Maybe Off Topic but has traffic on EO slowed up?
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:09
Member - barry F (NSW)
Maybe my imagination but it seems to me that the number of posts & responses has slowed up heaps? As of about 10 minutes ago, there were a total of six new posts since 11.48 AM this morning & at that time they had only attracted 19 replies & 11 follow ups & a total of 873
views.
I am a bit of a fence sitter & technically challenged (dumb) so have never been able to contribute much, but it just seems that once upon a time if you logged on 6 or 8 hours after having last had a browse a whole heap of interesting info was here for all to see.
Is it just my imagination? Anybody care to comment? Or should I get back in my kennel? Cheers
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:17
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:17
Yes, happened last year too.
They are all off triping, and left us here to keep it going :o(
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:21
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:21
Site Stats still look good for the month to date.
Look here
Site Stats PageForum posts may be a little slow as lots off travelling.
Reply By: Cruiser .- Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:21
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:21
Barry,
At the risk of being moderated, I think a lot of the old timers who were prolific posters have backed right off since the moderation has tightened.
Cruiser
Follow Up By: oldpop - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:35
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:35
Barry
Be careful you will get zapped buythe
forum police
OLdpop
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:22
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:22
Spot on they've done it to them selves, I spend more time now on a another
forum.
Found a whole new world.
Sure they had to clean it up a bit but I did not know they were going as far as they had.
It's a shame, this once was a good site.
Look at how many regulars don't come on here now, it seems to be a place for people to posting once only and ask a stupid question....
Still check in on here now and again but I have lost that must check EO urge.
Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 02:51
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 02:51
Not Gunna mention the reasons but Yep Barry you are on the money mate.
I now and have always frequented 2 other forums, and surprise surprise, there sites have increased in postings. Doesn’t take Einstein to figure it out.
Personally I think it’s a shame.
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:58
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:58
Hey Blaze,
They would'nt be the sort of sites you close real quick when you hear the missus coming down the passage....lol.
Then a night or two later...." OOOOHHHH !!! where did you learn that"...hehehe.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 11:37
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 11:37
Thn a night or two later Huh. I would have forgotton by then anyway myself. LOL And she doesnt mind me looking at those Gopher resale sites anyway . LOL
Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:20
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:20
So what are the other sites you guys (olcoolone & Blaze) visit?
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 16:32
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 16:32
I would love to tell you but the post will get pulled, there must be a rule for doing that....if not then they can make another new on up and add it to the other 657.
I better not say anything else!
Do a Google search for 4x4
forum and you will find.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:59
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:59
Its the offtopic stuff that has mostly slowed down, and the flow of traffic ebbs and flows.
Theres been some dummy spits and leavers but overall its still a busy place I reckon
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:23
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:23
arry,
In less than 40 days it will be a hell of a lot slower again.
Hope YOU make it to
St George for the Gathering hahaha
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:24
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:24
Where did the B go in Barry??
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:52
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:52
Get your finger out of you no what & put it on the "B" on the keyboard & all will be Ok. Hoo Roo
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:37
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:37
Thought I should reply so you don't feel like no one is replying to you, LOL.
Josh
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:51
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:51
Barry,
It's travel season in the great outback and if I hadn't already used all my holidays for the year I'd be still out there as
well. Everyone's away having a good time. Same occurs every year.
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:09
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:09
Thanks everyone for your thoughts, travel season makes a lot of sense, so it is good to be reassured that EO is alive & healthy. I spend a fair bit of time having a poke about on the site & enjoy the input from many people with a wide range of experience that make this site unique & enjoyable plus the many things you learn from what others have done & where they have been.
The other benefit is, in my opinion, you sort of get to know the regular contributors, & I now think of them as "my friends in a box" which was explained to me by Willem, & I now understand his wisdom. Thanks & cheers
Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 23:07
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 23:07
yes, I left last week for a trip North, got just north of
Perth and came down with some severe tummy bug that put me in Swan Hospital, they sent me back
home for two weeks Grrr.
