HF radio options

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:17
ThreadID: 71901 Views:7390 Replies:15 FollowUps:21
I have been looking at fitting a mobile HF radio and I frankly believe the price's are artificially too high.

I don't understand why we cannot use something like this url=http://www.alinco.com/Products/DX-70T.shtml]HF Radio option[/url] including an automatic (long wire antenna tuner) and antenna would cost around $1800-2000, fitted into your vehicle.

Admitted no "selcal"or "rad phone", do most of you really need or use those things? considering that those things double the price.

This compares to Codan or Barrett costing around $3500-4000 + installation.

Now I don't want to get into petty discussions on the latter costing less if bought from X or Y, they are still too expensive for what they are.

The latter 2 companies artificially hold the price high while they seem to hold a monopoly on mobile HF radio sales in Australia.

Why can't we use Amature Radios for HF in Australia?

Cheers, Colin.

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:19

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:19
HF Radio

Try this link
AnswerID: 381156

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:25

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:25
Colin, I dont think you would get much of an argument about that, i guess they makers will tell you its low production volumes that hold the costs high. Michael
AnswerID: 381158

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:47

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:47
so buy second hand

somethig like a Barrett 250 will set you back well under a grand and still bemuch better built with any freq you want and selcall
AnswerID: 381159

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:48

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 20:48
oh and mine too about 1/2 an hour to fit and no im not good at it
FollowupID: 648584

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:04

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:04
get outmore
How old would that 250 be? and can you still get parts for such an ancient looking radio?

That's 4 models back in the Barrett range and must be close to 20 years old?
No auto tune antenna for that price either, nothing wrong with a multi tap antenna however.

This supports my gripe that the price is being held high artificially, for such an old model radio to command such a high price because a new one is so expensive.
Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 648588

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:34

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:34
AFAIK still fully servicible and even at 20 years old id put money on them lasting longer than the one you posted
FollowupID: 648651

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 14:29

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 14:29
I have had a 250 for 3 years it sits in car bouncing around, I plug it in when I feel the urge and it works. In fact, it seems to work better than some of the guys with their newer (codan, no idea of the model) and autotune AE rigs.

My 2 bobs worth.

FollowupID: 648694

Reply By: Mick15 - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:13

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:13
A lot of the amatuer stuff is aimed at wider bands - therefore possibly won't be as sensitive as a dedicated HF - maybe
Not sure if they are built as rugged mil spec etc??
Which antenna would you use when mobile? will an autotune connect, or maybe a multitap? obviously long wire when stationary - but an autotune is about 1500(barrett) - and included in the high price you list.
Sellcall and alarm beacon call is a usefull emergency function - and in my opinion a HF is primarily usefull for emergencies.
I realise its only a programming thing but a lot of the amatuer HF units won't transmit on the VKS freqs in stock form.
FWIW i paid $1500 for a barrett 550 with 910 autotune, admittedly it was the older light grey plastic bodied autotune, with a few hairline fractures, but i picked up a brand new case(top and bottom) with mounts and cable for $100 when i was in perth this year from Barrett.
In reality i don't think i'd drop $3000 on one new, but second hand its not a bad deal.
AnswerID: 381172

Follow Up By: Mick15 - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:16

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:16
I do however agree that it would be nice to have other options such as the Alinco - its a nice looking bit of gear.
FollowupID: 648591

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:23

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:23
Gday Colin,
I've had a Barrett 950 with autotune for about 7 years now and Selcall and Radiotelephone calls are the main reason I keep it.

I've never had a sat phone, so keep in touch with the family by making telephone calls out using the BushTelephone network.

Many friends have HF and set them to scan on the VKS channels, so we often selcall one another on the low frequencies to catch up. Also if any of us are outside UHF range, we sellcall one another if needed.
AnswerID: 381175

Reply By: BenDiD - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:32

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:32
Hi Colin,

I asked the same question (in another forum) last year before I bought a Codan NGT.

