ExplorOz Forum becoming unusable

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:37
ThreadID: 71230 Views:4521 Replies:18 FollowUps:37
At times my computer becomes unusable when I'm displaying the EO forum home page - I've tracked it down to IE8 (8.0.6001.18702) hogging all CPU time - up to 80%.

This ONLY is a problem with EO Forum - with other websites up the CPU usage for IE is closer to 10%.

To check CPU usage click Ctrl Alt and Del simultaneously, click on Processes, and then click the CPU heading twice.

Another symptom is when I go over the monthly allowance and I'm controlled back to dialup speed - there's no point trying to view the EO Forum - I can wait for hours and it NEVER displays more than the EO banner across the top of the page. I don't have this problem with any other website - websites with lots of photos download slowly - but they ALL work - EO Forum doesn't.

EO is also the only website where I frequently get "server unavailable" or simialr error messages - I very rarely have this problem with other websites.

Is anyone else having such problems.

Reply By: wallabyjack5 - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:51

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:51
yes regularly,very annoying
AnswerID: 377634

Follow Up By: Bushtrek - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:19

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:19
Tha latest version of IE8 is 8.0.6001.18803.

While updating the version may not make any significant difference, IE is resource intensive in any case and machines with bus speeds below 400mHz and/or RAM below 2 GB may struggle with script intensive websites.

I run IE8 and /or Firefox ver3.5 with 4GB RAM and an 800mHz BUS [the processor is an Intel Core2 extreme 2.8 GHz]and this can be noticeably slower when on Exploroz, but I certainly would not call it slow, so more powerful machines will handle the load OK.

Just some perspective from a faster machine.

FollowupID: 645049

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:13

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:13
The solution to Mike's problem was a Flash player update - if you are still having issues please update your flash player.
DM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 645168

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:53

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:53
No problem here. Firefox and XP..
AnswerID: 377635

Follow Up By: a convict - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 13:19

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 13:19
..Ditto !!

..the "issue" is definitely elsewhere, trust me (too) .
FollowupID: 645025

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:49

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:49
What he said.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 645052

Follow Up By: age - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 18:14

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 18:14
Google Chrome or Firefox on Vista 4Gb Ram, ADSL2+ - lightning fast always

FollowupID: 645071

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:52

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:52
No probs here. Windows XP and IE8.
Duke
FollowupID: 645085

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:35

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:35
Ditto
FollowupID: 645096

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:11

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:11
No problems with speed or resources, Firefox & XP.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 645103

Reply By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:54

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:54
"Another symptom is when I go over the monthly allowance and I'm controlled back to dialup speed - there's no point trying to view the EO.."

Yep - same here - not neccessarily a bad thing - tend to do more work then:)

AnswerID: 377637

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:55

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:55
PS - I use Firefox so its not IE thing.

FollowupID: 645022

Reply By: marq - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:59

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 12:59
Maybe a:
- antivirus issue
- java script issue

Download and run:
- ccleaner (dot com) (clean up temp files and reg)
- firefox (faster than IE8) and "Adblock Plus" + "NoScript" add-ons from mozilla (dot org)

Exploroz use a lot of scripts and image/flash items.
AnswerID: 377638

Follow Up By: marq - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 13:06

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 13:06
CCleaner options to select

FollowupID: 645023

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 13:23

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 13:23
No script will break most of the site functions so run this at your own risk. The mapping system will stop, shop will not operate, Member tools such as MM will fail etc etc. So understand what No script will do before you turn it on.

DM

FollowupID: 645026

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 13:20

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 13:20
Mike,

In the office we have 6 computers running 2 or 3 browser versions each almost all day and always using ExplorOz.com - mine in particular using IE 7 and FF 3 (Vista 64) - Michelle uses IE8 and FF (on a 4 year old slower powered computer) (XP) so we have the IE versions covered and we never close the browser down unless we reboot the systems. My current IE session has been running for 2 days now and there is no 100% CPU issue in fact right now typing this entry 4 % is the max I can see and the RAM usage is less than 100MB. My firefox session is running at 410MB as I have been running debuggers on the places system for the last few hours so this is to be expected however still only max 5% while typing this response.

So I wonder what you issue may be - try a flash update as there have been a number of errors in earlier versions of the flash player. Other than this what security product are you using? Try disabling it for a period and see what happens and/or make sure you whitelist www.exploroz.com.

I have NO on-going reports of crashes or performance issues at all since about 8 weeks ago when I made significant changes to the back end code to move the mapping systems to another machine. If we can help we will try however I suspect your issue may be isolated and has certainly not been reported to me by any other site users.

