884

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:02

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:02
The lower age has been ridiculous ... ever since the limits were reduced as a vote chasing exercise.
FollowupID: 643233

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:44

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:44
A hard one to try and answer. At 18 they can also be called upon to go and fight for there country so its a bit hard to say they can,t drive or have a beer.
I know that a lot training is done before going overseas (been there done that)
so that is probibly whats needed before they are allowed behind the wheel of a Vehicle.
Duke
FollowupID: 643245

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 14:48

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 14:48
Not a bad idea but unfortunately it doesn't stop people speeding, which seems to be the cause of many of these crashes :(
FollowupID: 643378

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:45

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:45
You might have missed part of the answer in to-nights ABC TV show about teenage risk behaviour.

It showed that the confrontational and banning approach taken by many authorites is largely wasted effort as its natural behaviour and can in some circumstances give them "social heirachy points" which massively out weigh physical danger considerations.

So the logical approach is not to get to heavy on people but to re-direct the effort into a safter path.

Simple example - actually fund and support drag competitions at tracks and create an atmosphere of it being socially acceptable to want to be there, as opposed to no other options.

AnswerID: 375898

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 17:53

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 17:53
Great idea Give kids a place to take controlled risks and have a challenge.

If they can get it out of their systems and learn skills at the same time it is bonus for everyone.

Every school should have access to advanced driving courses as well.
FollowupID: 643401

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:05

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:05
IMHO .... Every high school should have at least one lesson a week on vehicle fundamentals / roadrules starting in grade 8.

Some sort of physical driver training should occur monthly (?) as of grade 10.

Pass percentages could reflected in the license endorsing / issue date.

FollowupID: 643406

Reply By: briann532 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:50

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:50
Age old question.......
How do you put an old head on young shoulders???

Perhaps a bit more parental guidance?
I'm not being a smart little donkey, I only have todllers so I have a long way to go before dealing with this. In the meantime trying to stay safe as an innocent bystander.
I'm just trying to rationalise a major problem that is quite frankly scaring the proverbial out of me.

If anyone has an answer please let me know. I would be forever in your debt.

Perhaps Military service?
Perhaps a ban on tv content? (you know the type portraying invincibility)
Convent?

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 375901

Follow Up By: briann532 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:56

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:56
Bit stupid to follow up my own post, but I had a thought.
Why are people taught by a driving school to pass a driving test.
Should the focus not be on actually learning to drive, rather than passing a test?

It appears to me that this no longer takes place. Young people are not educated on responsibility, courtesy, and practical ways to stay safe.
(keep left unless overtaking, slow down in the rain, keep music to a level where you can hear other road users, and above all it is a transport mechanism not a damn racetrack)
god I sound old..............I'm only 34, but boy has my attitude changed in the last 10 years.

My thoughts go out to the families of those young lives lost.
FollowupID: 643231

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:37

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:37
" Why are people taught by a driving school to pass a driving test.
Should the focus not be on actually learning to drive, rather than passing a test? "

Thanks Briann532 ....

I thought I was the only heretic to hold the belief you posted in your followup. Its a strange method of allowing novices in killing machines, to share public space isnt it ?

Keep your posted thoughts ... and other practicalities ... in mind when it comes your turn to start driving instruction of your younguns, and they will have as good a chance on the road as possible.

Just remember they can start "learning" about driving, well before license age ... e.g.

Just a little practical knowledge of brakes and suspension ... drummed in at an early age ... will keep them thinking of vehicle handling characteristics at various speeds on corners and under braking ... once they are behind the wheel.

Good to see you gave a thought for the families of those in that accident as well.
FollowupID: 643265

Follow Up By: Rob! - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:08

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:08
Brian,

I don't believe the whole "people taught by a driving school to pass a driving test" idea. I don't think that is the case. I don't believe that an ignorant 19 year old in 1979 was a better driver than on ignorant 19 year old in 2009.

I think this idea is only pushed by cheap talk back radio with no evidence behind it.

Being just slightly older then you, I would imagine we did our lessons and tests around the same time. If you remember, back then, the same rhetoric was used. So the politicians introduced a whole bunch of new requirements, such as having your learners for a minimum of 12 months, logbooks, nightime driving, P plates for 3 years etc. The driving instructors were happy with the changes because that meant learners had to have more lessons. Back in our day there was no requirement to have any professional lessons, and kids were often taught by incompetent parents in the shopping centre carpark.

So I think the evidence shows the opposite to the myth.
FollowupID: 643348

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:19

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:19
I was an ignorant 19yo "several" years before 1979.

