The Ultimate Off Road Machine

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:22
ThreadID: 71889 Views:3575 Replies:15 FollowUps:13
This little beauty is sitting down by the office at Mt Bundy Station at present,
I remember reading that Dick Smith went down the CSR in his a few years back,

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:30

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:30
Gday Doug,
Couldnt ya have some fun in that!
AnswerID: 381080

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 16:44

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 16:44
Yeah you could, only problem around these parts is you'd get shot at by the pot growers.
A few years back, the local thought he would have some fun in his ultra light,
about the only place he could fly it was up & down the river, apparently if he went out side the river banks he was warned of with a few shots of lead.
Someone said that they had an investment to protect. LOL

I'll give it a miss thanks Hairy, ;)

FollowupID: 648543

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 19:53

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 19:53
Hahahahaha....we dont have those sort up here. LOL
FollowupID: 648570

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:37

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:37
Nice but a bit hard to park at Woolies if you run out of milk

AnswerID: 381081

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:40

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:40
ROOF...mate the damn ROOF.

FollowupID: 648509

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:48

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:48
On Friday I did an inspection of a Sub Division in Mareeba. I hear a hum coming over the valley and the owner turnes up in his copter and landed on site. We held the meeting and off he went.

What a fun way to travel - Problem is if the motor stops :-)

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 381085

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:53

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:53
You can land them without a motor.....as long as your high enough.
FollowupID: 648515

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:57

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:57
You can do ANYTHING, if you're high enough !!!

FollowupID: 648516

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 12:07

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 12:07
Quite a few people have tried, some succeeded and their are now many not alive to tell, and others with stuffed backs.

But hey I still would love to give it a go flying one, I spent a lot of time in copters while in the army, and use them for inspections with work. Luckily I have not had to take the no motor down ride. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 648518

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 12:47

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 12:47
Hahahaha....you mean you THINK you can do anything if your high enough. LOL

Tony,
From what I understand.
It depends on altitude, wind speed, reaction time ( start auto rotation), rotor weight, weather you can drop straight down and what type of chopper your in.
I was under the impression that you had to do a "no motor" landing as part of your licence these days.
Ive done it in a GYRO before for fun.....you can actually land, pick it up,turn it 180 and but it back down with heavy rotors.
But I agree motors are more fun!!!

Hairy
FollowupID: 648523

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:51

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:51
Got a good lift kit on it for the CSR.
AnswerID: 381086

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:56

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:56
G'day FDoug,

I used to hitch rides quite often in helicopters when we lived in PNG. Anything from the Hughes 500 (I think your photo is a Hughes), to RAAF Hewies.

Zooming through the PNG Highlands was great fun.

AnswerID: 381088

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 12:20

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 12:20
That one is a Hughes 500D

Correct me if Im wrong but I thought Dickie had a Jetranger.

He did his round the world trip in one.

AnswerID: 381090

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 15:55

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 15:55
Im with you.... MD500 I reckon
FollowupID: 648538

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 13:02

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 13:02
Yep, Dickie had a Bell.

I suppose you all know that helicopters can't actually fly.....

They are so UGLY, the Earth repels them !!

AnswerID: 381093

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 15:12

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 15:12
My mate the crop duster pilot reckons they are like the girls standing on the corner in Kings Cross, no visible means of support!

FollowupID: 648535

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:56

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:56
Best ride I had in a 500D was in Fiordland in NZ.

We hooked a ride with a deershooter in one when he was going our way.
Hopped in the back Plywood floor, no seats, no belts, no doors.

Off we went 10 mins to do a 5 hour walk.
When we were coming in to where we wanted off (at top of a pass), at 1300 metres he poked into a hard right hand turn and rolled it over till the rotors were vertical.
Looking out the hole where the door wasnt we could look straight down to the ground.
The girl I was with was screaming her head off thinking we were going to drop out.
I knew we wouldnt as the G force stopped me from lifting my hand off the seat in front of me.

Got lots of lovely pics and saved a long walk, well worth the screaming I reckon.

Dept of Work & Safety would have kittens if they knew I guess.

ROFLMAO

FollowupID: 648561

Reply By: png62 - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 15:45

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 15:45
Arghhh - come on - everyone knows helicopters don't fly - they beat the air into submission !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 381114

Follow Up By: Rod - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:45

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:45
61234 parts flying in close formation
FollowupID: 648642

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 16:21

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 16:21
I reckon they would be the way to see any of the top end during the wet season, which just quietly I would love to do.

I have had occasion to use one getting around in Sydney and they beat travelling on the Motorways by miles. But there is a huge drawback ...............................the running costs are sky high.

AnswerID: 381116

Reply By: dbish - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 16:22

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 16:22
Its taken me 10Yrs to get back into a helicopter after being a pasenger of a gyrocopter which almost fell like a brick from about 100Ft when the engine died. We did walk away from the wreck but still suffer neck problems to this day. When the owner took the top rotor off I realesed all that holds you up in the air is a half inch bolt which he didnt need periodical replacement. I wont fly in a gyro again.
AnswerID: 381117

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 17:44

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 17:44
Imagine what it could do with a 3" lift and 37" Simex's?

AnswerID: 381134

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 19:02

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 19:02
Bonz

Don't go talking about 4WD vehicle on this web site for gods sakes..

You will have the Mod squad out in force ;-)
FollowupID: 648562

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 09:57

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 09:57

Let It go and move on Old Fella!

FollowupID: 649484

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:51

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:51
Funny story Doug,

About 25 years ago a group of us where at Musgarve Telegraph Station heading south after a Cape York adventure. We'd stopped to wash the dust out with a bit of Queensland diesel.

Next thing a Hughes bubble helicopter comes in and lands (think MASH)

The pilot jumps out leaving the engine idling and runs inside the Telegraph Station.

Less than a minute goes by and out he runs with a carton of barbed wire and throws it on the other seat.

In he jumps, stands the helicopter on its nose and powers off around the big old Morton Bay Fig tree.

As quick as the thing started it was over. It added a whole new meaning to "Drive In Bottle Shop" for me!

AnswerID: 381146

Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:10

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:10
Doug

I told that guy he couldn't use my chopper this weekend.
Will you slip down and tell he to bring it back and put it in my shed.

Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

AnswerID: 381212

Reply By: landseka - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:34

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:34
Flying choppers is not so hard, just imagine balancing a ball-bearing on the head of a pin while riding a uni-cycle!

Piece of cake. LOL
AnswerID: 381233

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:51

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:51
For those of you that read this post, I found out why they were here for a week.

Sparkies train for high voltage repairs

AnswerID: 381717