Camper trailers across the Simpson deset

I have read some info on this however it seems noone has a solution. Can it be done easily with a good off road C/T? Is it best to go west east? I would like to hear from people who have done it and why. Also why some guy's are so against it and why.
We plan on a group trip 2010 for 2-3 weeks so the crossing would be about 3-4 days out of the whole trip and the C/T would make the rest of the trip more comfortable.

Reply By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 07:51

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 07:51
Hi Black stump,

I've have witnessed people who have crossed the Simpson with them. I personally wouldn't try it with a camper trailer.

They had to winch the trailer over every sand dune. This really took its toll on the trailer and the winching gear.

The travelled from east to west and as I couldn't "overtake them" I was stuck behind this mobile roadblock for the best part of a day .(The sand was to hot and loose to overtake. It was a lot easier to "go around" when the sand is cooler in the morning.

I would go the west east route if I was trying it, Make sure that your trailer, recovery gear is in top notch condition

I guess it prob good be done, not sure its something I would have the guts to do though, but life is about trying something different. I believe it would make the trip across considerably longer though.

Just ensure that you prepare, prepare and lastly prepare.

Cheers Mike
AnswerID: 381039

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 08:38

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 08:38
G'day there,

I have not done a full crossing of the desert but have many friends who have done so. Some, quite some years ago, took their CT across and regretted the try - had to be snatched over many dunes. I have a serious off road CT and when I do cross the desert I won't be taking it.

Here's a link to the most reliable source of info re the Simpson.

Site Link

The bit in red re trailers says it all.

Perhaps take the CT to Mt Dare, do a double crossing using different tracks and collect the CT and then continue your trip.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 381048

Reply By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 08:54

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 08:54
Blackstump
Yes there is a solution! Don't take the camper. Or are you going to wait for someone to come into the thread to say" yes its ok" and use that as your justification. It can be done - with a lot of hard work from you AND your mates, but be prepared to abandon the camper if necessary. Conditions in the Simpson can vary greatly and what someone was able to achieve 2 months ago might be impossible now. The double crossing suggestion above is the way to go. AND, you will probably achieve that in almost the same time it will take to do the single crossing towing the camper.

teege
AnswerID: 381054

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 09:53

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 09:53
Some people get on fine. Many don't.
Every trip I've done in the Simpson Desert in recent times, I've seen people having problems with camper trailers.

Last time, the Birdsville retrieval man was off to the French Line to retrieve a $30,000 Abandoned trailer. Owner had got so sick of it, he unhitched it and continued his trip, having notified Birdsville that it was free to anyone who wanted it.

Time before I saw a Hilux dual cab ute almost bent in half from having towed a Kimberley Camper across the French Line. All that weight a long way behind the rear axle just bends the chassis on many dual cabs.

Other times, you listen to Channel 10 to all the dramas that are happening ahead - you get there and find its just another camper trailer having trouble getting up the chicken tracks.

As far chopping up the tracks go - I think its equally shared between vehicles that are towing and inexperienced people who won't air down their tyres.

AnswerID: 381062

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 10:32

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 10:32
Hi Blackstump,

Yes, I have seen camper trailers and box trailers crossing the Simpson but they are a real hassle! Often having to be winched or snatch-strapped over sandhills whilst blocking the track for some time.

Another reason for criticism of trailers on the Desert, particularly on the French and QAA line tracks is that they cause significant wheel damage on the dunes, as do people trying to prove that they can achieve crossing in 2WD mode or with tyre pressures too high.

Better, as has been said, to leave the trailer at Dalhousie or Birdsville and do a double crossing sleeping rough and with simple pre-prepared meals if your kitchen is built into the camper. The second half will be more fun anyway as you will now have the knowledge and experience of the first half to allow relaxation.

BUT, if you really MUST take the trailer, be damned sure it is up to the task and in first-class condition. Tyre pressure 15 to 18 psi and keep its load to a minimum. Seems to me that some people find that with a camper-trailer they have much more room to carry a lot of extra stuff than is really unnecessary.

