Current Holland Track conditions

G'day everyone. We are currently on holidays in Wa sitting here in walpole and contemplating taking this track to Coolgardie rather than the bitumen. Has anyone recently travelled along it and what is its condition? We are travelling alone but are well setup to do this towing a camper. i should add we intend to start from the southern end at Hyden.

Wa is a great spot to travel and explore.

Regards dave

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 23:30

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 23:30
G'Day Dave,

Try member Lionel(WA). He got rather stuck out there a few months ago and had to be rescued. I am pretty sure it will be a lot drier now than when he was out there.

Matt

AnswerID: 378917

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 01:09

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 01:09
Naa that was a bit further out
FollowupID: 646312

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 02:00

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 02:00
South Dunns Track.

Site Link
FollowupID: 646314

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 08:14

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 08:14
Giday Matt,

Yup, t'was in the swamps down the Dunns.

Hows your wanderings going mate ?

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 646325

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 12:05

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 12:05
Sorry Madcow,

Lionel was on the Dunns as pointed out. We went to do the Holland in September last year though it was closed. Give the hyden general store a call or the servo and they will let you know whats going on.

Hi Lionel,

Great mate, up at Carnarvon at the moment. Have met up with EO member Brigzzy (Craig and Dale from Busselleton). We camped out at Quobba station and caught up with them. We are meeting them in Newman in a week and heading out to do the 5 southern most wells of the canning then out to the carnarvon ranges. Looking foward to that. Hope all is well with yourself and Paula. I rekon you should try that motor and alternator. I am throwing a few ideas around myself.

Matt and Danica

FollowupID: 646347

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 08:35

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 08:35
Dave,

Good trip but I havent been out that way for a couple of years.
As with most tracks, add water and and you have a battle on your hands.

If you dont get any current info try ringing the roadhouse at Hyden, they are generally up to speed on track conditions. Dont have their ph no but their the only one in Hyden.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 378938

Reply By: madcow - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:55

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:55
We are dropping into Hyden to see Wave rock and i guess they are getting a lot of rain there as we are in Albany. the weather predictions are saying rain over that area over the next week or so. No matter if we take the bitumen or not. thanks for the response. May have to save it for another holiday.
AnswerID: 379047