I think the short answer as to why we cannot use an Alinco or other brand HF for "travellers" frequencies such as VKS-737 etc is that only specific Codan, Barret and Icom radios are permitted to be used for this purpose (notwithstanding that they may be also used for amateur purposes). I realise this seems completely counter - intuitive; surely its the individual not the radio that requires the license or permit. But I was assured by others (who also have amateur licenses) that this was the case. I suspect its more likely something to do with a particular radio's ability to be locked to certain Tx frequencies. Also you can't by an amateur HF (apart from a Codan or Barrett etc that is restricted to VKS etc frequencies) without an amateur license.

I know Codan sell 98% of their HFs offshore. I am surprised they can be bothered putting as much into the Australian market as they do.

I personally think the latest Codan and Barretts are fairly priced for everything they can do. They are amazing pieces of gear - they are small computers with a radio attached. The public networks are only just starting to take advantage of their capabilities (eg text messages between radios, short e-mail to and from the radio without a computer attached, automated GPS positioning on web pages, easy outgoing phone calls, auto-tune antennas, address books ). I use selcall and phone calling functions all the time.

I agree not everyone wants or needs selcall etc. If all you want to do with your radio is participate in a sked every afternoon while on the road, and have time to muck aroumd with a tapped antenna, then a basic 2nd hand barrett or codan and tapped antenna can be had for the prices you are talking about. They are easy to install yourself.

In a similar vein many people on this forum spend thousands on laptops and mapping software etc. I am personally happy with a paper map and a $200 GPS.

I realise I have a very different view to you Colin, I think its a good discussion to be had so others can work out what's right for them.

Ben
AnswerID: 381176

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:50

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:50
Without Selcall you have no way of waking up a VKS base/operator out of hours.

Seems to defeat the whole reason you would want a HF for in the first place (Emergency use) if it can't get hold of the people you want when you need.

FollowupID: 648600

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 06:46

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 06:46
John & Ben
some good points are mentioned by you both, and I was not aware that Selcall was necessary to contact VKS after hours in emergency.

Thank you both. Colin.

Ben you said "and have time to muck aroumd with a tapped antenna" I am of the opinion, right or wrong, that for most HF work only two ports are used and the others are seldom used. Is that correct???
FollowupID: 648635

Follow Up By: BenDiD - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:25

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:25
Hi Colin,

How many ports you will need to use depends on what you plan to do.

For most people yes 1 or 2 ports is sufficient to participate in daily skeds. Once you find a frequency that works for your location for a given base station & time that's all you'll need. Generally channel 8 is useful in most situations.

If you want to do a bit more, call up mates or call / message call / telcall a base station at different times you may need to try different a few different frequencies to get a good signal.

If you want to be able to receive calls at any time without listening to "hash" (that awful static sound) you can leave a modern radio on sellcall scan, scanning several frequencies and networks (each of which may have a different id) and it only opens if your individual selcall id is received. This is useful as a different frequency will be needed between 2 stations (even if locations don't change) at different times of the day. Also, if the calling station doesn't know where you are it will need to try a few different frequencies.

Ben

FollowupID: 648647

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:39

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:39
"The latter 2 companies artificially hold the price high while they seem to hold a monopoly on mobile HF radio sales in Australia."
Not quite sure how 2 companies can hold a "Monopoly" particularly as their are actually 4 when you include Qmac & Icom. With satellite phones replacing much of the HF market the price of radios is about what could be expected for a relatively low turnover item.
We picked up an older Barrett 550 with autotune for $1200. Spare parts are readily available & backup service has been A1.
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 381177

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 06:37

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 06:37
crackles
their turnover is not as low as you may think it is, as a huge market globally is what they aim at, if the market was just Australia then you would be spot on.

As for the prices of used HF radios being so high, it's a reflection of the high new price causing that demand for second hand units.

thanks, Colin
FollowupID: 648632

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:45

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 21:45
Colin
This topic has come up before and its worth having a read of these two threads.
The words of wisdom from our departed friend remain as true today as when he wrote them.
And if anyone knew the reasons for one over the other it was Footy.

Thread 55875

Thread 58800

AnswerID: 381179

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:05

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:05
Jeez John, you must have typed that whilst I wast typing my reply.......

RIP Footloose........

FollowupID: 648601

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:08

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:08
Boy did I pick a bad time to talk HF.

"Footy can you hear me mate, send me a sign"

Thank you John, did Footy get you to do that?

Debate OVER now, Footy showed me the light.