Bear in mind that if you have to get Dave Cox from Dalhousie Pub or Birdsville Motors to recover your vehicle or camper you are looking at $3k to $4k so it is a good idea to have Auto Club (RACQ etc) Total Care membership. Good idea anyway in the Bush.

Also allow that you will use significantly more fuel dragging a camper-trailer across the sandhills so allow for it when doing your sums.

Whatever you do, good-luck. It is a great experience.

AnswerID: 381069

Reply By: Traveller - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:16

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:16
Blackstump

I have been all over the Simpson towing a reasonably heavy trailer. East west and west east and all the tracks inbetween. Can account for 4 sandbogs in all my treks out there

Basically one has to take one's smart pills when driving on sand and towing.

Some points to consider

The wheel size of the trailer must be the same size as the tow vehicle
The trailer has to track with the tow vehicle
The trailer drawbar should be close to 2 metres in length

AND

LOWER THE TYRE PRESSURES !!!!!

Rule of thumb is 14psi on the tow vehicle and 8psi on the trailer. But you can play with tyre pressures that eases your sand driving experience as it does not have to be One Size Fits All

Trailer damage to the Simpson or other desert tracks is an Urban Myth
AnswerID: 381075

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 14:45

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 14:45
Traveller (with trailer),

"Urban Myth"? I wonder if you were one of those with trailer that I have sat behind waiting whilst they tried to scale a dune with 4WD wheels churning sand like an open-cut mining operation?

But no, your are right, trailers don't damage the dune tracks .... it is the vehicles towing them that do that well enough.

Sure it can be done.... if you prepare properly and have the skill to scale a sandhill properly, but if you have to ask "can it be done easily?" as did Blackstump, then it does not sound as though the skill is there yet. Cross once or twice without the trailer and then consider it.

I really cannot imagine anyone with more knowledge of driving the Simpson than Dave Cox of Mt. Dare Hotel and he says "Towing trailers across the Simpson is strongly discouraged, it's very difficult, hard on the vehicle and trailer resulting in frequent bogging. Exceptional skill and a powerfull vehicle with lower tyre pressures are necessary, possibly as low as 14PSI. Having to dig or be towed out of a bog is a certainty testing freindships with the burden."

FollowupID: 648531

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 12:22

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 12:22
Are you expierienced in sand driving while towing a trailer? Do you have the right recovery gear and survival skills. Are you capable of performing running repairs or have a back up plan if you get stuck?????
If yes, why not take your trailer?
Only you can decide if your up to it.
What some people consider a huge challenge, others call a walk in the park.
Im not sure....but could the reputation the Simpson becaused by the type and amount of people it attracks rather than its exceptionally bad conditions?

Just a thought?

AnswerID: 381091

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 13:26

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 13:26
Having towed a Cub Supamatic (which weighs 500kgs loaded with bedding only) behind a NA diesel troopy over most of the main Simpson tracks over the years I'd advise caution. As has been said it depends on what time of year, time since the last rains and even time of day, as well as your level of experience
It is much easier after recent rain as the sand is harder, much easier after little or no traffic (school hols has increased traffic which leads to softer chopped up sand) and much easier in the early/cooler part of the day before the sand warms up. Most of our trips were in June/July with only one in the later Sept/Oct period (never again, too hot and the sand is too soft.)
By early to mid afternoon most days the sand starts to "flow" as it dries out making it noticeably harder to climb dunes.
It can also make a difference if you are first in the convoy and whether the vehicle is leaf or coil sprung (coils tend to follow the bumps whereas the leaf sprung vehicles flatten them slightly.)
The trailer also need to have the same track width as the towing vehicle and most importantly you have to be able to reverse it down a winding dune approach or be able to unhitch, get the vehicle over and then flat tow the trailer.
You MUST also drop tyre pressures to the aforementioned figures, I usually run 10 -15 in the trailer (it has 14" light truck radials) and 15- 18 in the troopy.
AnswerID: 381097

Reply By: Muddie - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 13:35

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 13:35
I have towed my Tvan all over Australia and pull it with a 100TD Cruiser with Safari HO kit (buckets of power) having just returned from my second Simpson trip without the camper I can't see why anyone would want the hassle, backing down in the soft sand as you slide sideways is hard enough without a trailer. The double crossing is the best plan and you will be able to see a lot more.
AnswerID: 381100

Follow Up By: Traveller - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 14:23

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 14:23
With all the buckets of power that you say you have at your disposal..... why did you have to back down a dune?

