Graffiti of the lowest form.

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 01:33
ThreadID: 70959 Views:4962 Replies:16 FollowUps:28
I was on the way to Darwin on Tuesday and as I passed by the Strauss Airstrip display I was appaulled at what I saw, I done a u-turn and went back and took these photo's , This display is a tourist attraction for people from many countries when visiting the Top End NT, anyhow on the way home yesterday I was surprised to see it had been cleaned of, whatever they used must be damn good ,
Please NO RACIST REMARKS , the Moderators get ready for stand by.

NT News Report LINK

My photo's below

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 02:01

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 02:01
Gidday Doug

I’ve spend a lot of time rebuilding bush towns and I completely agree with what you’re saying, including the frustration.

It was only this morning that I talked to a fella about his experiences up north.

Some of the best bush towns in the country are now in ruins. It’s a pretty damn state of affairs!

Kim
AnswerID: 376088

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 02:01

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 02:01
Well at least the tax payers money is going to good use. theres not a spelling mistake at all..

AnswerID: 376089

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 09:04

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 09:04
Must be using a spell checker, they also know that its not ok to post without!
Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 643481

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:38

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:38
mmmmmmm - no spelling mistakes!

I spell liar " LIAR" not " LIA" and plunder " PLUNDER" not "PLUNDA" - maybe it is just a Kiwi thing :-)
FollowupID: 643544

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:49

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:49
Thats Kiwi talk KiwiAngler.. choice bro.. LOL LOL

FollowupID: 643546

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:33

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:33
I always reckoned us Kiwis speak the good England :-) :-)
FollowupID: 643552

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 03:08

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 03:08
Graffiti-ists with a cause, do it because they want to spread their message.

- when they destroy or damage things as they spread their message, their work only creates opposition to their cause - how sad.
AnswerID: 376090

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 07:32

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 07:32
On our travels last year, we were really looking forward to walking out and fishing off the end of the Carnarvon Jetty.
As a young fella, I had a guy that had lived in the area and worked on the Tracking Stn always tell me how good the fishing out there was. We arrived at Carnarvon and set up camp for a few days to check the place out. Finally loaded the fishing gear into the Patrol and walked out to the start of the jetty, only to be told by the guy taking the fees, that we could only go halfway. Absolute shame .
He informed us on how some lowies had lit a fire halfway along and burnt the jetty in two. there is more to add to the story, but I'm sure the mod squad will kick in , so.....I'll leave it at that.
AnswerID: 376095

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 08:45

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 08:45
That's awful. But I wouldn't jump to too assumptions about who wrote it. It might be non whites, they have plenty of examples to learn from. It might not. TRhat sort of "dirty tricks" stufff is also KKK territory. Did you see the recent court case where the husband of a Liberal candidate in Sydney area was caught giving out fraudulent posters that were supposed to be written by Muslims? They were aimed at whipping up anti Muslim reactions.
There were a lot of indigenous members of the Australian armed forces who wont be impressed by the graffiti either, whoever did it.
AnswerID: 376098

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 09:00

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 09:00
Hi Doug
Who ever did this can only be describe as the lowest life form on earth and should be ashamed at those most foul words. I could say what I realy think, but the post may be moderated.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 376100

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 09:08

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 09:08
Another "tourist" defaces the landscape and everyone seems to think its okay.

I just wonder why no one has condemned the british father who dug out a message in the rock recently in the Blue Mountains for his lost son. Sorry but no excuse. I would have been fined or at least been given some community service. They got away with it.

I don't have a problem with others of different skin colour. Our son married one. Why do they have a problem with us. Just get on with life. Its what you make of it. And there are heaps of examples. We also met a great mob in WA recently. No worries there.
AnswerID: 376103

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 10:49

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 10:49
I reckon it's all to easy to jump to conclusions. Its my experience that the most vocal pro-indigenous rights advocates tend to be the dreadlocked professional protester fringe. Usually eternal uni students, members of the international socialists, of dubious hygiene and free range everything. I know a lot of them like to head up north to stake out the uranium mines, pine gap, the odd chook farm and chain themselves to a tree somewhere.

