Life with a TD5 Land Rover

Submitted: Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:22
ThreadID: 71321 Views:9064 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
Toying with the idea of buying a low mileage TD5 engined Defender.

Would any of this forum's readers who have used or are currently using this engine care to give a few short words on their experience.

Adequate power/torque for intended use? Towing light camper trailer.
Reliability/ease of service ?
Economy ? Would you recommend? Good / bad experiences, etc.
Any owners achieved more than, say, 300 - 400,000ks with this engine?

Only really interested in those who have experience with this engine.

Your comments would be great to read.

True Blue.

Reply By: Member - Bytemrk(VIC) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:37

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:37
G'day True Blue,

I have a TD5 Discovery, mine has only done around 120,000 so far with no drama at all.

It has a modified ecu.. so more torque and power than a standard TD5 - and I couldn't be happier, more power than my V8 Discovery had while achieving constant 11lt /100km around town.

I'd suggest you pop in to AULRO - you will get heaps of real world feedback from TD5 Defender owners - both the good and the bad..

If looked after properly - by someone with good Land rover knowledge - they are a terrific engine.

Early ones had a few issues you would want to avoid - the earliest had plastic head dowels - which in itself is not an issue - but if the motor gets over heated - more likely to have drama. Also a batch of early ones had an issue with Oil pump bolts - not being locktited in factory!

Anyway, I am sure others will pitch in - bottom line is I regularly tow a Tambo Cooper with mine - and I do not regret purchasing it at all.

Cheers, Mark

AnswerID: 378093

Follow Up By: True Blue - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:03

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:03
Thanks heaps Mark for taking the time to reply in just the fashion I was looking for.

Just a query from your reply. "If looked after by someone with good LR knowledge..." In your opinion are they an expensive engine to service?

What has an average service cost you in the past ?

My son is a qualified mechanic and services all makes & models but has little to no experience with Land Rovers. He has serviced my fourbys in the past for next to nothing but if the Defender requires specialist servicing what can I expect the costs to be?

Thanks again for your reply.

True Blue.
FollowupID: 645433

Follow Up By: Member - Bytemrk(VIC) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:35

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:35
I wouldn't say they are particularly expensive to service, that said like any newer electronically controlled Diesel - they are not cheap to rebuild if you have a drama.

The reason I said Land Rover experienced - was more that unlike most Jap 4x4's ( which IMHO can generally take lack of maintenance better ) they need to be serviced correctly. And Land Rovers have - for want of a better work "personality". Plenty of mechanics hate them - and take shortcuts.

It seems people either love Land Rovers or hate them... I'm sure you will get a few of the more negative here too.

As long as you son takes the time to ensure all the maintenance is being done correctly - I cant see a problem. Electronic diagnostics could be the only issue. One simple solution to that is a device called a Nanocom.

Anyway - take a look around AULRO - far more knowledgeable guys there than me. And you will find, while they are all Landy nuts - they will give the facts - warts and all.

Good Luck with it..

FollowupID: 645438

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:25

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:25
My TD5 has just had a full service [incl. auto box filter, oil and gasket]. $840.00.
That was air, two oil filters - spin and ordinary, high pressure fuel, synthetic oil, labour etc. I also had the temperature sensor replaced and a few other minor bits.
It is normal to have a 1/2 service done every 10,000km. Cost from memory, $250 to $280.

Tony
The rig

AnswerID: 378098

Follow Up By: True Blue - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 00:00

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 00:00
Thank you Tony.

Those service costs are certainly reasonable, not prohibitive at all.

True Blue.