Good desert driving techniques are all part of a learning curve. Some people learn and some don't. Not such a big deal if you have to back down anyway.

Too much emphasis is given to the politically correct way to enjoy your adventures.
FollowupID: 648529

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 14:51

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 14:51
"Urban Myth"? "Politically Correct"? "Some people don't learn"? ........

You really like sticking it to someone with a view differing to yours Blackstump.

FollowupID: 648533

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 17:19

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 17:19
Sorry, I meant Traveller, not Blackstump!

FollowupID: 648546

Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 14:48

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 14:48
Just finished the Simpson mid Aug and we saw several trailers being skull dragged over and I am sure that mine would have been fine too had I towed it. But the extra drad and risk on the car is not worth it.
We took 5 days to cross (old retired farts) and enjoyed every minute of it. Suggest you do the double crossing eg: leave the trailer at Mt Dare then go east to west, down the rig road then come back west to east over the French line.
This way you get the best of both routes, can have fun on the dunes and don't hold others up.
We saw 4x4s making a mess of the track without trailers generally because they were inexperienced or didn't have the tyres low enough. The Ranger at Dalhousie told us to run 15 PSI on our tyres all the way across and we didn't get bogged on any dune.
Oh and there were the two idiots, one in a Rangie and the other in an Overlander, racing each other over the dunes, no radio's on channel 10 and thought it was a great joke when they nearly met one of our vehicles head on over the crest of a dune. We were broadcasting each dune crest that a party of seven were heading west etc..... All other users did the right thing and responded but not this pair.

AnswerID: 381107

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 15:03

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 15:03
Hi Rodney,

I listen-in on scan on the UHF but do not bother with announcing my presence because the fools such as you quote are not taking any notice.

The vehicles I am most concerned about coming at me are motorbikes. No flags and likely not on UHF channel 10.

I rely on a really good dune flag on my vehicle, but if I see signs of an approaching vehicle I will announce on Ch 10.

FollowupID: 648534

Reply By: Member - Glenn H (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 17:31

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 17:31
Gidday Blackstump, here's my 2 bobs worth.
1. Almost a year ago I posted thread 61427 re a Jayco across the Simpson. It's worth a read for all the good advice and it got 1500 plus hits so it's a popular topic.
2. I take a lot to convince so I went up to Stockton - the very soft sand in Lavis Lane was worse than usual as it had been quite dry in the month before I went in Jan 09. My tyres were all at 12psi and I was struggling up the track when I had to stop as some goose was bogged as he had not lowered his pressures. Needless to say I couldn't get going again so with the help of some young muscle I unhitched and we spun the van around and got out of there - it was only a couple of k's back to the servo to air up. I had a compressor for all those about to jump, but it had started to rain.
3. Skip to first week of May and we are into week 4 of our trip. We have already crossed numerous dunefields on the road to the Rock (OK it's tar so some won't count it!!) and are now at Dalhousie Springs. Flooding has meant no access thru to Birdsville. Left van and did a 220km round trip to just past junction of Rig Rd and French Line where sign says Birdville 330km.Crossed enough dunes to be satisfied.
4. Drove the 900km of tracks thru Oodnadatta to Birdsville and had a ball. And got to cross more dunefields.SWMBO was driving beautifully. Left van in town and went out to Eyre Creek via Little Red, then Big Red for sunset. Used my Pathy to tow a Prado off a dune crest. So did the biggest 20 dunes twice, which finished getting the desert crossing out of my system.
5. Went to Innamincka - more dunes, then Merty Merty to Camerons Corner with more dune crossings, all van friendly - see pic in my profile.
6. Welll prepared, stong C/T's will make it as my research last year discovered. Search threads here for more info and build up a picture of the facts, not the hearsay and rumours. Good luck..... Glenn