As for the performance when you are slowed - have a read of this blog entry it is not just for ExplorOz.com however all Internet connections running on slowed services - Optimising Shaped Connections - let me know if this works for you? I am working on a caching update that may help a bit and will be installed in the next day or so however I expect this will make little difference - but you never know.

DM

AnswerID: 377643

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:00

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:00

I get errors or warring boxes saying that tis site is running script do you what to close or stop it (in a round about way) next time I will do a window grab)).
If i choose yes all the boxes like home forum are gone and my system frees up.

XP Ie8

FollowupID: 645045

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 17:10

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 17:10

A while ago I used to get the warning message that the page was running a script that may slow down IE performance, but not in the last month.

FollowupID: 645064

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 17:16

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 17:16

Thanks for the detailed recommendations.

I don't have a problem with the other forums and webites i use so I don't see it as a PC issue.

I've disabled AVG Free 8 and it's made no improvement.

I'll update the flash player.

I'll try the shaped connection fix next time I get my connection speed cut back, but again ALL other websites I access work - just more slowly. I can access YouTube - the videos just download more slowly.

FollowupID: 645065

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 18:01

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 18:01
when the kids ran over the 12 gig limit i could never download large emails...gave telstra a hard time over it...their server always disconnected me cos it was taking too long to download....
explained to them our contract...ie i get slowed when i go over 12 gig...nothing in our contact that i cant download...and no mr telstra i dont want to get the emails via web mail......i use the service for my business and i dont want to lose any business....so fix it or else mr telstra
and guess what they did.... now have 25gig for price of 12gig...and bugga me last school holidays almost got slowed again.....dunno what i was going to do if it was
FollowupID: 645069

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:29

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:29
David the site is running really well with me.

IE8, XP Pro - SP3 and a 1500/256kbps ADSL connection via NetGear Wireless Router with 4 machines running on the wireless network at anyone time.
My laptop is fully Windows, and Flash Player updated and running Trend Micro for its Anti Virus software.

CPU usage when running EO on its own rarely exceed 10 percent.

I also don't have any issue with most other sites I use.

FollowupID: 645080

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:34

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:34
Mike DID

That's it I cont'd have put it in better words if I tried

FollowupID: 645095

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 00:20

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 00:20

Just tried the site out in Windows 7 on a VM and is working fine it is a clean install at the moment I will add some programs and then run some test.

I will report in any errors l receive direct

ps.. spell check worked
FollowupID: 645138

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 14:08

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 14:08
Using XP v2002-SP3 with Firefox 3.0.8 on the Asus notebook, the site runs like a beauty for me. The only time I get any snags is when there has been a one-off 'event' such as last week with the blog-bog.
AnswerID: 377645

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 14:35

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 14:35
Yes me too Mike. I tried to load some photos on my profile last night but gave up.
AnswerID: 377649

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 14:39

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 14:39
Just checked my cpu and only gets up to 32% when running mouse over page but mostly hovers around 10%.
FollowupID: 645037

Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 14:52

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 14:52
May be a Qld thing, I get similar problems with xp - ie8, if we can't fix the water, how we gunna fix the net.

AnswerID: 377652

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:23

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:23
We have the same problem. I wanted to get on EO the other night about 11pm, and gave up in the end. I was in a hurry and wanted to show Geoff something, did a heap of swearing and banging the mouse, and in the end gave up muttering I dont why we paid to become members when you cant even open the dam site. Doesn't happen a lot, mostly when I want to show someone something. I get over it after a day or so, and come back to read the forum. We are running IE & FF 3.5, and neither of them would open the site.
Karen
AnswerID: 377655

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:04

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:04
Karen,

Looks like this issue may be related to the flash player version - try updating this to the latest version and see how it goes.

DM

FollowupID: 645101

Reply By:- Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:51

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 15:51
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 377657

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 16:12

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 16:12
Don't have any dramas here
Running XP Pro, service Pack 3, 1.60 gigahertz AMD Sempron, 512 MB RAM
FF, About 3 years old.

Process Explorer
Or
RootRepeal

Wouldn't hurt to run Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

Hope these are of some help to windows users.

AnswerID: 377658

Reply By: rocco2010 - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 16:29

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 16:29
Gidday

I am a bit of a computer dunce and have had major issues with IE three times in the last month, usually after automatic updates. These have involved lengthy phone calls to Microsoft support. Yes, you can ring them and they are helpful if it is their software.