FollowupID: 645441

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 15:54

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 15:54
What state are you in?
The rig

FollowupID: 645483

Follow Up By: True Blue - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 16:14

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 16:14
Melbourne. Tony
FollowupID: 645487

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 18:08

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 18:08
Melbourne is in VICTORIA Tony, in case you were wondering

FollowupID: 645788

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 13:03

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 13:03
True Blue,

have a look on here: http://www.aulro.com/afvb/aulro-general-forums/

as others have suggested or direct to the technical forum: http://www.aulro.com/afvb/technical-chatter/index2.html

Unless you're still under warranty, not many LR owners have their bus serviced at LR but go to one of the many LR specialists/enthusiasts around. There is a healthy aftermarket for parts and accessories too. Shouldn't be any more expensive than any Jap brand as long as you avoid the LR dealerships in my experience. I've owned a few and still do but not the new-fangled super-computerised variety. Still, you should certainly get 300,000/400,000 out of the motor as long as it's maintained.

If you're anywhere near Sydney I can recommend a few places to service etc. or better still, this should cover it:

http://www.aulro.com/afvb/australia-wide-internet-based/?daysprune=30

good luck and enjoy your Rover.
AnswerID: 378132

Follow Up By: True Blue - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 16:41

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 16:41
Thanks for your reply Steve.

Lots of good advice. Living in Melbourne.

True Blue.
FollowupID: 645493

Reply By: AlanTH - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 13:22

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 13:22
Hi True Blue.
I bought a new Td5 Defender in 2003 and sold it 4 years later with 66K done over all sorts of terrain.
I did all my own intermediate oil changes at 10K and had the main stealer do the 20K service just once and never again, as all they did was the engine oil and change heaps for it.
After that the next couple were done by after market specialists at reasonable cost.
No major mechanical problems apart from fuel regulator which was fixed under warranty.
Reason for selling? No back up outside the metro area in WA resulting in a return on the back of a truck to Perth from Newman when the the throttle potentiometer packed in.
By the way, that little exercise took well over 2 weeks to get it to Perth due to the disinterest displayed by the trucking company, and I believe LR/RACWA eventually had to do a special hire to get it back!!! Nice holiday that turned out to be.
That situation is now worse as even more agencies/dealers have been eliminated by LR!
Overall a good vehicle but until LR improve their back up, no more of their vehicles for me or my son who has also reluctantly gone over to the '"darkside".
Good luck.
Alan.

AnswerID: 378133

Follow Up By: True Blue - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 16:56

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 16:56
Thanks Alan.

Sorry to hear of the problem you experienced with your Defender which prompted you to sell it.

That's the scarey part isn't it? Perhaps out in the middle of nowhere, vehicle breaks down. Bad enough in any situation but even worse if your out of warranty.
We all know that any vehicle can break down. That's the nature of the beast.
But when it does occur it's what follows that makes or breaks brand reputations.
The parts/service backup in a country as big as this is paramount I think.

I would love a Defender but your experience is the very thing that worries me most. I'm ignorant here, I don't know whether a "throttle potentiometer" is mechanical or electrical but in either case how can you prepare by way of a pre trip service to cover this part breaking down ?.

Anyway, thanks again for your reply and sincerely hope that all is well in your future travels.

True Blue.
FollowupID: 645500

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 12:38

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 12:38
It's electrical True Blue and sends the signal to the computer as to how much fuel is required according to how hard your pressing on the pedal.
There's nothing can be done to ensure it's going to keep doing it's job correctly and it has to be put on the Testbook to show that it is that which is malfunctioning not something else.
Cost around 400 bucks with labour to replace and as we were in our 4th year of ownership and had taken out the LR extended recovery warranty, LR actually reimbursed us some $600 towards out of pocket expences!
It happened in Newman which is a sizable town in bush terms but the nearest service could at that time only be got in Karratha, over 500klms away!
LR/RACWA didn't quibble about recovering the Defender plus camper to Perth and I'm glad we chose that option as we would have been stranded in Karratha waiting for bloody weeks for it to turn up.
Thank goodness it didn't happen out in the bush somewhere as regardless of fancy diagnostic tools it would have been an even worse problem.
I was really disappointed (and so was the Cook) at having to get rid of it but neither of us trusted it after that.
We've gone the Tojo way although I did contemplate a D3 but would have the same problem and so has our son (new LC200) as I said, as back-up has to be better as there are many thousand of them all over the place.
Good luck with whatever decision you make.
Alan.
FollowupID: 645613

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 10:23

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 10:23
G'day Gents.