PS OK out of my system for now
Warrie

AnswerID: 381129

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 17:39

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 17:39
"Can it be done easily with a good off road C/T?" No towing in sand dunes is simply not easy.
"Is it best to go west east?" Doesn't really matter.
"Why are some guy's are so against it ?" Far too many people with little experience get bogged regularly holding others up, digging trenches which makes it difficult for all who follow.

I've seen many trailers get towed across & only have to back up a few times, no more in fact than most who dont tow. The quality of the camper has far less to do with a successful crossing than the weight one puts in them & the experience of the driver. Overloading is the number two reason people get stuck or break something, too higher tyre pressure of course being number one.
The question you probably need to ask yourself Blackstump is.... If you need to ask on a forum if towing across the Simpson is an option for you then do you really have the experience to do it? Possibly practice somewhere easier first that doesn't have the same consequences.

Solution: Practice else where. Pack light. (Ensure trailer is under 1 tonne) Tow vehicle to have 130KW or more power. Have non tow vehicle scout in front to let you know what's coming up & enable quick recoveries. Check latest conditions before crossing.
Depending on sand conditions, some times of the year aren't even suitable for towing.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 381132

Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:44

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:44
Towing across Simpson we did it 2004 all vehicles were stock standard and our trailers were in good nick and off road type campers.
We went in june or july from memory . We never got bogged once we had a dream run.
We went from west to east. We started each early and set up camp by about 3.30 each day.When you are driving in the mornings you can tell the sand is firmer from the dew in the morning.
The time we went the Simpson , had a good rain a week or 2 before we left.
We went on the rig road. We did see a couple broken trailers on the side of the track one still full of camping gear. But these should of been used to take rubbish to the tip not suited for off road both had there draw bars bent and broken.
We all had a great time and yes all the knockers were around then when we did it. Best to listen to ones that have actually been there done that not the ones with all the lip service from the arm chair.
We were staying at Alice Springs in a caravan park and a guy by the name of Joel someone gave a talk about 4wd driving and he had done heaps of testing for 4wd Vehicle manufacturers and he said he had towed a trailer up Big Red
Well I don't think I would ever attempt that but if you do go use the Rig Road and try and go when the rains have been.

Cheers Scoof . :-)
AnswerID: 381145

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:24

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:24
Yeh, that bloke was probably Jol Flemming (not "Joel"), a wheelchair bound bloke who knows more about the Simpson than most Australians.
FollowupID: 648577

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:33

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:33
Yes Roachie you are spot on. Fantastic night we had listening to all his adventures.
FollowupID: 648579

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:39

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:39
One M

Jol Fleming
FollowupID: 648581

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 23:53

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 23:53
There are a lot of replies from those who have never done it but have heard stories and those who have crossed without trailers and wouldn't etc.
Yes, it depends on the trailer, the vehicle and the driver and desert conditions -Tyre pressure is important.
In July 2004 a friend in an 80 series turbo diesel and myself in 100S turbo diesel with each towing Kimberley Campers did the Simpson from West to East. (I am not sure that direction would make a difference on the way we went)
We did a lot of research and decided against the French Line - so I cannot comment on yes or no to that.
We went on the first part of the French Line, Colson Track WAA Line as far as Erabena Track, Rig Road to K1 - We had NOT ONE PROBEM - There was only one dune I had to back up on. Started early each morning and stopped about 4 each afternoon. We took 5 days and I would do it again!
AnswerID: 381200

Reply By: Blackstump - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 06:47

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 06:47
Thanks guy's. Some good reply's, some not so. I am of the opinion that it is better to ask than not. I may have the experience but have not gone across the Simpson before. Another one "just waiting for a reply of Yes it can be done". I was not after a yes, I was after some good honest feedback and on the whole it was.
Have decided against it. If the trailer needs to be unhooked at all I would consider that to be too much of a hold up for the group as a whole.
Thanks for all the feedback.
AnswerID: 381385

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 00:11

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 00:11
Just back from a double crossing. One thing I would add to the responses is that those with trailers may well find they get little sympathy or assistance from other travellers if they come to grief.