I saw some locals grafitti on the Connie Sue a week back at the turn to Stanley Yeo Range and Chasm. I was intending to go there. Scrawled on an old car bonnet at the corner was.

"Please don't go here. This place is very special to us. Thankyou"

It was a very polite request and I certainly considered it and decided to respect their wishes.

This behaviour at Strauss, whether unintended or not, is more a slight on the many indigenous men who fought for the country or worked tirlessly here in Australia during the darkest hours of 1941/2.

My thoughts only. Mick

AnswerID: 376118

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:55

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:55
"Its my experience that the most vocal pro-indigenous rights advocates tend to be the dreadlocked professional protester fringe." Oh, you mean like the bald headed rock stars that make a living off another people's cause then sell their soul to the devil?

Still, no matter who wrote it, it displays a total lack of intelligence. I hate graffiti more than I hate peas.

Louie
FollowupID: 643557

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 23:26

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 23:26
louie

i like peas!!!!.........:-)
FollowupID: 643612

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 11:34

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 11:34

What they did is a low act re: that particular location, but Graffiti is like a Disease through out the world, here in Queensland the law makers aren't tough enough with these Sick Parasites, they can't even name and shame them let alone punish them in a way that they would never ever do it a gain, one particular section of the M1 on the Southern Gold Coast is a Mural depicting images of Babies and Young kids and Teenagers who have died, these Life Like Paintings have been defaced on several occasions, by the Graffiti Morons, and the paintings are fixed asap, if I ever saw them defacing them I reckon they would go home Black and Blue them selves.

AnswerID: 376125

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 11:46

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 11:46
Why do people say it is the LOWEST act ever ????

I am sure murder, rape, glassing etc are far LOWER than a little graffiti that has since been removed.

Yes, graffiti is wrong, but there is no need to scream and shout just because of what you think regarding the place where this particular incident occurred. Do you also scream and shout about all the graffiti all over the trains in Major Cities, or the graffiti on peoples fences in the suburbs...I think not.

I do not condone what occurred in Darwin, but lets put things into perspective.

AnswerID: 376128

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:23

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:23
You think not? I & many others would disagree with you Dunco. Graffiti here in Newcastle is pretty bad & it is topic of conversation amongst us locals, & in our local papers, radio & TV.

Apart from being an eyesore, the cost of cleaning up a "little" graffiti is paid for out of either our rates & taxes or added on as an overhead by the many businesses that have to clean this mess up of their premises.

And as to it being a LOW act ? Yes it is without doubt, particularly when we see it on the memorials to those who fought & died for us.
FollowupID: 643505

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:25

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:25
Dunco
for a starter My heading was "Graffiti of the lowest form" and nowhere did I say it is worse than the crimes you mentioned , I stress the first word....Graffiti, and yes it really annoys me to see it on trains and fences etc but as someone else said in NSW the law is to lenient, and when people deface memorials to our fallen that is the lowest act , and when I say "Fallen" that includes our Allies as was Strauss , he was defending Darwin when he lost his life ,

FollowupID: 643512

Reply By: joff1 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:08

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:08
Geez they were quick on the clean up. We drove into Darwin on Wednesday morning and saw none of it.
AnswerID: 376131

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:13

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:13
Yeah. Really fast clean up is the best way to deal with graffiti. It takes all the fun out of putting it up when no one can see it. And I wish we could remove the names some idiots carve/paint into rocks as well.
FollowupID: 643509

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:45

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:45
Pictures of the graffiti are now posted on this web site so perpetrators are getting free world wide coverage. Better than they could have hoped for ,whether they know it or not.

Food for thought....was it worth posting the images in the first place? We all know graffiti is bad. Is advertising another example going to make any difference?

