What is it with 4bys and camper trailers

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:43
ThreadID: 70976 Views:7520 Replies:19 FollowUps:47
Just come back from a 8000k trip into the Territory.

Everyone I struck on the highway and tracks were doing the right thing and not going mad, except for camper trailers in convoy. With only a couple of exceptions, the one's I struck on the back roads and tracks were travelling like there would be no tomorrow. They have no comprehension of the meaning of back off till you pass someone.

4x4's through enough rocks as it is, couple them to a trailer and rocks fly everywhere. I now have dents in the leading edge of the bonnet and above the windsceen you could hide a D9 in.

I wonder what these people get to see when they travel or do they just rush home and tell everyone "Been there done that".

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:50

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:50
Tell me about it!! Last year on the Birdsville, my friend lost a rear side window to some stupid idiots in a convoy of 4WDs with CTs showering rocks galore, Luckily we were not damaged, but heh, where's the common courtesy?
AnswerID: 376171

Follow Up By: tim_c - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:45

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:45
Gone the same way as 'common sense'?!
FollowupID: 643799

Reply By: Member - Au-2 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:56

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 16:56
Maybe some of them should do the trip like a local fella, Rockape. He and his wife did the whole trip around Australia in 14 days in a Statesman. I bet they didn't leave the bitumen once and probably saw as much as the CT convoys, with less damage to other travellers on the way.
Sheila.
AnswerID: 376172

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:32

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:32
Please don't put all people with cts in that boat. We take it pretty easy except when we are in the city then we can't get out quick enough lol. It's not just people with cts either I hate to tell you. Some people think just cause I tow a trailer they can pass me over double lines or on a corner/crest of hill. If I get cars behind me I pull over the first chance I get and let them go, usually I pass them later on cause they usually break something. Biggest problem for most people is they have 2 weeks of for school hols and try to do a million miles. I understand not everyone can take heaps of time of to travel (could if they really wanted lol) but I think a shorter trip would be more enjoyable. As mentioned to many people with "been there done that "syndrom. We did 2 weeks on the gib ( 2 months to short) and met a guy who did it in 3 days, asked what he saw his reply was "nothing to see out there". Slow down see more, enjoy more, arrive more safely.

Josh
AnswerID: 376178

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:45

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:45
Josh,
Thanks for you response....you beat me to it.

It is indeed dangerous to generalise about a group of people. I hate seeing (for example) people saying truckies are a bunch of yobbos who don't have any consideration for other road users.

I'm not denying that the original poster had some hairy moments with a convoy/s of camper trailer-toting yobs.... just like we've all had our share of idiots coming towards us (or overtaking us) on motor bikes, doof doof cars, panel vans, pantechs, etc etc.......

I tow a camper trailer and I like to think I drive in a careful and considerate manner.....

FollowupID: 643555

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:50

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:50
Yes, Josh, please accept that we're not doing the "all CT owners are ..." thing. I for one would like to know if the groups who cause the max problems are (a) clubs or (b) tag-along groups with a leader. Either way, it is the group leaders who have something to answer for. There have been times when the bloke behind the bloke in front of me has something to answer for too!!
So the big complaint isn't about CTs, but about the herd mentality which can sometimes lead sensible people to act like idiots.
FollowupID: 643556

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:27

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:27
What's is it with Troop carriers and V8 motors, Ha Ha
FollowupID: 643582

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:46

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:46
Yes, I would have to reinforce the fact that us camper trailer owners are not any different to other travellers.

Actually, I find the vehicles towing nothing tend to travel faster and don't back off as they approach.

My "convoy" is usually a couple of friends who don't tow anything but have packracks loaded with the porta dunny, fuel contasiners, etc. and tend to keep the speed normal.
In fact I usually tend to "lead the pack" and they just "eat my dust".

Bill.

