WHO YA GONA CALL WHEN YOU HAVE GAS PROBLEMS?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:20
ThreadID: 71626 Views:4028 Replies:5 FollowUps:11
The other night I was checking the Caravan before we go away for the weekend, I opened the Gas Bottle Valve to check the Hot Water System, all OK so I turned off the Gas Bottle Valve to burn of the gas in the lines as you should do, OOPS gas not off, So I tried the valve again, still wouldn't close off the gas, now part of this story is that the bottles were Exchange Bottles, so I decide rather than stuff around with the faulty bottle I'll ring their 24hr hotline to see if they would assist,
*I told the lady who answered, what the problem was,
*Ladies reply, take gas bottle to service station where you swapped it,
*Me, I can't it will leak gas every where,
*Lady again, ok take whole Caravan to service station and get them to fix it there,
*Me, Nah thats not a good idea, it's illegal to tow a caravan with the gas turned on, any way the Console Chic won't know what to do with it.
*Me, any chance that I could speak to your Supervisor,
*Lady, give me your phone number and address and we will call you back shortly,
Yes you guessed it, nobody called back,
So being a plumber I found a Gas Thread Plug, and I capped it off,
Next day I sent a Email to their Head Office, and got a reply saying we apologise for your inconvenience and will deliver a new bottle asap, and will instruct staff on the correct procedure.

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:29

Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:29
Daza,
don't you just hate it when your told someone will ring you back and nothing happens.

Son is looking to buy a new Hilux diesel work ute, he ringes Mackays Toyota dealer and gets "I will ring you back", no return call so he won't be looking there to buy the ute.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 379620

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:33

Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:33
Yes I know what you mean, I was talking to a mate of mine, he said I should have phoned a TV Channel , and the called HAZCHEM, lol lol.
FollowupID: 646998

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:37

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:37
Would have been a good exercise for the local fire brigade and SES Dazza. Kev could have brought his crew down for a run LOL.
FollowupID: 647027

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:53

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:53
It would have been all over by the time we got there Fred, 6 hour drive would kill that idea hahaha

FollowupID: 647031

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 07:47

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 07:47
Rockape,

Bet the toyota dealer will phone back just after your son buys his ute.
And have a cheaper price.
FollowupID: 647036

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 12:19

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 12:19
John,
I hope he does ring back
FollowupID: 647072

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:41

Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:41
Today after great thought Its time to buy a second 9kg gas bottle so I don't get caught short. I didn't know whether I should buy one out right or just get a swap & go. So thinking it might be better to go to a camping store they will sell a better one. It turned out to be over $70 full. Got it back to the van and it wont fit, will have to take it back. What are the swap & go 9kg worth.
AnswerID: 379623

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 08:27

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 08:27
G/Day Old Girl

The Exchange bottles are around $35-00, yes you have to check the diameter of the bottles as you said there are different sizes, I swapped 2 bottles that were out of date, I then removed the original bottles of the van to use in the Bbq area at home and I put the Exchange Bottles on the van,
Note: they are a good idea, but you have to double check what you get.
FollowupID: 647044

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:17

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:17
Bought two 9Kg bottles a couple of weeks ago for $70. Filling them is where the cost lies but I prefer to look after my own equipment and not risk others abuse.
FollowupID: 647049

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:37

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:37
Thanks Daza and Leigh, your input is of great help.
Sharon
FollowupID: 647053

Follow Up By: PradOz - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:22

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:22
i bought a new 9kg swap bottle here in sydney at bunnings for $28
FollowupID: 647093

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:33

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:33
Dazza, I'd say being in the trade and switched on, as in your case, the situation was under control at all times. Imagine the possible scenario for those without the appropriate knowledge or understanding of the seriousness of the situation.
Wasn't that long ago a clown down this way carried a newly filled LPG bottle home inside his car, and then proceeded to light a cigarette. Made the national news that night.
Good post mate, and just reminds everyone to be very careful handling LPG.

Cheers from Fred.
AnswerID: 379641

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:05

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:05
Another faulty exchange bottle.

No way are we going to use swapped bottles again.

We have purchased extra bottles to cover at least a four week trip. When I finally got the bottle to turn off (used a pair of stillsons) I looked into the outlet and it was covered by paint over spray. The stupid twit at swap etc etc didn't even protect the fitting when he sprayed it with their "standard" colour. I say "he" because most women seem to have sense these days. Yes they gave me a free swap when we got home. Big deal and so they should. I checked the bottle with a fine tooth comb also.

We found that with the use of local fireplaces we only used half a 9Kg bottle in one week. So we have two 9kg's and two of the smaller primus 1.5kg's.

Besides most camping stores and a lot of hardware store (maybe Bunnings), will refill bottles so you just plan ahead where you top up. Don't wait until they run out then you won't be stuck when the shops are closed.

No way. Once bitten twice shy. you can stick the swap etc and etc go type bottles.

AnswerID: 379656

Reply By: Gary n Kerry - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 17:19

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 17:19
Can you please advise what regulation prohibits towing a van with the gas turned on.
AnswerID: 379710

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 17:54

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 17:54
Offhand I can't quote the regs.
Apart from any legal requirements COMMON SENSE would say "Turn the gas OFF"

Have you ever seen the result of a gas explosion??
2 words describe it...............Bloody Scary.

All it takes is an accident to rupture the gas line and a spark and that's it.
The Gas bottle itself is quite strong structurally and is not likely to fracture or leak in an accident so the weak points are the copper lines and /or hoses to appliances.

Definitely not worth the risk.

TURN IT OFF.

Disco.
FollowupID: 647108

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 20:55

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 20:55
Defies belief

Imagine driving into a servo to fill up with petrol with your gas fridge turned on.

It is advised in all How to's and van manuals not to do it.

Not rocket science

Also pays to turn the hotwater system off as the igniter can keep trying to light the gas and will give the same result

Pictures on the evening news and of funeral later.

A sensible person shouldnt need to know if there is a reg just common sense should be enough.

FollowupID: 647134