FollowupID: 643516

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:53

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:53
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643517

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:14

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:14
Richard you should really let a few of these "opportunities" go by.

You are letting yourself down.

FollowupID: 643522

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:49

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:49
But the images are shown here in context, with the views of many Australians attached. Likely to do more damage than good to the Artist's cause in my view.
FollowupID: 643527

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:52

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:52
And there is also a picture and detailed story in the NT News(link in original post), both print and web versions, so it is already 'out there'. Are you suggesting they also should not have reported this, Explorer and Richard.
FollowupID: 643528

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:57

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:57
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643530

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:48

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:48

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643545

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:02

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:02
Mfewster, as you say re carving into rocks, same goes for trees. I remember as a kid, up the river in the 70's, it was quite a common thing for people of my parent's generation (I'm 44), including my dad I admit, to do things like that. It was acceptable then but certainly not now. I'm glad things changed. We just need to keep the ball rolling.

My wife busted our kids painting on our back fence behind the garage once. She let them have it big time and they had to clean it off. It taught them a big lesson. They now share our attitudes - Protect and Preserve.

Louie
FollowupID: 643558

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 21:43

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 21:43

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643597

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 21:54

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 21:54

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643598

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:22

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:22

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643603

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:29

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:29
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Off Topic Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643606

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 10:04

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 10:04
“Are you suggesting they also should not have reported this, Explorer and …”

No not really – don’t care either way, just putting the subject up for discussion/thought. I was following on from Mfewster (SA)'s comment that the best way to deal with Graffiti in a public place is to remove it ASAP (very true). I just found it ironic that now the pictures are available on the internet and are getting more coverage than the perpetrators could have ever hoped for. Obviously acts of vandalism must be reported, though there could be an argument for not distributing the actual images in most instances.

In this case, if the graffiti was removed promptly and never reported I reckon the people who did it would be far more peeved off than they would be seeing their handiwork in the paper and on the internet along with the profound comments about how bad they are and how they should be punished. They would be laughing if they read this forum thread (I was last night).

Publicising examples of vandalism may help catch the crims and does obviously help instil a feeling in the community that may flow on and influence the decision making process of some who may contemplate a future crime – so there is also value in reporting it...though not sure pictures of the actaul crime are 100% needed in all cases.

FollowupID: 643636

Follow Up By: tim_c - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 15:21

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 15:21
Good points Greg - exposure and reaction is what the perpetrators are usually looking for. To publish numerous pictures gives the publicity they could only dream of, and incites the emotions of the public in exactly the way it was intended.
FollowupID: 643821

Reply By: Flywest - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:25

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:25
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 376157

Reply By: warfer69 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:39

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:39
White Man Big LIA well its always been a fact never to trust a Politician,I think one survey said they were less trusted than a Used Car Salesman and just ahead of a Salesman selling a remedy oil for baldness..
AnswerID: 376169

Reply By: joff1 - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 10:28

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 10:28
Man, some of you people are sad!
AnswerID: 376274

Follow Up By: Gramps - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:48

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:48
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643671

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:16

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:16

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643675

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:23

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:23
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 643676

Reply By: tim_c - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 15:26

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 15:26
I think it is a very racist and intolerant view that the 'writers' have expressed. You can imagine the public outcry if the word 'white' was replaced with any other colour, yet those same voices are strangely silent when 'white' people are spoken against.
AnswerID: 376424

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 18:25

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 18:25
Is this thread getting smaller by the hour? lol

One thing about graffiti like this is not the statements they are making (however right or wrong) rather that it is unsightly vandalism. Imagine for a minute if it was a hugely supportive and positive statement, albeit done in the same fashion on the memorial........it is still disgusting.

No matter what the point to the writing is, it is just downright a filthy mess.

Whoever you are, pick up your act and write neatly, legibly on a clean, privately owned board....then i will care to listen to your cause. :)

AnswerID: 376445