Submitted: Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:19
equinox
Is it "offroad" or what?
To me "Offroad" has always meant driving through virgin bush. Yet to some others it means anywhere that is not "Bitumen".
To me a gravel road, say like the
Hyden Norseman Road is a "Gravel Road".
To me a track like the Gary Highway is a "Bush Track" or "Rough Track".
Lately "Offtrack" has become popular for "Offroad" driving, or is it Bush bashing? I've even used "Offtrack", not because I've wanted to but because more people seem to know what I'm on about.
Crikey, I've started to use the term "Bush Bashing" lately again because there can be no mistake about where you are going, even it doesn't sound to environmentally friendly, which is probably why it went to "Offroad" in the first place.
It would be nice to have a standard so apples can be compared to apples, but I guess everyone is different so probably won't happen...
Yes I'm Bored :)
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:34
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:34
To me Off Road would mean just that, when not driving on the road.... :-)
Gary Highway in my mind is not a road, to which the meaning Road would apply.
So to me that would be off road..
On the other hand
Hyden to
Norseman is a road and then is On Road..
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:45
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:45
Hi Richard,
To me a road, perhaps in the purest sense, is where you can drive your vehicle on a deliberately made trail from the roughest of bush tracks to the Hume Highway.
The
Hyden Norsman is a road too, a gravel road :))
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:51
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:51
The power line track< I would call off road, it may have been a track once but now you could only take a 4WD vehicle.
I am with you on the H-N road as it is a road the you can do easy in a 2WD vehicle, I would even take Robyn's Polo across that....
Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:40
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:40
From what I remember the Hume Highway, it was a deliberately made 'trail' around the Albury - Wagga area when I lived there :)
Maybe it has been improved ?
Maîneÿ . . .
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:19
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:19
Aboyt the Hume Highway.
Nope hasn't inproved. The speed limit on the Bungle Bungles road is higher.
It must be friday!! The funnies are out.
AVAGUDWEKNDALL
Put the spell checker on that!!
Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 00:53
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 00:53
The expressions I usually use are:
"Off-road" means a route generally requiring a 4wd even when dry.
"Unsealed" is just that and could be travelled by 2WD.
Of course, unsealed could become off-road with a little rain.
"Off-track" or "Cross-country" means a course not defined by tracks.
"Bush Bashing" is as per "Off Track" but has some bad connotations although thats what Len Beadell always called it.
Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 05:25
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 05:25
Hi Alan,
I go with the need of a 4WD and low range to negotiate the country. If you can do it in a 2WD or a soft roader then I don't reckon its off road.
I feel it would be difficult to get everyone to agree to a standard definition on what off road is i.e. how many times have you heard "dont go down that track its a rough as guts" You do it anyway and when you get through it you are still wondering where the rough bits where. Its a matter of perceptions and experience.
Also, and sadly, the use of the terms, off road and bush bashing in some conjures up red necks destroying the environment etc.
Are you getting itchy feet to head bush soon?
Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:36
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:36
I agree Phil,
Consensus will be difficult.
Yeah , have itchy feet - won't be long though.
Follow Up By:- Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 21:16
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 21:16
If you drove across a salt plain where there is not a road or beaten track is that off road.You could do something like that in a 2wd. Just a thought. I dont believe off road has to = 4wd
Glen
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 06:15
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 06:15
Yep I agree with Alan and Phil in their definitions. Crikey you must be bored mate!
I'm always careful of the terms I use because of the connotations placed upon them (as Phil has said). Bush bashing, while a truly appropriate descriptive term for negotiating some areas of country as my paint work will attest) can have negative meaning placed upon it by some quarters of the
population. I prefer to use "off-Track exploration" to refer to an area not defined by tracks these days. Even that has to be explained most of the time because your average punter has no concept of an expanse that is not defined by any form of track. "why the hell would you go there?" tends to be the question.
I think you better head out into the back yard and cover yourself with a few handfuls of western desert dust fella. You're having withdrawals. I have an emergency bag of the stuff in the shed if you're out!
Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:31
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:31
"I have an emergency bag of the stuff in the shed if you're out!"
No I'm OK for now, but thanks for offering...lol
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 06:49
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 06:49
I like driving on highways myself - Gunbarrel, Gary, ..... :-))
KK
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:03
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:03
""To me "Offroad" has always meant driving through virgin bush""
just what the greenies want us to do so they can get all us so called 4wd bush bashers banned????
so me to me offroad means driving off bitumen....when does a dirt track/road become something else....if it aint a road or track then should we really be driving on/in it?
Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:32
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:32
It's OK No1, they don't hang out on sites like this..