The Midland caravan
park is pretty full, it's near the great Northern Highway, a stopping place for the travellers going North.
Maîneÿ . . .
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:45
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:45
Hi Mainey,
had occasion to visit the Midland Caravan
Park couple of months ago.
Seen tins of sardines with more space than some had there.
May as
well set up
camp in the middle of
Hay St mall on a Thursday afternoon...lol.
Not my cup of tea.
Cheers......Lionel.
Reply By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:11
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:11
Hi Barry, as per other replies I am travelling, sitting at
Adelaide River CP , had dinner showered and with beer to hand now checking emails and more importantly this
forum.
Got one of these $149 USB dongles that works anywhere Next G is and have been able to
check everything out every couple of days. Do not always log in but always
check whats saying.
Rob Mac
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:43
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:43
Isn't that where Doug T is at. Have a look around for him.
Follow Up By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:48
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:48
Hi Fred, I visited the War
Cemetery this morning and then headed to
Darwin so hope to catch up with him Sun or Mon to say hello on my way back down the track.
Rob Mac
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:15
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:15
Hi Barry,
Yep were away to. Sitting in
Newman at the moment, with EO member Briggzy(WA) Craig and Dale, and we had a visit from EO member Bundy Boy(Darren) today. Heading off on Friday to do the
Carnarvon Range and the first few wells of the CSR. We will be out for a week or so. But yes it does seem quiet.
Have a good one
Matt
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:34
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:34
You'll enjoy
Carnarvon Range Matt, an unspolit paradise.
Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 02:54
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 02:54
I agree guys about more out travelling but as a few of you have proved that doesn't stop people connecting to the
forum. This isn't 1909 LOL
Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 10:26
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 10:26
Thanks Alan,
Looking forward to it. The girls are doing the shopping today, were sorting out the cars. We have planned 7-10 days
Newman to
Newman, do you think this will be enough time?
Matt
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:31
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:31
Hey there Matt.
Tell Dale to double up on the eggs, Craig has a habit of losing them in the
camp fire.
Cheers......Lionel.
Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 18:38
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 18:38
Will do Lionel,
Hope yourself and Paula are keeping
well. We will be back in
Perth for some of October. Should organise a trip or something?
Matt
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:50
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:50
Barry,
As mentioned by the others - it is travel season and this time of year traffic does slow a little. Interesting however after your post we had 8 new threads within the subsequent 1 hour. Also you must remember we now have the
blogs system running
well and a number of new entries were also made today - these would have in previous years gone in the
forum. So having the
blogs ensures that threads stay on page one a little longer at most times.
In fact our member numbers and registered user numbers are increasing at a good rate and we are currently at a record numbers for both members and visitors.
Have a good one.
DM
Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:59
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 00:59
In addition to all the above - people like me who aren't away traveling (sadly) - have found themselves a "project or two" to get stuck into, in the shed out of the rain, so don't do as much replying or posting new threads, as I might otherwise do.
Its just the season / weather etc.
Whats this "other forum" of which we here so much?
Is it somewhere I've already been banned from?
If not it might be handy to know when I do get banned from here.
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:19
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:19
Try www.4WDAustralia.com.au :)
Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 14:45
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 14:45
Thanks, that was really useful :)
Follow Up By: Welldone WA - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:06
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:06
Timbo, you sly dog, I got sucked in . I suppose the smiley :) should have alerted me that something was up!
Welldone
Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 14:52
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 14:52
I agree with David, everyone's on the road and in
DARWIN !
The average age of the
population has gone from 40 to 70 :)
Early build up here I think, starting to get sticky already.
PS. anyone wanting to fly somewhere in OZ for next to nothing, get on the Jetstar site and book before midnight. Hey, I can even go to Singapore for $99 taxes included.
Regards Lyndon