In car Computing Set Up

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 16:27
ThreadID: 71526 Views:5197 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
Quite some time ago now (maybe a year or two) I saw a set up in the 4wd mags that was a pack consisting of a touch screen, 12v power supply and a bag that hung over the back of a car seat to hold a computer. The arrangement just required a lap top computer to be added to the fray and you were ready to go with in car computing.

I can' remember what it was called or who sold it and searches have failed to turn it up. I'm wondering if anyone here knows what I am talking about or even better still, has one of these and can provide some feedback on it?

Rob G

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 17:56

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 17:56
Rob,

Not exactly what you are looking for but this is my setup. Has about 40,000KM on outback trips running continuously without any dramas.

AnswerID: 379128

Follow Up By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:10

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:10
Thanks Richard, that's a great looking set up. I'm actually chasing a set up where I have a touch screen (maybe 10-12") preferably mounted on the dash, and computer behind seat or elsewhere but easy enough to get at. Something I can leave the wiring in place and just remove the screen and computer when not in use would be great.

FollowupID: 646525

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 10:02

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 10:02
If you are really into off-road and may possibly have to go through deep water don't put the computer on the floor.

Check out a comment by a lady near the camera when a car got stuck in a creek on a training run by our club.

Link: Water crossing training trip

Just in case; Here is the URL on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaK5cNyRy0

Have a listen at 1 minute 46 seconds.

This is an excellent reason why NOT to put it on the floor in the back. We removed all extra seats and the additional HF radio stuff (and computer if we want one) goes on it right behind and level with the console between the front seats.

Just something to keep in mind.

FollowupID: 646558

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 18:14

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 18:14
Hi Richard & Robert, Excuse my ignorance, but what is the purpose of such a set up? I am not being a smart ass, just curious as to what purpose you use it for. Thanks & cheers
AnswerID: 379129

Follow Up By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:20

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:20
Thats no worries Barry. My purpose for this (and many others as well) is for in car navigation in off-road situations. I have a Hema Navigator and its a great thing but I really desire a big screen so I can see more of my surroundings and see further ahead to assist navigation in off road situations. Its really good to be able to see a long way ahead at a reasonable zoom level to give good detail on the topographical maps. I find that many tracks get closed or realigned since the last maps were done and it doesn't take long to get a long way off track with a small screen when zoomed in tight to get the detail you need for navigating. Its also easier to plan routes and journeys on a computer using map software such as ozi-explorer and just get going rather than dicking around with the not so friendly interface between my laptop software and the hema navigator (can't directly communicate with each other for route and track transfer).

I'm guessing many others use this set up for the same or similar reasons.

Rob G
FollowupID: 646527

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:34

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:34
As said and also
- records where you have been.
- makes reccy's easier as you don't have to write stuff down as you have all the co-ords.
- makes trip reports easier as with photos you can reconstruct the journey.
- with a few bits extra allows people to track your journey.

The recent Cape York trip imported into Google Earth:
FollowupID: 646530

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:03

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:03
Rob
Build your own is the way to go.

I have just such a set up as you describe.

12" Touch Screen mounted centre of dash and I got a canvas bag made to take my laptop which is strapped behind the passenger seat.
Lappy is powered via Kerio power adaptor and the screen runs off a 12 volt outlet obviously tapped of the auxiliary batteries.

Screen cost about $400- the canvas bag was made by Klaus and Lyn at In front Camping and was only about $30- and obviously whatever you spend on the laptop needs to be considered. (plus your mapping software)

A few cables and fittings maybe another $100- and its done.

To easy and much better than mounting the whole laptop on a stand which is how I used to do it.

AnswerID: 379133

Follow Up By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:23

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:23
yes, that's what I'm after. There was a complete kit being marketed by someone, but I think it was more expensive than that. It sounds good.
FollowupID: 646528

Reply By: Sludgie - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:35

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:35
Gidday Robert,
I have one or the units your are talking about. It has a 8 inch touch screen, a bracket to bolt to the floor and the bag and all the cables and software needed. I run a eec 7 inch laptop solely for oziexplorer on this screen and have no complaints with the package. The company is Aussievan Products and as far as I know they are still in the Kewdale/ Welshpool area. If you have any questions just mmessage me.

Sludgie
AnswerID: 379134

Follow Up By: Member - Darren & Janella (WA) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 20:23

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 20:23
I was looking at this set up too. I enquired about it at the last Caravan & Camping Show and they informed me that they don't make or sell them anymore unfortunately.

Darren
Bungle Bungle - The Kimberley

FollowupID: 646602

Follow Up By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:21

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:21
Thanks Sludgie,
I have sent them an enquiry, just waiting for a response now.
FollowupID: 648063

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:44

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:44
Rob
I have not seen what you mentioned but it's quite easy to set up yourself. I run a small Dell which can sit in the front seat cover pocket. Cables run from there to an 8" touch screen mounted on the dash. I do not bother with the touch screen anymore as I found it too difficult to use with Oziexplorer due to the rather small menu commands and found it much easier to use a wireless mouse. The screen was off ebay for $150, plus I had to buy an monitor extension cable.