FollowupID: 643589

Reply By: wicket - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:35

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:35
I've attached one of those flashing yellow lights you see on road crews and whenever I see any dust approaching on it goes as do the hazard warning lights and on occasions I keep the headlights flashing. It does have some effect in slowing them down as I often hear them on the UHF saying to each other to watch out down the track.
AnswerID: 376179

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 08:32

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 08:32
Hey wicket, Imagine if we were allowed to attach a blue flashing light ,I bet they would slow down if they saw that in the distance LOL!!
FollowupID: 643628

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:45

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:45
Funny you mention this. I've noticed it as well in the Flinders and a few years back on the way to Innaminka. It seems that various "types" drive in different ways and another thing I've noticed is that lots of people in 4x4's with "big wheels" seem to drive like yobbos. I'm sure this is a generalisation on my part & I apologise to those that don't, but it's what I've seen a lot of. & chicks driving Range Rovers near schools - downright dangerous.

Louie
AnswerID: 376182

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:52

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:52
I think Rockape, it is something to with having No Idea.
The Australia day long weekend whilst traveling in a group of about a dozen vehicles, and those that were there know what I'm talking about, we were confronted several times over a long weekend by a group that would not slow down at all. Even when the club was identified and letters written to express concern about there behavior, the letters went unanswered.
Some travelers just want to get from point A to point B and cover as much ground as possible and call that having a good time, something else to tell their mates about.
It sours you travels and leaves a bad taste in you mouth, but what can you do?
You'll get these kind of people where ever ya go.
May your next trip be more memorable for the right reasons.

AnswerID: 376183

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:07

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:07
I'll just add?
The club even went as far as to remove that outing from their web site.
They regularly visit that area and this time they never posted their trip pictures or details.
Makes you wonder. Hmm

FollowupID: 643560

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:13

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:13
Jon,

the Missus and I had a great trip with very little hassle at all, saw some top country and the only problem I had was on the binns track south of Old police station waterhole, the horn decided to blow all by it's little old self scareing a mob of wild donkeys in the process. You just gotta love corrigations.

Have a good one
FollowupID: 643561

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:42

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:42
AHAHAH lol
I can picture it, :)

FollowupID: 643564

Follow Up By: viz - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 13:56

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 13:56
This is one the main reasons I wont go in covoys more than 4 cars and have also resigned from a well known club some years ago.

For some reason people seem to grow horns and hairy palms when in a convoy - I prefer to be on my own or in the company of one or two other cars, not more. Two's company, three's a crowd.

But then I have been overtaken at high speed by a local on the Cobar-Louth road in road conditions where it should have been impossible to overtake and in dust conditions that were scary. When quizzed as to why (he joined us at the campfire later that night) - "been driving these roads all my life mate."

Not much more I could say to that...

viz
FollowupID: 643655

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:47

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:47
Gotta agree viz,
"For some reason people seem to grow horns and hairy palms when in a convoy'
Yep, their in their bullet proof shields.

Slow is cool :)

FollowupID: 643679

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:07

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:07
You can get rocks thrown up by any type of vehicle at just about any speed. You wont stop the rocks but this is something I did to protect the car. Toyota 4.2 TD series 100.

I got some 3/8 rod and nipped down to the local 4WD (4WD Offroad at Hume in the ACT with Rithcie) works and in 10 minutes we built a frame the same shape as the bull bar. I then went home and mounted some 12mm square chicken wire on it. No big fancy job as we left for the Kimberley the next day. I also ran some gaff tape around it to protect to cover the sharp wire ends. It was mounted to the bull bar with cable ties and protected the whole front of the bull bar, lights, grill and bonnet front edge.

You should see the dents in it. Best thing we ever did. I am now going to tidy it up and put a proper edge around it. It is also going to be a must have for any trip we do. Six cable ties and its on. A quick snip and its off. Better not make it look too good as it may get nicked.

Just an idea you may consider. I have not seen them in any shop and well worth it. Saved a headlight and lots of dents in the radiator.

Worth thinking about for your next trip.
AnswerID: 376185

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:18

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:18
got a photo we can see???? Sounds like a good idea to me... (:
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 643562

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:41

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:41
Fred

Did you see the photo? I finally got a link to work.

Toyota on Ghan - Rock guard is on bullbar
FollowupID: 643587

Follow Up By: viz - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 13:40

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 13:40
grumble mutter mutter grumble

"This content is currently unavailable
The page you requested cannot be displayed right now. It may be temporarily unavailable, the link you clicked on may have expired, or you may not have permission to view this page."

Link broke.

viz

FollowupID: 643652

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 13:48

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 13:48
Hi Viz

It just worked for me. No worries drop me an email and I will send it to you.