There are sound reasons for this apart from a bit of attitude. How do you realistically help someone up the big dunes with such a setup? I saw one group in trouble going over and heard another on CB coming back getting into trouble with trailers. One needed very serious recovery gear to be of much assistance, such as they have at Mount Dare and Birdsville. I think the trailers had a very slow and difficult crossing and is not the idea to enjoy oneself, not to survive an endurance test.

Not wanting to flame the issue but it is my view they should be banned from the crossing and stiff on the spot fines issued to offenders. They are discouraged in the South Australian desert pass material and still people ignore that advice so maybe more is needed to discourage it.

On another note. The crossings are very changeable. I found the rig track easier going than the French line and the day after a strong wind was good as well. The wind filled in some corrugations. I think one could get a wrong impression of how hard it can be based on one crossing that went well.

If at Mount Dare they advise against it then head that advice. After all they do the recoveries and they do know.

AnswerID: 383195

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 07:51

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 07:51
Banning calls always have unitended consequences and I find them sad flynnie.

It reality in this case , if permissions were done correctly they would be based on the effectiveness of the vehicle to get thru and the effect on the track.

It would therefore be logical to ban vehicles with limited wheel travel like those with leaf spring suspension , however I would never make such a call because some can be setup with nice compliant springs and work well.

We got back from there saturday with a bike trailer and in the dessert there had been an accident and our group was requested to help and we transported a broken bike back to Birdsville in our empty trailer while the ambulance got the people.

But then as the propieter of local store loudly said to us - "I think the ocean should be banned because he was told their are fish in it that bite".

FollowupID: 650834

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:10

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:10
Robin

The thread is about camper trailers crossing the Simpson, not relatively light weight bike trailers.

If people were sensible there would be no need to ban camper trailers from the Simpson. However they are not sensible.

On the two crossings I was shocked at the lack of preparation by a lot of people. I recovered one stuck vehicle that did not have a snatch strap. I used Maxtrax for that. I heard an interesting CB discussion by one group as to whether you can refuel at Dalhousie Springs. They seemed to be committed to the crossing and continued in the hope of reaching Mount Dare. On the first crossing I saw a group inconveniently blocking the track who had a camper trailer and another vehicle with a broken diff or axle. Maybe with a rear mounted hydraulic winch I could have assisted but I did not and I got past them and continued on.

Also heard lots of stories at Birdsville and Mount Dare that just had me shaking my head.

It is my view that people making enquiries of whether it is a good idea or a bad one to do such and such are after a clear cut answer. If they were expert and experienced from having done it many times before they would not be asking. It is no use to say "well mate with an ideally set up four wheel drive on a good day, with a bit of luck you can make it across no worries". Translated into everyday language that means "Don't do it."

Simpson Desert and camper trailers no way!

FollowupID: 650910

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:33

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:33
I think we would all support good advice Flyinne , its when we go beyond advice and try and force people into our own particular way of thinking with bans that is so destructive in our world and the base cause of so much conflict.

If a person seeks advice and doesn't take it, takes some damage and has to turn back , well so what, its just part of another adventure.

Sometimes , as in our trip last week, this experience has a higher cost, but the cost of not going down this path is much higher again as its fundamental to how our species progresses.

FollowupID: 650913

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 22:20

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 22:20
Totally agree Robin. Placing hard and fast rules/laws such as banning certain actions is an insult to those that can take advice, make an informed and weighted judgement and be prepared for the consequences.

Some people could do the Simpson with trailers easy, others you probably wouldnt trust them to accomplish it in a fully set up desert rig. But there's always a first time in trying anything so for better or worse we shouldnt really ban people from attempting something.

But they certainly should pay for any consequences.
FollowupID: 650943