We are safe here!! :)
Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:19
Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:19
yea while i dont care for definitions too muchh
off road is off the road and on the tracks - alot of tracks can be done in 2wd
and off track is off the tracks and making your own way.
theres a few
grey areas for instance ive been on quite a few tracks which went much better than off track and in fact especially in old dozer tracks which catch
water and encoarage regrowth driving off track next to the on track is far easier.
As to weather you need 4wd for a track - how do you classify it? if its easier in 4wd does that make it a 4wd track? or do you ned to get bogged in 2wd before you can classify it a 4wd track?
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:05
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:05
Image Could Not Be FoundHi Alan
You and I share the same thoughts. Off Road is when you have to point your vehicle where there are no tracks and all those lovely things just waiting to puncture and ruin tyres, where as 4 wheel tracks are the roads that are true "4 wheel drive Only"
Here are a couple of examples from our last little venture.
Stephen[Image Could Not Be Foundfi]/58567.5/Forum/Pic_257[/fi]
Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:38
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:38
I can almost smell that Spinifex resin from here...
Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:52
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:52
Is that a surgeon driving the lead vehicle, top photo? LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:25
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:25
Hi Allan
Yes the Surgeon's mask was to stop the spinifex from entering the front of the vehicle. When we were in the real cross country stuff, we were stopping every 15 minutes to clear the build up. We made the screen out of shade cloth, but the spinifex seeds were so fine, it passed right through the shade cloth, through the A/C Radiator and even penetrated the main radiator. In the tall stuff, you would not believe just how much spinifex gets under your vehicle, in the chassis rails and anywhere it can lodge. Even through my vehicle is diesel and with the very regular
clearing from under the vehicles, there always seemed to be the smell of hot grass build up.
That is what I call real off road and any tracks that you get to follow are a real bonus.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:14
Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:14
Stephen, do you have all the protection underneath still for spinifex country or have you removed it. There have been a number of photos of Prados on EO over the years, that have caught fire, so I always wonder the best approach.
When are you guys coming this direction mate?
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:39
Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:39
Hi John
We still have all the protection guards still in place. The Prados that were on fire, I do not know the full story - Petrol or Diesel, did they do regular checks for grass build up? Like I said above, when in the real tall and thick spinifex, we were stopping every 15 minutes, and you would not believe how much build up in that very short time. I had a long wire probe that I used to drag all the spinifex out. I also carried a pump up
water garden spray, and luckily never had to uses it, plus 2 powder fire extinguishers. After all that, it was out with the small paint brush and give the radiators a quick brush over to remove the seeds that had penetrated the spinifex blind.
We should be over your way in early October, and we will see you again then.
Until then
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 09:04
Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 09:04
I remembered you said October, so it is good to fine it down a bit in my mind.
I haven't driven to any extent offroad in spinifex country so am yet to learn about it. I normally carry a powder extinguisher, but multiple sounds a good idea and the pressure sprayer too, I have seen referred to before. Inexpensive insurance, along with the paint brush.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:23
Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:23
Hi John
As for exact dates, we are not quite sure, but we have to be back here in
Clare by Wednesday 14, as my boys are driving over to Phillip Island on Thursday 15. We still have you phone number, as will call you
well in advance.
See you then.
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:26
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:26
My front lawn........where Tojos fear to tread.........hehehe.
Cheers......Lionel.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:51
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:51
It's all in your perception. If you live in the
Sydney CBD, the "off-road" would mean going to the local tip to drop off some rubbish.
It's a bit like the word "country"......
People who live in a city refer to the "country" as anywhere outside the city limits........ "Oh, lets go for a drive to the country; what about Moss Vale?"
People who live in a regional town don't see them selves as living in the "country". They would more likely use the word thus: "We're going for a drive to grandpa's farming country to get some firewood".
Then of course, you get the people who move overseas..."to another country".
So, back to "offroad"..... Like most 4 wheel drivers, I don't actually drive "offroad"..... I stick to tracks. I understand that there are expeditions that a lot of readers of this
forum undertake where they need to go "offroad", following the GPS etc..... That type of travel is one step beyond what I ever intend to undertake.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:11
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 09:11
Hi Bill
Where is your sense of Adventure - you have the vehicle, put it to good use.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 13:11
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 13:11
G'day Stephen,
Mate, I've been caught too many times with vehicle break-downs!!! The last thing I need is to be stuck out in the geographical centre of Oz with a busted rrrrrrrr's Patrol.