AnswerID: 379135

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 20:02

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 20:02
Why use a laptop under or behind the seat ?
you need to start it and shut it down
you cannot get to the keyboard unless you use an external USB one
horrible mounting options and always in the way ...

this is the way to go
http://cgi.ebay.com/Mini-ITX-Carputer-W-D945GCLF2-M2-ATX-2G-RAM-160Gb_W0QQitemZ200364861817QQcmdZViewItemQQptZDesktop_PCs?hash=item2ea6ad2979&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

with a 10" swivel mount LCD and a wireless USB keyboard with integrated mouse.

I have 2 of these in my truck, one with a 10" screen and one with a 7" tucked away. The first one I use for MP3 directly into my head unit, Navigation (OziExplorer, Autopilot and UBD maps with Oziexplorer, it also runs web connection via Telstra NextG wireless and with remote desktop I can get the screen of the second one onto the first one also if I wish. With the internet connection I run my email, my share market watch and having our business database available. The 10" screen is also used with two AV inputs for various camera applications including bed cameras when I reverse under my slide-on and a wireless roof camera on top of the slide-on when it gets tight. Rear view
camera and one for the towbar are also included. With a laptop you have a hard time combining such applications especially when you need AV inputs from several sources. The second PC is used for video surveillance. The cameras I have connected also function as surveillance cameras (with a couple of extra ones). My car alarm has a warning level and when dark will switch on peripheral lighting when armed that the cameras get a real good image.
I am just in the process of setting up a link of the capture PC to my blackberry via the telstra modem that I can watch the images from the surveillance system.

Just a few applications for those who ask ...

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 379137

Follow Up By: sharkcaver - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 12:14

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 12:14
just curious GMD, do these have an operating system installed or do you need to purchase that on top of the carputer?

Shane.
FollowupID: 646563

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 22:35

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 22:35
they are bare bone systems. you add a hard drive and whatever software you need. Windows XP is cheap these days on ebay.

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 646627

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 21:52

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 21:52
Thanks GMD, I have looked into these and they are not my preference at all. I would rather take the lap top inside and do my trip planning and music library updates at my leisure and then plug it in when I need it. I really only want it in the car for navigating. I can get access to older laptaps for next to nothing after they have been replaced at work so its also a cost effective option for me. I wouldn't mount one under a seat, but in a seatback pocket is unobtrusive and no problems. As I only want it for navigating, the inconvenience of turning it on and off isn't really that much of a drama to me. I'm not keen on using a keyboard for navigation at all so touchscreen and a mouse pointer is what I'd be looking for.
AnswerID: 379258

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 11:42

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 11:42
one uses keyboards on top of touch screen.
a bit hard to enter passwords on the touchscreen, although possible
each to his own..

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 646672

Reply By: KennyBWilson - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 18:23

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 18:23
Why not just use a cheap $250 7" Chinese GPSr and have OziCe running.
AnswerID: 379365

Reply By: Member - Bernie (WA) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 22:24

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 22:24
Gday Rob

The thread you are after is ThreadID: 71059

Bernie
AnswerID: 379391

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:11

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:11
Thanks Bernie for the thread mate, and thanks GMB for the keyboard explanation too, makes sense now.

and tanks to everyone once again for the info, thats one of the the great things I like about this forum.
AnswerID: 380675

Follow Up By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:12

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:12
Doh!!!! Sorry, I meant thanks GMD.
FollowupID: 648061

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:28

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:28
Thanks for the information contained in this thread. It is very interesting.

A question, please: back in the good old days, when Adam was a lad and I was merely middle aged, computer hard drives were a tad vulnerable to shock, and the safe rule was only use while stationary.
With more durable drives, and increasing use of solid state memory, things have changed a bit. But have they changed enough to allow real time navigation on dirt roads (corrugations, occasional wash ways etc.?
I'll be very interested in any comments
AnswerID: 380676

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 15:31

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 15:31
In answer to your question I have an Aldi special netbook which is an MSI Wind and have it in a vertical postion on my cargo barrier.
We play our music from it to our car stereo.

Have had it going in Karajini and up Mt Nameless ,up the Cape Peron Track and it goes Ok and is still going as I tripe on it .

Adam had an APPLE which was decidely dodgy and may have affected his hard drive but going on the population of the world maybe not

FollowupID: 648116

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 16:26

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 16:26
Tendpounder - absolutely they can. David and I have our laptop running all the time when travelling - no matter where we go. It's done Gunbarrel Hwy, Tanami, Kimberley, Pilbara, Canning Stock Route, Simpson Desert, Tasmania, Vic High Country, etc you name it. Never had any disk problems etc. We did have a problem one night at a campsite however with an older machine when it got very cold in the vehicle overnight then we brought it inside a cabin with an open fire and ruined the screen, so extreme temperate is the only thing that we've had any personal issue with. We have switched over to using smaller devices/screens but still prefer the larger screen of the laptop when doing a serious mapping survey. David built our laptop stand as many others do, but I am the navigator, he is the driver so ours is setup for me to use, not he. Most I've seen on here do build their own to customise to suit their vehicles/navigator needs. Best of luck!
MM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 648120

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 17:12

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 17:12
Thanks for the feedback. It's funny, but I have just discovered that there's room for a laptop in the front of the Prado ...
FollowupID: 648125