Where can you go in a normal 2wd car!?
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:34
jarz85
Hi, figured I'd throw a slightly different question out there. Where's some good out of the way spots you can go in a regular car? My car is a 2005 Commodore in very good condition so dirt roads etc are fine, just not 4wd tracks
Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:37
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:37
Open question - open answer - wherever you want to? Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: jarz85 - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:39
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:39
Ok, where can you go in a 2wd car WITHOUT breaking it in half :P
Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:43
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:43
Yes I agree, practically anywhere except of course for the Simpson,
Gibb River Road and others with very rocky and unstable surfaces and requiring high vehicle clearance. Let common sense prevail - if you can manage it. Get out there and just enjoy it.
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:20
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:20
Gibb River Road !! Traversable in a Mini I believe.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:31
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:31
The GRR is not a problem if you take it sensibly, I don't have 4WD and have been down the GRR 4 times towing my CT in the last 8 or so years, in some
places you can be doing 90 kph with-out hassles when the road has been recently graded.
The Penticost River is the only major
water crossing, you can ask it's depth at either end before you leave the tar, then go via the highway if it's too high.
In the 'winter' it should be low anyway, as all my trips were in the later half of the year I can only comment on that time period.
Maîneÿ . . .
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:06
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:06
We just went on the GRR and you could do it in any 2WD.
I would hesitate at taking anything younger than 20 years onto the
Mitchell Plateau though. The new cars are rubbish.
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:17
Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:17
We were on the GRR in 2007 and there were some backpackers travelling along there in an early model Magna wagon. That is, until we found them stopped on the exit of the Durack... we pulled the dizzy cover off and
water poured out! A wipe with a rag and a squirt of WD-40 got them going again though!
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:47
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:47
jarz85,
There was a new holden ute right at
the tip of Aust when we were up there. No damage done at all. When we did the
gibb river rd we got passed by a commodore. If you are careful there are alot of
places you can go if you pick the right time. Where are you might help with some areas or are you planning to travel oz?
Josh
Follow Up By: jarz85 - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:53
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:53
I'm in
Adelaide,
places you can just go on the weekend would be good. Me and the gf are planning on driving to the
Gold Coast and
Sydney just after christmas so some nice spots on the way there would be cool
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:14
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:14
I'm not sure about to many
places close to aAdelaide for a weekend trip but some
places worth exploring (with 2wd) if you get the chance are ;
Port lincoln nation
park has some great spots to
camp and a few great spots along the cost heading there. Maybe more than a weekend trip but worth the trip. The area up towards
Woomera and
Roxby Downs is amazing. There are some amazing drives over towards
Renmark. There are books around that give weekend trips close to major cities showing road conditions/surfaces, distances and attractions to see. How a look in newsagents ect. Look in the
shop on here, these are for 4wding but there is the same for 2wd available.
Josh
Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:25
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:25
Adelaides ideal for getting away for daytrips down tracks in a 2wd
- theres no where to GO 4wding anyway
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:21
Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:21
The
Flinders Ranges should be fine. You might get up to
Arkaroola but wouldn't be able to do any of the 'tracks' in the area.
If you took it carefully and were sufficiently prepared,
Innamincka might even be within reach - the guy at
Innamincka Auto used to drive (don't know if he still does) a Commodore ute regularly between
Innamincka and the Moomba oil/gas fields.
It all depends how careful you are, and if you are willing to turn back if it's getting too rough.
Reply By: Madfisher - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:55
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 18:55
maybe with a bit of a lift, and a lsd you would be surprised.
Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:08
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:08
This is really an odd question!!
First, there are three sorts of 2WD cars: the one you buy and love; the one your boss issues to you; and the one you hire. The one you hire goes 200kph in under 6 seconds, corners like a formula one racer, and cover
Adelaide to
Melbourne in 5 hours. But it is not good on dirt, because of the insurance and the excess and other things. The car you boss issues to you is fantastic: 200kph in under 6 seconds, corners like a formula one racer, and cover
Adelaide to
Melbourne in 5 hours. It also manages the
Oodnadatta with ease, laughs at
water crossings up to half a metre; handles forest tracks like Mount Crawford even in the wet.
The 2 WD you buy is another case, unless you are VERY rich.
