Oh no, not another tyre question

Submitted: Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 18:47
ThreadID: 71681 Views:6267 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
I have got a mate asking me what do I know about Bridgestone Dueller 661 tyres.

Must admit I have never had any experience with them.

Has anybody tried them? What are they like?

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 19:13

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 19:13
Hmm,

The Bridgestone web site states:-
"the Dueler A/T D661 is an all-season highway radial, engineered with special wear-resistant compounds for extra long life.
The D661 also has a multitude of multi-vehicle applications."

How they can state all-season highway radial and still call it an A/T (All Terrain) has got me stumped.

I am a Dueler user, having had 694's and 693's on my vehicles and Desert Duelers on the camper trailer and off road trailer I own.

I regard the Dueler as a very good value for money tyre having got 70,000 Km on average from my sets, but don't think the 661 would be suitable for general off-road use.

A store manager worth his salt should be able to give accurate advice as to suitability for what your mate intends with his vehicle.

Bill.

AnswerID: 379911

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 19:51

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 19:51
I love my Duelers too Sand Man. I have just bought a couple of the new 694 10ply for the caravan, rated at 123 load index for a single axle. They will be seriously hard to beat for load capacity and it will be interesting to see how they cope with my seriously heavy single axle van. When the work GU (my silver one) needs new shoes it too will get these new 10 ply Duelers.

Sorry Dave can't help you specifically with advice on the 661's but if they are anything like the 693's or the newer 694's they should be good for their intended purpose.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 647257

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:06

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:06
Whats a rough price Trevor for say 265x75 x16??? Michael
FollowupID: 647270

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 22:02

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 22:02
Michael, I just paid $285 a tyre 1 week ago here in Brissy. Same size as you said.

Pretty serious tyre with that load index and 10 ply. EG: F350 std issue wranglers have a load index of 120 on a single axle. The 123 load index equates to 1350kg per tyre if I remember right, a quick check on a tyre website would give you exact weight as this is just from memory.

When they go on my work GU it won't take long to get a good indication of how they go as the GU does some long open stretches regularly. MTR's on it now are all but stuffed but probably have another 20K in them (hear that Ross, that means I got another 30-35K out of them LOL!!!) the MTR's were on Ross H's rig before mine for 80K not bad miles I reckon but they are pigs on the road compared to what I am used to hehehe. Thanks anyway Ross....every k out of them helps me heaps even if I have stuffed my speakers from trying to drown out the noise.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 647279

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:15

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:15
Thanks for the feedback Bill & Trevor.

FollowupID: 647484

Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:36

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:36
Just replaced my 694s with...... 694s!
AnswerID: 379933

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:19

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:19
Dave hi

You can have a read on my blog about these tyres. Bridgestone 661new tyres for the Troopy

I ran them this year on the trip into the gibson desert and they look good so far, nice on and off road, run then at 55 psi or 20 psi didn't harm them. I had to order them as they are not main stream.

AnswerID: 379947

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:22

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:22
Thanks for that Richard, much appreciated.

dave

FollowupID: 647486

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:38

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:38
No problem's Dave

I hope your mate makes a good choice.

FollowupID: 647488

Reply By: Krakka - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 11:14

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 11:14
I have had two sets of 661's in the last 5yrs. 235/85/16. Very good on road with minimal noise and equally good as an A/T. Had no problems at all with them.
10 ply rating, load range E, 1380kg single axle load.

Krakka
AnswerID: 380120

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:44

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:44
Do you still have the 661's now or are you running 673's like in your profile Krakka?

FollowupID: 647490

Follow Up By: Krakka - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:17

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:17
I am using up some odds and sods at the moment Dave, I bought 3 more 661's for the camper a while ago but have taken them off and put on the front of the cruiser, and put the half worn 673's on the camper with 673's on the rear of the cruiser. Have got some BFG KM2 on order to try something different. Have used Bridgestone tyres for the last 15yrs so thought it time to try something else.

Krakka
FollowupID: 647524

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 19:55

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 19:55
Dave,

The 661's are common fitment to mining and Govt vehicles in SA - in 235/85R16. They are a 10 ply tyre with 120 load index. Main problem I've seen with them is that they chip easily on coarse gravel we get on SA outback roads. Strong casing though.
AnswerID: 380184

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:47

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 20:47
Would the chipping have something to do with the pressures used Phil?

FollowupID: 647492