"Professional" instruction paid for at that time was only to attain testing standards.

Thankfully ... real "professional" instruction had been provided by family and friends family for a number of years prior.
FollowupID: 643350

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:43

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:43
This is not an issue that can be simply dealt with by imposing higher ages limits or mandating more driving lessons or hours behind the wheel. It is an irresponsible attitude that enables a person to drive in such a manner on a public road. A person that will drive while drunk and/or at excessive speeds shows bad judgement and will take many other unacceptable risks. You'll never reduce the frequency of this type of incident until you fix the attitude problem (which would also fix a whole swag of other problems). My attitude to driving was (still is!) the area that my parents spent most of their effort when teaching me to drive, and it began in teaching by example - even before I was learning to walk.

What attitudes to driving are your children learning from the examples set by drivers the observe (parents, uncles/aunts, friends etc.), or from what they see to be acceptable on the TV?
FollowupID: 643355

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 17:59

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 17:59
Young people ( Especially males ) do not understand the concept of mortality before the age of 25.

The human brain just does not fully understand that death is final at that age.

Sadly there is not much that can be done about that, Military service uses that to their advantage as young troops are more willing to take risks than older ones.

From experience give kids controlled risks and challenges. let them test their limits.

Remember to become old and wise you do first have to be young and stupid !
FollowupID: 643402

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:16

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:16
Hi Briann,
I have never believed in the old saying "Do as I say not as I do".
Kids learn pretty much of every thing from example.
If you give the dog a kick as you walk past instead of a pat little Jhonnie thinks thats acceptable behaviour.
If You carry on like a pork chop & hurl abuse etc at some drongo that cut you off, Little Jhonnie thinks thats acceptable behaviour.
Jump in the car & go get a packet of smokes on a sat a/noon (only had 3 beers) Yep little Jhonnie thinks thats acceptable behaviour. Enjoy your kids. I know I enjoyed growing up with mine & now Im enjoying growing up again with my Grandkids.
Regards Mike.
FollowupID: 643523

Follow Up By: tim_c - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 15:33

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 15:33
Thanks Mike - that's kind of what I was trying to say.

Since you don't like the saying "Do as I say, not as I do" (which never really works anyway), you might like my Dad's favourite saying instead: "What you do shouts so loudly I can't hear a word you're saying"
FollowupID: 643537

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:19

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:19
Not sure about other states, but here in SA the obtaining of a license is almost a case of cutting out the coupon on the back of the Corn Flakes packet...

Okay, so the child (and they ARE still children @ 16.5 years) has to do 50 hours of practical driving on "L" plates, 10 hours of which has to be at night.

I did this with my son (now 20 and living in Queanbeyan). I paid for 6 x 1 hour professional lessons @ $50- each for him and I did the other 44 hours with him myself. The fact that I "could have" simply just signed-off on the learner's log book means that he could potentially got his license without doing ANY training practically.

The actual granting of his license was based mainly on the log book I had signed him off on over a 6 month period.

I often wonder if anybody actually just "fudges" the figures in the log book; after all, it is a costly process driving around the countryside for 50 hours.....some people might think it is not worth the effort and cost.

I am of the opinion that learners should do the same learning that my son did (I think it's recently been increased to 100 hours here by the way).... BUT... before obtaining the license they should be required to demonstrate competence in ALL driving conditions that they are likely to encounter.

This would require them to drive on a track with a wet skid pan, through a series of witches hats, emergency braking situations etc.

The problem is (amongst other things) that they get their licence under "ideal" conditions. In my sons case, because we live in a country town, he never learnt how to drive along a 3 lane freeway with traffic lights and how to change lanes safely etc. I did take him out during the wet weather (not all that frequent here in SA....hehehehe).

So, once he got his P plates, he was on his own..... all the best mate!!!

There's gotta be a better way and i think the idea of making it a compulsory subject at school from year 8 is a good one. They could dispense with ancient history from the curriculum or something else equally useless.....

FollowupID: 643543

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:43

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:43
We live at the back of a Church Primary school and are constantly amazed at the actions of the parents, ( The school parents are good it is the parents attending school sporting events that cause the problems. )

They will happily park illegally endangering children and hindering access for the locals, if you politely ask them "Could you please park legally as you are causing a risk to children" you are often greeted with a stream of abuse and threats allong the lines of "I CAN *&*&%$@ WELL PARK WHERE I @*&^%#% LIKE AND YOU CAN ^%$*^&%% WELL (*&^$^%# OFF !!!!"

All this in front of young children. Small wonder these children grow up to believe laws do not apply to them and they can do whatever they like.