But to answer your question, roads vary from week to week, from season to season, and whether you can handle them has more to do with your experience and your bank balance, plus the specs of your vehicle than anything else.
We can also mention that your mechanical ability, your stock of spares and tools, and whether you are ready for a long wait all come into effect.
Have fun
Reply By: toyotabits - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:13
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:13
G'day, in 1995 I bought a 1976 Falcon wagon (72 - 78) from
Brisbane went to to the
Birdsville races - enjoyed that much, continued down the
Birdsville track to
Adelaide wineries, home through
Broken Hill, back home in 9 days! sooo enjoyable, 5 punctures (std ground clearance) I carried spare tubes & 1 case, now the
Birdsville track is a super highway compared with then! Please remember that conditions change dramatically after rain & other elements - dont be frightened, have a go, have
hf radio or satphone, pick a particular busy time, ie
Birdsville races or peak winter, there are a lot of adventurers out there with you
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:36
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:36
Just need 3 things:
Clearance, clearance, clearance
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 09:31
Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 09:31
Agree as
well as a real good think about
suspension and tyres. Got passed by a Camry wagon loaded with household possessions and a queen size mattress on the roof. Heading to
Sydney! "The map said it was a highway".
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:37
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:37
Hi jarz85,
We use to travel most forestry roads around Northern NSW in our 86 VL commodore wagon with sports
suspension a few years ago. The trick was to know what your car could and couldn't do. Never put ourselves in a situation that put us in danger.
As others have mentioned, ground clearance is an issue and a LSD is a big help.
Be sensible about it and you could take your Dunny door anywhere, :)
Be prepared, and don't take risks.
You'll have a blast.
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:52
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:52
Gidday jarz. There's a few good publications put out by the SA Tourist Commission. One of them is SA Shorts. Otherwise,
places like the northern section of the
border track,
rock holes, etc. Or Innes National
Park, all around
Yorke Peninsula, and lots of scenic drives in the Murray Mallee area. There's a nice drive along the river from
Mannum to
Morgan, up to Waikerie, Loxton, through Mindarie,
Karoonda,
Murray Bridge & back to the city. In fact, there's heaps of
places to go. Maree and back down to Parachilna, to
Blinman,
Wirrealpa,
Yunta, etc. is another good trip.
Flinders Ranges National Park is another.
That should keep you busy for a week or so. When I feel like a quick drive I go out the back roads around Harrogate, Rocklea, Tungkillo & Bondlea. There's always a road I've never been down. Get bloody lost some times. Hooray for the GPS!
Louie
Follow Up By: jarz85 - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:19
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:19
Thanks for all the replies, will check it out and post some piccies of the commy in action lol
Reply By: happytravelers - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:15
Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:15
Many many years ago the wife and I had an old 72 model Kombi. The ground clearance was better than most modern 4wd's and with tyre pressures to suit there wasn't many
places we didn't try to venture. Mind you it was lacking in the horse power dept. So hills sometimes proved challenging, but great memories.
Jon
Reply By: bgreeni - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 00:27
Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 00:27
In the 60's, when there were not to many sealed roads in the northern half of the continent, I drove Holden utes where ever I wanted to go, including the Top End of the territory, and all round the Kimberly. Lived in
Kununurra, and the main dam construction
camp and drove to
Perth - sealed road started near
Carnarvon.
The answer to your question is - almost anywhere,
Reply By: Travelling Pixie - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 04:46
Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 04:46
Follow 95% of the 4WD's and you probably won't even get dirty tyres.
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 18:12
Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 18:12
Cheers Pixie, that made my afternoon :)
Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 07:00
Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 07:00
I like these answers , like anywhere.
Yesterday , stuck on side of wet dirt track churning the
wheels with both diif locks engaged I was going nowhere and then the winch rope broke !
So remember you always need the means to get more traction for those unexpected situations beyond just letting your tyres down seriously.
In your 2wd , carry chains and snatch strap and check you know where it van be attached.
These are relatively low cost and will make you feel more confident , where ever you do go!
Reply By: Ozboc - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 08:52
Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 08:52
Mc Donalds , Coles , Sizzlers - are just a few :)
In the dry -- any
well groomed roads - if it rains i would only stick to tar roads.