I worked at the Land Rover Dealer at Alice Springs for 6 months last year. During that time many Land Rover vehicles were booked in for repairs. Considering that these vehicles had been doing extreme 4WDing crossing the Simmo, Tanami, etc the problems were remarkably minor.

The TD5 engine, in my opinion is almost indestructible. The key is to follow Land Rover's servicing guidlines. Land Rover recommend shorter service intervals if driving in arduous conditions. It is amazing how many owners ignore this. I was the Service Clerk and did the jobcard for every job that went through the workshop and it is my belief that 90% of the problems with TD5 vehicles (Defenders and Discos) were due to inadequate or incorrect servicing in the past.

The number of vehicles presented with blown cooling system hoses was amazing. Not because the hoses were a manufacturing problem, but because they were old! Almost every owner insisted that the vehicle had been to their service agent before they left on their trip and that they had asked for everything to be checked. Well if they were checked then those service guys didn't have a clue. I might add that in almost every case like the above, the service agent was a so-called Land Rover "expert", not a dealer.

Generally speaking, Land Rover parts are quite cheap. There is no excuse for not changing old hoses, especially if undertaking a desert crossing.

AlanTH's problem with the Throttle Positioning Indicator did not occur during my time at the Dealer. We did change a few Fuel Pressure regulators but these were invariably on the earlier vehicles. I don't recall a case of a Fuel Pressure Reg ever bringing a car to a halt.

Just as an aside, our mechanics knew and talked to the mechanics at the Toyota Dealer just down the road. Those boys were under the pump doing repairs to Tojos that had various problems brought about by desert crossings etc. I don't think any make of 4WD is a stand-out, more reliable, vehicle in arduous conditions.

Defenders are as tough as all-getout and because of this people are inclined to ask a lot of them, perhaps more than other marques. The key is to try and buy one that has not been negelected, have it inspected and repaired by a professional and then have the servicing done as appropriate to what the vehicle has been doing.

I no longer work at that dealer, only because of my itchy feet problem, but I am already lining up for the new Disco 4 due to the excellent run I've had with my Disco 3. We call ours the "Toyota Recovery Vehicle".

It's like everything in life. When buying something you have to be able to filter the BS from the good info and then make your own mind up.

Russ.

PS. I'm not implying that AlanTH's info was BS by the way. I'me refering to the hearsay you get from people who've never owned a particular make of vehicle but have heard from a mate of a mate that this or that goes wrong.
FollowupID: 646004

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 11:29

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 11:29
Good reply Russ and I agree with what you say about the Td5 engine and Defenders generally.
I actually love the beasts it's only the lack of decent back-up that worries me, although I have said that LR/RACWA did their best to get us back including the camper, but were let down by the slack attitude of the hauliers.
Mine was exceptionally well looked after, I purchased it new and it wanted for nothing in the way of service but after having only the engine oil/filter changed at 40K by the stealer and no other plug even moved to check levels, I went to an after market lot and although not cheap they did a good job. In between engine oil changes by them I did it myself at 10K intervals.
I still check out the AULRO site and am still a member of LROCWA, but then at least half the members there have "foreign" vehicles anyway!
Glad to hear the D3 has served you well, I nearly bought D3Jons (AULRO Member) when he was selling but then thought about the angst the Defender breakdown caused the Cook and I, and regrettabley decided against.
By the way, my elder bro who lives in Switzerland had around a dozen top of the range RRs over about 20 years and him and the wife enjoyed them immensley, but say that their Lexus Hybrid thing has been so far superior in reliability they will never go back to a LR product.
Good luck for the future and enjoy the D4.
Alan.
FollowupID: 646011

Reply By: wendys - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 15:28

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 15:28
Re towing - should be fine. We tow offroad van with the earlier 96 Tdi. Have towed over 100,000km with it. Avoid service by Landrover dealers - expensive. On forum, ask owners to recommend landrover specialists in your area.
AnswerID: 378147

Follow Up By: True Blue - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 17:00

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 17:00
Thanks Wendy.