Thats all I can do as I am not a member.

Email: vk1dx@bigpond.net.au

FollowupID: 643654

Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:23

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:23
I only wish I had "Been there and Done that", because that would mean that I have been on the road for quite a few years, and would still have not got out of QLD as the Patrol doesn't get to 100kph with the camper attached, except down hill. I am happy to take my time and look at the scenery and to give other motorists the courtesy they deserve.

Anyway I am not allowed to drive too fast as the better half always wants to take piccies of anything and everything that takes her fancy, and that means that I have to speed up and then slow down, and speed up and slow down, and after the first couple of times I just go slower and take my time. It is also less stressfull as well.

We believe that you should take your time, do less kays and appreciate as much as you can.

AnswerID: 376187

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:27

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:27
This is the best I can do. Thats ours on the top deck at the front. Most of the photos (1000's) we took were of the bush, fish and scenery.

I do have one but as a non member I cannout insert it. Maybe I could send it to you.

My email address if you want it (and yes its a ripper) is: vk1dx@bigpond.net.au

AnswerID: 376189

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:44

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:44
I have made it my profile photo for a while in facebook.

Have a look at my wall photo in facebook at "philip rayner".
FollowupID: 643565

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:53

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:53
Lets try this.
FollowupID: 643567

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:55

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:55
Not getting very far am I. Lets try inserting a link to it.

Link:Toyota on Ghan - Top deck - Shows stone guard.
FollowupID: 643568

Reply By: Flywest - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:58

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:58
Yes, CT owners are de debbil incarnate - no question!

AnswerID: 376194

Reply By: png62 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 19:46

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 19:46
Yet another generalisation, I tow a CT and would have thought if you met me on the road at any time you may be inclined to have posted a "Geez, what a good bloke I met on my last trip, was towing a camper and was the most considerate fella I met on the whole trip" BUT then it really is easy to complain and not do something about it. :)

Next time get on the radio and chat them, if they are in convoy they will be talking to each other, let them know their behaviour is creating damage to other vehicles and is not acceptable. You might find they are just ignorant of the consequences of their actions. As someone stated above, take note of whether or not they are a club or tagalong, if they don't heed your advice,it would then be appropriate to follow up with the local copper, their club or organisation, etc.

These steps may not achieve anything but perhaps you will make a difference to their attitude.

I agree there are a lot of ignorant sods on the roads, you don't need a CT to behave poorly on the roads.
AnswerID: 376206

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:37

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:37
Mate,
it wasn't a generalisation at all, The one's that were the offenders weren't single camper trailers but one's in convoy.

I do use the radio but my darling wife yells at me when I use certain words on it.

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 643585

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 08:28

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 08:28
Hi png62,
In Mark G and my encounter with a group (mentioned in post above), We were the ones towing campers, They run us off the road and then they gave us an ear full of abuse over the uhf when they were thanked for the stone chips and Marks crack windscreen. Not just from the blokes, but the women as well. To this day I believe they didn't recognize their own member voices over the uhf ads where abusing each other, which proves to me what uneducated fools they are.
As I mentioned in my above post, I did contact the club involved, with no reply or acknowledgment of them being there. I did how ever did get a letter from a club member who said he was replying to my letter, not as a member of the club that he has been a member of for so many years, but as someone traveling with them.
As you mention about contacting the local copper, we did that for what ever good it would of done.
If we come across them again I sure will be giving them a wide birth.
Anyway Happy travels guys, :)

FollowupID: 643627

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 08:57

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 08:57
G'day Hairs,

Mate, if you know the name of the 4wd club involved (which you obviously do), I would suggest writing to the state 4wd governing association. Send them a copy of the letter you sent the club and point out you have not had the courtesy of a reply but that the fact that you have had a reply from an individual member indicates they DID get your letter.

If it's similar to SA (I'm not even sure what state the "bad" club was from), then they have to abide by a strick code of conduct . They also pay annual subs for a blanket insurance policy which covers them for inadvertant damage the club may cause when they are on a trip. I've always wondered what sort of damage this could be. I have always imagined it would be for, say, the cost incurred if a club camp-fire got out of control and caused pastoral damage etc. I don't imagine it would cover situations like what you found yourself in. However, the state association "may" be able to force the club involved into responding to your original letter and may be able to provide you with the vehicle rego numbers of those in the convoy. At least this way, you might be able to pass their details on to your insurance company and get the cost of repairs argued-out between the insurers (assuming the repairs required were expensive enough to require a claim to be lodged).