Thanks to all Colin.
FollowupID: 648637

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:55

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:55
Yeah actually I got a Selcall from him last night and was able to chat on 8022kHz. :-)

He has left a wealth of info in the archives and its always worth a search using his name.
Footy was always pretty strong on this issue of Amateur gear Vs the Commercial type approved stuff and that first post 5585 was done after he got so sick of the one eyed bombastic attitude pushed by some individuals.

He always had a real and genuine fear that people would listen to the poor advice offered by some and buy equipment that was not fit for purpose or even legal to use.

I always looked at it a bit like this, why are organisations like the various police forces and the UN plus the military using Codan, Barret or Qmac etc when money is normally always an issue with these organisations.
Its not done to be different its done because there is a genuine difference between the quality of the build and the way in which they perform.

I have a Codan NGT and its a brilliant piece of gear the ability of the radio to manage and clean up the signal via its advanced electronics and firmware is impressive.
Mine is set up to undertake a Selcall scan over all the VKS freq plus I use Bcon messaging and positioning which allows my friends to track my position and to text message me via the web.
So it remains turned on virtually all day when I am travelling.
Bcon is a terrific piece of development in itself and hopefully will be available on a commercial basis in the near future for others to access.

I looked at the money issue also and have never regretted the cost spent on the NGT.

One of the best blokes to talk to about the Codan and Barret stuff is Peter James at Lara Electronics, Peter is probably one of the best people in this field in the country. Peter sets up and maintains most of the RFDS radio bases.
Peters Firmware set up for the NGT is also excellent.

FollowupID: 648678

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 13:46

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 13:46
Cheers John.
BTW the NGT is my preferred option.
Just hope to find one at a good price somewhere.
Colin.
FollowupID: 648686

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 14:35

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 14:35
Colin
Try the Codan users Group on Yahoo.
Footy was the site Admin along with a New Zealuunder Malcolm Langley who is still running the site.

Even though Footy is gone :-(( its still a wealth of info on Codans of any era.
Some guys do have second hand units available and they are listed on the site from time to time.
An excellent group for technical questions and details.
Have a look and ask is the go.

Codan Group

FollowupID: 648696

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:01

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:01
Colin,

A great question that has been debated (somewhat hotly at times) on this forum.

Our recently departed (RIP) Footloose would have defended the commercial manufacturers strongly and his opinion was centered around the fact that, in his opinion (and he was an electronics engineer) that the commercial sets are built to take the pounding of thousands of km of corrugations. Amateur sets are not and he described many situations of failed amateur equipment over the years from such abuse.

He would also have alluded to the importance of human life and that to skimp on a piece of equipment such as this is counter-intuitive, given the costs of everything else we tend to accumulate to satisfy our love of travel ...(like a $15k+ engine swap :-).

Many of the replies above are correct. It is illegal, except in circumstances that involve 'life and limb' to transmit on 'commercial' frequencies, of which VKS 737 and the like use, with modified amateur radio equipment. Amateur radio gear will not be able to transmit on these frequencies without internal mods. It is however quite legal to transmit on the amateur radio frequencies with commercial equipment, provided that you are appropriately licensed.

Personally, I have a Codan 9323 that is about 15 years old and has been used quite extensively over most of Australia and whilst I have taken the time to 'service' it occasionally, it has never let me down and you would be able to pick up a reliable set like this for under $1500 with Autotune antenna.

There are others on this forum that will disagree with these comments, but at the end of the day, if you want to be legal, you have no choice. Try www.hf-radio.com.au as Dave there has some reasonable buys at times..... no affiliations etc.

All the best with you're decision making.....

AnswerID: 381186

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:10

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:10
Thanks Mark,
Debate OVER now, Footy showed me the light.

Thanks to all Colin.
FollowupID: 648638

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:14

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 07:14
Thanks to all that replied,
I still firmly believe that the prices are sky high and dont need to be so high.

However the debate is OVER now, Footy showed me the light as to why I should pay the price and cop it sweet.
Thanks to all Colin.
AnswerID: 381210

Reply By: Member - Motley - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:17

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:17
When through a similar mental debate and gnashing of teeth about the price of a Codan NGT when I purchased one about 8 years ago. All that stopped the moment I made my first emergency call to the RFDS!

