Cape York
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:28
Member - Carolyn B (WA)
We are considering a trip through Queensland to the Cape about May 2010.
Have read a few books etc Les Hiddins included, and am aware of the safety precautions needed for both vehicle [Toyota 100 series Land / Cruiser ] and us...
We have done a fair amount of isolated driving. I am aware that it would be preferable to travel with others but this won't be happening as far as we know. Can any of you with this experience tell me if an Off Road Camper Trailer [one of good repute] or a Tent would be the best way to go ? or is it just personal choice, any other info that could help us would be appreciated, Thanks in anticipation, from Two Silver Gypsys.
Reply By: Member - steveinoz (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:59
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:59
Hi CarolynB. I did the trip on my own in July. Went upthe coast road from
Sydney and back down on the inland route. As far as the road went, it was quite good. They are doing quite a bit of upgrading on the road from
Lakeland to
Weipa. The only bad part was about sixty klms North of Bramwell
Junction. It was bad. but taken it easy you make it safely. I took a Tvan behind my Xtrail and the only hic-up was the transmission cooler that came loose but I did not find that until I got back to
Sydney. One Tyre had a bulge on the side wall but that got me home Ok. Go for it and enjoy it.
Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:35
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:35
Steveinoz,
So the X-trail made it ok to the top of
Cape York towing a Tvan? I'm curious because I wanted to try myself next year in my Freelander 2 (no trailer) and was wondering about the track.
Follow Up By: joff1 - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:35
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:35
You can do the trip in a Hyundai Excel these days. We got passed heading into
Weipa by a 7 series BMW and by the RACQ truck on the Batavia Down Road
You'd prolly even do the tele track in a freeo when the creeks are low enough..
Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:45
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:45
Thanks mate. It seems they are making everywhere a bit too civilized these days. I just got back from the centre and most of the 'tracks' are 4 lane gravel roads.
Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 07:08
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 07:08
There was a Hyundia Excell in the 'Tip'
carpark when we were there in July.
Follow Up By: joff1 - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 10:28
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 10:28
see! told ya hahaha
Reply By: Member - Gary J (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 14:54
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 14:54
Hi Carolyn,
We did the Cape in July this year. We took a tent as we wanted to do the Old Telegraph Track and Frenchmans Track without a trailer.
You will be fine with a capable off road camper if you stick with the main road, strangely called the Peninsular Bypass Road. it does have its fair share of bone shaking corrugations, but drive to the conditions and you'll be OK.
It is only north of Bramwell
Junction that the Old Telegraph Track (the old direct road) begins. There are some crossings here that can can be challenging especially if towing a trailer.
Mind you there were quite a few camper trailers that did this section with great success.
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 16:41
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 16:41
Carolyn B
If you want to "do the cape" and tow the camper I would suggest, to allow you to drive the Telegraph track without said trailer, you can base yourself at some where like Bramwell (Stn or
Junction) and do the southern end of the track as a day trip returning on the ByPass rd and ditto for the northern section based at
Eliot falls camp site and return on the bypass rd. from there you re hitch the camper and head north to the ferry along the northern bypass again.
That way you get the best of everything.
JMHO, Colin.
Follow Up By: Member - Gary J (NSW) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 12:19
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 12:19
Colin is spot on.
You are coming a loooong way from WA and the ease of setting up a camper over many weeks is, in my opinion, far superior to the hassle of setting up and packing away a tent every night.
For the relatively few nights on the Old Telegraph Track, consider the southern and northern sections as Col suggests.
Reply By: lizard - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 17:32
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 17:32
We had no trouble when we went up the telegraph track towing our Cavalier Off rd camper trailer ....
Reply By: redgp - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 18:04
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 18:04
Hey, we are leaving
Perth for the Cape on May 15th 2010. Two 4x4's both towing Camprite Off road camper trailers (built in WA). Your welcome to talk to us re tagging along, we plan to spend a week getting there via the central highway and 3-4 weeks at the cape and returning home down the
Birdsville and home via the nullabour(2 weeks). 6-7 weeks all up.
Four more silver haired Gypsys.
Follow Up By: Member - Carolyn B (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 12:12
Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 12:12
Hello to you and thanks again for the info, we have towed an off road trailer on all sorts of roads, but the road we dont know will be a good challenge, we have been seriously thinking for a good while about buying a Camprite, they appeal for all sorts of reasons, we are in country W.a. and would rather buy a local camper, have looked at the Kimberly as
well, have you all had yours for some time? and have you been on pretty rough tracks to test it out ?
Your trip sounds very similar to ours but we have a few plans to decide on, thanks ,S H /Gypsy
Follow Up By: redgp - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 14:49
Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 14:49
Had the Camprite for two years now..it was the first TL8s 4-2 they built. Been all through the Kimberlys last year incl the
Gibb River Road and the track up to the
Mitchell Falls and into the Bungles. This year we took it over to Tasmania for a 16,000klms round trip (two months) including some very rough tracks and then back up to
Fitzroy Crossing on the way home. Some 40,000klms with the Camprite so far and not a single problem. Reg and Matt at Camprite service it between every trip and it comes back from them as good as new every time.