Boc
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 18:05
Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 18:05
jarz85
Not so many years ago ALL cars were 2wd and 4wd was rare, the owners travelled all over Australia, BUT very carefully. In fact I remember reading about a US rep visiting a client out in the Simpson in a Falcon Stn Wagon. A couple of years ago a convoy of VW kombi's (Not Syncros 4wd) doing the Simpson but they had a support crew back up (showed wisdom).
Modern cars are no where near as tough as the cars built 20+ years ago.
It all boils down to how long do you want to keep the Holden after doing such a trip. A 4WD is not just higher off the ground, it is also built tougher so as to survive such treatment, given the right maintainance.
JMHO, Colin.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 18:47
Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 18:47
Hi jarz,
You've heard a lot of theory, now for a practical answer.
There's a road that runs between Port Macquarie and Pt Plommer on the NSW mid North Coast.
The road is right behind the coastal
sand dunes.
I've done it in a Commodore station wagon with my ex-wife.
Hmm, might be something in that for me?
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:29
Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:29
You stopped looking for a 4WD? Or just can't wait until then to do a trip?
Follow Up By: jarz85 - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 20:03
Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 20:03
Am still definitely looking for a 4wd, only thing I'm not sure of is if I should get one for around the $15k mark or wait another year when I'd have a bit over $20k.
Still, cant do anything for a couple of weeks until the back bumper gets painted (an 84 year old lady reversed out of a
carpark straight into the back of my parked car, only chipped the paint but yeah GRR).
I'm still debating whether to go for a patrol or a jackaroo, probably wont go for an 80 series now and I think jackaroo would be top of my list. Any advice on auto vs manual? (Not going to be towing)
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 20:34
Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 20:34
Well, you could look around and see what you can get with the $$$ you've got now. If you're not happy with that, hold on until you've got a bit more but remember your Commodore probably loses a bit more each year that you wait too! especially if you're filling it with dust and rattles by clocking up 100's of km on dirt/gravel roads :) If you're seriously thinking of buying a Jack, you should be able to get something pretty decent for $15k - then you don't have to worry so much about going off-road in the Commodore.
Sorry to hear about the bumper, these things happen :( Even if it's not your fault and the other person coughs up, it's still inconvenient having to get repairs done.
Auto vs manual I think comes down to personal preference. Before I got my Jack, I went 4x4ing with a friend/colleague who had an auto Jack and I personally didn't like the vague feeling (I like the more direct feeling manual) and I like to be a bit more involved in the driving too (ie. changing gears etc.!). Madfisher reckons his wife's auto uses an extra 1-2L/100km over his manual (maybe his Mrs just has lead feet?!)
Follow Up By: jarz85 - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 18:59
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 18:59
Yea stupid cars, guess what happened today - I was on my way to the car repair place and stopped to get some fuel, some old lady, must have been pushing 90 reversed straight into the side of my car. I was FUMING but what can u do i didnt want to give her a heart attack. Took $100 from her and went on my way, turns out it costs an extra $300 to get fixed from the repairers. Thats cool at least it will all be sorted out.
Got
home and was in my work car abuot to head off and guess what, it wouldnt engage reverse and the only gear you could drive the car in was neutral! Turns out the clutch is stuck (in an automatic commodore omega) hmm.
Anyhoo back to the 4wd, I think I will wait a month or so and see whats happening then - will try and sell the commy and then look for a 4wd. Might become a proper member on here so when I do find a 4wd I like i might be able to get some nice SA member to have a look over for me :)
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:17
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:17
Just quickly (I'm about to duck off somewhere) -
check the level of the transmission fluid in the Commodore (at work). Usually if the gears won't engage it's because there isn't enough fluid in the transmission, but sometimes it can be something more expensive/serious than that!
Reply By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 16:30
Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 16:30
In the late 80's I worked on a tour that took in the
Oodnadatta, Strzelecki and
Birdsville Tracks as
well as through
Cordillo Downs and the Bollards
Lagoon Road. Also some private station tracks down to Wilandra NP. Punters drove everything from a Volvo
sedan, Laser Hatch to a VW Passat Wagon. They all made it with just a couple of flats. The Passat didn't have much shock absorption going on by the end of it. Saw it not long after for sale in the trading post. Buyer beware. As long as these tracks stayed dry and the drivers were very cautious they had no problems.