The basic plank that 4WD Clubs are built upon is one of respect for both other road users and the environment. Nobody who is a member of a 4x4 club who reads this, should be happy with what has happened...... ESPECIALLY the aftermath where they hurled abuse over the radio!!! Okay, so most of us (me included) have probably done something silly or inconsiderate when on the road. That's one thing, but to then not accept that you have erred is a bigger error of judgement and it is THAT which is really pizzzing me off about your story.

FollowupID: 643633

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:39

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:39
Hi Roachie,
I've followed up your advice and sent copies of correspondence(or lack of) to the relevant governing bodies about this club and their club members.
In my orginal letter to the club involved, I mentioned that this kind pf behavior it the reason why Land owners and the general motoring public have a presumption about Four wheel drivers.
The actions of a few tarnishes all of us.
That weekend we had an absolute fantastic weekend, we meet some great people, traveled some great trails, but you know? the actions of a hand full of idiots wont spoil it for us.
Many years ago I was a member of a Street Machine Club. You know the kind, hotted up cars, Blowers, Lowered and the likes. Well, we still had that element that didn't want to play by the rules, nothing you could do to stop it. So a group of us left and did our own thing.
I guess it's the same with the 4WD and camping scene. And after talking to a few park operators and some tour operators that have had bad dealings with this mentality form certain groups and individuals, we bring it to the attention of fellow travelers/campers, parks.
Word of mouth is still a powerful tool.
Cheers again Roachie.

FollowupID: 643677

Reply By: Time - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:03

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:03
Could it be Tag-a-Logs that have to stick to a rigid itinerary.

You know, stop take pic, zoom onto next spot eat, take pic, zoom onto next camp, have fire, take pic, zoom onto next spot.

They have to go through their photos when they get home to see what a great trip they didn't have!
AnswerID: 376209

Follow Up By: tim_c - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 14:00

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 14:00
So that's an excuse to fling rocks at others?! I'd suggest their itinerary might be too tight - the reasons you've given are the reasons I would never go with a tag-along tour.
FollowupID: 643802

Reply By: Member - Stuart W (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:05

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:05
I don't know about camper trailers, but I was doing the Mereenie loop two up on a mtorbike some years ago and the worst culprits were the rented Vitaras and Rav 4 s who would overtake and then pull straight back in front of us showering us with rocks and reducing vision to Zero.No idea
AnswerID: 376210

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:58

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:58
Rockape
Totally agree, have been on the road nearly 10 years and people towing Camper Trailers are mainly the ones who don,t know how to slow down on Gravel Roads and show a bit of respect to other road users.
Duke
AnswerID: 376226

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:45

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:45
And don't leave out those towing boats either. We've just completed a run from Karratha in WA, up the NW coast via Gibb River Road, across the top to Cairns via the Savannah Way. Whilst we had our fair share of morons towing CT's passing at break-neck speed, it was a fool towing a boat that was the worst example.

We we a couple of 100 K's west of Cairns on one of those 12' wide bitumen roads that require you to get 2 wheels off the bitumen when a vehicle approaches. The clown towing the boat clearly saw us slow down and move well over a long time before he got to us, but do you think he did the same? No Way! He ploughed past us at a ridiculous speed, boat trailer swaying all over the place and promptly showered us with rocks.

I got on the two-way and thanked him (sarcastically) for showing us the same courtesy that we had showed him and his response was "Get stuffed. If you have a problem with the roads, complain to Anna (Bligh)."

Clearly he had no understanding that the roads aren't the problem, his right foot was. Absolute plonker!

I agree about the CT's but only in the respect that there are just so many of them out there, making the odds of coming across one or more idiots far greater. We had similar episodes with vehicles not towing anything.

The convoy mentallity is real. They will go to extraordinarilly dangerous lengths to pass you if you are unfortunate enough to get between them and the others in their convoy that are ahead of you. Why? It's got me buggered. It's not as though they are going to lose track of each other on roads that go to just one destination....Morons!!!