After two succesful fixes the third drew a blank and I decided it might be a good time to try Firefox.

Strangely after downloading Firefox IE started to work! Maybe Big Brother (aka Microsoft) was watching!

I am using both browsers as a bit of a trial but have already found that some sites, notably EO forum and the Real Estate Institute of WA site, work faster in Firefox. It has taken a bit of fiddling to get it how I like it but it has been worthwhile.

Maybe it will work better for you, the download is free and doesnt take long.

Rocco
AnswerID: 377659

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 16:44

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 16:44
Mike , yes we have exactly the same problem. It used to be more frequent when using IE. But not as often now with firefox, but is very frustrating as it is the ONLY website we have a probem with, and i have about 72 saved into my favs list.
I thought it just might be because of all the info loaded onto EO , that it takes sooo much time to load up the page each time. Anyway for now ,I just keep on persevering.

cheers unc
AnswerID: 377661

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:13

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:13
Uncle,

Seems that the fix to the Mike DID problem (see below) was to update the Flash player - it would be worth you doing this and see how you go.
DM

FollowupID: 645166

Reply By: Member - steveinoz (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 17:35

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 17:35
Has anyone used "Readyboost " It evidently speeds up your computer. All you need is an equivalent memory stick to your Ram this is supposed to be an easy fix to expand Ram. Any thoughts Steve..

AnswerID: 377666

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:41

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:41
just a heads up , incase you didn't know ---windows xp is not the be all to end all in regards to reliability - over the year ( or years ) you install and uninstall a lot of things - some files get left behind in the registry ..... these files are what slows your computer down - you can try clean your computer with various progs out there -- but eventually you have to just do a complete format and reinstall

i do this at least once every 1 - 2 years --- found the computer runs excellent afterwords are everything is " Fresh " again

so its not this site - its your computer

Boc
AnswerID: 377682

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:48

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:48
I agree with you Boc, about refreshing your PC with a complete format, but contemplating what's involved is daunting.

I reckon it would take about a week to do the job properly.

It makes my head spin just thinking about it.

FollowupID: 645084

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:52

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:52
Just installed Windows 7 RC1

Going great on my older test laptop with 1.5Ghz processor, 512Mb RAM and 40Gb HDD.

Never went to Vista so all my PC's have probably been going 4-5 years on XP Pro without a refresh. Remarkable what a difference a Clean Install makes.

Will be doing the Windows 7 upgrade after October. Runs quite well apart from some isues with the video card in this laptop which in typical Sony style is a "special" chipset made just for them.

EO going quite well on it so far. I use Google Chrome as browser - so much quicker than IE.

Muddy
FollowupID: 645086

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:53

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:53
yes it is a big job -- for me its usually a half day project ---

i now just use my C drive for ONLY windows stuff like programs and such -- i have 1 TB external Hd that gets used for ALL files that need to be saved -- the other 2 hard drives ( 100 gig each ) are just used for various stuff like video editing and such

if i have a nasty virus - it will mainly attack c drive and leave the other drives alone - makes a complete reinstall easier and less painful in the even of a catastrophic failure

Boc
FollowupID: 645088

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:03

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:03
You DON'T have to do that. All you need to do is repair installation, then re-apply any patches that may be required from Windows update. A repair installation basically re-installs windows without needing to re-load apps or data.

MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A CURRENT BACKUP before you start!!

Good idea before you start to make a slipstreamed XP disk with all the service packs and patches. Saves a lot of time.

If you have a decent Anti Virus product (and use Firefox) you should never get a "nasty virus" in the first place.
FollowupID: 645150

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:09

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:09
Didnt say you "HAVE TO " do it - im saying its the better option - just adding more and more crap does not fix the problem --- its like painting a house -- first time painted it looks good -- second time you paint -- you can see its been repainted -- 3 - 4 5th time , it just does not look as good any more ( with just adding paint on top and not removing old paint completely)

for the record - i have been around computers for about 20 years now -- My partner is also a programmer who has worked for the Major banks and other agencies such as ATO where her role is to rewrite - and fault find major systems( not sure on her exact role as its pretty full on) , even she would suggest the same. putting a bandaid on the prob only works for a certain time

Boc
FollowupID: 645151

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:20

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:20
Just trying to point out that a complete refresh can be done without the need to reformat and reload. The process is the same as what you would need to do if doing a major upgrade like replacing a mobo. The repair install re-installs all the windows drivers etc without needing to start from scratch. As a periodic refresh it's a far easier solution than a reload.