I'm green with envy. The places you must have been and the stories to tell must be fantastic after towing your off road van over 100,000ks in this country.

Thank you for your advice re: local landy specialists.

Just an aside to the main topic, where briefly have you travelled with your 96 Tdi?

True Blue.

FollowupID: 645502

Follow Up By: wendys - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 12:03

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 12:03
Pretty well all over. Has done Cape; Gulf area - a lot; Kimberley 3 times, including Mitchell Plateau and Kalumburu; Bungles; Simpson; Finke; Birdsville, Oodnadatta tracks; all over Tas. Haven't done CSR and it might be getting a bit long in tooth for that now. We got it new and is up to 280,000km now. Just found really good specialist LR mechanic in Townsville, QLD, courtesy of needing new Brake vaccuumm pump and booster unit, on this current trip.
FollowupID: 645751

Reply By: True Blue - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 15:36

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 15:36
Just a quick thank you to you all who took the time to respond to my thread.

Was glad to hear the positive comments from most and was sorry to hear of Alan's problems which understandably would turn you off.

Still toying with the idea of buying one. Funny isn't it? I feel as though if I don't own one at some stage of my travels I will always regret it. If only you could make sure that b@#$%^d murphy had been left home but what is meant to be will be. I am the superstitious sort of bugger, Alan, who thinks that perhaps the delay that your breakdown caused was for a reason. No fault of yours, of course, just that fate wanted you in location"A" and not "B".
And fate doesn't care what is or isn't convenient. It just happens.

I am going to check out a few Defenders a bit closer and will definitely take a couple for a test drive, just to see if we 'click'.

Anyways thanks heaps and the best of luck to you all in your future travels.

Wayne (True Blue)

AnswerID: 378254

Follow Up By: Member - Terry W (ACT) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 09:26

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 09:26
We have a V8 Disco 2, and while I can't comment on the TD5 engine, I can comment on the rest of the vehicle. It is quite simply the best touring vehicle I have ever used or owned. We tow a 2.5 tonne + dirt road van which it handles with ease. We have found ours to be reliable, but it does need very good knowledgeable maintenance and you do need to replace electronic items like MAF or ABS sensors far too often. For driving pleasure the Japanese vehicles can't compete. But the advantages of Toyota's dealer network and availability of spares are something with which LandRover can't compete. I can't see me ever parting with my Disco.
Terry
FollowupID: 646002

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 16:04

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 16:04
Hi Wayne (True Blue)

We purchased a new TD5 Defender 110 in 2001 and did around 130,000 in it over about 4 years. It was always serviced by a Land Rover specialist rather than a Land Rover dealer. We had some minor issues that seemed to be more associated with earlier TD5 engines, but nothing that bothered us particularly or failed in the ‘field’.

These days we have gone ‘back to the future’ with a non-computerised TDi300 (130 Twin Cab) & TDi200 (110 Wagon). Our decision was based on a desire to have a vehicle(s) that was not reliant on a computer to run the vehicle systems. I notice an earlier post about an issue with a throttle control; something we experienced also. Fortunately for us we were not on tour.

Our decision to ‘go back to the future’ was less related to Land Rovers, but more a concern that any vehicle reliant on these systems could be rendered inoperative at an in-opportune time. And while most are proved and tested, there remains that risk.

Our experience is that Land Rovers are very capable vehicles, robust, lots of space, but require that you know potential problems and address ahead of time.

When we bought the Defender 130 we stripped the vehicle down completely and rebuilt, and this has given us a very capable travelling platform. The TDi300 is something you could also consider as an alternative to the TD5 if you are concerned about ‘computers’ driving the systems.

We are also in the process of ‘decking’ out the 110 for long range travel….Land Rovers….you’ve got to love them!

Cheers and good luck……..
AnswerID: 378380