So how attached do you really become to your vehicle ??.

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:13
ThreadID: 71828 Views:3908 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
A mate of mine has a Toyota Stout ute, that he has run around in for about close on thirty years!!, has never had the real urge!, to update it in all that time, although business wise he could have been better off,! His what ever for this old girl, has been unreal!!, ...lol, ..Thinking I'm on the same track with the Landy ute...LOL. But!!! there is others i"ve owned that i wish that had never come on the scene!..LOL., Vehicles are a bit like the opposite S......X, do you think?, ...LOL.

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:28

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:28
Axle - I like them as I own them - They are good things not to get attached to. They wear out :-) Like me

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 380750

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:36

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:36
Hahahaha!, could rave on Tony !, but i won't..LOL.

FollowupID: 648150

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:13

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:13
FollowupID: 648156

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:51

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:51
so would I ..looked a bit goofy didnt it...hahaha
FollowupID: 648235

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:36

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:36
I too had a Stout truck and it was as tough as old boots. No wonder he has kept his so long.
AnswerID: 380753

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:41

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:41
Hi Ian, Its a credit to this Guy !the thing looks New!, As you say, they where a solid bit of Gear.!

FollowupID: 648151

Reply By: Outnabout.. - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:40

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:40
Yes the old Stout RK100 and 101's with the 3 and 5R engine were absoluteley bullet proof. And even the earlier Lite Stouts RK40 and 43 with the R & 2R Engines. or does he have the last of the Stouts RK110 with the old RN46 4WD hilux bolted to the Stout Chassis.
AnswerID: 380755

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:47

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:47
Mate i'm not that sure on the model, But it would be in the very early seventys.

FollowupID: 648154

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:11

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:11
Hey Axle.

My missus once told me she would be the happiest woman in the world if I treated her half as well as I do the old Nissan...lol.

One only has to meander through the 1000's of threads on this forum and the number of problems people have with engines, transmissions, diffs, suspensions, electronics, cooling, modifications not to mention major $$$'s to rectify these problems, and most of them seem to be fairly new vehicles.
Then theres the manditory alarm systems for tyres, coolant, oil, computer malfuction, voltage, coffee cup temp, not to mention going into limp mode because of the hot chips and cold coke on the dash has confused the engine management system.

Yourve seen those commercial airline pilots go through their pre-flight check list, reckon you'd have to do the same with some of the vehicles these days...hahaha.

Nup, not the old Nissan....check the radiator, oil, fill 'er up and go.
Works every time.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 380759

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:18

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:18
I agree.

Theres a lot to be said for having just 2 sticks and 3 pedals
FollowupID: 648157

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:22

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:22
Lionel!!,
FollowupID: 648159

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:25

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:25
Axle!!,
FollowupID: 648160

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:32

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:32
LOL!!..Lionel!,..Totally agree mate,!,... but we are Dinasours!!...lol.

FollowupID: 648161

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:10

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:10
So Axle you calling me and my trusty 1991 HZJ75 ute a couple of dinosaurs?
Guilty as charged. lol
A company that I worked for had a Toyota Stout as their delivery vehicle back in the early 70's. Try as we might we could never break it and boy did we try. I guess my fondest memories of it were thinking that it was designed for a driver 4'9" tall and with arms 12" long.
(:-))))))

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 648171

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:28

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:28
Axle and all the others,

That Pre drive check has now suddenly become a bit like a pre flight routine, that's for sure
It goes something like this.
Press electronic door lock opener, open door, get in, press electronic ignition key, check that all indicator and warning lights come on, press electronic starter key, when motor is running check that all the indicator and warning lights that should go out do so, chech that all passengers and driver are belted up, seatbelt light should go out, check that door open indicator light goes out, select aircon settings, put transmission lever or button in desired position, press gently on electronicly controlled accererator pedal and drive away.

Simplicity has gone away over the past years.
My Discovery TD5 had a minor elecrical problem (Yeah I know it's a Land rover).
To find out which fuse had blown I had to check a total of 42 fuses OH Joy!

My runaround '81 Landrover series 3 has just 4x35 amp fuses and one of them is not used according to the wiring diagram.
My earlier Series 2 had only 2x50amp fuses for everything. So simple that even a blonde could work it all out.

Great leaps forward..............Nah I don't think so.

Disco.
FollowupID: 648193

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:49

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:49
My Outlaws had a ZL Fairlane up till a couple of months ago,they now have an Outlander but the ZL they had for 24 years and 660k's! it was only in the last few years it had started to let them down. i tell you it was an epic to pry them away from it. but fortunately common sense provailed and they realised they were too old to sit on the side of the road with it on a regular basis!
AnswerID: 380765

Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:28

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:28
G'day Axle,

must be a quiet night to throw one of of these in the air ............. lol

our 60 was our first 4WD ............. spent a lot of time, money and time on the side of the road with it ............... though the places we went with our children, the experinces we had and the people we have met in that time ......... we would do it again ........ in a heart beat!!
It sat out the front of our block for almost twelve months before it went ............ and it was hard to let go.

The memories are very vivid!

Wayne & Sally.

AnswerID: 380770

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:45

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:45
I still have the 1985 Toyota HiAce van I bought at just 1,500 Klms.
Has Auto trans with overdrive, 2.4Lt diesel engine and now done 600,000 + Klms.
Runs terrific but has started to rust out because it spends too much time parked on a beach in winter.
It's been on the Gibb River road three times now and has never let me down, it's been over to Kakadu from Perth twice and has never been in a garage/carport till I retired here on the coast 18 months ago.
I change the oil every 6 months with 'diesel specified oil' from Kmart and give it a new Z9 filter between oil changes, so it's not looked after like a baby.
Hasn't seen a mechanic since it run out of warranty, I do it myself, including changing timing belts and replacing fuel injector pump etc.
When the stock market picks up I will replace it with something more suited to my seachange lifestyle, when I figure what it is :)

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 380774

Reply By: Benno77 - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:35

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:35
I go through cars like undies. I am happy with the one i've got now but I know i won't own for much longer than 5 years or so. My mate on the other hand has a series 3 landy ute and has owned it for years. He was recently devistated to find out that after a good wash underneath he discovered some majour rust in the chassis. Where as most of us would say OK time to trade the old girl in, he actually sourced a new chassis for it costing him quite a bit to buy and transport home. Its Ok he said i'll just whip the body off change all the running gear over and she'll be good as new it should only take me a few weeks. Trully devoted to the cause.
AnswerID: 380874