My home PC has been running for about 4 yrs with the initial install, no probs. Just recentely did an upgrade and a repair install. Still running fine.

I agree XP ain't perfect but it's not far from it. I never advise a system reload unless someone has completely screwed up the registry or something similar.

And seeing as you mentioned it-- I've been around computers since the early 80s' and am currently a sysadmin.
FollowupID: 645153

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:57

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 19:57
it's not often that I have a problem gaining access to EO, but when I do, I just give up and come back later. A bit of a pain, I admit. Didn't realise others were having the same problem. And No, it's not happening on other sites that I can see. I figured it was just to do with routing to the EO site that's getting choked somewhere.

However, I have noticed, that it usually happens after a windows update. I am running Vista and IE7. Talked to a couple of local IT guys who won't even touch IE8, yet! So go figure.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 377687

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:02

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:02
Mike & Others,

Just loaded a css caching tool and setup caching on heaps of images and cleaned up some other stuff so see if this makes any difference. We do not see it playing up in the office so it is hard to find a solution as most users do not have any problems like these. Anyway see what happens now.

DM

AnswerID: 377689

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:19

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:19
Thanks David

I've upgraded to the latest Flash Player.

An hour ago it was up to 99% and it took a couple of minutes for the computer to respond when I clicked on the X to shut down IE.

Now CPU usage is averaging around 10% with peaks when the Ads are updated to 50%.

It certainly won't hang the computer if it stays like this.
FollowupID: 645091

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:02

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:02
Sounds like it may have been the flash player - it has been a problem on so many occasions - hope this solves it for you and hopefully we can let the others know to get a flash player upgrade to solve the problems.

Let us know how you get on.
DM

FollowupID: 645099

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:30

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:30
When I go to a new thread or make a post, it jumps up to 70% for half a minute or so, but then drops back to less than 3%.

A stunning improvement !

Thanks for the fast reponse will help.
FollowupID: 645110

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:32

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:32
. . . and that's with 7 Tabs open in IE - often I have more open with no problems, until a recently.
FollowupID: 645111

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 07:06

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 07:06
I've left it running overnight with EO Forum being one of 7 tabs.

Once it had updated, the average CPU time is 1%.

The only thing noteworthy was the Green Bar showed at the bottom for about a minute while waiting for the update to start.

I declare my problem totally solved.

Thankyou for your wonderful responsiveness David.
FollowupID: 645145

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:44

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:44
I generally run IE6 because I like it. Tried IE7 and IE8 and deleted them.
I don't experience any problems apart from the occasional Server error message which is not related to any specific brower applications.

I also have Firefox 3.5.1 which I use from time to time but IE6 is still my preferred browser.

I do experience problems with my email via Bigpond each month when I receive the monthly newsletter. For some reason Bigpond does a hissy fit when I attempt to transfer my emails to MS Outlook. After logging into my Bigpond Webmail account and deleting the newsletter, other outstanding emails are downloaded to Outlook without problems.

I put it down to some formatting problem between the Exploroz Newsletter email and Bigpond. I never received this problem with my previous ISP.

I have worked out a workaround and just live with it.

Bill.

AnswerID: 377697

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:07

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:07
Your email problems sounds like an issue with your firewall product. are you by chance using CA Internet Security?
DM

FollowupID: 645102

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 07:30

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 07:30
Yes David,

Use CA Internet Security Suite.

Bill.

FollowupID: 645147

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:11

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:11
I have seen this problem a number of times on clients systems that run the CA product. I usually give up and turn the firewall off and revert to the inbuilt windows firewall which does the same job without errors in email download. I have not had the time to fully nut out the problem however it appears to be a timing issue with HTML emails and the firewall product. So I do know about this problem and it is with the CA product and not the EO email it is just a coincidence that the email triggers some bug in the CA product. I have seen the lock up happen with other emails on clients systems.

Sorry I do not have a fully and easy to implement solution to this one - if I get some time and a machine that is failing to play with again I will write something up.
DM

FollowupID: 645165

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 18:39

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 18:39
David,

Thanks for the heads up.

Interestingly, when I downloaded outstanding emails to MS Outlook this time around, I received two.

Your most recent reply and Newsletter 187 without incurring the normal error message.

Seems as though it doesn't occur every time.

My normal workaround is to access my Webmail via the Internet and delete the "offending" newsletter email, then view the newsletter from the Exploroz Homepage.

Bill.

FollowupID: 645214