The TL8s 4-2 is the slightly smaller (less weight) of the two they make and its designed for two people only, rather than the more
well known TL8s that is for 4 or 6 people. We thought why carry more weight than needed. If you look up Camprites web page and have a look at customers pics under the TL8s 4-2 you will see our camper and jeep up in the kimberlys.
Be aware that they are so
well regarded that at the moment they are booked out for delivery dates for over 12 months. They are a family business that produce about 50 a year.
Oh! and I have nothing to do with them business wise, I am just a happy customer.
Steve.
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:06
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:06
Carolyn
We did the trip with about 80 2wd rally cars in July . Surprised me that most of them made it home with out fixing anything. Some did Cockatoo Crossing on the Tele Track with no problems. I drove the whole 9000km no worries in the cruiser. Anybody can do it gee you got a huge warm up getting here first. Going back and would take tent again. Can have more fun with out towing if you have the room for your gear with out overloading the roof rack.
As for safe, who is with what ever we do? May could be interesting/fun if we have another couple of cyclones this summer. I love river crossings.
Sharon
Reply By: jezza68 - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:32
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:32
We did the Telegraph Track solo with a Papas Trailer no Problems.
Just watch the 100 series on the
water crossings as they will still be high. You will read on here about the fans going thru the radiator. Ensure you have a good cover over the grill and bonnet.
Just survey each crossing thoroughly before commiting
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 07:12
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 07:12
The other side of the coin. We had to get around a 4WD tourist bus with a trailer that had broken an axle on the trailer. Was just north of Bramwell
Junction on the OTT.
Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 12:45
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 12:45
G'day Richard
You must have been just in front or just behind us, as we came across said tourist bus as
well....When we passed it they were busy trying to dig out the trailer so as they could get to their supplies...
Reply By: Foxhound (WA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 10:43
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 10:43
We have a trip planned to go up there in May/June next year. We will take the Van up as far as
Cooktown then do the cape with a tent
camping etc. I dont think you will need to worry about being on your own up there, plenty of us retirees will be around.
Reply By: Smudger - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:05
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:05
We posted similar questions earlier this year, ahead of our solo
Cape York trip.
Got back about 2 weeks ago, had a fantastic time. Our 80 series towed a pretty heavy duty CT, with no probs -
well a few minor things - repairs to cracked exhaust, the odd small thing fallling off the CT.and a cruise contol that refuses to work, assume somethng is loose -the corrrrrugations were pretty good at times.
We did the OTT up to Fruitbat Falls, then took the bypass to avoid Nolan's Crossing. Reli's in
Weipa told us that Nolan's makes a victim of about 1 in 5 cars, and being solo we didn't want to be depending on the good nature of strangers to risk their clutchs pulling us out if we got stuck.
Having said all that, we saw about half a dozen cars heading south on flatbeds. And we saw few CT's with varying damage, including a big brand unit that had a shocker literally torn off, but that guy was a bit of a cowboy. There was also a
young couple who decided to do the OTT from north to south. The crossings that directon are shallow entry and steep exits. The first crossing they tried was Nolan's ..and it got 'em. Travelling solo they had no option but to open the doors and let the metre high
water in around their lovely leather seats, bedding and food. Heard they spent a few days drying out at Archer River with the seats and carpet stripped.
The OTT is still an adventure and will test you and your vehicle ..and the CT. But if your prep is good and you drive with a reasonable amount of discretion, you'll have minimal probs.
Reply By: L & S plus 4 - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:52
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:52
We are also planning on doing the Cape trip next year around June. We're in discussions at the moment about whether to go with a hard floor or a soft floor trailer??
Also we'll be taking our Hyundai Santa Fe along for the ride. After doing substantial research on the Fe two years ago, we purchased one and she's gone like a dream the entire time. It fits the 4 kids great too! So any tips on our plan??
I can see most people like to set up for the trip with a bigger 4wd than we are, but I'm not sure it's a necessity after going back through all the posts. Trying to work within the budget you know how it is!! Happy to get there via the more drivable route if need be and will take advice about the track along the way from passers by and locals.
Lorna
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:53
Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:53
I just done a trek out in the
Gregory NP with Noel K, now I havn't been to the Cape but Noel has, his comments were...
Cape York is a breeze compared to what we tackled over the last 6 days with average speeds of 7Kph for the 6 days, Noel was towing an off road camper.
Reply By: redgp - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 18:12
Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 18:12
Carolyn,
Just got back from Camprite's factory and was told of your purchase. You have done
well there, Reg's trailer is
well set up.
Reg tells me you are talking about tagging along with us to the Cape next year, if so please give me a phone call and we can arrange a get together to discuss plans.
Steve and Carol 93012155