I have on occasion mentioned to the children " remember this kids and next time Mum or Dad asks you to do something you can tell them the same things they just told me. It's OK your parents believe you don't have to do what the law says"

That usually gets another torrent of abuse telling me I am setting a bad example for their kids !!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 643554

Reply By: rumpig - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:02

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:02
according to the news i watched tonight, wasn't the driver of the cars age something like 26 or 27? i'd call that old enough to know better, hardly a young kid.
looking at the news tonight, that car looked a bomb had gone off in it, easily the worst crash i have seen as far as wreckage spread everywhere goes, i'm surprised all 3 weren't killed instantly. from news reports tonight they have told the drivers family who are flying in from overseas to prepare for the worst, so i think the death toll will rise more from this accident unfortunately.
AnswerID: 375906

Follow Up By: rumpig - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:05

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:05
for those who haven't seen the news about this crash, here's a link with photos of the crash scene
http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/photogallery/queensland/woman-dead-in-horror-smash/20090723-dtzx.html?selectedImage=0
FollowupID: 643238

Reply By: Gramps - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:15

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:15
It would be interesting to check out the driving records of the parents.

AnswerID: 375917

Follow Up By: Rob! - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:15

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:15
Exactly.

1 hour driving lessons cannot teach courtesy and attitude. By the time a kid sits for their first driving lesson, they've had thousands of hours of lessons on how to behave in a car.

R.
FollowupID: 643349

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:46

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:46
So true - we've our first 'driving lessons' before we even know how to walk (simply by observing our parents' attitude to driving).
FollowupID: 643356

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:45

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:45
I listened to an rare interview with Neil Armstrong a few days ago. One of the things he commented on is the lack of "Dangerous Adventures" available to young people today.

We have made the world so safe for our children that the need to find risky behaviour to give themselves a challenge.

I think we need to step back as a society and find ways of channeling this youthful need for adventure and risk into more productive and less destructive pursuits.

Most young people especially males need to take risks to prove themselves, I know I did.

We have also lost the rites of passage from childhood into adulthood that I think are a required part of a healthy society.
AnswerID: 375924

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 00:27

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 00:27
Just following your line of thought D200Dug ....

Is perhaps cutting down those naturally challenging, good climbing trees in a schoolyard ... to make way for OH&S approved playgyms and shade cloth ... one of our sillier choices as an over protective society ?
FollowupID: 643291

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 11:00

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 11:00
Those as well

People learned when you do dumb stuff you get hurt

and it did hurt !!!

Now kids grow up not knowing anything about actions and consequences
FollowupID: 643337

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 11:45

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 11:45
Hurting is nescessary.

Not so much it is debilitating of course tho.

Some of my most hilarious moments these days are watching younger parents explaining to a 3yr old why not to touch the "hot thing" .... A whole 15min "discussion" in some cases ... with a 3yr old ..... LOLOL

The kids reaching out with a finger to test ... not grab the soup pot off the stove with both hands and run with it ....

Just get the burn cream out of the firstaid kit for cripes sake.
FollowupID: 643347

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:47

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:47
margo " Don;t touch the iron it is hot and it will hurt

#1 son then aged 3 sticks finger on iron and screams

margo "Told you" then hugs ;-)

Very simple
FollowupID: 643357

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:56

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 12:56
D200Dug - it's not the first suggestion I've heard of that. I've heard OH&S managers on building sites say that young people are often not capable of making a quick mental risk assessment before doing something - they haven't learned to think "if I do this, what could go wrong? How likely is it to go wrong? And what is the potential damage/injury?" ie. is this worth the risk?

Some have attributed this to our wrapping of children in cotton-wool - they never have to learn to think of consequences because we've made everything so safe that children simply can't hurt themselves at the local playground, falling out of a tree, etc.

No, I'm not saying that we shouldn't try to prevent injuries - some household 'accidents' cause serious long-term/permanent injuries (or death) but a finger on a hot iron is a very quick, simple, relatively harmless but memorable lesson!
FollowupID: 643359

Reply By: veight - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 21:39

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 21:39
How about a Mandatory Driving Test every 20 or 30 years regardless of age
a refresher so to speak. Re enforce some of the road rules that
some of the "older& younger " drivers seem to forget - simple things like indicators to lane change.
I was in the woolworths car park the other day and watched an older person that I was about + 30years older than me reverse into 2 cars trying to get out of the car park - they didn't stop so i left a note with the rego plate on both cars so they can contact the police - all this woman had to do was go straight back not reverse into one car than bang into another....
AnswerID: 376238