Russ
FollowupID: 643721

Follow Up By: tim_c - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 14:04

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 14:04
Russ, for that reason, you might consider not diving for the shoulder at the first sight of oncoming traffic. Slow down of course, but leave the pulling over until you need to - pulling over straight away signals to the other driver that the road is theirs and they often won't slow down to thank you (as you've seen). If you slow down but don't pull over immediately, the other driver is usually forced to consider the possibility that THEY might have to pull over a little.
FollowupID: 643806

Reply By: Rod, Sydney - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 10:50

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 10:50
Hi.
I'm disappointed at some of the generalisations in this post - I'm sure there are both individuals and groups that cause some problems, but we have to put up with that in any location and any situation.
We stopped going on any Tagalongs years ago because of the behaviour it forces on you - there is pressure to keep up and make the schedule. It is a reality that they need to force a lot into a small timeframe or they can't sell the trips, and also a reality that the less experienced use their services - that's a bad combination when you come across them. The good thing is that it gets a lot of people started and they can then look after themselves from that point on.
I personally have not found any difference from groups or individuals that have CT's or don't have CT's. There are lots of idiots not towing anything.
Rod, Perth

AnswerID: 376277

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 12:09

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 12:09
Well written Rod couldn't agree more, we just returned from a trip and 2 of our gang recieved cracked windscreens from tray top 4x4's going like hell and not moving over or slowing down.

Cheers Scoof. :-(
FollowupID: 643649

Follow Up By: tim_c - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 14:08

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 14:08
I agree Rod, add to that the mentality of many of the tour operaters (all the ones I've seen so far, but perhaps not ALL tag-along tour operators are the same) who want to give a tough macho image to their novice tag-alongs...
FollowupID: 643807

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 13:18

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 13:18
Id bet me lefty that they were Queenslanders too!
Its common knowledge that ALL Queenslanders drive like that.

AnswerID: 376283

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 14:44

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 14:44
Hairy,
how the hell did you know that.

Word is, all that good country you have in your part of the world was relocated from Qld.

We had a good time in your neck of the woods and never got busted once for my supply "by Territory standards"of Bundy.

Keep the dirty side down and the shiny side up.
FollowupID: 643658

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:03

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:03
Hairy,
forgot to say how I know all your good country is from Qld.

Well I recognised our corrigations you lot stole and we want them back.
FollowupID: 643660

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:30

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:30
While your picking up your corugations, do you want to take back your bloody cane toads and Queenslanders too?

FollowupID: 643665

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:49

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:49
No they were a gift to you, and we wouldn't want to be known as Indian givers
FollowupID: 643667

Reply By: joff1 - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 14:37

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 14:37
You do realise that, while the car approaching lifts the rock, it's actually your speed that smashes your window or dings your paint, right?

AnswerID: 376284

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:00

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:00
You must be right cause I slow to less than 40kph and I must have been doing 41 kph.

Have done a windscreen while I was stationary, maybe I should have been backing up.

FollowupID: 643659

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:07

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:07
Yeh, that'd be right!!!! hahaha.

Next time i see a road train coming towards me at 80 klicks, I might stop, get out and stand beside the road to wave to the driver. Because I'm not moving I will be 100% safe from being hit by a rock AND DYING... hahahaha
FollowupID: 643661

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:41

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 15:41
Roachie!!!!! you have it sussed, when you wave that shows you are a friendly and the driver will stop his rocks from hitting you, you sneaky devil you. I am gunna take your approach from now on. Good on ya.

I will be canvassing the minister of main tracks tomorrow and see if I can get them to use soft rocks so I don't have to wave.