On a recent trip through the Simpson, we had the company of the ABC Radio transmissions from Alice Springs and the company of other friends with HF who would selcall for a chat.

It seems a lot of money (and it probably is a bit inflated) but the reliability, ease of use and the functionality are the things that linger, not the price.

Anyway, that's my two bobs worth.
AnswerID: 381213

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 09:01

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 09:01
I'm no tech, but the following is my understanding - the ACMA regulations stipulate certain technical configs for 'outpost' classified HF radios in Australia. A lot of radios that 'could' be used are simply not compliant with those regs.
As far as pricing goes - any high technology made in Australia is expensive - and both Codan and Barrett / QMac are internationally focussed companies - that is where they do nearly all of their business.
There are plenty of good used units around, although many sellers have warped views on what they are worth. You should be able to get a good complete system for $1500. I did, and that was a good 5 years back. As for doing without selcall / Radphone - while there are some really good 'crystal units' still around at virtually give away prices, the ability to selcall does offer plenty of real benefits.
AnswerID: 381218

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:00

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:00
Colin,

Knowing you, the answer will be to pull the guts out of one unit and shoe horn it into another.

I miss Mike Harding.

AnswerID: 381230

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:24

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:24
Your mention of Mike , and now the loss of Footy has got me wondering Matt , if there are any other professional Radio or Electronics enginers left on this site (other than me)
FollowupID: 648663

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:40

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:40
Very funny Matt, ROTFLMAO.

If I did that Matt, it would not be for sale to you when I'm done, LOL

I did look at a couple of Footys archive posts and can see the benefit of the "path most taken"

I did not take a lot of notice of some of his threads back then as I was not "into HF" then, I did however like chatting with him on many subjects otherwise, maybe I should have listened to his HF chats more closely while he was still with us.

Cheers Colin.

PS Matt, son of TONI is about to get underway and hopefully on the road before Christmas, I can say no more than that out of respect of the owner just now, also Jason at Total Care 4WD is doing the same conversion to his wife's 3ltr in the new year. That will make 3 of us on the road soon.

Today West Sydney tomorrow "Ze World", Ha Ha Ha.
FollowupID: 648665

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 11:02

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 11:02
Hi Colin, Matt, Robin,
It used to be my field (more UHF/Microwave comms), but I've been out of it for too long now. These days I only tinker with my own gear.

But basically, the commerical Codans, etc, have a whole raft of much tighter specs to meet than amateur gear to be able to operate in the commercial bands, and must be able to retain those specs under arduous conditions as well. This, in part, is to prevent spurious emissions from the transmitter affecting other services, and conversely, preventing receivers from receiving signals on frequencies other than what they are tuned to receive (there's a whole mathematical explanation of all this, which I won't go into).
I admit that not meeting those specs when out in the wilderness is not going to cause much interference to other services, but the spec must hold country-wide.

I was able to pick up a Perth Comms HF106 some time back at a very good price (being a cheapskate), and use a basic (home-made) tapped antenna. In most cases, it doesn't move off 8022 KHz, so the auto-tune isn't a big deal with me. But I wouldn't recommend the HF106, unless you know someone who can program it.

Gerry

FollowupID: 648666

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 11:58

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 11:58
One test of price is to contemplate making one yourself?
AnswerID: 381242

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:34

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:34
That's not a test, it's a an obvious and foregone conclusion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 648674

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:15

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:15
Another thing to remember is that both Codan and Barrett are built to military specifications. They are a lot more robust in construction than any of the "ham" sets in the marketplace.

If you keep an eye out on your local govt. auctions, there is a chance that they will come up for auction every so often. I got a 9323 at auction in Townsville a few years ago for $140 without aerial. A Codan NGT AR went through an auction in Cairns a while ago (I couldn't get there at the trime) and it sold, with 9350 autotune antenna, for $500 (still kicking myself).

Being govt. auctions, there is no reserve on them, so you could get a bargain.

HTH

AnswerID: 381244

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:58

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:58
$500- What a price!!
That would have been the buy of the century.

FollowupID: 648679

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:04

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:04
Your not wrong, I bought my NGT from the Trading Post 4 years ago for $2500 with an autotune antenna and I thought that was a good buy.
FollowupID: 648742