Okay, there's my chin poking out ready for all the toymota owners to take a free swing!!!! hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Benno77 - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:47
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:47
I agree. Sticking to tracks no matter how ragged they become is still off roading. Not sticking to tracks is the easiest way to get lost and destroy your vehicle all in one day (the undercarrage and radiator loves rocks and sticks hiding long grass). But hey, some people can afford to destroy their vehicles so good luck to them. What about the good old term four wheel driving. Nothing too confusing about that. Soft roaders can go all wheel driving and two wheel drivers can just go driving. But everyone knows what youve been doing when you pull up in your 4WD covered in mud and you say youve been four wheel driving.
Reply By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 10:52
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 10:52
Guess its a matter of what you are used to. IMHO I think that you have to be in 4wd at some stage (locked centre diff for the constant 4x4's) to say you are offroad.
Some of the country I travel regularly for work, Are reasonable gravel roads.
Say the road from
Tilpa to
Louth, Can be as rough as guts at times with 3-4 inch washouts but I've never had to lock the hubs in. Other times after its been graded you can sit on a reasonable speed(for a gravel road) with confidence
That to me is normal country back tracks or roads.
The locals use 2wd cars and utes to travel country that many would only use a 4x4, but I don't recommend using 2wd on a lot of the roads unless you know the road
well (a local)
Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 11:30
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 11:30
I think I can clarify this question from a caravan towing viewpoint.
First, “Off Road” is a sticker which is all yours if you spend $10k extra at the Caravan Show. As
well as the sticker, you will get a few bits of chequer plate aluminium, bigger wheels, and sometimes shock absorbers or stronger cupboard catches. Of course, if you spend an extra $50k, then you get a lot more, hopefully.
Second “Off Limits” is where you go, if you buy an Off Road caravan (see above) and take it off the bitumen. It may be OK if there are no corrugations, no bumps, no stones, no ‘heavy landings’. Naturally, damage from
water or dust is not covered by the warranty. So a few kilometres of corrugations, and your broken cupboard (or worse) is your problem. So is the stone damage to the
water pipes, or the wiring.
Thirdly, “Off Your Trolley” is where you end up if you try to make sense out of it all.
Fourth, “Off Out of Here” is where you need to be, instead of trying to make sense of it all.
Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:17
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:17
I certainly agree with your last point Chris, and its probably too late for me on the third :))
Reply By: Moose - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 13:31
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 13:31
G'day Alan
Interesting question you have posed.
Let's delve a little deeper here.
What do you define as virgin bush?
Cheers from the Moose
Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:27
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:27
Hey Moose,
well some 20 something blokes heading out to Northbridge tonight may have a different description; but what I mean is sections of the landscape which appear to have so far managed to escape the tell tale signs of man and his vehicles having passed by the general area - and there are many, many
places like that..
Follow Up By: Moose - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:27
Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:27
So Alan are you saying that if I follow a track you pioneered say 6 months ago and your tracks are still visible and easy to follow, and those tracks are
well and truly cross country and off any formed track, I am not offroad?
By your own definition it is no longer virgin bush and thus I can't be offroad! But I think you'd agree that I would be. Not being a smartarse or disrespectful. This, I think, just shows the difficulty in trying to define the term "offroad".
I doubt that any concensus will be reached.
But certainly a great post. Much more interesting reading that the usual what tyre should I, where can I
camp for free, what's the best, etc type of post.
Cheers from the Moose
Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:15
Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:15
Hi Moose,
One technicality deserves another; I said "which appear to have so far..." .
It's good to get everyones opinion, but it looks like I'm right back where I started.
Thanks for yours, and all replies.
Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 15:14
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 15:14
I'm with you on this one Alan
Off road in my terms is any harder then normal dirt track that is not gazetted as a road.
I think in general people have different ideas of what makes a off road track easy, medium, hard, difficult or extreme, what might appear hard to some may be a walk in the
park to others.
This shows up in this
forum where some people think you have to drive slow, pay real attention or some other caution they highlight to drive on a dirt road and some others don't blink an eye lid and think nothing of it....
Same as distance, some think 400 kilometres in a day is doing
well and others will travel 1000+ kilometres in a day.
Everyone has their own abilities and it doesn't mean your an idiot if you go to fast or a snail is your slow.
Most people with 4wd's will or have never driven their 4x4 in harsh demanding conditions.
Reply By: _gmd_pps - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 15:17
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 15:17
The only relevant definition is the one from your insurance.
Everything else are just words and nonsense discussions.
have fun
gmd
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 23:00
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 23:00
Gday Alan,
Beadell Tours website is
well-read by people on this
forum. They seemed to popularise the term "off-track" and use the following to define their tours.
Link Here.
ON-ROAD - Sealed or Bitumen roads and highways
OFF-ROAD - Gravel roads, dirt tracks, wheel tracks. If you have a path to follow, then you are off-road.
OFF-TRACK - Cross-country travelling, no tracks or paths at all
Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:33
Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:33
on road
off road
off track