FollowupID: 643666

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:26

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:26
lol...stoping on the highway and waving to a road-train wont keep his rocks off you, more the opposite....lol...
FollowupID: 643668

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:40

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:40
Yes it will, you just gotta wave the right way
FollowupID: 643670

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:55

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:55
AND hold your tongue out the left side of ya gob at just the right angle.... Mind you, it might take a bit of practice before you work out the correct way to wave AND the correct tongue-outaging to perfect it....so maybe you should wear a motor bike skid lid the 1st few times.... LOL
FollowupID: 643672

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:04

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 17:04
Bugger you Roachie,
I did what you said and bit the end of my tongue off, you didn't allow for the Qld factor
FollowupID: 643673

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 21:01

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 21:01
"AND hold your tongue out the left side of ya gob at just the right angle"

OMG, you'd be rich...lol....
FollowupID: 643713

Follow Up By: joff1 - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:34

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:34
It really is no wonder this place has such a bad name these days.. haha

Did yus think maybe people speed up when they see the ExploreOz sticker on the windscreen ??
FollowupID: 643720

Reply By: Member - Jinki & Harry - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:20

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:20
Hi Rockape

We agree.

Funny thing, we were travelling south on the Oodnadatta Track last Tuesday morning between William Creek and Maree - passed many 4WD's with & without CT's heading north - most doing the right thing, i.e. going slowly when passing, however one creep was going so fast and obviously had his tyres too high, and yes you've guessed it - a broken windscreen. This is the first in 4 years, when every year on the road previously for 5 years, had a broken windscreen.

Count ourselves lucky as nothing else happened in 11,700 kms in 6 weeks mainly in north west WA! And no, didn't sit on the white line around oz - just drove to Broome via Nullarbor and north of Kalgoorlie to Broome. Took a cruise boat to Darwin, flew back to Broome collected 4WD and returned quite leisurely to south west Victoria.

Jinki & Harry

Jinki & Harry enjoying !!!!!

AnswerID: 376294

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:31

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 16:31
Good on ya for tripping round this wonderful country and sorry to hear you had a broken screen. We will never stop this but with a bit of consideration from others, it will be reduced. MAYBE.

Do it easy and look after yourselves

FollowupID: 643669

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:47

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:47
"obviously had his tyres too high" I'm intrigued Jinki how you could tell considering he was travelling so fast. Personally I have trouble picking if a tyre has 25 or 40 PSI in it when coming towards me at 80kph in a shower of dust ;-)
Cheers Craig........
FollowupID: 643722

Follow Up By: Member - Jinki & Harry - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 15:50

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 15:50
Hi Craig

The higher the tyre pressure supposedly the higher the stones fly - however, Harry, the MOTH, is convinced the tyres were at least 40 plus.

My late father, died in the early '60's, and before present 4WD's appeared - spent his life around semi's and buses, always said tyre pressures too high, stones will fly! I do agree though speed is most likely the biggest contributor.

Jinki

Jinki & Harry enjoying !!!!!

FollowupID: 644086

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:32

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:32
Land Rover Defender and Camper Trailer owner living in a small town on the Savannah Highway between Cairns and Broome!

Camper Trailer owners
Caravan owners
4wd owners single and in convoy.
I've seen it all up here in the last year so much so that I feel like selling up and buying a Tank.

You can't put the blame on any single group as there are good and bad across all sections.

But I swear the next Grey Nomad towing a caravan who refuses to pull over on a single lane will get the Anti Tank missile!!!

cheers Eric
AnswerID: 376331

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:53

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:53
I volunteer to be the Grey Nomad towing the caravan. Your anti-tank missile will simply bouce off my Kedron.....evil laugh.....hahahahahaha.....

Russ
FollowupID: 643723

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:54

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 22:54
To be fair on the Grey Nomads Eric they couldn't possibly know you were behind them as they are most likely both deaf & blind not to mention NEVER LOOK IN THEIR MIRRORS!
Cheers Craig :-)
FollowupID: 643724

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 23:24

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 23:24
Seriously, I've stopped being nice to vehicles stuck behind us on single-lane roads for the very reason that this thread was created....if you do move over, slow down and let cars pass, they reward you by showering your vehicle with rocks as they blurt past. I'd rather make them wait!

Russ.
FollowupID: 643727

Follow Up By: Pomgonewalkabout - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 07:30

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 07:30
Sorry I should have been clearer. I meant Grey Nomads / Vehicles coming towards me. The rule is on these narrow strips of excuses for roads that each vehicle pulls over half on the road half on the dirt, but not all do. 4wds's in convoys tend not to slow down either.

When I first saw the standards of these roads I couldn't believe it. They are barely the width of a 4WD yet they allow roads trains from the mine to drive on them.

cheers Eric
FollowupID: 643739