buying a trailer
Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 20:59
Cane Toad
I have been investigating trailers over the last few months with the aim of buying something capable of being a general runaround for domestic use mainly and a couple of trips a year to throw the
camping gear in and head off
camping at
places like bigriggen or similar.
The only doubt in the back of my mind is the possibility of going to Fraser island and needing something a bit tougher.
A few questions.
What is the difference between 5 and 6 stud other than the obvious?
Swing
gate or drop tail, which is better and why?
Thanks for your help guys.
Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:00
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:00
Cane Toad I did the same you are doing about 4 months ago for a 7x4 box trailer.
I live in western NSW so my options aren't as plenty as those living in more populated areas but I can tell you one thing from my research and that is "you get what you pay for".
Most of my research was done on the net and phone first trying to track down the best price. I soon realised there is a big difference between a $1000 trailer and a $1300 trailer......STRENGTH.
If you want a trailer to last you (and ya mates/kids) the rest of ya life spend the extra couple of hundred and get a good one.
Things to look for:
-thickness of steel in draw bar (more so than overall size)
-make sure the A frame (drawbar) goes all the way back to the front spring hangers.
-get 1000kg springs/axle (cause 750kg springs with 750kg in the trailer will have the arse draging on the road )
-get one with a RHS trailer base frame - not angle.
- get one with the upright corners of the trailer in RHS so that you can make or buy a cage for it later.
-pay a bit more again for fully Galv if you can afford it. In the long run it will be cheaper than repainiting trailer again and again or having to get rusted parts replaced (flooring).
-higher sides allow you to easily carry more garden rubbish (gates are better again because garden rubbish doesn't way much but takes up lots of volume and I know how most tips these days make you pay per load)
Anyway that should get you started. Don't know what state your in but I know that once a trailer is "Rated" for more than 750kg it must have brakes fitted (but of course you can have heavier springs etc but the trailer rego plate will only have 750kg rated) and in NSW that means annual inspections. In NSW rego is based on Tare weight so any trailer over 250kg Tare pays heaps more. $54/yr for under 250KG.
When you consider most people will have a trailer until the day their son takes it or they more into a retirement village a couple of hundred extra over 20+ years is SFA.
Good luck mate.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 07:34
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 07:34
Hughesy,
Some good points there.
I would stress that off road
suspension will give greater flexibility and higher ground clearance.
And your comment re brakes is spot on.
With the new road rules, even though a trailer may be capable of carrying say 1 tonne, unless you have brakes fitted, the legal allowable capacity is reduced alarmingly.
Just mechanical/hydraulic override brakes are sufficient.
Bill.
Reply By: Benno77 - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:16
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:16
I have found it good to run the same wheel stud pattern as your car. I run 6 stud sunraisers on my trailer. It was originally 5 stud but swapped the hubs over so I could run the same
wheels as my 4WD. Now when I head bush all I do is throw in a couple of cheese cutter split rims with AT tyres to conserve space in the trailer + the spare on the 4WD gives me 3 spares that I can use on either the trailer or the 4WD
Reply By: Cane Toad - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 21:20
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 21:20
Thanks for the replies guys. I am very close to placing an order with just trailers at beenleigh. Will keep you posted.
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 07:45
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 07:45
Hot dip gal is not optional if your going to use it on
the beach. It's essential.
Follow Up By: Cane Toad - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:29
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:29
Would you say it is essential for very occasional beach use, say less than once a year and thoroughly washed underneath etc on return?
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:36
Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:36
Sorry for the late response...
Yes. Salt will kill a non gal trailer so quickly you won't believe it.. No matter how
well you wash it there will always be some sand/salt in some little crevice that you won't get out.